If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Olympics daily thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Jerry reckons Diniz will be grand in a few hours. I thought the poor man was close to death!

I've seen people 'dying' towards the end of long races, but within a few hours, they're happily propping up the bar:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Jerry reckons Diniz will be grand in a few hours. I thought the poor man was close to death!

He said they'd all be "perky" in a couple of hours. Those lads looked like their bodies had ceased to function as they fell over the line. They look like they'll need to be on a drip for the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

2:17.38 for Natayla Coyle.
    7th fastest swim with 2 heats to go.

Edit: Finishes up with the 18th fastest time

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

ahlookit wrote: »
    He said they'd all be "perky" in a couple of hours. Those lads looked like their bodies had ceased to function as they fell over the line. They look like they'll need to be on a drip for the day
    It's pretty routine for long distance walkers, looks bad alright but wouldn't be a surprise to the lads themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

What the hell is on RTE2 now? Is it dressage for water?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Arai from Japan has been disqualified so means Heffernan moves up to 5th and Boyce to 18th subject to protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,418 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Synchronised swimming!

Must say the skill levels are excellent, sort of gymnastics and acrobatics set in the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭khc

I just put on RTE player thinking it was the pentathlon jumping and couldn't understand why someone was jumping about 1.50m!! Anyone know the penthathlon schedule for Nataylia Coyle?

BMX on bbc4

we have a BMXer

Trent Jones, cycling for NZ was born in Limerick

we have a BMXer

Trent Jones, cycling for NZ was born in Limerick

Update: He fell, and then got ploughed into by another bike. Ouch

khc wrote: »
    I just put on RTE player thinking it was the pentathlon jumping and couldn't understand why someone was jumping about 1.50m!! Anyone know the penthathlon schedule for Nataylia Coyle?

Fencing bonus round on now

Coyle up soon

I see Greg Broderick's failure has caused a fair bit of discussion and debate in showjumping circles :

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/john-tynan/support-for-greg-broderick-should-not-prevent-critical-analysis-416636.html

He was already a controversial or even 'shock' choice for Rio and now not even getting past two rounds has led to some tension. The article mentions also how Ireland has failed to qualify a team for the last three Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Strazdas wrote: »
    I see Greg Broderick's failure has caused a fair bit of discussion and debate in showjumping circles :

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/john-tynan/support-for-greg-broderick-should-not-prevent-critical-analysis-416636.html

He was already a controversial or even 'shock' choice for Rio and now not even getting past two rounds has led to some tension. The article mentions also how Ireland has failed to qualify a team for the last three Olympics.

Can't think of any sport in Ireland so riven with jealousy and backbiting as showjumping. I don't recall too much controversy or outrage when the decision was made, but then I don't read all the equine papers so it's possible there was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Nick Skelton wins show jumping gold aged 58 :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Ladies hockey final coming up @9pm tonight.

Eng Vs Ndl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

What are Natalya's medal chances? I could head out to it if she's got a legit chance to offer support. But I've courtside seat here at USA V Spain men's basketball semi final. A bit hard to leave this. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,305 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Jaysis lads the amount of ladies getting "de-horsed" in the pentathlon is scary!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,305 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Chivito550 wrote: »
    What are Natalya's medal chances? I could head out to it if she's got a legit chance to offer support. But I've courtside seat here at USA V Spain men's basketball semi final. A bit hard to leave this. :)

Not fantastic according to the panel...id stay watching Carmelo and the boys if I were you;)

Nick Skelton wins show jumping gold aged 58 :eek:

Fair play to him : this is a guy who was one of the top names in his sport in the mid 1980s :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Fair play to him : this is a guy who was one of the top names in his sport in the mid 1980s :)

Many's the summer I spent watching as a kid, amazing career

Didn't Nick Skelton once break his neck in a fall or something like that or have I got the right fella?

Can't think of any sport in Ireland so riven with jealousy and backbiting as showjumping. I don't recall too much controversy or outrage when the decision was made, but then I don't read all the equine papers so it's possible there was.

There actually was a good bit of controversy when he got the nod. Broderick was considered by no means the best rider in the country or anywhere even close to it and there was criticism of the decision (perhaps justified, he performed very poorly in Rio).

Didn't Nick Skelton once break his neck in a fall or something like that or have I got the right fella?

That's him, yes. Missed the Sydney Games because of it and retired from the sport but then made the most miraculous recovery and started riding again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Yeah, when I heard his name mentioned in 2012 I remembering thinking "there must be a Nick Skelton Junior, nice to see the son doing well" :o

He had a horrific injury neck years ago when he broke his neck, amazing to be winning Gold now.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's him, yes. Missed the Sydney Games because of it and retired from the sport but then made the most miraculous recovery and started riding again.

That's incredible.

There was a 54 year old sailor who won gold this year after surviving lung cancer too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Estelle Mossely wins Gold for France at 60kg (Katie's weight) Her finance Tony Yoka (Fra) fights for his Sunday. They are to marry in Rio!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Great clear round for Natalya.

mansize wrote: »
    Estelle Mossely wins Gold for France at 60kg (Katie's weight) Her finance Tony Yoka (Fra) fights for his Sunday. They are to marry in Rio!

A bit like that Team GB cycling pair then (but they're not marrying at the Games) :D

There actually was a good bit of controversy when he got the nod. Broderick was considered by no means the best rider in the country or anywhere even close to it and there was criticism of the decision (perhaps justified, he performed very poorly in Rio).

Did people actually openly criticise it though? I recall reading a few articles in the papers saying it was a "surprise" decision, but I don't remember them having a go at Robert Splaine for it or that there was "controversy" over it. It's not as if Splaine was pulling a rabbit out the hat here, as Broderick had made his case with recent form. Not saying there wasn't criticism, I may have missed it, but wouldn't be out of character here for people to start jumping out of the woodwork after the event. Thankless task that Ireland manager's job I reckon.