Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Wimmins comagie final. North V Southside. Like you didn't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Slattsy wrote: »
    Relax. The match isn't for another 2 weeks.

Åh that's grand so..sleep sleeeeep Zzzzz aaaaaaarrrrghhh

Messing with my mojo man, did I just say mojo.

Goodnight and good luck my fellow Dubs. I'm out

Inda Kinny's mojo??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

is the match thread open yet? It's sunday!!!

Godge wrote: »
    is the match thread open yet? It's sunday!!!

Its an 'Information Board' these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Oh right. And which one does that Shelflin lad play for?

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Oh right. And which one does that Shelflin lad play for?

The red team.

:D:D:D:D

http://sportstalk.ie/20-questions-with-kilkenny-star-richie-hogan/

Q. 3, Have you any regrets in your sporting career so far?

Ans. 3, Slagging Henry Shefflin about his red hair a few years ago, he didn’t pass me a ball for 2 years after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Nerves starting too kick in big time now. In for a horrible nights sleep. Confident the lads,can do it tomorrow. Going for a 3 point win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,298 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I was listening to the radio today while driving.

David Brady almost made me crash the car I was laughing so much.

1) He compared Mayo to the Portuguese football team in a real serious tone.

(I wondered was this because they wear red and green?)

2) Brady said this Dublin team are not as good a few years ago - his reasoning was there is no Jack mc, and McCarthy was injured for long spells. Dublin are not as attacking.

(Brady failed to see that Dublin control games more now that is why they do not attack as much)

3) Brady said there is only ever a kick of a ball between dublin and mayo.....

(:D says I)

The presenter then pointed out to him that it has been said by the players that this Mayo team is not as good as 2013.

Brady: who said that?

Presenter: Aidan O'Shea.....

Brady:(Flustered) that could come back to bite Mayo...

(:D :D:D)

I am still laughing to myself thinking of it.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Oddly not worried. Up tonight while the missus does work reports and keeping her plied with tea.

My nerves were more stark earlier in the week. But then I realised that we got this.

Keegan will see the line at some point. Dermo will have a game for the ages.

And we'll win by 4.

Into Meaghers for 130. Be grand.

COYBIB!!!!

PS. My biggest problem in the morning is whether to wear the 2002 jersey that I've worn at all AI Finals I've been to (2011, 2013 and 2015) or my 1995 one that I have worn all year this year?

David Brady is such a tool. I'm convinced that Off The Boil have him on as often as they do, purely for the eegitry & entertainment value. It's not because anyone takes him seriously as a pundit. He was at pains to "categorically" deny the Jim McGuinness rumor, only he wasn't able to pronounce "categorically" properly. 'Nuff said ! :rolleyes:

PS. My biggest problem in the morning is whether to wear the 2002 jersey that I've worn at all AI Finals I've been to (2011, 2013 and 2015) or my 1995 one that I have worn all year this year?

I think you have answered your own question there.

DO. NOT. FCUK. WITH. KARMA.

EVER !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

I was listening to the radio today while driving.

David Brady almost made me crash the car I was laughing so much.

2) Brady said this Dublin team are not as good a few years ago - his reasoning was there is no Jack mc, and McCarthy was injured for long spells. Dublin are not as attacking.

(Brady failed to see that Dublin control games more now that is why they do not attack as much)

27 games unbeaten in league and championship football.

O’Byrne Cup, National League, Leinster Championship and the All-Ireland Winners 2015 (only done once before in the 50s).

Obviously a team in decline.

It'll take a special team to beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Gryire

These things were said about Donegal in 2014. Dublin are good but not unbeatable. The ref could be instumental as Dublin may not be allowed to bully him the same as they did against Kerry.

Mayo are stronger than last year in a game they may have won if O'Shea had not been black carded.

Dublin backs are not a storng as shown by the amound of scores condeded to Kerry and had Kerry got their shooting boots on, they would have won. Mayo are physically stronger than Kerry.

Gryire wrote: »
    These things were said about Donegal in 2014. Dublin are good but not unbeatable. The ref could be instumental as Dublin may not be allowed to bully him the same as they did against Kerry.

Mayo are stronger than last year in a game they may have won if O'Shea had not been black carded.

Dublin backs are not a storng as shown by the amound of scores condeded to Kerry and had Kerry got their shooting boots on, they would have won. Mayo are physically stronger than Kerry.

No the same things weren't said about the Dubs in 2014. There never has been a run of 27 games unbeaten in league and championship by any other team in recent history. Win or lose, this current Dublin team are special.

Mayo are Stronger ? What have they won this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭mvt

Ah now, come on...choulda,shouda,wouda....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

Please....... just stop. You're hurting my head.

The things said about Mayo now are what were said about Donegal in 2014.

In fairness, in those 27 games, most are in Leinster where the opposition is poor. Of the 27, Only about 4 mattered and these 4 have been close, narrow wins against Kerry and a draw and win against Mayo. You can't take Jack Mc and Rory O'C out of a team and say it does not weaken the team. There is only one competition Mayo are interested in. No point in peaking for a Connacht final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

In fairness, in those 27 games, most are in Leinster where the opposition is poor. Of the 27, Only about 4 mattered and these 4 have been close, narrow wins against Kerry and a draw and win against Mayo. You can't take Jack Mc and Rory O'C out of a team and say it does not weaken the team. There is only one competition Mayo are interested in. No point in peaking for a Connacht final.

Most aren't leinster actually

Actually even!8-)

March 2015. The last time Dublin were beaten in the Championship or League. Since then they have picked up 2 League Division 1 titles, 2 Leinster Championships, an O Byrne Cup and an All Ireland.

The way it works is that the best team gets to the medals.

In fairness who did Mayo beat this year and what have they won ?

Youre not in Kansas now Toto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Into Meaghers for 130. Be grand.

Fair balls to you. 130 pints and you'll be grand. I know the old barman in there who always does his welcome speeches for us expects plenty of takings when the Dubs are in, but he'll have a good day if you are buying 130 pints. If each one is part of a round, he'll have enough money to take him through the winter and well into the league when we are all back. Funny, there are quite a few of us boardsies in there, and we don't make contact. Give me a PM and you'll only have 129 pints to buy. :)

Here we go, here we go, here we go....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Could go either way but my only worry is the ref, once he doesn't lose the run of himself then I am sanguine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

Bambi wrote: »
    Could go either way but my only worry is the ref, once he doesn't lose the run of himself then I am sanguine.

+1 Tensions will be high, Mayo will be hitting hard, Ref needs to decide if he is going to let it go and do for both sides or shut it down consistently on it. Personally I hope he let's it go and the game will flow!

Ref usually blows for everything. Expect a few penaltys and red cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Flukey wrote: »
    Fair balls to you. 130 pints and you'll be grand. I know the old barman in there who always does his welcome speeches for us expects plenty of takings when the Dubs are in, but he'll have a good day if you are buying 130 pints. If each one is part of a round, he'll have enough money to take him through the winter and well into the league when we are all back. Funny, there are quite a few of us boardsies in there, and we don't make contact. Give me a PM and you'll only have 129 pints to buy. :)

If you see some lad in a Tyrone Jersey I'll probably be the dub beside him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

jon1981 wrote: »
    +1 Tensions will be high, Mayo will be hitting hard, Ref needs to decide if he is going to let it go and do for both sides or shut it down consistently on it. Personally I hope he let's it go and the game will flow!

Would'nt have a lot of faith in Lane letting anything go, he's a bit dramatic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Bambi wrote: »
    Would'nt have a lot of faith in Lane letting anything go, he's a bit dramatic

He reffed the club final well in fairness and let 'Boden play football and dish out the required hits.

If he does same today we'll be grand.

At least it won't be like 2012 where McQuillan allowed Mayo turn last 20 minutes into 6/7 minutes of playing time.

COYBIB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ProudDUB wrote:
    David Brady is such a tool. I'm convinced that Off The Boil have him on as often as they do, purely for the eegitry & entertainment value.

TBH I like him he's one of my favourite commentators, he's not that popular though even in mayo for some reason, but one thing for him he believes what he says. If I pick up a paper I'll read what it has to say, he won't talk about Dublin being hyped , he won't talk about Mayo being bottlers.
    He was the first to pick up on Dublin finishing with their strongest team from 2011 onwards after the 1 point loss to Cork in 2010 following the slow fading in the second half. He can get caught out sometimes alright as some of his comments are new and not rehashed safe talk at least he has something different to say.

He was a hardy SOB too.

I was reading the papers and I see a lot of guys have Kilkenny as footballer of the year, including Brady .

It's a funny one. People said that he'd a great game against Donegal at halfback, but he didn't have to mark anyone, some of the kerry lads think Murphy kept him quite in that game but Kilkenny was playing most of the game between midfield and the halfback line so like Kilkenny vs Donegal, Murphy had a handy one, but neither kept anyone quiet, Dublin didn't actually have 8 forwards playing as forwards !
    That's crept into the media too about how handy Murphy was. Yet the Dubs broke the kerry halfback line a number of times in the last 10 minutes. This idea of keeping your man quiet and having a good game is a very narrow view to take imo. Failing to pick up McCarthys couple of attacking runs in the last 5 minutes was the kerry halfback lines fault imo.

Still Kilkenny has been effective in his play this year. It's almost a different position he's in, read an interview with him where he says he just wants to play where the action is , midfield halfback or half-forward he says it all effectively the same position. However he significantly influenced the pace of the Donegal and Kerry games more than any other player imo.

I'm expecting the Mayo line to either miss this and pay for it today or to counter it, I'm not sure they will with their halfbacks , Boyle is too small for him IMO and Keegan might be on Connelly, after those two Mayo are a little short defensively in the HB line imo. We might even see keegan on Kilkenny, but Keegan's antics are far better suited to Connelly, Kilkenny seems immune to wind ups. I expect something different from Mayo here though

I'm hoping that the fullback line will have learned a lot against Kerry, similar to how we learned a lot in the first Mayo game last year.

Cooper has been excellent so far, tbh if things work out I think he could either be destroyed by A Moran or else he clean him out. However I'm not sure that Mayo will have faith in Andy to win much off johnny, i could be wrong but A Moran at this stage of his career might be set up for Cooper.
    I also wouldn't be surprised to see M Fitzsimmons on Andy with Cooper on COS.
    I'm happy if Andy starts, he a good impact man but I think he'll be bunched in the last 15 if he starts, get him out of the way.

A big day is needed from MDMA too.
    He's been the one for Mayo and Kerry in the past, he moved to midfield too late in 2012 but had a great final in 2013, same against Kerry,
    Another player tagged with "not a natural footballer" but to be fair to him he's come out the right side of Maher and AOS when it's counted, McGuiness recognised this and tactically took him out of the game in 2014, but he frustrates a lot of bustling midfielders like AOS by out bullying them something they are not used to, overall his importance in big Dublin wins can't be ignored, he'd a good impact picking up Star for bits in the final last year too.

On that I hope Philly keeps his cool today. I think AOS should be over the shock of how powerful "little" Philly is so we should see a different AOS today, however a lot of AOS effectiveness is based on winning high ball and his strength on it, he consistently barges and leads with his elbow, but gets very upset when he's pulled up on it, almost indignant, it similar to the good job keegan did on Connelly last year some guys can be out psyched and IMO that's a big flaw in AOSs game, he goes nuts when he's pulled up for barging, even though he is clearly doing it the crowd seem to think he should be let do it too and get on the refs back about it. But O'Gara isn't let away with it and neither is AOS, it looks great knocking lads out of the way and ploughing forward but it's not allowed in the game. It frustrates me when O'Gara does it now too as like AOS the refs have him tagged for it early.

Big day for Rock. I'm hoping he'll show his best from play today, as we know he can be very good from distance but has shut that down a bit.

Overall I'm hopeful but aware that Mayo have the tools to beat us.

But they are still in year one with the manager and banking on it all coming together,i M getting that vibe of hope from them. I'd be a lot more concerned if they'd played very well for a whole game this year.

However both teams have concentrated on getting the job done and no more.

I'm hoping Connelly and Flynn do the usual and come good for the final

I'm hoping for something special today from
    Brogan, Connelly, MDMA, Andrews

And a johnny Cooper goal maybe?
    Say prayer McCarthy holds up.

I hope nobody from either team is sent off and for a good game and a win for the mighty Dubs!