Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Jaysus Stoner. Thats a fierce TLDR for this part of the day.

And Bambi, I plumped for the 1995. This Dublin team don't do superstition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,078 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I can't say best of luck but I'll borrow something from the green fields and hope that ye lose quick and I hope ye lose clean.

Good analysis Stoner, Brady is a legend in my eyes. Love his raw passion for our County and the game. The last time I was in tears was listening to him on off the ball before last years replay iirc, he was asked if he would have a hint of sadness when the time comes and Mayo finally do it, not having won one himself. His reply was something along the lines.... Not at all. If Mayo win then every Mayo man, women and child, every former player and current player can walk around with an All Ireland medal is their pocket... I didn't cry at my kids births but he got me.

Moran and Copper will be a key battle. Our game revolves around Andy winning ball. He's up against one of, if not, the best defender at getting out in front. The hope is that Andy might be smart enough to make a few runs in behind him. Getting key ball into him will be hard, that's why I could potentially see Dillon with a big role at some stage.

Kilkenny has been great for ye but I agree that it's hard to look to bad playing his role. I much prefer playing Kilkenny 16 as opposed to the 15 version. I think Higgins will man mark him. That's on the basis of believing Rochford has been eyeing this game up all year and working towards it.

A mumbled "Good luck" to you all but I hope the wait ends today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,078 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I can't say best of luck but I'll borrow something from the green fields and hope that ye lose quick and I hope ye lose clean.

Good analysis Stoner, Brady is a legend in my eyes. Love his raw passion for our County and the game. The last time I was in tears was listening to him on off the ball before last years replay iirc, he was asked if he would have a hint of sadness when the time comes and Mayo finally do it, not having won one himself. His reply was something along the lines.... Not at all. If Mayo win then every Mayo man, women and child, every former player and current player can walk around with an All Ireland medal is their pocket... I didn't cry at my kids births but he got me.

Moran and Copper will be a key battle. Our game revolves around Andy winning ball. He's up against one of, if not, the best defender at getting out in front. The hope is that Andy might be smart enough to make a few runs in behind him. Getting key ball into him will be hard, that's why I could potentially see Dillon with a big role at some stage.

Kilkenny has been great for ye but I agree that it's hard to look to bad playing his role. I much prefer playing Kilkenny 16 as opposed to the 15 version. I think Higgins will man mark him. That's on the basis of believing Rochford has been eyeing this game up all year and working towards it.

A mumbled "Good luck" to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Jaysus Stoner. Thats a fierce TLDR for this part of the day.

I've a reputation for long ones alright Bonnie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Connolly deserves too be given a right bollocking by,his teammates and management. Disgusted with him for what he did with the sideline ball he had. There was no need to kick it dead. Play it out too Kilkenny or whoever was available and continue too run down the clock. Lucky once again too not see red. Without doubt one of the most frustrating players on the panel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Connolly goes for the kill. That involves risk. Its won us many big matches. Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Ted111 wrote: »
    Connolly goes for the kill. That involves risk. Its won us many big matches. Carry on.

In this situation he really, really didn't need to go for the kill though. Low risk pass to a teammate and we surely win that game.

I'm confident we can't be as bad again in the replay. I'm happy for a replay in a way, would be weird seeing us win with one of our worst performances under Jim Gavin. I'm confident we'll pull through in 2 weeks.

I was thinking that , when we were a point up, this won't feel good if we win.
    For me that was a brutal game , worst final I was ever at .

I thought last year was the worst I had ever seen, and it was at the time but this has trumped it.

In this situation he really, really didn't need to go for the kill though. Low risk pass to a teammate and we surely win that game.

Our problem all day was we were faffing around with the ball in front of their defensive screen. Needed more players taking responsibility to shoot or run at them. In the case of the late line ball it gave Kilkenny a chance to get back and the kick put the ball dead anyway. Pointing it would have won the game 100%. The shot was justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Well the good point about todays game, Dublin can only play better next time as they couldn't play any worse.

Our problem all day was we were faffing around with the ball in front of their defensive screen. Needed more players taking responsibility to shoot or run at them. In the case of the late line ball it gave Kilkenny a chance to get back and the kick put the ball dead anyway. Pointing it would have won the game 100%. The shot was justified.

If we pass it we very likely retain possession for a minute. He decided to take on a very difficult shot, missed and we were punished. Even for a player like Connolly that's a shot you miss far more than you score, especially in those conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

Bret Hart wrote: »
    Connolly deserves too be given a right bollocking by,his teammates and management.

Funnily enough I think Kilkenny is absolutely killing us with his negative keep ball game. More precisely Gavin is killing us insisting we play like this.

So many players are doubting themselves when there's obvious space in front of them now. I was critical of Small earlier in the season for this but its gaining traction it seems. Flynns first instinct today was to look for KK and a sideways pass intead of taking the game to his man. He's not alone either. Trying to beat your man seems to be the last option. Its evade, keep possession and look for a teammate.

I understand the tactic if the opposition are camped in their half but Mayo were unbelievably chancy (and brave) in pressing the ball. If we had shown more aggression in taking the game to them we'd have had 6 jammy goals.

If we pass it we very likely retain possession for a minute. He decided to take on a very difficult shot, missed and we were punished. Even for a player like Connolly that's a shot you miss far more than you score, especially in those conditions.

You're assuming we would of held possession as well. There was a couple of minutes left and the referee was allowing fairly robust tackling. I don't think we would have swanned around with the ball to oles until the end. The shot was on I think he was right to take it.

A minute left, and we had been holding possession for a minute or 2 before that pretty easily. Look I think it was a bad decision, you don't. I'll get over it.

Agree with corny though, some very cautious attackers today, particularly Kilkenny. Not sure what he was at today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Weird game. Entertaining but strange.

I told everyone who would listen to me that this would be won or lost by a point, was always gonna be close. Replay will probably be won or lost by a point now.

I'm a Dub and I'm disappointed with Connolly going for the hollywood kick. If you nail it you're a hero but we didn't need a hero, we needed a sensible head.
    He did the same against Kerry and scored and then everything is fine and dandy but the big point here is that if you go for it you have to get it.
    If any other Dublin player had been in that position they would have recycled it to a team-mate and this discussion doesn't happen.
    Connolly is a wonderful player but he screwed up imo.
    Others might say different and thats fine, but under the circumstances he was stupid to go for it as far as I'm concerned.

At the same time, it would have been both cruel and unjust if Mayo had lost that game. Maybe they didn't quite do enough to win it but they certainly deserved another crack at it.

I thought Mayo were tactically smarter than us, they got so many men back when we had possession and its alarming that we seemed to panic a bit about what to do.
    I'm Kevin Mac's biggest fan but even he looked void of ideas and rightly subbed.
    Brogan, Connolly, the whole lot of them were poor. Even frees that Rock would usually tip over went askew.

Ya gotta hand it to Mayo, most teams who play well and end up 5 behind at half time would feel sorry for themselves and think its just not their day but there was none of that. No throwing in the towel.

It's funny in a way that Mayo will probably go home feeling more relieved to get a replay due to the late equaliser when in reality it was Dublin who should be feeling blessed to have played so poorly and got another bite at the cherry.

corny wrote: »
    Funnily enough I think Kilkenny is absolutely killing us with his negative keep ball game. More precisely Gavin is killing us insisting we play like this.

So many players are doubting themselves when there's obvious space in front of them now. I was critical of Small earlier in the season for this

John Small was a big culprit for this today. He reprieved himself with a nice point but the amount of possession he got up front going no where or killing a move totally. It's one thing to probe for weaknesses but if you continue laterally passing the ball indefinitely then you're not probing anything. Need to play the ball in to inside line, take responsibility to shoot from distance or run at defenders getting passed or drawing frees.

Not that it makes a difference, but I'm very disappointed with today. What could have been a great ending to a season was ultimately flat.
    McCarthy probably my favourite player on the team gets a black card for a stupid body check.
    We didn't deserve to win it.

Brogan couldn't get it together , McManamon was well marshalled and poor.
    I thought John Small was very good apart from that many players were negative, and when did Kilkenny forget what to do when he has the ball in the square, twice he clutched it and fell to his knees taking the momentum out of the move.

MDMA
    Byrne
    Brogan
    Kilkenny
    Fenton

Take the handy points , handpass it over the bar.

We need an operating half-forward line again. The sh1t that was necessary to beat Donegal is not working for kerry or Mayo.

I'd drop Flynn start Shane B Carthy, have Flynn as a sub.
    Start Mannion over Kevin Mac.
    Start Andrews for Brogan
    I'd sort out midfield to stops moving lads around

Either play O'Gara type ball in or leave him on the bench and bring in Costello

Anyway I'm in a bad mood. Most likely same teams next month

John Small was a big culprit for this today. He reprieved himself with a nice point but the amount of possession he got up front going no where or killing a move totally. It's one thing to probe for weaknesses but if you continue laterally passing the ball indefinitely then you're not probing anything. Need to play the ball in to inside line, take responsibility to shoot from distance or run at defenders getting passed or drawing frees.

For me he's taking instruction. Gavin gets a free ride from the media and a lot of Dublin fans. Look he deserves it and who the **** am i to pull him up... but i'll try anyway;).

His two great innovations, this years (KK's patience) and last years (COS as a sweeper) are rubbish moves imo. We're winning in spite of them.

KK is a brilliant attacker who's capable of brushing off the best defenders. He could have got us going closer to goal today. The effect he's having on lads around him too is obvious. They're all under instruction to look for him and as a result they're finding it impossible to get into the game themselves. Flynn is a prime example. No ones passing the ball to him even though he's a wonderful passer himself and a proven score getter. How many times did he touch the ball today? How many times did KK? Anything constructive come from KK?

COS? I don't think there's a forward in Ireland who'd win a personal battle with COS. He's that good at going for the ball. He's wasted patrolling the square for his one or two contributions a game. True as a whole because today he had a super game i thought.

Thats not making the best of the resources available for me. Its too late bitching about it though. Dublin are going to play the same way in two weeks time. Only when we lose will scrutiny be entertained though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

As poor and inept a performance as I can remember. The majority of us would agree that it was a game we didn't deserve to win. I find it hard to be objective at the minute so will hold off til the next day or so- I've already deleted it off the sky box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

It's funny in a way that Mayo will probably go home feeling more relieved to get a replay due to the late equaliser when in reality it was Dublin who should be feeling blessed to have played so poorly and got another bite at the cherry.

Not relieved at all, tbh. I didn't air it much on here in the lead up to the match, but I had heard a few things that had given me a good feeling about today. I think we blew it. We should have beat them well, tbh, and didn't. I don't think we'll have that chance again. We've shown our hand now and Dublin will have it sussed the next day.

If anything though, this match has proved that a lot of the nonsense spewed about Dublin is just that. No such thing as an unbeatable team. Dublin are beatable. But you need to seize the opportunity and exploit the vulnerabilities when they show themselves, and we didn't. Don't think we'll get the opportunity again.

Think Paddy Andrews should start the next day. Terrific player. Disappointed for Kevin Mc, absolutely love him, he's one of my favourite footballers this year, but he didn't have a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Wet conditions weren't ideal for a player who's game is all about turning his marker but I don't see how Brogan can be risked again, he's not at the races.

Same with Flynn, he's been off form all year and you wonder how he's kept his place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Paranoid Mandroid

The shot was on I think he was right to take it.

I agree. He backed himself and I admire that when things were in the melting pot. Hindsight is a great thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

PressRun wrote: »
    Not relieved at all, tbh.

I said relieved "due to the late equaliser"

Are you seriously telling me that with 50 seconds left in added time and a point down you weren't relieved to get the equaliser?
    Of course you were.

You shouldn't be so downbeat about your chances in the replay either.

It's another game on another day and anything can happen. Mayo are a good side.
    No reason why yee cant go again.

Yeah Kev Mc was so poor today but he was in good company there, all our forwards were poor. Mayo defended well though, which sounds a bit mad considering yee scored two own goals but overall your defending (and work-rate) was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

That was one of the weirdest Dublin games I was ever at. Leaving the ground, the nearest feeling I could remember was beating Donegal in that god awful semi final in 2011 in the most joyless match every to of graced croke park.

Not once in the game did I enjoy it and Dublin were leading for most of the game. Highly unusual and even when Mayo scored the equaliser at the end it didn't hit me the way it normally would in a game like that.

Maybe it's because I'm a dub but I thought the game was awful to watch but any friend I have discussed it with didn't enjoy it either. Maybe dramatic but not the kind of game I enjoy. Was surprised to see so many applaud it.

I'm not sure what's to be taken from it. Mayo snatched a draw but it felt more like Dublin got out of jail for 77 minutes of underperforming. And yet, as bad as Dublin were , Mayo didn't win it. Will they really take comfort from the fact they nearly and should of won or will they find it hard not to feel they missed the boat?

Can Dublin really be that bad again? I know Mayo were very good and tactically superior, but there were plenty of sloppy things from Dublin in that game that can be worked on.

Very very strange final. It felt a bit like a league game at times , really slow pace with little urgency in dublins game.

I think there's more scope for Dublin to improve. We missed the boat badly. Boyle's and McLaughlin's utterly comical defending cost us. We well had the beating of that Dublin team, but a couple of bad mistakes that you just can't make ended making sure Dublin stayed in it. Other than that we would have beat them well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Gutted. Just gutted. Incredibly angry and disappointed in Connolly's Maurice Fitz-esque glory hunting. I mean what the actual fock????

I should be lying on my back in Fairview Park, consuming champagne and battered sausages, wondering when I'll get my voice back.

I'm with corny, not a fan of CK's role in the constant recycling. It slows us down and robs us of our greatest asset - pace. We are already missing Jack Mc's influence in attack and James McCarthy has been AWOL a lot too. The attacking half back line of 2015 is no more. And it shows in the lack of goals. And what do we do, introduce tactics that just slow us down more? I don't get it.

Paddy Andrews starts for me over Kev Mc. All that attention leading up to the day, of Kev deserves his day in the sun, gets to walk in the parade etc etc was a distraction we didn't need.

Still, there's no way we can be that bad, two games in row...can we, eh...can we? :o

PressRun wrote: »
    I think there's more scope for Dublin to improve. We missed the boat badly. Boyle's and McLaughlin's utterly comical defending cost us. We well had the beating of that Dublin team, but a couple of bad mistakes that you just can't make ended making sure Dublin stayed in it. Other than that we would have beat them well.

Does saying that repeatedly across every thread make you feel good or something?

You didn't. Dublin had their poor moments, Mayo had theirs. You have your ifs and buts, we have ours.

I said relieved "due to the late equaliser"

Are you seriously telling me that with 50 seconds left in added time and a point down you weren't relieved to get the equaliser?
    Of course you were..

No, I wasn't. I'm very disappointed actually. We should have won the match and I'm not going to feel "relieved" about drawing a match that we should have won well. Dublin were in it becayse of comical mistakes and if not for that we would have won well. It feels like a missed opportunity, tbh. Dublin won't be that poor again and it feels like we did a lot today to win the match and plenty went our way and we still didn't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Just one more thing that crossed my mind after the game. Had Mayo not scored the two own goals it would of been interesting if it would of been as confident a performance from Mayo.

Again we don't know so I am only spitballing, but was this game better for Mayo in that they were always chasing it, with little to lose , as opposed to leading early on with Dublin needing to change the momentum? It's a different pressure when you are leading a game of this magnitude.

Likewise if Dublin were trailing for most of the game would they of been able to inject an urgency that never really showed as they plodded along leading the game without scoring for the first 30 mins!