Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did Gardai destroy possible burial site of Irelands longest missing child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,280 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

mikeymouse wrote: »
    O.K

No. It's a fact that the dogs kept going to the same place. We have it from a few sources in this thread. There has to be a reason for that.The other part of that comment in bold was a question which needs answering and could be the key to truth. I didn't blame anyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Giacomo McGubbin

I'm still wondering??? why the sniffer dog went to the same spot over and over?? Something very fishy. Was there a car parked at that spot on the day which was used to remove the child/body from the scene?

I also wish that people would concentrate only on what is known for a fact and cut out the agenda of bashing parents, journalists, garda, politicians etc until we know more about what actually happened. A lot of what has appeared in this thread is just innuendo, bashing and guesswork but little in the way of actual fact. I know we have to do some of that but I believe it should be based on as much fact as possible otherwise the thread goes off on a tangent.

The postman who witnessed the early searches recently brought this to location to light. He didn't say the spot was right on the lane specifically, he said it was down the lane near the house. It's bothered him for 40 years that this location area was ignored at the time, and is still being ignored today, despite the original sniffer dog taking the guards and searchers to this area over and over and over. You would think it would be the first area that should be excavated for any evidence, especially now something more sinister is suspected. It's very possible she was buried there, and if not permanently, temporarily, but as you say, and make the point well, people seem far more interested in self defeating politics, fighting and feuding rather than finding Mary's remains or any evidence that might help.
    The fact this location is being suspicious ignored or glossed over now as much as then, is very suspicious to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

The postman who witnessed the early searches recently brought this to location to light. He didn't say the spot was right on the lane specifically, he said it was down the lane near the house. It's bothered him for 40 years that this location area was ignored at the time, and is still being ignored today, despite the original sniffer dog taking the guards and searchers to this area over and over and over. You would think it would be the first area that should be excavated for any evidence, especially now something more sinister is suspected. It's very possible she was buried there, and if not permanently, temporarily, but as you say, and make the point well, people seem far more interested in self defeating politics, fighting and feuding rather than finding Mary's remains or any evidence that might help.
    The fact this location is being suspicious ignored or glossed over now as much as then, is very suspicious to me.

This is all well and good but surely by virtue of the fact that it's nationally publicised means that a few cans of diesel have now "accidentally" been spilt on the spot the dogs showed an interest in?

Or some similar unfortunate incident will have occurred to contaminate the area???

This is all well and good but surely by virtue of the fact that it's nationally publicised means that a few cans of diesel have now "accidentally" been spilt on the spot the dogs showed an interest in?

Or some similar unfortunate incident will have occurred to contaminate the area???

You could say that about anywhere worth searching, but I think what evidence can and can't be discovered after your suggested treatment for the area should be left up to the professional forensics whenever (or if rather given the resistance and strange keenness to ensure it's ignored) the area is excavated professionally. At the very least this recent lead should be professionally eliminated not unprofessionally eliminated. I'm sure mention of this will now be a good cue for someone to drag interest away from this area and rant instead about the Gardai and politics . . .and go round in the same circles yet again . . .

Oh I agree 100% it should be checked.

The fact that it hasn't causes the rants against the Gardai.

Oh I agree 100% it should be checked.

The fact that it hasn't causes the rants against the Gardai.

I agree 100%, and their many other failings as an organisation, like every other in Ireland, but experience shows the rants just make them ever more stubborn, ever more un-coperative, and ever more intent on ignoring people's concerns and circling the wagons, and it gives them every excuse they need to do so, and make any decent Guards job then impossible, and then they won't touch it with a bargepole. Experience also suggests you get far better results by never giving up on, and working with the decent/half decent Gardai, encouraging and supporting them, so they in turn learn to trust you as well. And before anyone else starts, such Gardai are in every district . . including Ballyshannon. It's not a perfect situation or solution, but it is the only chance for results. Assuming there are some who want Mary found actually intent on that instead of the politics/fued game.

I agree 100%, and their many other failings as an organisation, like every other in Ireland, but experience shows the rants just make them ever more stubborn, ever more un-coperative, and ever more intent on ignoring people's concerns and circling the wagons, and it gives them every excuse they need to do so, and make any decent Guards job then impossible, and then they won't touch it with a bargepole. Experience also suggests you get far better results by never giving up on, and working with the decent/half decent Gardai, encouraging and supporting them, so they in turn learn to trust you as well. And before anyone else starts, such Gardai are in every district . . including Ballyshannon. It's not a perfect situation or solution, but it is the only chance for results. Assuming there are some actually intent on that instead of the politics/fued game.

Sorry, don't buy that.

It's not my job to get them to trust me.

We saw how that worked out, them trusting that their buddies wouldn't treat them like fools even though they got their points wiped.

I need to trust them. I need to trust that there's no favouritism because of trust.
    I need to know that their buddies don't get favours and that trust isn't abused, by them trusting it won't get around town when they get their family and friends off.

They need to prove they can be trusted.

That's something they need to work on, not me:)

....... and we're off on another tangent. We'll make headway ...... not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,007 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Sorry, don't buy that.

We saw how that worked out, them trusting that their buddies wouldn't treat them like fools even though they got their points wiped.

I need to trust them. I need to trust that there's no favouritism because of trust.
    I need to know that their buddies don't get favours and that trust isn't abused, by them trusting it won't get around town when they get their family and friends off.

Eight 'trusts' in that short post! Do you have trust issues? :)

Not your ornery onager

Sorry, don't buy that.

It's everyone's job to work together, and whether you buy that or not it's a fact. The Gardai are not a monolythic organisation and click. The decent Gardai have a huge number of problems and enemies inside the Guards, and, for obvious reasons, the higher up you go, the harder it is to find a decent Guard. The retired Gardai that are now free from some of their disruptive collegues control, and were attempting to help, are now being attacked instead. That might be great political and journalistic fun, but it means what little help there was left is going to dry up, and no decent current Guard looking at all this, is ever going to touch the case with a bargepole now. So be it if you want to miss and ignore this point, but if everyone does, the case and cause is finished for good.

I'm not sure how we're going to make headway in the first place!!!!

And I don't mean any disrespect to anyone!

Back in track, I saw a portion of the Coroner's letter, the bottom half, doing the rounds.

Anyone see the top half of it?

It's everyone's job to work together. The Gardai are not a monolythic organisation and click. The decent Gardai have a huge number of problems and enemies inside the Guards, and, for obvious reasons, the higher up you go, the harder it is to find a decent Guard. The retired Gardai that are now free from some of their disruptive collegues control, and were attempting to help, are now being attacked instead. That might be great political and journalistic fun, but it means what little help there was left is going to dry up, and no decent current Guard looking at all this, is ever going to touch the case with a bargepole now. So be it if you want to miss and ignore this point, but if everyone does, the case and cause is finished for good.

I haven't missed it, I've already said it.

There's no ordinary copper going to shine a spotlight or raise any official concerns against any of their colleagues or retired mentors who for whatever reason made a hames of the original investigation.

That's not unique to Ireland, nor is it unique to the gardai. It's the same in politics.

But we either naively think this is somehow going to change or we don't trust that it will.

No amount of us trusting them is going to be the catalyst for change IMO.

And it's a major issue, what happens IF some desk clerk rises above his station and starts poking around about this case?

What happens when two retired gaurds start hinting at how thw case was handled.

You said it yourself, there's a silent closing of ranks.

The problem is they're not acting in anyone's interest but their own when this happens, further eroding the already weak public trust in them.

Vicious circle? Yes.....

Then if there's too much heat, a file can go conveniently missing.

We have an ombudsman with no teeth and a bullish organisation that has a habit of putting brotherhood above public service.

There's no ordinary copper going to shine a spotlight or raise any official concerns against any of their colleagues or retired mentors who for whatever reason made a hames of the original investigation.

That's not unique to Ireland, nor is it unique to the gardai. It's the same in politics.

But we either naively think this is somehow going to change or we don't trust that it will.

No amount of us trusting them is going to be the catalyst for change IMO.

And it's a major issue, what happens IF some desk clerk rises above his station and starts poking around about this case?

What happens when two retired gaurds start hinting at how thw case was handled.

You said it yourself, there's a silent closing of ranks.

The problem is they're not acting in anyone's interest but their own when this happens, further eroding the already weak public trust in them.

Vicious circle? Yes.....

Then if there's too much heat, a file can go conveniently missing.

We have an ombudsman with no teeth and a bullish organisation that has a habit of putting brotherhood above public service.

I don't believe that the problems within the Garda are anywhere near as bad as you state. I don't think the problems in politics involve all politicians either. We can't blame everybody for everything.
    If everyone was to think that way then we are in a very bad place indeed
    I think you will find that the vast majority of people in any occupation are decent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

here is where I am at personally in my mind on this case having had time away to reflect and take a step back.

Do I think there was/is a heavily corrupt politician operating in the area my cousin went missing ? - Almost certainly.

Do I think he was involved in this case ? -somewhere along the line possibly, but if he did stick his oar in Id hazard a guess that it was early in the investigation and he was maybe doing to it to throw his power about and I think the whole thing snowballed into something bigger before he knew it and by this point he was in too deep to do anything to reverse the tide so to speak. It wouldn't excuse his behaviour .. but it would make sense in my mind.

Do I think the top policeman in the case was in the politicians back pocket? - absolutely.

Was he involved in covering up for the main suspect in this case ? again same as the politician, IF he was involved then I think by a certain point he had dug a hole too deep for himself, again I say "if" .

Do I think the rank and file Gardai on the case were corrupt? - No ..I do think they were totally underprepared/undertrained for a case like this.

It wasn't a very common crime in Ireland at the time and it was in a rural area that didn't seem to have the best infrastructure at the time, I think the Gardai involved were woefully out of their depth in this case.

So where do we go from here, again saying this on a personal note and I know it's quite the U-turn on some of my previous posts but I'm going to try and ignore the talk of Gardai & political corruption for the moment.. and concentrate on one thing, and one thing only .. and that is finding Marys Body. If that is ever to happen then I think any corruption surrounding the case (if any) will then be revealed naturally.

Of course there is not, because if they do, the reality is they will be got at, or their job made impossible, and they have to leave or keep transferring at best. Some of them have already blown their brains out. What good are they going to be to you then ? They despise these other cops and politics as much as anyone, but the reality is they can only hope operate by ignoring their less decent colleagues and the politics and trying to work around it all and the system, that's the only way they get anything done, and it's the only way you are going to get anything done.

If you want progress, whether you like it or not, you're going to have to build relationships of trust with the decent cops and work with them, not against them. Alternatively you can be just another wanna be provo, self serving selectively quoting journalist, politician or such like, waving placards and ranting from the sidelines and not interested in making any real progress because then what politics and fueding would there be to achieve ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

Tayto, you're in Conspiracy Theories, and have you read the first post at all?

Of course there is not, because if they do, the reality is they will be got at, or their job made impossible, and they have to leave or keep transferring at best. Some of them have already blown their brains out. What good are they going to be to you then ? They despise these other cops and politics as much as anyone, but the reality is they can only hope operate by ignoring their less decent colleagues and the politics and trying to work around it all and the system, that's the only way they get anything done, and it's the only way you are going to get anything done.

If you want progress, whether you like it or not, you're going to have to build relationships of trust with the decent cops and work with them, not against them. Alternatively you can be just another wanna be provo, self serving selectively quoting journalist, politician or such like, waving placards and ranting from the sidelines and not interested in making any real progress because then what politics and fueding would there be to achieve ?

Please don't condescend to advising me about my alternative as being any of the above due to a recognised problem that is none of my making.

None of the bad apples were forced to join, none of them were guaranteed progress through the ranks, but by necessity the job requires a certain degree of ignorance to actually achieve anything, and before you blow your top, read on.

Nobody wants to deal with someone wielding a syringe in front of them, nobody wants to knock on the door at four in the morning to announce a death, yet just 10% of Gardai having landed their dream job actively seek further promotion according to a report by CPSA.IE

There seems to be a contentment to land the job and do precious little else once the fish has been landed.

Yes, the job is tough, we know that, presumably they knew that before they applied.

And that's even before we consider the old chestnut of nepotism smoothing the path.

They are now attempting to be made politically correct, with a new outward emphasis on "customer service", in general they are trying to be moulded into two completely incongruous things, on the one hand being overtly outwardly PC, whilst at the same time being expected to switch out of that mode and deal with someone with a knife.

Let's end the BS and admit that this path is going to be regretted some time in the future.

People don't want a happy clappy police force full of nice guys, they just want a police force which can be trusted to act when required, and from what I've read here by what you've said about the few decent ones fighting against the rot, I don't see how sermonising about the public needing to treat the force with kid gloves in case it retreats into itself can help in any practical way.

Such a suggestion if it were made in any other country would be laughed at.

Change, if it is really wanted must come from the top down, from Ministerial level, its certainly not going to be self instigating, but nobody really wants to offend, nobody wants to call a spade a spade, so they're left to be a law unto themselves.

That is the reality.

Please don't condescend to advising me about my alternative as being any of the above due to a recognised problem that is none of my making.

None of the bad apples were forced to join, none of them were guaranteed progress through the ranks, but by necessity the job requires a certain degree of ignorance to actually achieve anything, and before you blow your top, read on.

Nobody wants to deal with someone wielding a syringe in front of them, nobody wants to knock on the door at four in the morning to announce a death, yet just 10% of Gardai having landed their dream job actively seek further promotion according to a report by CPSA.IE

There seems to be a contentment to land the job and do precious little else once the fish has been landed.

Yes, the job is tough, we know that, presumably they knew that before they applied.

And that's even before we consider the old chestnut of nepotism smoothing the path.

They are now attempting to be made politically correct, with a new outward emphasis on "customer service", in general they are trying to be moulded into two completely incongruous things, on the one hand being overtly outwardly PC, whilst at the same time being expected to switch out of that mode and deal with someone with a knife.

Let's end the BS and admit that this path is going to be regretted some time in the future.

People don't want a happy clappy police force full of nice guys, they just want a police force which can be trusted to act when required, and from what I've read here by what you've said about the few decent ones fighting against the rot, I don't see how sermonising about the public needing to treat the force with kid gloves in case it retreats into itself can help in any practical way.

Change, if it is really wanted must come from the top down, from Ministerial level, its certainly not going to be self instigating, but nobody really wants to offend, nobody wants to call a spade a spade, so they're left to be a law unto themselves.

That is the reality.

There is no change, there never will be.
    What you're missing again, as entertaining as it might be the bad apples are not what you should be working on if you want to make any progress in this case. No one has, or ever will do anything about them in Ireland, because as you've worked out, change has to come from the top down, and the higher you go, the more rotten it gets. Ministers and different parties will always come and go, and despite their claims, none of them are in the slightest bit interested in changing any vested interests, they are only interested in controlling them for their own personal gains, most especially when it's their turn to milk the golden cow they've pretended in opposition they won't try to milk just like the rest. They just want four years as minster, then it's lifetime golden pension time. It's the good apples in the Gardai you need to be working with and helping, not hindering. The ones that sometimes somehow still manage to successfully navigate around all the politics, drama and fueding and fighting, rather than get bogged down and embroiled in it. Playing into the politics and fueding is going to get you no where in finding Mary or getting her justice. Assuming that's what you are actually interested in of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

I don't see how sermonising about the public needing to treat the force with kid gloves in case it retreats into itself can help in any practical way.

Well said.

That's not what I said, again you keep talking about the Gardai as if it's one monolythic consistent force of one mind, it's not. And the retreat into itself happened a long time ago. If you really want anything done, you are going to have to work with the good cops and get them to trust you rather than trying to tar them all with the one brush or attack and fault find the people in the Gardai trying to do something, or try and get them embroiled in the waste of time fueding and politcs. It's already got to the stage that no decent cop might touch this case now, as he'll just end up being picked apart in public as well no matter what he does. And like it or not, without both local and national Gardai taking this forward you are going no where ever. I don't care if you call it sermonising, if the campaign is actually about finding Mary, I don't want to see it fail. And if it keeps heading off the direction of family fueding and politics, that's exactly what it's going to do.

There is no change, there never will be.
    What you're missing again, as entertaining as it might be the bad apples are not what you should be working on if you want to make any progress in this case. No one has, or ever will do anything about them in Ireland, because as you've worked out, change has to come from the top down, and the higher you go, the more rotten it gets. Ministers and different parties will always come and go, and despite their claims, none of them are in the slightest bit interested in changing any vested interests, they are only interested in controlling them for their own personal gains, most especially when it's their turn to milk the golden cow they've pretended in opposition they won't try to milk just like the rest. They just want four years as minster, then it's lifetime golden pension time. It's the good apples in the Gardai you need to be working with and helping, not hindering. The ones that sometimes somehow still manage to successfully navigate around all the politics, drama and fueding and fighting, rather than get bogged down and embroiled in it. Playing into the politics and fueding is going to get you no where in finding Mary or getting her justice. Assuming that's what you are actually interested in of course.

Do you want to just come out and say what you think my interest is actually in?

I ask because you're veering towards the mistaken assumption that anyone who openly criticises the garda in the context of this case must have some ulterior motive.

It's something that Mick Clifford tried on a while ago.

An insinuation that elements in Sinn Fein are responsible for orchestrating the "fevered" social media interest in the case.

And your suggesting that I should place the decent ones on some pedastal or otherwise my alternative is to be "another self serving wanna be provo"?

Is there something you want to assign to me, but are afraid to, such as membership of Sinn Fein, or being a provo sympathiser?

I can tell you that neither is the case.

I can also tell you it won't be my or anyone elses opinions on AGS on social media in the context of this case that will cause this case to be progressed or continuously dealt with like a pass the parcel charade by AGS.

You know this, I know this.

So let's put that theory where it belongs.

Do you want to just come out and say what you think my interest is actually in?

I ask because you're veering towards the mistaken assumption that anyone who openly criticises the garda in the context of this case must have some ulterior motive.

It's something that Mick Clifford tried on a while ago.

An insinuation that elements in Sinn Fein are responsible for orchestrating the social media interest in the case.

And your suggesting that I should place the decent ones on some pedastal or otherwise my alternative is to be "another self serving wanna be provo"?

Is there something you want to assign to me, but are afraid to, such as membership of Sinn Fein, or being a provo sympathiser?

I can tell you that neither is the case.

I can also tell you it won't be my or anyone elses opinions on AGS on social media in the context of this case that will cause this case to be progressed or continuously dealt with like a pass the parcel charade by AGS.

You know this, I know this.

So let's put that theory where it belongs.

You can keep rewording and misrepresenting everything I've said, again it's going to get you no where. I've called a spade a spade, sometimes that has to be done, like it or not. Have you worked out yet why the pass the parcel is being played and will continue to be played the way things are going ?

No you haven't; you've tried to pin SOME (not all) of the responsibility for the shortcomings of AGS in the handling of this case onto the public in spite of the fact the case has been ongoing for nearly 40 years and the public interest in it has only been aroused in the last 12 months or less.

It doesn't wash.

It reminds me of the attitude exemplified by the absurd radio ads we'll be hearing in the next few weeks, where the public is reminded that antibiotics are no use for colds, when it's the professionals who dispense them like sweets who are causing the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Mod

I'm still clued into this. So, could we get back on topic?

Stop all the personal insinuations and ****. Good rule of thumb boys and girls is if you are typing "you" a lot, you're being watched. Key words like Treadstone and Black Briar are also a red flag... /Big Brother

There is no question about some members of the Gardaí being decent.

I suspect, however, that merely advocating that people work with the decent Guards will bring results is very naive.

History has shown us that decent Guards who want to do their jobs impartially are not treated well by their senior colleagues.
    Some of them, in fact, have been roundly criticised for doing just that by the Minister for Justice, in the not too distant past....

Suggesting that, for real justice to be effective in this Country, root and branch reform needs to begin at a political level, with all political influence on appointments to the judiciary, etc. being entirely removed from politicians hands.

And, no - that doesn't make me either a provo, or Sinn Fein, supporter
    Just someone interested in seeing corruption rooted out, at every level in society...

mikeymouse wrote: »

Such heartbreak, even after all these years.

You'd wonder how anyone who may have information (and someone does!) could withhold it for so long.

The Would You Believe documentary (which RTE does not have available online) is supposed to be getting published on Youtube soon, by LarrydeLamb who put the 1985 Today Tonight Special up.

I hate to be asking such an obvious question at this point in the thread, but I don't recall it having been answered amid all the to-ing and fro-ing, but was the "suspected burial site" identified by Scantech and the Sunday World which was "destroyed" by the Gardai as outlined in this thread's OP ever forensically searched??

This was the site where someone thought they'd found evidence of hair.

What was it, this hair, and belonging to who, or what??

Was anything ever said about that; was the person or people who discovered it wrong about it being hair??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

I hate to be asking such an obvious question at this point in the thread, but I don't recall it having been answered amid all the to-ing and fro-ing, but was the "suspected burial site" identified by Scantech and the Sunday World which was "destroyed" by the Gardai as outlined in this thread's OP ever forensically searched??

This was the site where someone thought they'd found evidence of hair.

What was it, this hair, and belonging to who, or what??

Was anything ever said about that; was the person or people who discovered it wrong about it being hair??

the person who said he thought he saw hair was the local at the time who discovered it if I remember correctly

I have been told in the last few days that the site that the gardai dug up that day wasnt actually the site the sunday world and scantech had been looking at , but the same field they said they were draining again a few weeks ago