Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Crap, thought this was Sunday? Can't make tomorrow I'm afraid. Catch ye at the next one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

kin9pin wrote: »
    I am planning on being there for the LSR tomorrow, but waiting on a mechanic for my car. Got home this morning and I have warning lights everywhere, just hoping it's only a dead battery).

I'll let you know later if I can't make it.

Hi Kin9pin, think you may be in similar general area to me.. if I can help on a lift in the morning then PM me or message me on Strava.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

kabuxa wrote: »
    Ooooooohhhhh San Sebastian in November! You will never EVER find better scenery and support!!! My hometown! The only thing to be aware is no direct flights close to it in November otherwise.....

Cheap enough to fly via Madrid if you wanted to so to SS, there's a few from boards doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Ooooooohhhhh San Sebastian in November! You will never EVER find better scenery and support!!! My hometown! The only thing to be aware is no direct flights close to it in November otherwise.....

Ooh I'm heading to San Sebastian on holidays the week after next:D I've never been before so if there's anything in particular you'd really recommend seeing or doing please let me know!
    Really looking forward to it although not so much looking forward to having to do a 17 mile run in a city I've never been to before :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Hmmm, just got a message from a friend who signed me up for some 5k run tomorrow around obstacle courses and giant slides.... https://www.wildairrun.com/

Totally forgot about it, I'll be doing the 14m tomorrow and will probably walk that later on as signed up for 8pm. Should be alright, more worried about getting injured then anything

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Ooh I'm heading to San Sebastian on holidays the week after next:D I've never been before so if there's anything in particular you'd really recommend seeing or doing please let me know!
    Really looking forward to it although not so much looking forward to having to do a 17 mile run in a city I've never been to before :eek:

There's a nice run along by the seafront (depending on where you are staying), here is my strava from earlier this year:

https://www.strava.com/activities/559124141

I did a walk/kike from San Sebastian to Pasai San Pedro, took a few hours but was quite pleasant.

https://www.strava.com/activities/560983617

Other than that there is great food and drink to be had, the basque cider is worth trying, and I could really go on all day about the food options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Hi Kin9pin, think you may be in similar general area to me.. if I can help on a lift in the morning then PM me or message me on Strava.

Thanks for the offer pd, but thankfully Mazda have sorted a hire car for me for the weekend. I'll be there in the morning, but will have to miss the coffee/flapjacks after as I'm under time pressure.

adrian522 wrote: »
    There's a nice run along by the seafront (depending on where you are staying), here is my strava from earlier this year:

https://www.strava.com/activities/559124141

I did a walk/kike from San Sebastian to Pasai San Pedro, took a few hours but was quite pleasant.

https://www.strava.com/activities/560983617

Other than that there is great food and drink to be had, the basque cider is worth trying, and I could really go on all day about the food options.

Awesome, thanks a million adrian. Staying close enough to the seafront so I may copy your seafront run & loop it a few times, no danger of me getting lost then.
    Wouldn't mind a good hike too.
    I've heard the food is to die for :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Hello everyone,
    Hoping I can join your group.
    I started running last year and have built up to half marathon , have done 3 now and my most recent the RnR Dublin which I just loved.
    Really struggling to get training with a young family and working full time and thinking of buying a threadmill for during the week - I can manage my long run on the weekends but its during the week I struggle.
    Having terrible trouble with my knees as they are constantly sore - had a tendon injury earlier this year and haven't been right since.
    I am following the running app linked to the marathon when I registered as my training plan .
    I live in the country so all my runs are on my own , I am not the fastest but settle into a long run slowly !
    Looking forward to chatting to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,916 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Hi SG,

Welcome! Maybe you could post some answers to the questions on page 1 of this thread, to give an idea of your running background.

If your knees are troubling you, it might be a sign to back off the training at the moment, depending on how bad it is. At the same time marathon training is a big stress on the body, especially the first time round, and you might get over this (I've had mile knee pain during first few marathon cycles but maybe not as bad as you describe).

Tell us more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

adrian522 wrote:
    Cheap enough to fly via Madrid if you wanted to so to SS, there's a few from boards doing that.

Hi Yes cheap enough. But the hassle of going via somewhere.... would love to do it... until I saw the time of the last runner last year. But I don't give up. They will love it (soooooo jealous!)

Ooh I'm heading to San Sebastian on holidays the week after next I've never been before so if there's anything in particular you'd really recommend seeing or doing please let me know! Really looking forward to it although not so much looking forward to having to do a 17 mile run in a city I've never been to before

Oh!! Well... Give me a little bit and I will send you something... I woll send you routes to run... I will include hills as well... and in 17 miles you have seen the whole town... and ready for Pintxos in Old part! Which dates are you going? I am going next week...

Ah you're very good, but don't go to too much trouble:) We're flying into Bilbao on August 22nd for 2 nights & then on to San Sebastian for 6 nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance
    Clontarf Half November 2015 - 2.07 delighted !
    Newry half May 2016 - 2.22 - very hot - that's my excuse and sticking with it !
    RnR Dublin Half August 2016 - 2.05 happy days !

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training?
    I have a few circuits I run so I sometimes stop and take a drink / gel at the car so on a long run maybe 1 break

How much training do you currently do ?
    2 10K runs , 1 long run, elliptical trainer when not running and about to start Spin class in September

What do you want to achieve?
    I just want to finish it ! Don't care what time just finish it

How many days a week can you train? And what plan do you intend to follow?
    I have 2 rest days a week but this all depends on whats happening in that week - I am following the Run Coach app linked to the marathon registeration and this links in with my Garmin watch

Why are you running this marathon?
    Running is my little escape - I have 4 young kids ( 2 sets of twins ) and running helps me cope with life in general - I just love it

Hope this fills in a little about me x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

J o e wrote: »
    Recently signed up for the marathon and just found this thread when looking for a training program - I'm in!

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs?

I've never done a marathon but in the last 3 years I've done a load of 5k races, good few 10k races and 2 half marathons (+2 more as part of half-ironman triathlons this year).

5k - 23:04 (Galway 5k Series 2013 - Tuam)
    10k - 48:20 (Colemanstown 10km 2015)
    Half-Marathon - 01:58:16 (Kinvara Rock and Road 2016)

No, not any more - just slow the pace and keep running.

My training and exercise tends to come in waves. I sign up for an event, train, drop off, panic close to the event and cram some training again, do the event then stop until I sign up for another!

When the lumpy training is averaged out of the year it's not a lot;
    2016 so far...
    16 cycles (762km) - 23.8km / week
    13 swims (21km) - 338m / week
    22 runs (208km) - 6.5km / week :o

I'm aiming at sub-4:30 for this. I've never ran beyond 21.2km before so going into unchartered territory but I think that's a good goal...

I have never successfully stuck to a training plan but I know I'll not be able to wing this on the day (or cram the weeks beforehand) so going to follow the Hal Higdon Novice 1 plan.

It's the next logical fitness goal for me.

4 years ago I started at a couch-to-5km level and worked up to my first 5km run without stopping. Since then I've built up to...
    - 5km run (2012)
    - 10km run (2012)
    - Sprint triathlon (2013)
    - Half-marathon (2014)
    - Olympic triathlon (2016)
    - Half-ironman (2016)
    - Full marathon ... (this)
    - Full Ironman... (maybe 2018??)

I'm toying with the idea of a full Ironman goal in a couple of years but need to experience a full marathon first before I can even start putting a plan in place for that. Also need to get much more consistent with my training!

H e l l o J o e,

Welcome to the thread. You have a fine long-term plan there :) Well done on the progression through the distances, especially the ironman stuff.

I won't sugarcoat it, you've left yourself quite the challenge. I take it you've seen the training plans we're following (here). HHN1, which can be considered as the minimum training required for first-time marathoners, is already ratcheting up quite a few weekly miles (3, 6, 3M for mid-week, and 12M for long run planned for this weekend).

Since you've signed up, I take it you're serious about it, so the sooner you fall in with the plan, the better. This involves getting into the routine of clocking up the mid-week and longer runs at the right pace (there are numerous posts on this earlier on in the thread, otherwise Chief Pace Officer Firedance will get the sharp pencils out to help you calculate yours), cut out all races, find some gentle cross-training that you like, and start posting your weekly progress here.

Given your history over the years, you have a chance, but you have very little time left and none to loose. Have a look at the plans and let me know what you think! Good luck!

RasTa wrote: »
    Hmmm, just got a message from a friend who signed me up for some 5k run tomorrow around obstacle courses and giant slides.... https://www.wildairrun.com/

Totally forgot about it, I'll be doing the 14m tomorrow and will probably walk that later on as signed up for 8pm. Should be alright, more worried about getting injured then anything

RasTa, RasTa ... :mad: surely you're not going to jeopardize all you've built up so far to be playing on bouncy castles for an evening? :confused:

Although, admittedly, it looks like fun... :rolleyes:

I vote that between Kabuxa, Pomplamousse, and Adrian, we organize a DCM Novices (& Mentors) 2016 Grand Reunion Tour to San Sebastian...!

Bizarrely, I was talking at my son's GA training on Wednesday evening, one of the other boys' uncle was over, visiting from ... (you guessed it) San Sebastian, and he mentioned the annual Half Marathon as an amazing event. It must be in the air! :)

nop98 wrote:
    Bizarrely, I was talking at my son's GA training on Wednesday evening, one of the other boys' uncle was over, visiting from ... (you guessed it) San Sebastian, and he mentioned the annual Half Marathon as an amazing event. It must be in the air!
    I vote that between Kabuxa, Pomplamousse, and Adrian, we organize a DCM Novices (& Mentors) 2016 Grand Reunion Tour to San Sebastian...!

There is one in May that is 10k and HM called MediaDonosti and I believe at the Marathon in Nov there is a half too.

I vote for it too! Adrian seems to know a fair bit, Pomplamousse will know it well and I have some idea hahaha. It would be fantastic!!!

Pomplamousse I come back on the 23rd!!!! Pityyyyyy. In Mallorca at the moment but I will send you something!

There is one in May that is 10k and HM called MediaDonosti and I believe at the Marathon in Nov there is a half too.

I vote for it too! Adrian seems to know a fair bit, Pomplamousse will know it well and I have some idea hahaha. It would be fantastic!!!

Pomplamousse I come back on the 23rd!!!! Pityyyyyy. In Mallorca at the moment but I will send you something!

Thank you:) It is a pity we won't be there at the same time but hope you're enjoying Mallorca.

Enjoy the Phoenix park LSR tomorrow to everyone who's doing it. I'm hoping I'll be well enough to get mine done on Sunday morning, otherwise I'll just write it off.

It's weekend! For many, this means a welcome break from a hard week. For you guys, it means several hours of running! Lucky you! :)

HHN1 is up to 12M :eek:, and Boards 14M. Good luck to you all!

There has been some discussion around using gels during LSRs. There are several schools of thought on this. To my limited knowledge and experience, there are really two things to keep in mind:
    1. "Now is the time". You will need to find and finalize your optimal feeding strategy during race-day. For many runners, this means will mean using gels, and this is something you need to practice - hence the "now is the time" mantra. :cool: Your weekend runs are a perfect opportunity to try things out. At the very least, you want to establish that the brand you're planning to use on the day don't affect your adversely. You will also have to figure out how to bring enough gels during the day. Using 4-5 (or even more) is not uncommon and you don't want to think about how to bring this around for the first time 30 minutes before kick-off. :confused: You can use a gel-belt, or "cargo-shorts", or bribe friends to stand somewhere en-route... There are 2 aid-stations that stock gels on the day, which you might use. All of you will need to work all this out during these weeks and use your long runs for practice - it's part of the training and prep.
    2. Don't "bonk during your training runs". Having said the above, it's not recommended to consume gels during your long runs like you will on race-day. The long runs are to train your body for the optimal build-up of its natural energy stores (and consumption) and if you keep topping up with gels, that'll be counter-productive to the training effort. But once you start running long for near 3 hours, most of you will need additional fuel. I certainly did, and personally brought 1-2 gels with me and typically used both on the really long runs (18-20M) - and only one for the 13-16M variety. Not an exact science, but you get my point.

The main point I am trying to make is that the recommendation isn't to run without any sort of fueling at all, especially now the mileage is creeping up. Hope this makes sense. Do what works for you - and looking after yourselves.

Lastly, here's the final line-up for tomorrow's meet in Phoenix Park (9am) at the red arrow or thereabouts. Looks like we'll have 5-6 for the 10 min/mi group and 4-5 for the 11 min/mi. Any late joiners or cancellations, please let us know so we don't wait around too long.

Name|Planned Pace|Distance required
    aceygray|9.30 - 10 min/mile|14 miles
    kin9pin|10:00-11:00|14 miles
    nop98|9:30 - 10|8ish
    Wubble Wubble | 9:30-10 | 14 miles
    Bungy Girl | 9:30-10 | tbd
    FITZA|10.05+|14m
    Firedance|10:30 to 11:30|6-8
    The Muppet|11 to 12 |any
    The Black Oil|11|12 miles
    paddydriver|Sociable Pace|14 miles

393845.png

Safrongirl wrote: »
    Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance
    Clontarf Half November 2015 - 2.07 delighted !
    Newry half May 2016 - 2.22 - very hot - that's my excuse and sticking with it !
    RnR Dublin Half August 2016 - 2.05 happy days !

I have a few circuits I run so I sometimes stop and take a drink / gel at the car so on a long run maybe 1 break

2 10K runs , 1 long run, elliptical trainer when not running and about to start Spin class in September

I just want to finish it ! Don't care what time just finish it

I have 2 rest days a week but this all depends on whats happening in that week - I am following the Run Coach app linked to the marathon registeration and this links in with my Garmin watch

Running is my little escape - I have 4 young kids ( 2 sets of twins ) and running helps me cope with life in general - I just love it

Hope this fills in a little about me x

Hello Safrongirl - welcome to the thread! I also notice this is your debut on boards :)

Well done on your PB during the RnR recently, it was a tough day at the office by many accounts.

First of all, I hope you have signed up for the Dublin Marathon since it is already sold out. :eek:

Second - I am glad your following a reasonably regular training plan. What would help gauge if you're on a reasonable trajectory is to have a look at the HHN1 and Boards plans (here), and see if the mileage we're covering at the moment (week 7) is in line with what you're doing.

Third, two sets of twins, very cool! But that sounds quite hectic, marathon training should be a walk-in-the-park :eek: & :cool:

The very best of luck, keep us posted on your progress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

nop98 wrote: »

Bizarrely, I was talking at my son's GA training on Wednesday evening, one of the other boys' uncle was over, visiting from ... (you guessed it) San Sebastian, and he mentioned the annual Half Marathon as an amazing event. It must be in the air! :)

I think that is a sign for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Have a great weekend all! Off out for 14 lovely miles soon.looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Looking fabulous out there, guys! I was hoping I'd run into you :D Highlight of my run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Just back from my 14 Miles LSR and really enjoyed it. I am little stiff after it but that's to be expected, will be having a nice hot bath with some epsom salts soon. That's the longest I have ever run so I am delighted with that :)

Hope everyone had a good run today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭tipping

Weekly update

Monday: 12 miles at 7:33 including 10,9,8,7 minutes at 6:30 ish pace

Tuesday: 4 miles recovery @ 8:37

Wednesday: 7 miles easy @ 8:57. Few loops of the woods explains the slower pace.

Massage after to loosen out glutes and calves.

Thursday: 11 miles easy @ 8:28
    Glutes still a little tight. Right calf pretty tight that evening. Did plenty of work on it over the next few days and loosened out ok.

Saturday: 18.5 @ 8:13
    Lovely run with some company. Felt very easy the whole way around. Legs a little fatigued in the last mile or two but nothing major. Took one gel at about 9 miles and got a little boost from it.

52. 5 miles for the week, highest mileage ever with longest run ever. Very happy with progress so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭splashthecash

Ran a 12 mile this morning with average of 9:30 mins per mile. Very happy with how it went....used a couple if gels for the first time too. Really looking forward to Frank Duffy next week now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Physio went as well as I could hope for! No damage thankfully, but I have a very tight quad muscle, I've been put on a stretching regime (x3 daily), advised reformer Pilates to quickly build up muscle strength & core. Rest until wed and then an easy 4 miles wed & Thur, if no pain than an easy 10 for the FD race on Sunday.

I hope everyone had fun today, you had a lovely morning for it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

nop98 wrote: »
    I won't sugarcoat it, you've left yourself quite the challenge. I take it you've seen the training plans we're following (here). HHN1, which can be considered as the minimum training required for first-time marathoners, is already ratcheting up quite a few weekly miles (3, 6, 3M for mid-week, and 12M for long run planned for this weekend)!

Yeah I'm going to follow the HHN1. Completed the 12mile run this morning. I've a bit of work to do on pacing to slow it up more for the LSRs - todays average was just slightly slower than race pace.

I should have mentioned my last half-Ironman was just last Sunday so I'm transitioning from that training across to this. It included a half-marathon run after a grueling 85km cycle and a 2km swim. It will be a lot more mileage on the feet but hopefully the overall fitness level will be alright to keep up with ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Really enjoyed the meet-up run this morning, lovely to meet everyone and put faces to names, a lovely sunny morning and we spotted TFGR too :)