Ryder Cup 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Well spotted, very interesting indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

Pieters is -9 thru 16h playing with Clarke, this may put the pussy among the pigeons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Thomas pieters starting to give Clarke a headache. 2nd last week and now 9 under for 16 holes while playing with him.

Plus hes a huge hitter which gives him a length advantage over Knox as Hazeltine is very long, could be a close one.

Shouldn't be anywhere near close - Knox won a WGC and on the PGA Tour this season, will be a travesty if he isn't picked

Absolutely agree, it depends whos in Clarks ear from the tour, Pieters is a big supporter of the European tour, Knox not at all and has only played the reqd number of events just to be eligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,520 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Will be interesting to see how soren kjedsen will play, does he have any chance?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭Dbu

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Will be interesting to see how soren kjedsen will play, does he have any chance?

Wouldn't have thought so...but
    Im sure our Captain will decide over a few bottles of wine with the 'lads'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Absolutely agree, it depends whos in Clarks ear from the tour, Pieters is a big supporter of the European tour, Knox not at all and has only played the reqd number of events just to be eligible.

Pieters isnt exempt on the pga tour, so to say he's a particular supporter of the euro tour may be disingenuous, since its the most lucrative tour currently available to him. Would be an interesting punt by Clarke, akin to Olazabal picking Colsaerts. Certainly needs to win to have any chance imo.

Yep, but 4th in Olympics, 2nd last week, 10 birdies this morning playing with clarke, Captains are encouraged to hold a pick for a form player, could be a surprise, but woudl be very hard on Knox(assuming Westwood and kaymer are in)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Yep, but 4th in Olympics, 2nd last week, 10 birdies this morning playing with clarke, Captains are encouraged to hold a pick for a form player, could be a surprise, but woudl be very hard on Knox(assuming Westwood and kaymer are in)

I think both Pieters and Knox have strong claims but it will depend on how much importance Clarke attaches to experience. Kaymer probably has a stronger case than Westwood but Darren and Lee and long-time buddies and share the same management. Tough one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Puts Clarke in a tricky position alright. He himself was v unlucky not to be picked by Faldo as the man in form back in 08 (Poulter picked instead who, in fairness, certainly didnt let anyone down), so if Pieters continues to perform this week, his own snub might resonate. Any chance two rookies get picked? Although with Westwood not playing this wk, it would appear he knows something we dont!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭paulos53

The problem with picking anybody as the form pick is that there is still another 5 weeks to go to the Ryder cup. Form can change a lot between now and then.

The Americans have changed their wildcards to allow for that this year. They pick 3 of their wildcards in mid September but will wait until a few days before the Ryder cup to announce their final wildcard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,520 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

The American picks should be more interesting, few high profile players still outside the team.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Any hope for luke Donald?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Any hope for luke Donald?

None - I'd say it's defo westy, kaymer and a n other

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 259 ✭✭flogthebog

paulos53 wrote: »
    The problem with picking anybody as the form pick
    just browsed the fedex leaderboard. if you were going on form this ryder cup looks done and dustined. Paddy Power has it about right other than I would have thought US would be even stronger favourites. And no ROI representative is a shame but a reflection on how they are playing at the moment. Would say Paul Dunne is playing the best at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

None - I'd say it's defo westy, kaymer and a n other

The story seems to be Westie has already been told he is in, which is why he isnt playing this weekend.
    Kaymer and Knox would be the other two for me.

Key for Europe will be whether Rory is on song, or whether his putting is off and he in throw in the towel mode that he is always too close to - that simply wont do for matchplay and Ryder Cup. A fighting attitude can overcome a lot in RC, but Rors just doesnt have it in that suit.

flogthebog wrote: »
    And no ROI representative is a shame but a reflection on how they are playing at the moment.

Well, how 'he' is playing at the moment. The reality is ROI only has one true contender in Shane who is in touching distance of RC level golf, so the chance are low. Lean times for ROI golf really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

flogthebog wrote: »
    just browsed the fedex leaderboard. if you were going on form this ryder cup looks done and dustined. Paddy Power has it about right other than I would have thought US would be even stronger favourites. And no ROI representative is a shame but a reflection on how they are playing at the moment. Would say Paul Dunne is playing the best at the moment
    Well, how 'he' is playing at the moment. The reality is ROI only has one true contender in Shane who is in touching distance of RC level golf, so the chance are low. Lean times for ROI golf really.

Just to bring ye up to speed there lads, there is no such thing as ROI golf, it's an all Ireland sport on this island.

I never get this argument.

Isn't it like saying that golf in Great Britain is ran on an all island basis. Would the Scots be saying nobody from Scotland again, but sure tis grand there's a good few lads from England there.

Fact would remain that there's still no Scots! (unless of course knox gets a pick)

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I never get this argument.

Isn't it like saying that golf in Great Britain is ran on an all island basis. Would the Scots be saying nobody from Scotland again, but sure tis grand there's a good few lads from England there.

Fact would remain that there's still no Scots! (unless of course knox gets a pick)

It's really very straight forward, we are part of CONGU, and CONGU is made up of 4 golfing unions, i.e. Ireland, England, Scotland and Wales, there is no distinction made between north and south in Ireland, people who continuously make reference to North and South in golfing terms are simply showing there ignorance of the current golfing set up.

Have to say Knox is in poll position IMO, closely followed by Donald, personally I'd go with experience and pick Donald, but either player should be an asset to the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Have to say Knox is in poll position IMO, closely followed by Donald, personally I'd go with experience and pick Donald, but either player should be an asset to the team.

Agree with this. Two of knox donald and pieters for me. I wouldnt bring westwood myself..

Still think europe are v strong with rory stenson rose garcia.

It's really very straight forward, we are part of CONGU, and CONGU is made up of 4 golfing unions, i.e. Ireland, England, Scotland and Wales, there is no distinction made between north and south in Ireland, people who continuously make reference to North and South in golfing terms are simply showing there ignorance of the current golfing set up.

There is simply no unanimous answer to this one - to some people the above is the answer, to others it is simply a cross border golfing union between two different countries and so isnt an acceptable answer.
    The golfing union may be common, but to some, me included, Rory is as foreign as Kaymer or Garcia, no more than I would regard Rose 'one of us' because he comes from a Congu country.
    For those for whom this matters, it is a legitimate observation to note that there are no ROI golfers. It is a fact. The importance you put on that depends from person to person, and it is also fine to hold the opinion that the distinction is of no importance to you.

But enough of politics. Seriously think this could be a US win.

And in a way, without being condescending towards them, it would probably be a good thing for the RC itself.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

People are entitled to regard a player as being ROI. I would be very uninterested in mcilroy or mcdowell winning majors etc . Good luck to them etc but it doesn't mean anything to me compared to Harrington, lowry etc . Likewise Paddy Barnes winning Olympic medals wouldn't interest me like Carruth winning did . It's personal opinion that people are disappointed there will be no ROI player on the ryder cup but it doesn't mean we won't be cheering on Europe

There is simply no unanimous answer to this one - to some people the above is the answer, to others it is simply a cross border golfing union between two different countries and so isnt an acceptable answer.
    The golfing union may be common, but to some, me included, Rory is as foreign as Kaymer or Garcia, no more than I would regard Rose 'one of us' because he comes from a Congu country.
    For those for whom this matters, it is a legitimate observation to note that there are no ROI golfers. It is a fact. The importance you put on that depends from person to person, and it is also fine to hold the opinion that the distinction is of no importance to you.

But enough of politics. Seriously think this could be a US win.

And in a way, without being condescending towards them, it would probably be a good thing for the RC itself.
    People are entitled to regard a player as being ROI. I would be very uninterested in mcilroy or mcdowell winning majors etc . Good luck to them etc but it doesn't mean anything to me compared to Harrington, lowry etc . Likewise Paddy Barnes winning Olympic medals wouldn't interest me like Carruth winning did . It's personal opinion that people are disappointed there will be no ROI player on the ryder cup but it doesn't mean we won't be cheering on Europe

Interesting that when you put all the euro players together you're able to support them without prejudice to their nationalities yet when it comes to golf on your own island you feel the inappropriate and misplaced need to make that distinction.
    Apparently for some, it's not possible to separate politics from sport, that's a shame and I feel sorry for those people, but the reality is and ye may not like it but it's true to say that golf is a 32 county sport governed by a single all Ireland body.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

It's got zero to do with politics . Where's the politics in wanting to have golfers from the Republic on the Ryder cup team ? I have nothing against golfers from any European country , I simply have a natural affiliation towards golfers from the ROI. It's nothing to do with golfing unions or sporting bodies across borders or anything political

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Pieters is going to give Darren a big headache. 4th in Olympics, 2nd last week and looking like a victory in Denmark. Between him and Knox for last spot I'd say.

20th in the world rankings is just too strong a case for me, to ignore Knox.

Pieters is going to give Darren a big headache. 4th in Olympics, 2nd last week and looking like a victory in Denmark. Between him and Knox for last spot I'd say.

Especially with knox 4 over in the barclays

Free Palestine 🇵🇸