Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I thought this was very apt for the night that is in it.

To Win just once
    That would be enough
    So come all ye fulltime smalltown heroes
    Cast away your inbred fears of
    Standing out from all the rest
    The cynics and the pessimists
    The self-indulgent almost rich
    The blatant hurlers on the ditch
    Time is passing so come on
    And face the ball, the game is on

Maigh Eo Abú.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

@km oh I'm back alright and ain't going away I'll chat to you tomorrow night buddy.tides they are a turning.were you as smart in 98 and 01 I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,448 ✭✭✭✭km79

@km oh I'm back alright and ain't going away I'll chat to you tomorrow night buddy.tides they are a turning.were you as smart in 98 and 01 I wonder.

no I was not
    mayo had not won Connacht titles 5 years in a row at that point and had a much inferior team
    Anyway enjoy the match
    Can not for the life of me understand how bitter a person can be to come on a opposing teams forum like clockwork before a game
    Sad way to live a life
    I'll be shouting for the Galway minors tomorrow.
    I won't be on here tomorrow night come what may

naughto wrote: »
    Ah piss off will ya

8 posts out of 11 on this forum . None on the galway forum.
    Most likely a second account
    Sad man/woman
    Ignore list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,027 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Best of luck tomorrow lads, as a neutral hope you really turn up and perform, love to see ye lift sam please god tomorrow is the day.

Not a chance. We had our final-worthy spectacle in the semi final with the two best teams in the country going head to head. This is a foregone conclusion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Green Peter

I don't think it's fair that the galway lads keep bringing up 98 and 01, they were nowhere to be seen before 98 while we were in 3 finals in two years (inc replay) and should have won, they just got lucky like this current galway team did this year wining the Nestor cup. I wouldn't worry about galway coming out of nowhere to win an all Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

I don't think it's fair that the galway lads keep bringing up 98 and 01, they were nowhere to be seen before 98 while we were in 3 finals in to years (inc replay) and should have won, they just got lucky like this current galway team did this year wining the Nestor cup. I wouldn't worry about galway coming out of nowhere to win an all Ireland!

I dont even mind Galway anymore, how could you dislike a team you beat so frequently?

@km oh I'm back alright and ain't going away I'll chat to you tomorrow night buddy.
    hahaha aw its actually like something a 14 year old boy would say.. poor fella, anyways enjoy your day tomorrow!

I dont even mind Galway anymore, how could you dislike a team you beat so frequently?

But they can do it when it counts, that's what I dislike

Galway haven't done it when it counts in 15 years despite them having many many occasions in Croke Park that counted very much... this Galway turn up for the big matches and play well in Croke Park cliche is the most totally wrong and uninformed view in the GAA. There is no county with a worse recent record in Croker, they are genuinely the worst in Ireland in big games in the last 10-15 years.

Lol dunno how that soccer forum post got quoted above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

km79 wrote: »
    Michael Jackson on Up for The match
    Let's see who he tips ;)

Is there only one hairdresser in mayo?

Or did himself and yer wan get a group discount? :D

Bambi wrote: »
    Is there only one hairdresser in mayo?

Or did himself and yer wan get a group discount? :D

VERY enjoyable :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

@ maroon and green "there is no county with a worse recent record in croker" I'd be handing that title to your own beauts Mayo consistent loss after loss.and saying that if you're basing your claim on stats counter in the fact that Galway hurl aswell unlike the green and red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Go for a few pints tonight and you'll be talking about 3 in a rows by bedtime!

Three in a rows, you better believe it. Its happening. And it starts tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Get up ye whures, time for road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Get up ye whures, time for road.

The count down is on, but it's the pool rather than the road for me. I'll be sweating it out in 30 degrees here in Portugal.

Have been sitting out on the balcony for the last hour waiting for the wife and kids to wake up.

Even had enough time to compose my wishlist:

* Big performance from our big players, I've no real worries about this.
    * Rochford's sleeve to contain another trick, he has had something the last 2 so why not now.
    * A good physical game, for all that is said about their bench, it's an attacking one and thats what hurts teams. 1 or 2 of their defenders having to exit would be a double result for us.
    * May all their frees be outside 40m's, I think we'll have worked on this, test Rock with a few early long range ones.
    * A couple of early goals for us, limit them to one in total.

That's not much to ask is it!

I've never been as calm going into an All Ireland, today is going to be a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Beautiful morning here in the capital. Going for a walk on beautiful Portmarnock beach to clear the head.

Muigheo Abú!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

A bright and sunny start here in Lucan. A little bit sticky but there's a slight breeze.

Mayo by 4
    See ye on the other side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

km79 wrote: »
    Mayo by 4
    See ye on the other side

Now that's positivity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭munster87

I wish I could be as positive about Mayo's chances today but unfortunately I just can't. Mayo only by 3 for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Any meteorologists in Mayo? How's the weather? Hoping throw in beats the rain coming our way.

Groundhog day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

corny wrote: »
    Any meteorologists in Mayo? How's the weather? Hoping throw in beats the rain coming our way.
    Well im in Dunboyne and its been raining here with about an hour. I didn't think it was forecast until later this morning so maybe it'll have cleared east out to sea earlier too and we will have a dry seniors game.
    Pack a brolly (Joe Brolly 😀)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Good chance that it will be wet for the whole match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Just arrived in town, only a matter of time before it rains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

It's been raining in the west from early morning . Not torrential but enough to make a ball very slippy . Wind is light so it might be slow to reach Dublin .
    Looks like it will clear up as things Are brightening up .

Weird being a lot calmer than other years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Not feeling too nervous, tbh. Slept grand and have been shuffling through my morning. Hasn't really kicked in yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭munster87

PressRun wrote: »
    Not feeling too nervous, tbh. Slept grand and have been shuffling through my morning. Hasn't really kicked in yet.

I won't back you for first goalscorer so