If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Olympics daily thread

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

ahlookit wrote: »
    is anyone watching this on RTE News now?

Just turned it on now, George Hamilton and the other commentator who's name escapes me (used to do Sunday Sport on Radio 1) spent about 5 mins waffling about song lyrics, Georges pet dogs, basically anything but the race! I reckon the lads are still locked from last night. Or maybe just bored out of their trees.

Combination of both I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Just turned it on now, George Hamilton and the other commentator who's name escapes me (used to do Sunday Sport on Radio 1) spent about 5 mins waffling about song lyrics, Georges pet dogs, basically anything but the race! I reckon the lads are still locked from last night. Or maybe just bored out of their trees.

I haven't been over impressed with George's commentaries at these Games. I'm not sure he's all that good an athletics commentator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Now discussing John Cougar Mellencamp and which walker has the best farmer tan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Strazdas wrote: »
    I haven't been over impressed with George's commentaries at these Games. I'm not sure he's all that good an athletics commentator.

Not a great judge but hasn't bowled me over anyway. Panicking unnecessarily when English was cruising at the rear in his 800m heat. Repeatedly calling Barr in second when he was no better than 5th in yesterday's 400m hurdle final. A couple of others I can't quite recall where he had me wondering "wtf is he talking about?" Where's the great Tony O'Donoghue when you need him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,562 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

KevIRL wrote: »
    Heffernan 5th at five K mark

3rd at 10K

Strazdas wrote: »

I'm not sure he's a good commentator.

some classic George guff here:

http://www.dangerhere.com/george-hamilton/

the lads reckon the leader might have 2 warnings, but seemingly info is hard to come by from the officials out there

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Just turned this on, so a leader is well ahead and rob is in the chasing group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

I'm not sure he's a good commentator.

some classic George guff here:

http://www.dangerhere.com/george-hamilton/

+ some of the website author's comments are hilarious there :D

Uh huh rob struggling to stay with the group

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

3rd at 10K

Any Russians near him, would be worried about dodgy warnings to come if there are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

He's done very well to get back in

Stheno wrote: »

Ah he's caught up ninth now but they are bunched

he's back in the group now. Did look to be struggling a few mins ago.

leader 1min 24 seconds ahead of Rob's group of 8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

There's not a whole lot to talk about really for most of the race. Whatever you do don't ever watch Eurosports live coverage of any of the grand tours so.

Anyone any idea when the penthatlons are on today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

4pm our time. The BBC schedule is fairly handy
    http://www.bbc.com/sport/olympics/rio-2016/schedule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Leona Maguire just teeing off with Lydia Ko and Lexi Thompson, two of the world's best players. What an experience for her, am confident she will acquit herself well in this company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

Anyone any idea when the penthatlons are on today?

Women start again today with swimming at 4.00pm Irish Time

Men are not on until tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,562 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Alex Wright in 11th

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Alex Wright in 11th

wow... a bolter, he could medal right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,941 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

According to Will Downing, who'd know where to look, Aria of Japan is the only man in the top 10 with a warning.

The IAAF site and the Rio 2016 site haven't put up any warnings

Diniz is gone already. He should win gold easily. Toth looks strongest of the next pack as he's pushed on a few times. Heffernan has lost touch once but we'll see what the last 30k say...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,531 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

In fairness it is a 50KM walk its not a 100M, 200M 400M race where there is excitement every half second. There is only so many times you can say x or y is winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Rob leading the chasing group, looking a lot more comfortable now

In fairness it is a 50KM walk its not a 100M, 200M 400M race where there is excitement every half second. There is only so many times you can say x or y is winning.

Ah yeah, point taken. I appreciate they are trying to avoid dead air. Just a bit strange when I turned it on first and they were asking each other questions about song lyrics.

The other commentator is Con Murphy, Con reckons Rob looks like Walter White but George hasn't seen Breaking Bad yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,941 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

donfers wrote: »
    wow... a bolter, he could medal right?

No. His big group is nearly 3 minutes down on the 8 man Heffernan group.

Medals are between the top 9 now (Heff included)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

spock. wrote: »
    Rob leading the chasing group, looking a lot more comfortable now

He's a top class pedigree at this level too, fingers crossed for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

FINALLY getting to tune into this now, albeit with no sound. Thanks for the updates.

So how long are the loops?

Ososlo wrote: »
    FINALLY getting to tune into this now, albeit with no sound. Thanks for the updates.

So how long are the loops?

2k laps

Saw this on twitter, thought it was amusing :)

https://twitter.com/DervalORourke/status/764604873040138242

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

^^^ha ha love it!