Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Hey all. It's definitely not that auld wain. Nope, I'm the ghost of herself.
    To clear it all up I got into a bit of a tussle with someone in PM's and just heat of the moment (ye all know my excellent patience and cool, calm and collected self) and I just thought fúck it, it's not worth the hassle. Of course now I regret it hugely and you can't do the same as Facebook and just jump back in and the profile is there waiting on you.
    So now I am lamenting my old profile as this one smells weird and it has a funny picture on it but sure that's a lesson for me to think before pressing big red buttons. Might hang around on this account for a bit before moving to a big person account with no Kovu in the name :D

Do yiz want me back bossing ye round again? Cause I'm sure that could be arranged, just have to do the ritual sacrifices to the mod gods of Bufty and Greysides :D

In-his-endo.....:D
    Can a mod report someone for annoying them by pm? Hope it wasnt someone off f&f that was annoying you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Can a mod report someone for annoying them by pm? Hope it wasnt someone off f&f that was annoying you

Yeah you can report PMs the same as posts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Was there some RIP thread removed?

What happened there?

My last post was removed.....so nothing to see here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

shane ross is gonna be so smug the next time hes interviewed it'll be unbearable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Pat Hickey will have one phone call. He'll ring Shane Ross surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

I said wrote: »
    What did I miss?

Kovu died and rose again 3 days later. All hail Kovu. Welcome back..... again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

What happened there?

Thread was taken down after several RPs until such time as I had time to deal with it. Back, but locked, now.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Reeling in the years 1984 forgot they nearly got Maggie that year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

trying to build up the energy to clean out the tractor after all the dust over the last 2 weeks but i'm shattered after the last few days heavy going because of the corn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

davidk1394 wrote: »
    trying to build up the energy to clean out the tractor after all the dust over the last 2 weeks but i'm shattered after the last few days heavy going because of the corn.

Ah it's raining now. Be time enough to clean it now.:P

I'm only getting back to normal myself here this evening after straw then days at silage then straw again. I'm getting dirty now by sitting in the cab.

Oh and sleep is the only answer for fatigue.
    Well bulmers is good too.
    Bulmers and sleep.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Ah it's raining now. Be time enough to clean it now.:P

I'm only getting back to normal myself here this evening after straw then days at silage then straw again. I'm getting dirty now by sitting in the cab.

Oh and sleep is the only answer for fatigue.
    Well bulmers is good too.
    Bulmers and sleep.:pac:
    It's cleaned out now. Hooked up the trailer as we were going to bring in bales of straw. Had everything ready drove a mile up the road and it raining on the bales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

davidk1394 wrote: »

Big toe?

Muckit wrote: »
    Big toe?

Ah here.....

Fixing electric fence there, why are there so many different types of electric fence wire, some is lovely and plyable and other bits wont turn at all....

Enjoy.....watching women's beach volleyball here.....mmmmmm nice:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Reggie, your up early! I mean posting at 5.48 am.

Water John wrote: »
    Reggie, your up early! I mean posting at 5.48 am.

Up most mornings at 5am.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Up most mornings at 5am.
    notice the mornings getting darker:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mild steel and high tensile. Mild steel is lovely to work with but stretches over time. High tensile is a pig to work with but needs no care for years, once it's done right first day.

I'm slowly changing over to high tensile here.

Mild steel and high tensile. Mild steel is lovely to work with but stretches over time. High tensile is a pig to work with but needs no care for years, once it's done right first day.

I'm slowly changing over to high tensile here.
    often heard people talking about bull wire, what's that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭croot

Its like thick mild steel wire. Hard to work with as well.

The best of the lot is high tensile. A handy tip is to twist the end into an L shape to create a handle and that makes it easier to twist and tie.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCcwqEWWSeY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Thicker gauge high tensile?

I normally use 12 gauge HT wire instead of 14 gauge so maybe there is a higher gauge wire again?

Edit. As croot says above, mild steel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Bull can no longer get to heifers. Sold him at Mart today. 855kg made €1370. Was happy enough with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

Good luck Thomas Barr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

tanko wrote: »
    Good luck Thomas Barr
    Fair play to him. He finished well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Hobby farmer

tanko wrote: »
    Good luck Thomas Barr

A massive achievement but god it was cringe when he spoke to the sister for the first time since winning just there on RTE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Hobby farmer

High tensile vs mild steel!! 12 gauge HT isn't bad if you have the knack of it! If you make a handle it will twist around lovely and neat! Bend back on itself and it snaps off lovely. Great stuff once it's up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

We got a new gismo lately for tighten wire (not sure of the name). It looks like a clippers, you use the snapper wire joiners and you can tighten it later on by just putting it in and giving it an extra little pull. Have the hayes wire strainers as well and it will probably be retired! :-)