Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2016 // **Discussion Only / NO Ticket Sales / Requests** //

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭pah

I've thought of a great way to involve the kids. Use today's children's allowance to snap up those early birds on Friday. Like fuč they're coming with us though.

First EP since 2010 had a great weekend with herself got the poshest podpad and pink moon sight was great. Still a lot of rubbish around there Monday morning **** everywhere and abandoned chairs mattress and whatnot. I'll be encouraging my kids away from general population camping when the time comes. It's worth it.

Highlights for me Noel gallagher, new order mostly just floated around and soaked up the atmosphere. Food was average burritos were good and got some savage chips cheese and rain Sunday night. Got chips Saturday from Food Fayre as raw as the day the potatoes were pulled. I was delighted to see no queue they're Sunday while the 2 flanking them were hopping.

To the general camping population I say this. You're a ****ing disgrace.how hard is it to put all your **** in a black bag. Oxfam had appealed for tents to be packed and dropped for donation. Hundreds abandoned. Give a little back you selfish little *****.the same type of person that drops their empty curry chips carton on the ground in town on a Saturday night while standing 3 feet from a bin :mad:

Anyway good craic, I'll be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭fourmations

Sunday I got mashed and proposed to my missus, she told me to cop the F on
    lmao

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Feeling semi human again.
    As usual, I had a cracking weekend. Pink moon was the business.

Took it reasonably easy on the Friday, and had a great time as a result. I was thinking to myself 'maybe I've finally grown up'
    Then on Saturday, I found the €3 whiskeys in my lovely ranch, and it all went pear shaped.

Sunday I got mashed and proposed to my missus, she told me to cop the F on...

Saw bands I never heard of, and missed plenty I wanted to see. Par for the course I guess.

Roll on next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭fillup

Morrison J wrote: »
    New Order were the act of the weekend for me. Absolutely perfect. Temptation was something else.
    New Order were better than i expected but that version of Love Will Tear Us Apart that they played is rank

They've taken a post punk classic and reworked it as a stadium rock anthem and replaced the melancholic feel of the song with an uplift *shudder*

Jesus Christ I'm exhausted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭fourmations

fillup wrote: »
    New Order were better than i expected but that version of Love Will Tear Us Apart that they played is rank

They've taken a post punk classic and reworked it as a stadium rock anthem and replaced the melancholic feel of the song with an uplift *shudder*

agreed, liked the screen imagery they used though for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

in work staring at dita files....

the tiredness is kicking in....

**** dita files...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Canneverfindit

Just catching up on this thread now..

Really enjoying the 'bringing the kids' chat as I'm still unsure of my opinion on this one. Have thought about it loads as we have 3 - ages 5,6 and 10 but I've never brought them with me. Why:

1. Far too selfish. We're flat out working all year long (like everyone else!), rarely go out, if we go away for a weekend/ holiday we always have the kids with us. EP is the one weekend of the entire year where we book a babysitter and head off to step into another world and be completely irresponsible for 3 whole days. I looked at so many parents with children over the weekend and felt a pang of guilt - thought 'fair play to them, they are so much less selfish than we are'.

2. I dont think I'd really like mine to see some of the **** that goes on. The 10 year old is old enough to cop on to certain things, the 6 year old is the most sensitive little person I've ever met in my entire life - he'll hear someone say something 'mean' to someone else on Monday in school and it'll stay with him - often popping down from bed on a Wednesday night with tears in his eyes to tell me he was feeling sad about it. The 5 year old is absolute raving LUNATIC - I'd lose her in seconds, no doubt - or would have to use reigns on her. She'd follow any sort of craic she seen with no cop on. Its highly probably she'd want to go raving in the woods at 4am.

One has asthma and we dont have a campervan and as we cant depend on weather here, I'd worry the drop in night time temperatures would trigger an attack.

In short - its going to really depend on the child. Their individual personality and needs etc. and I suspect every parent knows their own child best so theyre the most qualified to call this one.

I do feel a little bad though, cos I know mine would love it - I've considered asking one of the extended family to drop them to me at the gate on a Saturday morning and get them to collect them that evening. Just for the amazing experience of it all. It IS fabulous, I'd love them to see it and for it to open their minds a little bit.

At the end of all that, I'm just going to say what I said to someone in our campsite who were giving out about kids being present on Saturday morning:
    Seriously - unfortunately there are millions of kids worldwide who really do deserve your pity - abused, neglected, the Syrian children etc.
    Kids whose parents happened to take them to a music festival one weekend dont need or deserve your pity.

Bitta perspective lads.

Off to catch up the rest of the thread and then to bore you all with my weekend experience (have a lot to say! :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Fatfrog wrote: »
    The sound in the EA was absolutely terrible!! Ruined Wolf Alice! I know their stuff well but at times I struggled to even identify what song it was.

Have to agree. Sound quality for their show was appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭laois gael

Live very Close by 3 miles away so a group of us just pitch a few tents and leave clothes and Chairs in them...Some of the younger crew with us stay in them but I go home every night.

Defo noticed an increased crowd this year...Made the walking in the woods hard at times with the flow of traffic...

Was a younger crowd but mostly younger girls ...

I know the short shorts are in fashion but the but cheeks sticking out ain't a turn on ...

Thought there was a good vibe...

Enjoyed the Smiths in the salty Dog on friday evening..

Noel Gallagher was excellent.

Casa Bacardi tent was a little messy this year and the drinks very terrible value with the amount of Ice they use.

Hendrix camp site seemed messier than usual and the tents were pitched far to close to the walk way on the way up from the woods usually there is lads there on a friday morning to tell you where to pitch or not but not this year..Hence loads of peoples tents got walked on along that route.

I think they need to reduce the crowd back near 40,000 but it won't happen.

Overall not one of the best but not one of the worst.

Glad I could help people with directions being local and knowing the area can be handy.

Found a phone and got it back to the young girl saturday morning which gave me a buzz she was very young and it was a new Samsung edge.

Found a handbag/purse walking out in the rain Sunday night and handed it into Portlaoise Garda station yesterday morning(had a big big sum of euros in it along with Visa cards and surprisingly 2 unused weekend tickets plus more stuff)

I hope its recovered by the owner now the Garda seemed confident they would be able to contact them from cards in it!.

I'm not sure I'll go for a ticket on Friday for the simple fact that the crowds are just too much for the whole thing now unless they increase the area.

Being so close and it being so handy tho means it would be a shame not to.

I agree with the music coming from the carnival and the chip vans...Turn it down or turn it off...Nobody wants it on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,332 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It seems to be a problem they have with that stage so? Me and someone else noticed it at broken social scene too. I think it only affects bands? I saw Todd Terje and Skepta in that tent too and the sound seemed fine, although they were all on quite late and I was a bit mashed at that stage. It's frustrating that they can't get it right after several years with the same setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,742 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Ooof yeah, the overwhelming bass frequencies. Was sitting in the Tea Tent at one point trying to chill a bit and it was just 'whoommmmmmpphhh' constantly. Don't mind an oul rave myself like, but jesus, it was ****ing nonstop wall-to-wall obnoxious EDM. Haven't any of them heard of nu-disco or some slow-groove house? It's a marathon, not a sprint ffs.

Snarky Snark Snark

MadYaker wrote: »
    It seems to be a problem they have with that stage so? Me and someone else noticed it at broken social scene too. I think it only affects bands? I saw Todd Terje and Skepta in that tent too and the sound seemed fine, although they were all on quite late and I was a bit mashed at that stage. It's frustrating that they can't get it right after several years with the same setup.

Was wondering about this, for festivals, do the bands have their own sound people or does the festival provide them to ensure consistency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Flyingfug86

Stayed in hendrix and jesus where do I even start. Friday night a girl sits down with us out of her mind looking for her friends who are staying in the big white cloud so that tells you where she was at. I was keeping her calm and having a laugh with her when she just ran off looking for her friends then 5 minutes there she is with a guy pushing her along with her in tears and me and another guy in our group call over to her she comes running over in an awful state saying some guy was trying to push her into his tent she spent the next while in tears until her friends stumble across us.

Saturday began with one of our neighbours tents getting flooded so we took him in and myself and the missus headed off listing to a few acts for the day came back that night had a laugh went to sleep.

Sunday I spent the entire day in the comedy tent as I was far too delicate for anything else then when that was over went back to my own tent which was full because of the rain but didn't mind. At some late hour we spot this guy with a lamp shining into our neighbours tent who just dove straight in when he seen nobody was there so we head out to investigate and he turned and ran. Then layer on while we were asleep our tent gets rushed by 10-15 people chanting so we kick them back out the door and one falls on top of my missus trough the side waking her up and scaring the life out of her. Then the shopping basket gets thrown around by the neighbours which nearly starts a riot plus cans and all the rest. Needless to say I won't be camping in hendrix anymore it was like lord of the flys I can only imagine what it was like down in the back corners of the campsite absolut mayhem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Was wondering about this, for festivals, do the bands have their own sound people or does the festival provide them to ensure consistency?
    depends on the act. smaller bands won't have anyone, bigger ones will often have a sound engineer(s) that tour with them and take over from the festival's dedicated one(s), or at least work with them.
    the same at indoor venues too, there'll often be in-house engineers but more established acts will have their own crew who know their sound configuration better.
    many acts will also specify on the rider the equipment (or level of equipment) they want at the venue to be used; monitors, sound desks etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

Does anybody know if Pink Moon do discounted rates if you book very early? EP 2017 isn't on their website yet.

This year's was the best yet and I missed half of what I wanted to see :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Kepler21

My take on the weekend.
    This is my 5th picnic and I'm over 50. I had the privilege of having my 2 sons with me this year, one 19 and the other 18. The younger one was playing with the Trinity Orchestra, so massive pride at being there to see them perform. Naturally it was brilliant, except for the rain, but completely biased. Commented to son One about great to see a lot of younger people at but, but how few were singing along, and his comment was "Bowie was a generation before us, Dad".

We went for the Yellow car park, normally go for green. There were discussions here on its location; the Staff car parking was where the previous yellow car park was, and the yellow further down the road. It took us 15 mins from car into our camping spot in Warhol, brilliant. We pack up on the Sunday morning and put our stuff in the car for a Sunday night getaway, so handy for that as well. Where we were was relatively quiet, apart from a soundsystem playing Sat night reducing my sleeping hours. I will try for the Eco campsite next year, I met a few people who said it was great, clean and quiet.

Booka Brass Band was the perfect start in other Voices at 4pm. Highlights would be Noel Gallagher, LCD Soundsystem, New Order, Aurora, Glass Animals, Whitney, Wolf Alice, Avett Brothers. I think I got to 34 different acts over the weekend, though some for only one or two songs, such as the 1975 -> Todd Terje -> RTE Concert Orchestra clash. Enjoyed SFA, BSS, Nathaniel Ratecliff, Toots, ABC, even Picture This. Lack of sleep and the rain caught up with me after New Order and just chilled in B&S till time to go home at midnight.

Being with sons is different from a bunch of mates. Our musical tastes sometimes collide and we were at quite a few acts together, while they weren't pushed about some 'old' bands. Son one is into music so we swap bands a lot.

I love the quirkiness of EP and the way it evolves. I love wandering around Global green, Mindfield, Trailer park, and the woods, but usually focus on the music. Hate the corporate places like Sound Atlas, Bold Motel, e-cig awful place, don't mind Casa bacardi too much, but I recognise I'm not the target market. Why would you spend your time in there when there is real music to be had? Love Trailer Park but felt some of the caravans this year were a bit tacky. Jimmie Lees Juke Joint is a must visit. Jerry Fish is great, but suffers from the Sound Atlas placement.

I love B&S and the whole atmosphere in there. Its my go to place when I just want to sit. Tiny Tea Tent is awesome.

There was a lot of very young people this year, but I said that last year as well. I am not very observant about substances, so won't comment. I did feel this year less comfortable towards the front of some of the main stage acts. I am happy to see a mix of older bands and newer ones that cater for the different audiences. I think its necessary to split the crowd and part of the attraction. I love discovering new acts and that is a big attraction of EP, but I like to have enough bands that I know already as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 A Shopkeeper

Enjoyable weekend. The real dampener for me, every time I go, is the rubbish left over in the campsites on Monday. A disgrace to themselves and their hedonistic ways. Thought Oscar Wilde would be better than Hendrix. It wasn't.

Food was crap, beer was/is over-priced, misbehaving teens barging through crowds were a plenty. Oh, and a few extra wood chippings would've been nice.

That aside...

Really enjoyed These Charming Men on Friday. First night buzzers everywhere, great craic.

Aine Cahill was good. Lynched in Other Voices, Todd Terje, NAO, LCD & Noel G, all good too.

Seeing the 14 year old Ashling Tubridy was a really amazing part of the festival. We found her completely by accident and she has/had one of the best voices I seen all weekend. Checked the app and she wasn't even listed.

Think I'll take a break next year but I'll be back if Daft Punk headline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

Food was crap, beer was/is over-priced, misbehaving teens barging through crowds were a plenty. Oh, and a few extra wood chippings would've been nice.
    Undoubtedly lots of it is, but there's loads of really great stuff to be had, most of it by the Mindfield area. All of the below are in that section.

Rathmullan House is excellent, but overpriced. Their crab linguini was the Irish Times' recommended dish this year but at 13 Euro it was out of my price range this year. Their fishcakes also great, but again the wallet.....

Kinvara Kitchen wins the EP food awards every year and has great Pakistani/Indian food - the queues indicate they're still doing the right stuff. Kerala Kitchen across from it was an alternative, and cheaper, option.

Favourite for me again though was Kanum, the best green curry I've tasted in Ireland. Far superior to the stiff in Sabu (though not bad food) and the stodgy Wok n Roll offerings. They also do decent Pad Thai and have shorter queues (for some unjustified reason) so you won't be hanging around for long.
    Have a look next year you're there, the stalls tend to keep the same locations.

And yeah, you're right about beer prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

Was Pie Minister there this year?

It was a no-show at a few festivals I was at.

Hoping they haven't stopped coming to Ireland!

Snarky Snark Snark

Think they were missing, there was a different crew supplying pies but didn't try them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

Was Pie Minister there this year?

It was a no-show at a few festivals I was at.

Hoping they haven't stopped coming to Ireland!
    No sign of it in the usual location. The other pie stall across from the Snug Bar was back again. And with longer queues than other years due to the missing PM.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

I had a Beef and Basil Thai curry that was surprisingly and incredibly tasty.
    Or it may just have been that I was starving at the time.

Really surprised at the amount of people short changed at the bars. I only had a few pints over the weekend but was shortchanged by a tenner at one of the bars. Seems to be happening too much for it to be accidental and mistake is always in favour of the cashier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

This year was my first "sleep over" festival.

I really enjoyed it but found the majority of staff were useless.
    I got fairly manged on Friday night and wandered off from my group with no phone (I'd no pockets so gave it to herself)
    I wandered around for almost 90minutes asking staff for directions to boutique camping and not one of them could direct me to anything other than pink moon.

I highly recommend boutique camping (pricey at 650 between 3 of us) but we were down the very back near the pond and found it incredibly quiet.
    The only downside was having to walk through hendrix to get anywhere, even though there is a performer entrance right beside us.
    As a first timer I was shocked at Hendrix, the behaviour I saw in there was awful and I don't think I saw a single person use a bin.

The only day I didn't enjoy myself was Sunday, I found the average age dropped massively and was knocked to the ground twice by groups of people running mashed out of there heads near electric arena. I'm 6.1 and weigh 15 stone so it takes a bit to knock me down.

Overall I really enjoyed myself but it'll take a lot of goods acts to make me go back again.

I'm still way to hung over to give a full synopsis but that's the gist of it.

This year was my first "sleep over" festival.

I really enjoyed it but found the majority of staff were useless.
    I got fairly manged on Friday night and wandered off from my group with no phone (I'd no pockets so gave it to herself)
    I wandered around for almost 90minutes asking staff for directions to boutique camping and not one of them could direct me to anything other than pink moon.

I highly recommend boutique camping (pricey at 650 between 3 of us) but we were down the very back near the pond and found it incredibly quiet.
    The only downside was having to walk through hendrix to get anywhere, even though there is a performer entrance right beside us.
    As a first timer I was shocked at Hendrix, the behaviour I saw in there was awful and I don't think I saw a single person use a bin.

The only day I didn't enjoy myself was Sunday, I found the average age dropped massively and was knocked to the ground twice by groups of people running mashed out of there heads near electric arena. I'm 6.1 and weigh 15 stone so it takes a bit to knock me down.

Overall I really enjoyed myself but it'll take a lot of goods acts to make me go back again.

I'm still way to hung over to give a full synopsis but that's the gist of it.

6'1, 15 stones and username Teddington Cuddlesworth :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,284 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

*sigh

Here goes my recollection from this year. I say "recollection", but it is only wiht the assistance of photographs and PabloandRoy's app that I can put together a list of what I saw.. well, bands wise anyway.

Friday;
    These Charming Men
    Broken Social Scene
    Jenny Greene & RTE Orchestra
    Chemical Brothers
    Up to Jerry Fish and then on to All Tvvins

Saturday;
    Pleasure Beach
    Whitney
    Glass Animals
    Joey Bada$$
    Catfish and the Bottlemen
    The Shins
    LCD Soundsystem

Sunday;
    Editors
    Wild Beasts
    Wolf Alice
    Animal Collective
    Bat for Lashes (beautiful rendition of Gypsey by Fleetwood Mac at the end)
    New Order
    ExMagician
    Pantha du Prince

Stayed in Pink Moon again this year and couldn't go back to the other camping as a result. They do screw you over (€15e for a fry), over an hour to get in and processed with your tent etc and the queue to get into the arena can be a right pain but overall worth it.

the bands in bold were stand out stuff. Joey Bada$$ was brilliant - great vibe in the place and one of the most enjoyable acts of the weekend. His song "devastated" is a classic.

I like Editors but their performance was excellent.

Missed a fair few bands because of the rain - I stuck to the tents as a result but on the plus side discovered Pantha du Prince - never heard anything about them before but discovered they were a kinda dance version of Sigur Rós. Brilliant stuff.

Sound was off for a few acts - most noticeably Exmagician in Jerry Fish - couldn't hear the singer at all!

This year there were 4 comedians I wanted to go see but as usual, clashes - clashes everywhere!

Feel utterly dejected today, even though I knew it was coming as it has done every year since I started going. Half of my brain is proud of myself for surviving on 4-5 hours sleep per day and drinking from noon; the other half is disgusted with myself and pleads with me not to do it ever again.

That said, tickets will be bought on Friday.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

How were Catfish and the Bottlemen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,284 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

threein99 wrote: »
    How were Catfish and the Bottlemen ?

I really really thought they were excellent. I know on here they are lumped in with other mainstream stuff but i'm an indie kid at heart and really rate them

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

everlast75 wrote: »
    I really really thought they were excellent. I know on here they are lumped in with other mainstream stuff but i'm an indie kid at heart and really rate them

I saw them at the Olympia earlier this year and thought they were excellent. They are playing there again in November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Canneverfindit

Right - My 2016 experience:

I had an absolutely brilliant weekend. Probably my best picnic to date. Unexpected to say the least, mind as I was one of the complete kill joys b1tching earlier in the year that the line up was sh1te and the decision to go was very last minute.

So despite the rain, the mud, the fact my husband had to feck off Saturday evening- Sunday morning to play a (outside) gig, the fact that we're down one unfixable water damaged (week old) iphone and the fact that we DID end up paying a 100 quid more for last minute (trusted) tickets, the fact my husband left the lights on in the car and we had to jump start the car on Monday morning in he horrors (thanks blue van man!) - it.was.brilliant. and totally worth it all.

My biggest regret is that I missed LOADS of what I had intended to see. Didnt see a quarter of what I'd planned and I'm a bit pissed off with myself for that today. The time just flew by on and escaped me. It was over in a blink. I think the rain contributed - we lay in the tent drinking and chatting for far too long Saturday morning whilst waiting for that big shower to pass.

We were then one of THOSE assholes who brought a guitar and had a massive sing song in the campsite during the rain on Sunday (we did ask if anyone minded beside us, by the way and everyone told us to keep going as they were enjoying it/ it was lifting spirits), we stayed at it way too long as more and more people kept joining in. I looked around our tent at one point and there were 5 people in it, with another 5 outside. Singing away.
    One guy took the guitar for a bit and started the Oasis songs. I took it off him and told him to stop for his own safety.

I think the main reason our experience this year was so good was because of where we camped. Stayed in Charlie Chaplin (I did hear security closed it from people who came in after us, we must have just missed that - thankfully). There was no sh1te.
    People were just having the craic and being sound.

Last year we were in Wilde and it was horrendous - people pissing on our tents, ****ting outside it, over dosing to 'call an ambulance' point, kicking up our pegs for the hell of it, starting rows, robbing tents. I seen none of that at all in Chaplin this year. Met loads of lovely people, had great late night chats and had lovely neighbours.
    I met up with a girl on Saturday evening and she said she was sick with the thoughts of having to go back to her tent in Wilde. She said it was horrendous - a group of lads beside her insisted on ****ting on the ground every time they needed to etc. One of her friends had walked human **** into her tent and they couldnt get rid of the smell.
    I'm all for people having the craic, lads but I dont understand how your fun can be diminished by just going to the toilet in the toilet when you need to...

Anyway - another friend snuck me into Pink Moon on Saturday evening and it was just fab. Seriously contemplating booking for next year - I was amazed that you can decant your beer on the way out from PM and bring it into the main arena??!! I never knew this?? why did no one tell me? that would be a serious selling point for me next year... I'd save a fortune.

Speaking of - raging I didnt keep more of an eye on my change after hearing all the reports. Never checked. Think I'm a little too trusting.

I missed sooo much: I'm a bit sick about it:
    Seen Booka Brass Band on Friday in Other Voices (brilliant as always), Le Galaxie Saturday night were brilliant (packed though - need a bigger stage), was dragged away from Rubberbandits in comedy by friends but caught the start (raging!), Dylan Moran was disappointing (I didnt laugh out loud once), caught 3 bands in The Trailer Park that I really enjoyed but do not have a clue who they are, same for Salty Dog, caught Noel Gallagher on Main Stage (grand), loved James Bay (know you'll all laugh), I'm not commenting on the Trinity Orchestra/ Jenny Greene act as I know I'm in the minority.
    Absolutely livid with myself for missing KKC. Ragin. But was steered away by so called 'friends'.

I'll remember more later.
    Still a bit shook.

I really didnt notice the increase this year (did notice last year), nor did I see many people being knobs.

A successful picnic for me.

Will definitely be buying a ticket on Friday..