Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manky grey tracksuits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Burial. wrote: »
    What do people suggest teenagers wear so?
    Anything but tracksuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It's just comfy. Probably the most convenient thing to wear on a normal day to day basis.

Not just an Irish trend either, you see this in a lot of countries in Europe and probably further afar. I don't see why it bothers anyone. If the wearer is happy, then all's good. This isn't the late 1800s where everyone's expected to have a top hat and cane, or carry a ladies umbrella.

Nothing worse than seeing people in tracksuits with the arse of them stretched down to their knees from constant wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

I wear black ones to the gym. I do sometimes wear them into town if my tummy is bothering me and nothing else feels comfortable. I try to pair them with a nice tshirt or something. Also, I think tracksuits make my bum look nice. They really accentuate the 'donk :p.

I don't really pay attention to what other people are wearing but I have to say I don't really get skinny tracksuits either. Or skinny jeans. All that tight clothing can't be good for fertility!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I wear grey tracksuit bottoms from time to time.

I also wear shorts and jeans from time to time.

I always look awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Also, I think tracksuits make my bum look nice. They really accentuate the 'donk :p
    I don't doubt that they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

It's just comfy. Probably the most convenient thing to wear on a normal day to day basis.

Not just an Irish trend either, you see this in a lot of countries in Europe and probably further afar. I don't see why it bothers anyone. If the wearer is happy, then all's good. This isn't the late 1800s where everyone's expected to have a top hat and cane, or carry a ladies umbrella.

Easier to scratch your nutsack too no doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭jackinthemix94

Easier to scratch your nutsack too no doubt

Stop I feel sick :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

What do people suggest teenagers wear so?
    Such as?
    Ah now, I'm not bothered by others wearing tracksuits either, but come on, you know full well there are plenty of other options for teenagers besides grey tracksuits. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

I don't find trackies comfy but some people suit them, my legs are too short but some people can pull them off and look good in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

We (the taxpayer) technically paid for those tracksuits if you think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

I love grey marl. Wouldn't wear a full outfit of it, mind, but do love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

BrendaN_f wrote: »
    always funny hearing fat/ugly people judge tracksuit wearers for being sloppy

Whatever about fatness, I wouldn't have thought there was any irony in "ugly" people judging sloppiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Don't most teenagers (definitely boys anyway) just wear tracksuit bottoms, regardless of scumbag factor or social background.

They're way more comfortable, you can play football in them, you can climb stuff easier, you can generally be more mobile, you don't grow out of them as quickly, they are the opposite to what nearly every older person/your parents wear (blue jeans), and the opposite in feel to a school uniform (manky grey pants).

I only wear tracksuit bottoms at home or in the gym nowadays because 'adults' wear jeans/pants outside and I do try my best to 'adult'. But if it was more socially acceptable to wear a tracksuit bottom, a soccer jersey and a peaky baseball hat I would be all over it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Having breakfast and wearing manky grey trackies. Spilt egg on them too. Time to put on my suit now and head to my high powered executive job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

First saw them in France in the 1990s, whole families dressed in those ones with the stripes down the sides; asked someone was there a sports event on and was told, no, working-class people wear them as leisurewear. Was baffled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I have a pair of grey tracksuit bottoms I wear sometimes. They make it easier to chase and wrestle with my son than in jeans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

I have a pair of very aged brown trackie bottoms, and if I find a pair in a charity shop that have deep pockets I'll buy them – grand for walking the dog in winter. But I'd be unlikely to wear them into town.

It kind of says something about how people feel about themselves, the lack of self-respect and the sense of personal depression, that these would be the universal wear of people without a chance in life.

Watching La Haine now, a film about riots in French 'projects', as the Americans would call them, and there's the same sense of hopelessness among the characters, unviersally tracksuited; at the point I've got to (spoiler!) the nicest character,
    a black kid with a lovely sense of calm and wisdom, is falling into drugs
    . Brilliant film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Turtlenecks, leather shoes and dad jeans in college - top, top advice.

Sure, you'll look a stereotypical dweeb from a mid-2000s gross-out high school comedy, you won't get invited to parties, and you'll never get laid. But, apparently, you'll be showing respect to your professor. And at the end of the day, isn't that all that really matters to young people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Turtlenecks, leather shoes and dad jeans in college - top, top advice.

Sure, you'll look a stereotypical dweeb from a mid-2000s gross-out high school comedy, you won't get invited to parties, and you'll never get laid. But, apparently, you'll be showing respect to your professor. And at the end of the day, isn't that all that really matters to young people?

People aren't that shallow , I hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Patww79 wrote: »

I'm glad I am out of my student years ..sounds miserable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Chuchote wrote: »
    I have a pair of very aged brown trackie bottoms, and if I find a pair in a charity shop that have deep pockets I'll buy them – grand for walking the dog in winter. But I'd be unlikely to wear them into town.

It kind of says something about how people feel about themselves, the lack of self-respect and the sense of personal depression, that these would be the universal wear of people without a chance in life.

Watching La Haine now, a film about riots in French 'projects', as the Americans would call them, and there's the same sense of hopelessness among the characters, unviersally tracksuited; at the point I've got to (spoiler!) the nicest character,
    a black kid with a lovely sense of calm and wisdom, is falling into drugs
    . Brilliant film.

Without trying to instigate an argument, thats not true..its a generalisation

I wear tracksuit pants pretty much everyday, and the reason why is simple. I had a surgery a few years ago that's left me pretty uncomfortable in jeans or anything related. Sure i can bear them occasionaly for a couple of hours, but im stripping them off as soon as i get home, as its serious effort to wear them

Also I weight train and have large legs. This also isnt that optimal for wearing jeans (More of a tangential issue, but still has an effect)

Whats more to the point, I enjoy wearing them, they are comfortable, practical and easy to wear with most things

So I either wear a suit pants or a tracksuit pants, but suit pants are impractical a lot of the time

Im just finishing my masters thesis with a 1.1 to date and I'm looking at PhD options for January/Sept 2017...I'm none of the above, and I'm sure there are many others who have perfectly good reasons to dress that way

Dont judge a book by its cover:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

4 years ago in UCD, everyone and their mother wore trackie bottoms, now the majority of lads wouldn't wear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Also the uniform of "peaceful protesters"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭Ericdravancrow

Scumbag city greys, scambag city greyyyys.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Ronald Wilson Reagan

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I loathe track suits. I don't even wear one to the gym. I just think they are lazy and slovenly but, hey, it's a free country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,344 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They don't look great when someone turns up for a court appearance wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Me_Grapes

BabyE wrote: »
    I don't find trackies comfy but some people suit them, my legs are too short but some people can pull them off and look good in them.

I'm interested to know.......what do you find more comfortable than tracksuit bottoms cos ye know, they're by a distance the least restrictive form of trousers. Is it purely how they look, or is it how they feel for you.

As for me, I'd echo the thoughts of the poster with the really long username above me. I love wearing trackies, and would wear them all the time if I could (I'd even give them the occasional wash), but 'The Man' says they aren't appropriate attire for non-sporting outdoor activities. And 'The Man' is probably right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

I find them very uncomfortable when you've got a wallet and phone in your pocket, swinging around along with other things.