Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manky grey tracksuits

• 07-08-2016 8:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭

I had some foreign teenagers with me over the weekend and the laughs they got of the manky grey tracksuit trend. There was what's app pictures flying to thier friends at home on this fashion.

People give out about buying school uniforms yet there seems to be no shortage of money for manky tracksuits.

Is it a lack of mirrors or a lack of self respect that has caused an increase in this, ahem, 'fashion trend'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I genuinely have no clue. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's the uniform of the scumbag, it makes them more recognisable to others scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

It's the uniform of the scumbag, it makes them more recognisable to others scumbags.
    That seems to be where it started, but I think it's gone mainstream. There's some load of them around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I happened to talk to the mother of some of these types about this a while back. I was slagging the whole idea. She explained that she bought
    grey tracksuits as they 'don't fade'.

Thinking about it makes sense. It's not black, which can 'stain' quite easily, ahem. It's not white, which has the same drawbacks. It's not a colour so it doesn't fade.

Still fcuking manky though, totally agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Usually accompanied by a 'workwear blue' top. I blame sports direct.

I happened to talk to the mother of some of these types about this a while back. I was slagging the whole idea. She explained that she bought
    grey tracksuits as they 'don't fade'.

Thinking about it makes sense. It's not black, which can 'stain' quite easily, ahem. It's not white, which has the same drawbacks. It's not a colour so it doesn't fade.

Still fcuking manky though, totally agree.
    I'm surprised to hear fading is a worry for them. I didn't think they were ever washed at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

They wear them in prison, probably to let the other scumbags know that they are hard and been inside..

Don't forget to cup your balls while wearing them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 334 ✭✭skywanderer

They should not be worn outside the gym or training really, although I sometimes use them if I'm painting a fence or doing strenuous manual work in which case I find they gives me alot of freedom in the legs and crotch as jeans are so tight and restrictive. I wouldn't be caught dead wearing them out casually however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Patww79 wrote: »
    ... which looks extra weird with the tight cuffed ankles.

Saw a load of young lads on the dart the other day wearing these and about half of them seemed to be carrying cans (330ml size) in the legs of the track suits, one in each leg just above the cuff. It looked extremely uncomfortable but I guess I'm just not up to date with fashion these days!

They should not be worn outside the gym or training really, although I sometimes use them if I'm painting a fence or doing strenuous manual work in which case I find they gives me alot of freedom in the legs and crotch as jeans are so tight and restrictive. I wouldn't be caught dead wearing them out casually however.
    There seems to be a big baggy arse for some reason on them. I wouldn't even wear them painting!

Patww79 wrote: »

They look like a kid from the 80's who's family hadn't two shillings to rub together.
    You hit the nail on the head with this.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Plenty of them tracksuit types in Rio at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

mzungu wrote: »
    Plenty of them tracksuit types in Rio at the moment.

The difference is they probably really are ''hard''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

I wear tracksuit bottoms in work. They're wonderful shades of manky grey, manky black, manky navy, manky blue and manky manky.

Worn with manky hoodies of varying manky shades. I'm probably a bit old to be wearing such manky clothes but they're ideal for working in a warehouse, and look well with my steel-toed caterpillar runners. :D

On days off I wear respectable middle-class attire consisting of jeans, runners and tshirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭anewme

they ajways have one hand wedged firmly down the front of manky grey track suits too. Yuk!

I hate tracksuits and I hate trainers even more . Stupid foam and plastic things fall apart/look cr*p/worse in five minutes and cost a fortune .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

The practicality of your first line combined with the pretentiousness of your second line is probably why they are popular with people.

I hate tracksuits and I hate trainers even more . Stupid foam and plastic things fall apart/look cr*p/worse in five minutes and cost a fortune .

Trainers last for years are exceptionally comfortable and good for your feet.

They are pricey alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭BrendaN_f

always funny hearing fat/ugly people judge tracksuit wearers for being sloppy

kneemos wrote: »
    Trainers last for years are exceptionally comfortable and good for your feet.

They are pricey alright.

Not for me , but they would probably be fine if you're walking around town, I guess

BrendaN_f wrote: »
    always funny hearing fat/ugly people judge tracksuit wearers for being sloppy
    The manky tracksuit wearers I saw didn't have athletic bodies. The elasticated waist lets them pull it up over thier bellies, but they're fooling no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

Maybe they are aspiring to be great sports heroes like the Bulgarian keeper.....

Most of them are bags of sh1te, they wear them to give the impression they are hard.

The only hard thing about them is the knife in their pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

Who the hell cares what others wear

Most of them are bags of sh1te, they wear them to give the impression they are hard.

The only hard thing about them is the knife in their pocket

I wouldn't like to find out in Rio, but they probably have chavs too

A friend of a friend in the police there said they sometimes openly carry ''big guns''

If patrick kavanagh was writing poetry these days, he wouldn't have been writing "O stony grey soil of Monaghan", instead it would have been "O manky grey tracksuits of Ireland" :D

I'd wonder how I failed so bad as a parent if my child decided to go down this road. i'd be sitting them down and asking why the have no self respect. Then carting them off to therapy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

They're comfy, they're warm, they last ages. I wouldn't make a habit of wearing them outside but I have done the odd time. But now I found out some foreign teenagers found them funny I'm dying from all these fcuks I give

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Just another scumbag uniform. Like Celtic shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Fashion today is an abomination to the human race, nobody knows how to dress smart anymore. With suits 10 sizes too small for men and women dressed like young boys, the fashion gurus need to up their game fast.

They're comfy, they're warm, they last ages. I wouldn't make a habit of wearing them outside but I have done the odd time. But now I found out some foreign teenagers found them funny I'm dying from all these fcuks I give
    when they saw the group's of them, At first they thought they were some type of reintegration back in to society project, for people with issues, being brought out for the day. When the realised it was fashion they were stunned, then hysterical with the laughter.

Smondie wrote: »
    when they saw the group's of them, At first they thought they were some type of reintegration back in to society project, for people with issues, being brought out for the day. When the realised it was fashion they were stunned, then hysterical with the laughter.

Thanks for the blow by blow. I feel like I was there!

One of them went and purchased a pair, and they were doing skits of gombeen Irish tracksuit wearers. It really tickled them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Who the hell cares what others wear

Nobody cares not even the ones who wear p1ss stained tracksuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,385 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

One of them went and purchased a pair, and they were doing skits of gombeen Irish tracksuit wearers. It really tickled them.

They're easily entertained anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

In Limerick you check to see if there are white socks - that's when you really know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

osarusan wrote: »
    In Limerick you check to see if there are white socks - that's when you really know.

Dont forget the baseball cap (peak curved and sitting at a perfect 45 degree angle)

And black slip on shoes

namloc1980 wrote: »

They're easily entertained anyway.
    isn't it great they can amuse themselves without having to hang round street corners or outside lidl causing trouble!
    I did offer to drop them off at the trolley bay in tescos to hang out, they declined.

I must bring them limerick some time, so they can see the fashion there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

I meant the Olympians.

Sports brands in a proper Limerick accent sound brilliant. "Ah you gomie, you spilt that on me Adeeeeeeeeda-aas!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Sports brands in a proper Limerick accent sound brilliant. "Ah you gomie, you spilt that on me Adeeeeeeeeda-aas!"

shuddupyouhaaaaanidicap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

shuddupyouhaaaaanidicap.

Atee her Kellaye!! :D

Are these grey tracksuits branded labels? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭jackinthemix94

Are these grey tracksuits branded labels? :eek:

I think so.

I always wonder where they've got the money from for them - they actually aren't cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭celligraphy

Yes!! I have one and I find it so comfy to wear,mostly because my jeans and other pants cause my leg to go into spasms ,still I get awful looks when I do wear it