If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Olympics daily thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    BBC4 anchorman getting a bit carried away with himself there, awarding GB a gold medal in the women's 470 sailing when the medal race isn't till tomorrow :D

They have it nailed down though, even if they come last in the medal race they can't be caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,108 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Skid X wrote: »
    They have it nailed down though, even if they come last in the medal race they can't be caught.
    Ah, ok - have been so busy boggling my mind with all the Irish races I haven't even looked at the others!

Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

Yes they've pretty much turned track cycling into Formula 1 at this stage. Engineering more important than natural ability.

Yet there was a lot of aggro in the GB camp earlier this year and the coach had to resign. Maybe we need to check if any on the disaffected or unselected cyclists have Irish Grannies. Surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Oldira wrote: »
    Yet there was a lot of aggro in the GB camp earlier this year and the coach had to resign. Maybe we need to check if any on the disaffected or unselected cyclists have Irish Grannies. Surely

We need to hope they have the blueprints for the bikes too!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Historic Olympics for Ireland first ever medal in rowing, first medal in sailing in 36 years, and several personal/seasons bests from athletes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I'd love to stay up for Thomas Barr later. He's surely got quite a good chance of making the final. Here's hoping anyway!

Breaking news on RTE Olympic feed:
    Doping: Russia has been ordered to return their women's 4x100m gold medals from the 2008 Beijing games after a member of the team tested positive for a banned substance.

Yulia Chermoshanskaya tested positive in a reanalysis of her sample.

The International Olympic Committee disqualified her for testing positive for steroid use.

Expect Michael Conlon to be awarded a bronze medal in 2024 when the IOC finally catches up to analysing this Olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,070 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It's been very impressive display by our Olympic team

Delighted we have 2nd medal, just pity about Conlon

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,439 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It's been very impressive display by our Olympic team

Delighted we have 2nd medal, just pity about Conlon

Yeah, Conlan's fate was a disaster today....he actually boxed brilliantly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Who's the main commentator on BBC1 for the boxing?

Ron Macintosh is the main guy

Think its Richie Woodall with him

That Uzbek taking a beating from Joyce. Surely ref should be thinking of stopping it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Watching table tennis on Rte news. Admire the skill levels but average rally seems to be somewhere between 2 and 3 shots. They spend more time scurrying around the arena for the ball than they do at the table. Not the most riveting viewing if you ask me (Yes, i know you didn't!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Joe Joyce for GB was savage in his quarter final. Some power behind those body punches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,108 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Watching table tennis on Rte news. Admire the skill levels but average rally seems to be somewhere between 2 and 3 shots. They spend more time scurrying around the arena for the ball than they do at the table. Not the most riveting viewing if you ask me (Yes, i know you didn't!!)
    I was watching table tennis the other day and had meant to come on here to post the exact opposite!

Rallies went on forever and it was absolutely riveting - incredible skill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

bajer101 wrote: »
    Joe Joyce for GB was savage in his quarter final. Some power behind those body punches.

Yeah he's a powerful fella, looks a bit crude though and not the quickest, still the SHW division is piss poor atm so i fancy him to get at least Silver.

When I saw that Joe Joyce was fighting, I half expected something like this. The reality proved to be quite different.

XdGYDXSg.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I was watching table tennis the other day and had meant to come on here to post the exact opposite!

Rallies went on forever and it was absolutely riveting - incredible skill.

There you go. What do I know anyway?

Just the game I was watching I think. There was a Chinese playing a German and it was all one-way traffic. The German could barely even return her serve. I'll wait for a better contested game before passing judgement!

Weightlifting on BBC4. FINALLY!!!!! First time I've seen any!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

Ososlo wrote: »
    Weightlifting on BBC4. FINALLY!!!!! First time I've seen any!

The size of those lads!!

what's with the big bellies:eek:?

http://twitter.com/jacquihurley/status/765694228651446272

Norway as a nation could be about to expand their English vocabulary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭daithi7

ahlookit wrote: »

It's well beyond high time for Pat the prat to shag off into the sunset....

He oversaw the Sonia O'Sullivan gear fiasco in Atlanta. He's currently actively triying to cover up the illegal ticket touting scandal, which looks fishier by the day for the OCI and here we see he wanted Russia in the Olympics, and to silence bodies from the US &Canada who were asking for an outright ban.

Now what fair minded sports person would want Russia in this Olympics when they were shown to be carrying out state sponsored drug cheating and covering it up?!?

How much! did that cost OCI?!

Would really love to see Thomas Barr make the final. Of all the competitors I've seen interviewed he was the one who I would point out to my kids and say, "See that? That is why you should take up sports."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Brazilians letting themselves down. Booing Renaud Lavillenie when he received his silver medal. Absolute disgrace.

ahlookit wrote: »
    http://twitter.com/jacquihurley/status/765694228651446272

Norway as a nation could be about to expand their English vocabulary!

Lots of American newspapers and media outlets running with the story too.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Brazilians letting themselves down. Booing Renaud Lavillenie when he received his silver medal. Absolute disgrace.

I watched the pole vault live last night. I don't think Lavillenie was too impressed when the Brazilians were booing him every time he started his run and cheering when he clattered into the bar. He looked very sour after da Silva won and pretty cheesed off (and I think the Brazilians spotted this too, hence tonight).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,230 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

bajer101 wrote: »
    Would really love to see Thomas Barr make the final. Of all the competitors I've seen interviewed he was the one who I would point out to my kids and say, "See that? That is why you should take up sports."

I don't think that is realistic.

But open to any surprises at this stage.

Rob Heffernan our last real part of the games to go.

I'm the only man in Ireland - and I guess I have to listen to experts .
    But from my amateur eyes - our boxers were very unfit, a bit one dimensional and unprepared.

Even Conlon, a level above the rest, looked a bit unfit in his first fight, a bit puffy after 3 minutes.

I was looking at Taylor thinking she was so One dimensional throwing the same one / two every time and looked a bit unprepared too.

And this is where I get crazy :) - looking at the Russian fighter he was actually very good - he got a lot of very powerful clean head shots - Michael is an incredible boxer - but he was hitting a lot of gloves and blocks.

Again - as a total outsider to boxing - I found it fascinating , that you only actually react positively to your own mans hits. The Russian boxer was incredibly efficient with powerfull head shots.

And - the saddest reality that we as the "Holy Irish" have to accept , but don't - if you have an actual drug ban in your team - how on earth can you be the pontificates of boxing.

It is also laughable that Conlon thinks his redemption will be in pro boxing - best of luck with that - the most ugly corrupt game in the game, outside of UFC.

What is drug testing like in the pro game :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Just caught the men's pole valut medal ceremony there now, with crowd booing silver medalist because...well, they'd booed him during the competition because...well, he was competing against their home boy (who went on to win). Happy to see a host-nation winner, but the Brazilian audience haven't covered themselves in glory :(. Of course it seems to be a genuine cultural difference - expression of passion for their competitors, no malice and all that - but it's not a difference I think I'd ever be able to appreciate

ETA - didn't see previous posts on this before posting, so excuse redundancy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,230 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Just caught the men's pole valut medal ceremony there now, with crowd booing silver medalist because...well, they'd booed him during the competition because...well, he was competing against their home boy (who went on to win). Happy to see a host-nation winner, but the Brazilian audience haven't covered themselves in glory :(. Of course it seems to be a genuine cultural difference - expression of passion for their competitors, no malice and all that - but it's not a difference I think I'd ever be able to appreciate

Yes for all the empathy we are suppose to show to the Brazilians and that.

They could be just very over emotional fools , who are like sheep. :p

A bit like the soccer team and this idea they could win world cup by divinity - when they were crap.

The only reason the stadiums are near full is an external anger that they are not.

There is a chance they are just too lazy - if this was held in Ireland every seat would be full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Strazdas wrote: »
    I watched the pole vault live last night. I don't think Lavillenie was too impressed when the Brazilians were booing him every time he started his run and cheering when he clattered into the bar. He looked very sour after da Silva won and pretty cheesed off (and I think the Brazilians spotted this too, hence tonight).

In the heat of the moment he compared the treatment of him and the other pole vaulters as to what competitors dealth with in the 1936 Olympics under Nazi Germany. He fully apologied and retracted his comments in the press conference soon after. He seems like a decent bloke and does not deserve the treatment he got. He probably wont look back fondly on this Olympic experience. A pity as he jumped well.