Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryder Cup 2016

• 27-05-2016 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Under starters orders now.... and with the Live press conference on now, surely this is the moment the Ryder Cup Fever starts in earnest.

Darren Clarke has just announced his vice captains

Padraig Harrington
    Thomas Bjorn
    Paul Lawrie

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

Nice to see him introduce 'new' blood into the management.
    He must have fallen out with Westwood or has guaranteed him a wildcard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Dbu wrote: »
    Nice to see him introduce 'new' blood into the management.
    He must have fallen out with Westwood or has guaranteed him a wildcard

I was surprised in a way not to see Westwood there, but then again, he is playing reasonably well of late. Shoe in for the team now though you would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Seve OB wrote: »
    I was surprised in a way not to see Westwood there, but then again, he is playing reasonably well of late. Shoe in for the team now though you would think.

100%

Did Clarke request 3 captains picks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Not sure , as it stands the following would all need a captains pick
    Are we sure Lee is the best choice

Chris Woods
    Henrik Stenson
    Olesen
    Broberg
    All ahead of Westwood in rankings

Sergio Garcia
    Rose
    Kaymer
    Mcdowell

If i had 3 picks from that I am not sure friend or not Lee would be picked

Chris Woods
    Henrik Stenson
    Olesen
    Broberg

Sergio Garcia
    Rose
    Kaymer
    Mcdowell

No but you're not Darren Clarke - Westwood will have to have abysmal form between now and Sept to not get picked.

Not sure why you list Woods and Broberg?

Kaymer, Sergio, McDowell are starting to show some reasonable form so could play their way in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Did Clarke request 3 captains picks?

He said he will be adding some more. One for everyone on the team at this rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Why doesn't he just tell the bar man to send the pints to each consecutive tee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭paulos53

Chris Woods
    Henrik Stenson
    Olesen
    Broberg

Sergio Garcia
    Rose
    Kaymer
    Mcdowell

Barring some freak results Stenson already has enough points to make the team.
    Garcia and Rose are currently in the top 9 in the rankings so don't need a wildcard at the moment.

At 11th in rankings Westwood is doing enough to warrant a wildcard without relying on friendships with the captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Westwoods golf is doing the talking at the moment. Great experience and will be a great partner for any Ryder rookie.
    There is still a long way to go but l think it will be a really hard one to win in the states.
    I'd imagine 4 rookies at most would ideal, so Willet, Sullivan, Cabrera Bello and Olsen would be great. I'd fancy Westwood and Kjeldsen from the current standing as picks.
    Victor and Gmac need to turn the heat on. Fitzpatrick is one for the future, if he doesn't qualify, I can't see him get a pick. Unfortunately too many have more time served.
    It could be a real changing of the guard for the Europeans.

Yeah I was reading the rankings the wrong way earlier
    as it stands

Europe ranking picks
    1 Danny WILLETT
    2 Rory MCILROY
    3 Matthew FITZPATRICK
    4 Andy SULLIVAN

World Ranking picks
    5 Henrik STENSON
    6 Justin ROSE
    7 Sergio GARCIA
    8 Rafa CABRERA BELLO
    9 Thorbjørn OLESEN

Putting only KJELDSEN ahead of Westwood in world rankings
    That would probably make Lee safe as chips

Poulter going to need to start playing some serious golf if he is to get a pick , I normally dont like him but he is great in the Ryder cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

If Lee doesn't play himself on there's always room for a 4th captains pick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Surprised to see Harrington get a vice captain as didn't think they were good buddies.

Maybe it was an European tour suggestion to give Harrington more experience for when he's captain.

Westwood doing enough to make the team either way at the moment but still long way to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

His putting is not good enough - but matchplay and Ryder cup will suit him , he is stricking the ball incredibly - and will win many holes without needing to put at all or with 2 putts for win.

Must Pick - But think he will make it on his own steam.

By the way after watching Lee at Irish open and a bit lately - I think he will have a good week with putter and have a big win.

Good bet for The Open.

His putting is not good enough - but matchplay and Ryder cup will suit him , he is stricking the ball incredibly - and will win many holes without needing to put at all or with 2 putts for win.

Must Pick - But think he will make it on his own steam.

By the way after watching Lee at Irish open and a bit lately - I think he will have a good week with putter and have a big win.

Good bet for The Open.

I think you might be right...... Big win is not far away for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Wentworth? He seems to like the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Whatever it is about it the Ryder Cup just never grabs me as an event.
    The build up is just to much. I'm usually sick of it before it ever starts!
    I watch it but I'm never truly bothered about the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

kiers47 wrote: »
    Whatever it is about it the Ryder Cup just never grabs me as an event.
    The build up is just to much. I'm usually sick of it before it ever starts!
    I watch it but I'm never truly bothered about the result.

I do enjoy it.

But I have no historical , cultural or social link to Europe as an entity. The EU - is struggling as an entity and as a concept.

In fact, I decidedly dislike some european players and former players :eek: - likes of Garcia , Poulter, Rose, Monty - couldn't stand them at times over the years - likes of Mark James , Faldo at times , Clarke - even G - Mac freaked me out a bit :D - Thomas Bjorn is a dire miserable fecker and the swedes typically would put you to sleep, with their crazy tight trouser and horrible routines and lack of bottle :D

Most of these lads - are fine when retired and "fun" on Sky , but during their playing careers they were notorious grumps.

You know you are in trouble following a team when you are shouting for Nicholas Colsaerts, as he is a character :eek:

A little bit of the Ryder Cup died in me with the demise of Ollie and Seve . It was great when they as a team were real real underdogs.

If there is an Irish man involved it gives me something to get behind - See the likes of Shane at it would be great, when Padraig was there , Walton - McGinley as a player.
    If Paul McGinley wasn't involved in last one - I couldn't have got behind that team at all.

It is head in hands when you see grown men pissed, at corporate events in blue suits - funny mask faces - jumpers - flags like they are at Glastonbury . Lads it isn't a rock concert, there is Moet and prawn sandwiches over there "sure they don't even know what is going on on the pitch - sorry greens"

So roll on - but lads it isn't a war - This "Europe"- "Europe" , is bad as "get in the hole".

Europe is a place that almost wiped itself out twice in one century - there was a cold war up till 1991.

We don't play sport as continent - and in Ireland , we not only define our sport by country - it is down to County - is river - Town - road - street - side of a street.

To ask me to be so out there and ignore all that is impossible /dishonest , there will be a particular irony with the British Exit vote going on. Luke Donald (or whoever) fist pumping Europe as they fly back to FLorida for the American life and tax dream. - lol.

Sorry that was some rant.

It isn't inconceivable that two of your favourite US players could be facing your European "teammates", that you are not too keen on.

But as a "Dub"- nothing like a good bandwagon - "Europe".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Assuming he has recovered in time, looks like Poulter will be relying on a wildcard.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/golf/36446623

valoren wrote: »
    Assuming he has recovered in time, looks like Poulter will be relying on a wildcard.

He was a wild card last time - two half points from three matches. He would have the credentials in terms of experience and overall RC record to be picked again but he would obviously have to be physically ready to play at least three matches in three days - maybe more. It would be nice if he showed some form too.

You would have to look past a lot of contenders to get to Poulter , Don't think it will happen for him , Shame as he is so good in the Ryder cup

It would be a leap of faith to pick him based on his form (and fitness) of late but it depends how badly Clarke wants experience on the course. Poulter could be a good man to have with a Rookie, although that didn't work out last time - Stephen Gallagher and himself were hammered. He played well when teamed with McIlroy but he is trading on former glories to some extent.

I wouldn't rule him out though.

It's getting close!

No matter what the outcome, he is now in the captains radar

I see Bid D has picked another vice captain in Sam Torrance.

If you ask me, 3 vice captains would have been plenty. 4 acceptable. 5 Ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Thats what I was saying, but didnt want to resurrect a zombie thread :

Looks like Darren Clarke is bottling the job already and Europe's chances are slipping away before team selection is even finalised. It seems Dazzler is settling for only 5 vice-captains. For a team of 12, you dont need to be a math whiz to see that only 6 captains leaves the team seriously short of leadership. How is he going to select the colour of the dinner service for the second night ? The number of superfluous cushions players will throw off their beds in their room before they can sleep in them ? How many days before the tournament proper do you have a surprise visit from an incredible legend from another sport to give a rousing speech and wish them luck ? Let alone explain to 12 players how to play their best. Clearly he hasnt a rashers about modern Ryder Cup captaincy.

Sounds incredible. But its true :
    https://www.theguardian.com/sport/20...p-vice-captain

You just can have enough of them though. Dazz pushing it to new levels, but its still not enough. Is it just me, or does the Ryder C vice-captains arms race seem to track the competition for the number of blades on a razor ?

Poulter said in commentary at The Open that he wouldn't be back playing any golf till October at the earliest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

A couple of weeks left

I say it's Knox, kaymer and Westwood for picks. Not sure if Knox is in the team on points.

Any chance Lowry has is gone unless he gets a win. 4 miss cuts in a row isn't going to get the pick if it is a toss up.

Pity if he misses out.

Trampas wrote: »
    A couple of weeks left

I say it's Knox, kaymer and Westwood for picks. Not sure if Knox is in the team on points.

Any chance Lowry has is gone unless he gets a win. 4 miss cuts in a row isn't going to get the pick if it is a toss up.

Pity if he misses out.

I don't think Knox is eligible as he is not a member of the European Tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

He is since last November

Whyner wrote:
    He is since last November

Has he played enough events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

First Up wrote: »
    Has he played enough events?

Yes

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Current Standings

European Tour
    1 Rory MCILROY
    2 Danny WILLETT
    3 Henrik STENSON
    4 Chris WOOD

World points
    5 Sergio GARCIA
    6 Justin ROSE
    7 Rafa CABRERA BELLO
    8 Andy SULLIVAN
    9 Matthew FITZPATRICK

There are 6 people between Lowry and automatic qualification
    And 10 for Mcdowell

Going to need some serious movement on their behalf to close that gap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

As of today the first 9 players for Europe are set.

Stenson
    Rose
    Rory
    Willet
    Wood
    Sullivan
    Fitzpatrick
    Cabrera bello
    Garcia.

That's five rookies already and I think we are really going to struggle this year. American side is looking quite strong.

Think Westwood and kaymer will definetly get picks. Reckon Russell Knox gets the final spot then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

As of today the first 9 players for Europe are set.

Stenson
    Rose
    Rory
    Willet
    Wood
    Sullivan
    Fitzpatrick
    Cabrera bello
    Garcia.

That's five rookies already and I think we are really going to struggle this year. American side is looking quite strong.

Think Westwood and kaymer will definetly get picks. Reckon Russell Knox gets the final spot then.

Yes, I think Westwood and Kaymer are definites, but it's hard to know who will get the third pick. I have always felt that this year would be difficult for Europe - Clark has a job on his hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

vienne86 wrote: »
    Yes, I think Westwood and Kaymer are definites, but it's hard to know who will get the third pick. I have always felt that this year would be difficult for Europe - Clark has a job on his hands.

Id say his job is actually quite easy, Westwood is a shoo in, the world can see that, Knox is also a shoo in, WGC winner, recent PGA tour win, based in America, it woudl be very surprising to everyone if he didn't pick Kaymer, hes showing form and nobody can argue his credentials, the only small niggle is he has the chipping yips, but thats less of an issue in matchplay.
    Id guess everyone thats on the fringes pretty much knows hel go with those 3, McDowell is miles off, Lowry has disappeared since the US Open, Lingmerth would be an outside bet ahead of Kaymer as hes also based in USA and is a winner. I dont buy the whole "too many rookies" thing, these guys are all world class, Willett is a rookie for example!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Definitely agree with the above... only player I'd have concerns about though is Willett. He has had a very lackluster couple of months since his Masters victory and 3rd at BMW.

Id say his job is actually quite easy, Westwood is a shoo in, the world can see that, Knox is also a shoo in, WGC winner, recent PGA tour win, based in America, it woudl be very surprising to everyone if he didn't pick Kaymer, hes showing form and nobody can argue his credentials, the only small niggle is he has the chipping yips, but thats less of an issue in matchplay.
    Id guess everyone thats on the fringes pretty much knows hel go with those 3, McDowell is miles off, Lowry has disappeared since the US Open, Lingmerth would be an outside bet ahead of Kaymer as hes also based in USA and is a winner. I dont buy the whole "too many rookies" thing, these guys are all world class, Willett is a rookie for example!

good synopsis there. have to say I agree with you about the rookies. I certainly wouldn't be worrying about willet. i'm sure his bro will melt twitter down again.

Fitzpatrick maybe my only concern, but more cause of his age. if he can get over the whole experience thing and settle down to play golf though, he could be alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Agree the picks should be Westwood Kaymer and Knox, though if Kjeldsen or Pieters win this week it could be interesting for the last pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Anyone think not making the Ryder Cup will dent Lowry's confidence. It must have been one of his major goals this year and I thought he was going to kick on after the US open but he's been very dissapointing since.

Even though McDowell doesn't look like he will get a place he still hasn't had a bad year. Top 5 position yesterday and in the top 30 of the Fed Ex.

good synopsis there. have to say I agree with you about the rookies. I certainly wouldn't be worrying about willet. i'm sure his bro will melt twitter down again.

Fitzpatrick maybe my only concern, but more cause of his age. if he can get over the whole experience thing and settle down to play golf though, he could be alright

Id be least concerned about Fitzpatrick, his matchplay record is fantastic, and it seems he is extremely popular, id be concerned about Sullivan though, his game wouldn't be ideal for the US courses but he wil make a good 4Somes partner id imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Id be concerned about all those rookies. even willett. USA will be going in strong favourites, their team is looking super strong with experience.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Anyone think not making the Ryder Cup will dent Lowry's confidence.

no

Paddypower must know something that we dont... Thats extremely short odds for Mcdowell, Paddy is rarely wrong

European Wildcards
    Martin Kaymer 1/100

Lee Westwood 1/50

Graeme Mcdowell 4/11

Russell Knox 2/1

Paddypower must know something that we dont... Thats extremely short odds for Mcdowell, Paddy is rarely wrong

European Wildcards
    Martin Kaymer 1/100

Lee Westwood 1/50

Graeme Mcdowell 4/11

Russell Knox 2/1

well I would definitely say it would be a safe bet to go with Lee & Martin.

G'Mac... I'm not so sure, but a possibility alright. I really thought Knox would have been favourite of him though

well I would definitely say it would be a safe bet to go with Lee & Martin.

G'Mac... I'm not so sure, but a possibility alright. I really thought Knox would have been favourite of him though

Me too, Paddy very rarely is wrong though! Starting to think it might be a Done deal looking at that tbh......

Clarke can give the reasoning as he needed more experience etc etc if he wants to go with Gmac instead of Knox.

GMac played decent at the weekend to be fair

if Luke Donald wanted to give himself a squeak he did himself no harm with his performance at the weekend. Himself and Sergio are undefeated in foursomes and 5-1 as a pairing. Donald still has a great Ryder Cup record too. If Clarke is looking at GMac as a form player, he could do the same with Donald....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

There will be a fair bit of disquiet from fans and British media if GMac gets in ahead of Knox.

Irish jobs for the boys will be mentioned, especially as there would then be no representation from Scotland or Wales. That of course shouldn't matter but has that stopped the UK press from being fair! Previous Ryder Cups have had little or no distractions on that front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

He has to pick Russell Knox if he is picking players on form...but then again Darren Clarke is choosing...so anything could happen

Would be extremely harsh on Knox to be left out IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

The talk of Gmac made me remember his partnership with Dubuisson in 2014... a great pairing with Gmac playing the mentor's role perfectly. Crazy to think how Dubuisson has disappeared after the promise he showed during 2014. Only thing he is remembered for this year is beating the sh*t out of his own bag in a temper tantrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Dbu wrote: »
    He has to pick Russell Knox if he is picking players on form...but then again Darren Clarke is choosing...so anything could happen

Would be extremely harsh on Knox to be left out IMO

Knox isn't owed anything by anyone. He only joined the European Tour after winning the WGC, so I'd doubt his commitment. He could've played an extra couple of tournaments if he'd really wanted to nail a place down...even Kaymer is playing in Denmark with no chance of automatic qualification. Gmac and Donald couldve done more also tbf, but they both have proven themselves on the Ryder Cup stage. Knox hasn't. And he's another rookie when they have enough already. Plus let's not forget what happened the last time a captain was pressured into picking a Scot! #StevieG