Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BQ or Bust!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,439 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Tue 2 Aug - Sun 7 Aug

No running.

My left foot had started to feel a bit funny during Monday's long cooldown, which in hindsight looks like a bad idea, after a session and race in 48 hrs. The next morning I had the bursitis feeling I recognise from a 2013 injury. My left ankle has been a weak spot since a bad sprain in my teens, funny how these old injuries can rear up at you again when you overdo things. Anyway decided to play it safe, wearing an ankle support occasionally this week and taking a little running break. In Donegal, and a shame to miss the opportunity for hills, but things have felt a bit flat lately anyway so glad of a few days off to be honest. Will probably resume normal service tomorrow as the ankle feels like it has enjoyed the rest.

WTD: 18k (11m)
    MTD: 18 (11)
    YTD: 1,789 (1,112)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

As you said hopefully the rest is all it needed D, few days off will do you zero harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

tang1 wrote: »
    As you said hopefully the rest is all it needed D, few days off will do you zero harm.

Eh, we need to get him back running again and out of the house :p

Mon 8 Aug

45 mins easy/steady.

Nice to get out after a week off. Not a peep from the ankle. A bit faster than normal for this kind of run, no doubt due to my enthusiasm at being back on the local 5-mile loop in Donegal. Supposed to be training by HR but left the HRM in Dublin. :rolleyes:

Tue 9 Aug

No running. Replaced the session with a four-and-a-half-hour 11k hike over Sliabh Liag. Plenty of mud and boulders to negotiate, and our American visitors were impressed. Recovery pint afterwards in The Rusty Mackerel. :p

Wed 10 Aug

50 mins recovery, again on the local loop.

Thu 11 Aug

MLR 18.3 km @ 5:29 (11.4 mi @ 8:49).

Out and over the local hills and the lovely Croagh Caravan Park. Felt very strong on this one. Threw in a mile or so at MP towards the end, which felt great. Had to dodge a few fast cars on route: plenty of tourists about — this Wild Atlantic Way malarkey seems to be working.

Fri 12 Aug

No running. A pity, as we were visiting a friend in Creeslough and it would have been nice to check out the local roads.

Sat 13 Aug

12.8k (7.5 mi) easy incorporating St. Anne’s parkrun.

Reacquainted myself with the HR monitor at last. The idea was to keep today’s run below 160 which represents 75% of HR reserve, the outer limit for easy running for me (I’m told by the LT specialist). Warmed up with a jog to the car which we’d abandoned last night at a local eatery/drinkery. Over to St. Anne’s for parkrun, where killerz was in the hot seat. First time trying to run the course to HR. Grand for the first lap, started to climb a bit during lap two then dropped right off in the final km, so a bit puzzling. Will get the hang of it eventually. Managed close to MP at this HR though, which is encouraging. Another 5 km to cool down, in two segments either side of coffee and cake with Ferris and laura and KennyG.

Sun 14 Aug

LR "with stuff” — 2 hrs 28 mins @ 5:08/km (8:17/mi).

Headed up the Royal Canal to the Phoenix Park with Ferris for this long run, which we had decided to run by HR, alternating between marathon effort and easy. There was an Ironman event in the park which we had to negotiate our way around, but we mostly covered the Frank Duffy route before heading back down the canal. Ran longer than the planned 2:15 as we avoided the Acres Road due to Tri-fairy congestion. ;) Some very fancy bikes on display, as well as the odd hipster on a vintage racing bike.

The plan was to warm up together and do the reps at our respective efforts, but Ferris decided at the last minute to do this at my pace so I had the pleasure of his company and conversation for the duration. Not sure how reliable my HRM is at the moment tbh, as the marathon efforts (avg 160 = 74% HRR) ended up only marginally more taxing than the supposedly easier efforts (Avg 156 = 71%.) Overall though this was a pretty good long workout averaging around 5:05 (8:10) for the 100 mins of “stuff”. The 5-min reps were a bit short, perhaps, with HR taking a while to respond to the pace changes. Longer reps next time! Total for the morning 28.4 km (17.7 mi).

A good week at 47 miles. Noticed afterwards that this run takes me over 10,000 kms since I started running regularly in 2012.

WTD: 74k (47m)
    MTD: 94 (58)
    YTD: 1,865 (1,159)

Mon 15 Aug

Rest.

Tue 15 Aug

20 mins at LT with WU/CD.

In Donegal again, and very late getting out, due to waiting in for a tree surgeon who was an hour late and then regaled me with stories and banter even though he had another job to go to and a herd of cows to milk. Eventually escaped and headed for Killybegs where they have street lighting. Did a couple of loops of the harbour area. They must be getting used to me as nobody batted an eyelid this time. ;) Tried to do a LT session by HR but either I was very chilled out or the strap is acting up again, so ended up trying to do it by feel. Think I got it close enough, on the up-and-down route. Only 12 mins warmup and the same to cool down due to the late hour, and because I was starving for me dinner. Total 8.4k (5.2m).

Wed 15 Aug

Recovery 8.4k @ 5:58 (5.2 @ 9:36) on the local loop.

WTD: 17k (10m)
    MTD: 111 (69)
    YTD: 1,882 (1,170)

Best of luck in the morning D, will see you out there no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Good luck Denis!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Run fast! Best of luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

All best for tomorrow D. Will you be going for PB.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Good luck tomorrow! I might say hi if I recognise you ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Good luck for tomorrow, D!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

chickey2 wrote: »
    Good luck tomorrow! I might say hi if I recognise you ;)

He'll be the German looking guy in the Crusaders Vest :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Best of luck in the morning, may the weather God's be kind (i.e not hot and sunny!)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

God luck tomorrow D sure we will see ya there :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Hope to catch you tomorrow at some stage, have fun in the wind!

DCM: Week 8 of 18 cont. (11 weeks to go).

Thu 18 Aug

Rest. A few lengths of the pool and a sauna.

Fri 19 Aug

40 mins easy around the Polo Grounds with FBOT. Didn’t feel great before this, a bit tired. Bailed early and let M do the final lap by himself.

Sat 20 Aug

Frank Duffy 10 mile: 74:36

Yaboya1 had kindly offered to lay down a 70 min pace for me to follow. With the terrible weather and everyone huddled under whatever cover they could find, I didn’t see him before the start. Lined up with clubmates and said hello to tang looking very dapper in the Trim candy stripes. This meant I was too close to the front for my expected time but it was cold and wet and I’d had enough of being the mug who lines up in the right place and spends the first mile picking his way through the ones who didn’t. Plus this is the Dublin championships and placings are on gun time, so every man and woman for himself. :pac:

The 7-min pace felt OK for the first few miles (the easiest ones). I knew I'd see Yaboya1 before too long, and sure enough he caught up on Military Road, just past the 3-mile mark. We didn’t spend a lot of time together, however. I followed him up the hill and past the Wellington Monument but when we hit the swirling wind at the bottom of Chesterfield I was already struggling to stay in touch. Passed tang walking past the zoo and knew that couldn’t be good news for him. Fell further and further behind on the way up the North Road, through half way in 36 mins. Despite encouragement from the Mrs and Aquinn in mile 6, the target was way out the window already. The second half would be slower, windier, hillier. In the end it took me more than 38 mins.

This wasn’t easy to take. I was totally off the pace (not for the first time this year) and was being passed from well before halfway. It’s demoralising when group after group catches you and you can’t stay with them. No excuses. Nothing to do with the conditions, which were the same for all the runners passing me. A bad day, no more, no less. First time failing to PB at the distance in 8 attempts. Frank Duffy is one of my favourites, and I didn’t give him the respect he deserved.

Splits: 7:01 6:48 7:14 7:11 7:36 7:48 7:28 7:19 7:37 7:49 (0:45)

Only small consolation is a decent enough placing compared to last year when I was 700th, though the field was slightly smaller this year. Also, the race is the Dublin Championship and our club may be in the running for an M50 medal, in which case my second scorer position will at least count towards something.

Previous PB: 71:33
    Target: < 70:00
    Official Time: 74:36
    604 posn /3,942 (639 chip) (Category M55 8th of 68). Age grade: 69.0%. VDOT 45.3.
    Verdict: Finest hour? Not.

Sun 21 Aug

40 mins recovery in Fairview Park. Legs were dead yesterday, even deader today. Would like to have done another 10-20 mins today but it felt pointless so I pulled the plug.

WTD: 50k (31m)
    MTD: 144 (89)
    YTD: 1,915 (1,190)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Tough day and lot of racing in the legs this year, bit of TLC and onwards
    to next one, after nice recovery week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Had a crap day myself D think we should write it off and move to the next challenge weather didn't help yesterday it was miserable and hard conditions to get a pb in. That's what I'm telling myself anyway :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Not nice when things don't go to plan D but there will be plenty of days for you ahead when they do. Well done yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Now that the dust has settled on your race report... anything you'd have done different going into the race or on the day? From the splits it looks like miles 5 and 6 were the most out of whack. Did the head go then (if at all?)?

Singer wrote: »
    Now that the dust has settled on your race report... anything you'd have done different going into the race or on the day? From the splits it looks like miles 5 and 6 were the most out of whack. Did the head go then (if at all?)?

Should have dialled back the expectations by a couple of mins for sure, might have had a respectable result. Head went at the end of mile 4 - I remember getting up the hill to Wellington monument thinking, well that wasn't so bad, then next thing I knew my pacer was starting to drift away and there was little response in the legs. I kind of gave up then at the halfway split, so yeah, head went at that point and I just ground out the second half (in a slow rather than a good way). F Duffy always comes in a marathon cycle with no taper so I've always had to grind it out, but usually managed a respectable result. The weather didn't help but ultimately I'd set an unrealistic target, wishful thinking, plucking a round number "out of my arse", as those Anglo bankers would put it. :p Purely because the 71:xx in Ballycotton (in good shape, early in year, no fatigue, cool day, added light cooling rain) had felt relatively effortless.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Murph_D wrote: »
    Should have dialled back the expectations by a couple of mins for sure, might have had a respectable result. Head went at the end of mile 4 - I remember getting up the hill to Wellington monument thinking, well that wasn't so bad, then next thing I knew my pacer was starting to drift away and there was little response in the legs. I kind of gave up then at the halfway split, so yeah, head went at that point and I just ground out the second half (in a slow rather than a good way). F Duffy always comes in a marathon cycle with no taper so I've always had to grind it out, but usually managed a respectable result. The weather didn't help but ultimately I'd set an unrealistic target, wishful thinking, plucking a round number "out of my arse", as those Anglo bankers would put it. :p Purely because the 71:xx in Ballycotton (in good shape, early in year, no fatigue, cool day, added light cooling rain) had felt relatively effortless.

So in summary it was the pacers fault :p

FBOT01 wrote: »
    So in summary it was the pacers fault :p

Well he is one those "catch me if you can" pacers rather than a hand-holder, but one is always responsible for one's own race. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I'd hold your hand if you were running the right pace :D

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I'd hold your hand if you were running the right pace :D

Touché, sir. :)

DCM: Week 9 of 18 (10 weeks to go).

Mon 22 Aug

Recovery: 52 mins through Ballymun. Couldn’t access Santry Demesne via usual route (being Irish I ignored the sign saying path was closed, assuming it’d be grand) so a lap of Albo at the end instead.

Tue 23 Aug

Rest. Sports massage, featuring painful hip flexor intervention. Some core exercises and stretches recommended. We’ll see about that. ;)

Later, official confirmation of bronze M50+ team prize at the FD (county championship). Our club only has only four or five runners in this category, and one of my 2016 goals was to "help club win M50 medal (any medal)" so delighted to be part of this, despite the mediocre run on Saturday.

Wed 24 Aug

No running. Joined my bro on a 52k cycle to Glencree instead. Fabulous day for it!

Thu 25 Aug

MLR 22.5k @ 5:33 (14 mi @ 8:56). Hooked up with FBOT and yaboya for some easy miles along the Tolka Valley, the Park and the Royal Canal. Fairly tired after yesterday's two-wheeled exploits but the chat helped me through this. Sore now though.

WTD: 31k (19m)
    MTD: 175 (109)
    YTD: 1,946 (1,209)

Week 9 of 18 cont.

Fri 26 Aug

No running. Swim, sauna, some stretches and planks.

Sat 27 Aug

5.2 km easy inc. St. Anne's parkrun.

Memorable parkrun pacing debut, on 27-min duty at the always popular monthly Pacer Saturday at St. Anne’s. It was going well, until I clattered into a tree in the final km while turning around to inject some HTFU into my pacees. Gave myself quite a bang on the head, hand and knee. Luckily I was sporting the red parkrun 50 shirt, which partly disguised the bloodstains from the gusher on my forehead. Thanks to FBOT and all the St. Anne’s crew and regulars for the first aid, coffee, and the inevitable slagging once it became apparent I'd survive. Just when I was beginning to live down The Day You Dropped The Finish Tokens, I've managed to provide some fresh material.

Sun 28 Aug

“QLR” 28.8k (18m) with 4, 3, 2, 1 @ marathon effort.

Jogged up to the Phoenix Park with A for this. Left her at the Infirmary Rd. gate to do her own thing and headed up the North Road on the first leg. Plan was 4, 3, 2, and 1-mile reps at MP, with 1 mile easy/recovery in between. Hit marathon pace and waited for HR to catch up, which took about a mile, I’d say. Had to slow down then to keep it in the recommended zone, so the first 4 mile leg came in a good 14 sec/mile slower than MP. I thought this was probably fair enough after yesterday’s ordeal, and the humidity of the morning. HR monitor went haywire then for the rest of the session so I just tried to run the remaining legs at the same pace as the first. Found myself mixed in with the rear end of a triathlon event on a couple of occasions. Probably what slowed me down: the pace seemed quite relaxed. :p Must have looked the part because a marshal tried to direct me across the Acres at one point, before I told her I wasn’t part of the race.

MP reps:
    4m @ 7:44
    3m @ 8:00
    2m @ 7:45
    1m @ 8:02

As is obvious from these splits, I struggled with this. MP is supposed to be 7:30 so this"long run with stuff” was far from my best. But it’s done and dusted, in time for the Dubs.

WTD: 65k (40m)
    MTD: 209 (130)
    YTD: 1,980 (1,230)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

I doubt there's anything I can say that hasn't already been said, so this will have to do instead

:D:D:D:D:D

Glad you're okay though!!!! Enjoy the match.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Firedance wrote: »
    I doubt there's anything I can say that hasn't already been said, so this will have to do instead

:D:D:D:D:D

Glad you're okay though!!!! Enjoy the match.

Just leaving this here...

Ouch, and they made you a Dr!!! Hope your not to sore D.