Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manky grey tracksuits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

MadDog76 wrote: »
    What do you wear Op?
    I'll tell you what I don't wear, manky tracksuits. How about yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I live in a rough part of Blanchardstown and every teenager wears them. It's disgusting. It's a combination of being dragged up, having no class and peer pressure that makes them dress so horribly. Can't wait to move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Smondie wrote: »
    Proper clothes.

What are some proper clothes teenagers should be wearing?

They asked you what you wear, not what you don't wear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Have you a mirror in your house at all? If so do you look in it and think "yes! I look hot in this shapeless manky tracksuit?" - Serious question

I don't go out to tesco to look 'hot' ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I detect a little bit of insecure self-consciousness there! :D

Don't be shy, we won't ALL laugh at you .......... go on, since you started a thread about it, what do you wear casually day-to-day? ;)

Burial. wrote: »
    Proper clothes.

Seriously? There is so much choice apart from the hedidious uniform of manky tracksuits.

Such as?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

The greatest fashion faux pas being committed by the plain people of Ireland at the moment is the continued obsession with bootcut jeans. They are usually paired with a cheap shirt worn a size too large, often in a vain attempt to disguise a gut that took many hours at the bar to cultivate.

I was leaving a wonderful new restaurant called Pickle on Camden Street when I was there two weeks ago. Extraordinary food and service. No sooner had we walked out the door than we were facing the sight of large groups of drunk Irishmen stumbling down the street. All bootcut, buzzcut and bullshít.

[

I don't go out to tesco to look 'hot' ffs.

Wait a mintue, tescos? To hang round the trolley bay by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

The greatest fashion faux pas being committed by the plain people of Ireland at the moment is the continued obsession with bootcut jeans. They are usually paired with a cheap shirt worn a size too large, often in a vain attempt to disguise a gut that took many hours at the bar to cultivate.

I was leaving a wonderful new restaurant called Pickle on Camden Street when I was there two weeks ago. Extraordinary food and service. No sooner had we walked out the door than we were facing the sight of large groups of drunk Irishmen stumbling down the street. All bootcut, buzzcut and bullshít.

Ugh yes! Boot cut jeans are a sin!!

I was leaving a wonderful new restaurant called Pickle on Camden Street when I was there two weeks ago. Extraordinary food and service. No sooner had we walked out the door than we were facing the sight of large groups of drunk Irishmen stumbling down the street. All bootcut, buzzcut and bullsh t.

They probably thought the same when the saw you in your manky tracksuit :D

Such as?
    If you really can't think of another choice of clothing than a manky tracksuit, Google will help you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

mzungu wrote: »
    I meant the Olympians.

I wouldn't like to meet them in a dark alley either !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

pone2012 wrote: »
    Dont forget the baseball cap (peak curved and sitting at a perfect 45 degree angle)

Under the hood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

If you really can't think of another choice of clothing than a manky tracksuit, Google will help you out.

Why don't you help us all out and tell us what you wear??? I'm starting to think you're avoiding the question!!! :D

I'm starting to think you are a bit obsessed with me!

I dont have access to Google on my Massey Ferguson washing machine. Perhaps you could help me out seeing as you are enlightened about the appropriate attire for the modern teenager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,344 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's easy to tell the difference between someone who wears a tracksuit for work or just going to the gym and a skanger wearing one, there's no mistaking the thick head of a skanger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

http://www.artofmanliness.com/2011/09/22/style-tips-for-college-men/

So teenagers should be wearing cardigans and moccasins daily? I'm sorry for raining on this utopia but this isn't the ski lodges with moose heads hanging off the wall and whiskey drinking over Tchaikovsky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,514 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

isn't it great they can amuse themselves without having to hang round street corners or outside lidl causing trouble!
    I did offer to drop them off at the trolley bay in tescos to hang out, they declined.

I must bring them limerick some time, so they can see the fashion there.

Yeah because people hanging around acting the maggot doesn't happen anywhere else except in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Is it just grey tracksuit bottoms that offend you so much or are the other colours "manky" too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

After hours really needs a "things that offend my prejudices" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 StyleKillah

LINK

I love my style and that website makes me hurl. No.. TBH They're isn't really anything wrong with grey tracksuits. And you can tell the difference between a person working out and a "Scumbag"

Also why do people want said baddies to stop wearing them, it's what makes them so identifiable and avoidable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Plot twist : He's actually wearing a grey tracksuit

It's just comfy. Probably the most convenient thing to wear on a normal day to day basis.

Not just an Irish trend either, you see this in a lot of countries in Europe and probably further afar. I don't see why it bothers anyone. If the wearer is happy, then all's good. This isn't the late 1800s where everyone's expected to have a top hat and cane, or carry a ladies umbrella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭unjedilike

I'm as far removed from a skanger as can be and old enough to not give a **** about what I wear when not going to the pub etc. I have tracksuit pants just like these (colour varies) and afaic it's all about comfort and they're goddamn comfortable. Tbh, I feel a little claustrophobic when I see people wearing skin tight jeans. Also, wtf is your idea of manky, I can think of much worse colours than light grey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,862 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I've never being a tracksuit person. I can't really think the last time I wore them.
    I know people of all professions that wear them tough and being honest it doesn't bother me.
    I sort of got skinny jeans on men when they became popular even tough I never really saw any one look good in them.
    I don't get skinny trackauits tough. They just seem really tight and uncomfortable which is the exact opposite of what a tracksuit is meant to be in my opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,862 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Grey trackies, tucked into white socks with the drugs you're selling concealed in your blue runners, a blue soft shell type jacket with a small knife in the pocket and a navy Nike baseball cap, walking around with both hands on your Harry hickey/town halls.

I personally love the way these scrotes wear the same gear because you can spot them a mile away.

Glazers Out!