Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

dunfords nerves got him but mossy was off the pace when he came in too, hard to call

Yea Colin's hurling just wasn't sharp enough today. Hasn't seen enough game time this year maybe. Dillon justified his place though. Put in a tremendous shift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Yet was picked to start. Strange one

When you've a 19 yr old making his debut, you do what you have to to protect him. And he had a stormer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

When you've a 19 yr old making his debut, you do what you have to to protect him. And he had a stormer.

Yea might explain it alright. Hes been a fantastic find this year. When we won the minor a few years ago he only came on as a sub in the forwards. Now hes one of our best defenders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Such a bittersweet feeling. Great to put in a tremendous effort and performance but ultimately sickening not to seal the deal. Gleeson (x2), Moran, Brick, Barron and Dillon all had excellent games. Defence generally solid and we picked off some unreal scores at times. Amazing how the confidence goes right up when every shot goes over, we're usually used to seeing the opposite.

So the big question then, can we repeat the display on Saturday? It'll be another huge test, KK just do not lose replays and while it might be fair to say we played as well as we could and still couldn't get over the line, KK can still improve and that's the cause for concern. They surely won't have as many players whereby the game just passes them by the next day so we'll have to be ready to put in another monster effort.
    Some of the advantages we might have I think is that given the younger age profile of the team, the hope is that we can recover that bit quicker and be ready to drain ourselves again in 6 days. Not to mention we still have a few good options off the bench that will most definitely have a part to play (St Bennet, Devine who didn't see any game time today and Curran & O'Halloran who were involved for parts of the game).
    Also being in Thurles suits us down to the ground.

It does feel like a loss, we really should have wrapped the game up. If Moran's effort had crept in it would've put us 4 up (and surely that was the insurance score) but instead they went up the other end and got the killer goal. Small margins and all that. I know people are quick to say dropping off in the last 5 mins was disastrous and cost us the win but to be fair I think we would equally be giving out if we continued to push on, KK came back into it and KK drew/won. In that scenario, I think we'd be complaining that we should've shut up shop and closed out the game. Hindsight being 20:20 I guess, not saying the management made the right call, just pointing out that it's easy to look back and say "we should've done this/that etc"

For Saturday, you'd imagine Dunford will be replaced by either Curran or Maurice. Felt sorry for Dunford, it just didn't go right for him at all and the two balls that came nicely to him, he failed to control and resulted in KK points. I'm guessing D.Fives remains out and so C.Gleeson to continue which I've absolutely no issue with. Dillon looks like he has done enough to hold down a place but Shane Bennett's place could be under threat. If any changes, possibly Curran and Maurice in for Bennett and Dunford I would think.

Well done to all involved today, it really was a fantastic game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭taytobreath

as a pissed waterford man it makes me proud to hear that our match was the best match yet so far of the champoionship,

keep the faith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

O Riain wrote: »
    For anyone who didn't see the game on the telly. When Moran was going for a goal the ball actually game off a Kilkenny man and but was signalled wide.

Also hogan went over on the ball but Fives was incorrectly penalised for picking the ball off the ground when he didn't.

Small things but when ya have a tight game drawn like that against KK then it's a bit sickening. That's not to mention the hawk-eye score showing the ball mostly on the inside of the post when it had already been given as a point by the umpire.

That's a 3 point swing right there.

Hogan was shouldered in the chest, should have been a free in. Hawkeye was correct, can't understand people complaining that they didn't get a point for a wide. It would be more in Waterford fans way to be asking why they're team referred to negative, defeatist bull**** tactics at the end of the game instead of pushing on and sealing a deserved victory. And maybe asking what was wrong mentally with the team to have so many shocking wides in the last ten minutes. They reverted to type, blaming refs and Hawkeye (blaming Hawkeye for being correct, no less!) is pathetic.

I said yesterday I wished ye the best and if Kilkenny lost hopefully we wouldn't be on making stupid excuses. I also said ye could win if ye played good attacking hurling. I think I was right on that count. To be fair, on this thread almost everyone is accepting that the match was lost by Waterford (definitely Kilkenny were let off the hook today, ye had us bet no question) on the line and in the head. All I can say is I'd love if your players went away blaming the ref, playing the victim. Then they wouldn't have to bother looking at themselves and their heads would be completely out of it for the next day.

I doubt that will be the case though. Ye are right to be proud of your players today, they were immense, Gleeson gave a lesson today. They showed they are as good a team of proper hurlers as good as any in the country when they're let hurl. No reason that they can't have the same sheer workrate next week as well. Kilkenny looked heavy and lethargic in comparison, and again no reason for that to change in a week. But your manager is very slow to learn a lesson. What's working? Direct hurling. Great. Well, we're ahead because of it, now I don't have any faith in my lads to push on, better protect the lead. Shock, horror, Kilkenny take full advantage, and dominate while ye get a rake of wides.

But if ye want to blame the ref, that's great news.

Chill out will you. Im not blaming the world for not winning the game, just pointing out some things.

Yes the hawk eye was the correct call in the end but it was waved as a point and was so close to a score you'd have to wonder why the ref called to check it on Hawkeye. It was also over the uprights and 70% to the inside of the upright so if it actually hit the upright it very well may have gone in. Just pointing this out so don't get your knickers in a twist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

cornerboy wrote: »
    One man who gets a share of ctiticism on here is Barry Coughlan.........he played with some heart today and his battle with TJ was worth the ticket price..

Well Said

Very proud of Waterford here watching the game down under.

I was peeping around the corner watching the TV for the last 5 minutes.

Well done to all the players and the Management.
    We've had a good discussion here over the last weeks with Dereks tactics etc.
    All I ask is people still Back this management team.

Just look where they have brought us, when Mullane retired, the future was looking bleak.
    Sure we had good underage success, but look at Limerick, underage success doesn't guarantee it transferring to Senior.
    I'm a west Waterford man, have never met Mcgrath, but he's a shrewd operator.

He's tweaked it when they were ready, yes maybe we should have won, but we've competed with the Cats for 75 mins and were the better team in my view.

Can we re produce that performance?
    The alarm clock is set here for 3.45am On Sunday Morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭John Kelly of

The Waterford goalie jumped out of the way of the Kilkenny goal shot with his back turned. Cowardly and may have cost them the game. I saw it straight away on tv but it is confirmed in the photo in indo article
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/walsh-strike-destroys-dises-day-in-sun-34946478.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

The Waterford goalie jumped out of the way of the Kilkenny goal shot with his back turned. Cowardly and may have cost them the game. I saw it straight away on tv but it is confirmed in the photo in indo article
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/walsh-strike-destroys-dises-day-in-sun-34946478.html

Ah here! He could have done better for it but calling hom cowardly for it is a bit much.

If you think he's a coward, lets see you charge down a Nash penalty: https://youtu.be/XO_ButCkFkQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Off all the things okeefe is cowardly isn't one....remember when he finished the Nash penalties??

I taught myself he came to do Walter Walsh and lucky he didn't as twould surly been red

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Like to see you do the same, he came out to block the shot with his body and missed. The same goal keeper ran at Anthony Nash when he was taking a penalty last year and took a sliotar straight to the back.

Can someone please post up a picture of SOK's bruise for this fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

Its extremely doubtful in my mind anyway that a call to retreat in the last 10 min came from the management. The players started to tire and unfortunately sometimes the natural thing to do is try and defend a lead. Important lesson learnt i hope.
    Both teams will have 6 days to recover, Kilkenny must recover physically (as they looked a little leggy today) and Waterford must recover mentally from letting that game slip away. Whoever can accomplish this the best should win on Saturday.

I'd say your some hero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,819 ✭✭✭robbiezero

One of the best games of hurling I have seen and in my 30 years of watching hurling, that was the best Waterford display I have seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

Cake Man wrote: »

KK just do not lose replays

No more needs to be said surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

hindsight is 20/20 never been so happy bumping into one of the lads the tuesday (normally hed almost avoid you to not talk hurling) after the kk win in the league in the gym , he was almost disbelieving it happened , well now we know we can and we will do it and do it,and do it again

once the floodgates are opened they will never be closed believe in our men believe in their ability and believe it will happen, i was borderline tearful when we went 5 points up only for past experience i might have lost it entirely t was almost hard to enjoy not wanting to get ahead of ourselves, thurles is not their venue, it is ours , lets make it a munster fortress,

You might want to cool the jets a bit, ya do know it was a draw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Cake Man wrote: »
    KK just do not lose replays
    Rosita wrote: »
    No more needs to be said surely?

I'd add 'except to Waterford'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

So disappointed after yesterday.

Have to give credit to McGrath and the management team. I've been critical of them so they deserve praise now as well.

The players - phenomenal is all I can say.

The replay - Thurles is like a home venue to us. I think it's a big advantage. We just need to carry on exactly where we left off at about 60 minutes yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Its extremely doubtful in my mind anyway that a call to retreat in the last 10 min came from the management. The players started to tire and unfortunately sometimes the natural thing to do is try and defend a lead. Important lesson learnt i hope.
    Both teams will have 6 days to recover, Kilkenny must recover physically (as they looked a little leggy today) and Waterford must recover mentally from letting that game slip away. Whoever can accomplish this the best should win on Saturday.

I was seated right behind the management and I can guarantee you they never implied for the lads to retreat,in fact it was the direct opposite. McGrath was red in the face from shouting at them to push up. Just inexperience and a natural reaction to try to protect the lead that led to inviting KK on to us. The mental preparation for the replay will be as important as the physical one and if that's got right we're in their with an excellent chance.
    My fear is the likes of the Fennellys,Conor Fogarty and a few more were well below par and we must expect a huge improvement from these fellas but we've shown yesterday we're more than capable of dining at the top table its just a matter of being rude enough to not ask to be excused!!
    The huge plus also for the management was they've seen first hand against the best team in the country that by leaving the players go toe to toe to a large extent with KK that we can play different systems and it can be a big benefit in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

deiseach wrote: »
    I'd add 'except to Waterford and Dublin'.

FYP

I'd add 'except to Waterford and Dublin'.
    FYP

Gee, it's like the whole 'KK just do not lose replays' thing is a complete crock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

Gee, it's like the whole 'KK just do not lose replays' thing is a complete crock!

They were supposed to blow us away in the 3rd quarter yesterday too.........Its a good KK team......not a great KK team. All results are still on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

Waterford were exceptional yesterday and it was their best performance since The drawn Kilkenny game in Thurles in the qualifiers a few years back against the same opposition. Some of the point scoring was stunning. 3 eye catchers for me were O Mahoneys first from out on the sideline, Shanahans over the shoulder effort and Gleeson breaking through the KK rearguard off the stick.

What was a bit disconcerting though was Waterford players reaction at the final whistle collapsing on the ground. They will need to pick themselves up for a repeat now in 6 days time. However the fact that the game is on in Thurles where Waterford have a decent enough record will provide a bit of a confort blanket for them.

Cody will have undoubtedly learned a lot. I'm not sure Fennelly, Reid and Joyce will have off days like that again. I cant recall John joe Farrell getting a touch of the ball. I'm sure the match practice bring Kilkenny on. All these factors are probably weighed up by Paddy Power when considering the odds on this game next Saturday. Waterford will have to block out the congratulatory noises in the media and at home and go back with the ferocious appetite for work. Ultimately when the goal chances presented themselves like they did yesterday they will have to go for the jugular. To kill a Kilkenny team managed by Cody off you nearly have to drive a stake through their hearts or score goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

cul beag wrote: »
    I was seated right behind the management and I can guarantee you they never implied for the lads to retreat,in fact it was the direct opposite. McGrath was red in the face from shouting at them to push up. Just inexperience and a natural reaction to try to protect the lead that led to inviting KK on to us. The mental preparation for the replay will be as important as the physical one and if that's got right we're in their with an excellent chance.
    My fear is the likes of the Fennellys,Conor Fogarty and a few more were well below par and we must expect a huge improvement from these fellas but we've shown yesterday we're more than capable of dining at the top table its just a matter of being rude enough to not ask to be excused!!
    The huge plus also for the management was they've seen first hand against the best team in the country that by leaving the players go toe to toe to a large extent with KK that we can play different systems and it can be a big benefit in the future.

Conor Fogarty was probably Kilkennys best player yesterday after Hogan. He was also moved back to CB in place of Joyce to stem the tide and still came up with equalizing score.

FAO those replying to trolls, concern or otherwise, can ye not quote them so those of us who have them on Ignore can continue to Ignore their mewlings? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

I honestly think that some of the kk boys didn't play well yesterday cos they weren't let play no reason why it can't be the same next time and as for this kk don't lose replays well that's just bull their record is superb in replays but what's a replay but another game. Go out and get the business done as you are good enough to its all belief from here.

Having said the above you have to admire kk any other team in the country would have been blown away by Waterford yesterday and as was already mentioned it might be a stake through the heart to finish them off I hope it comes next sat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,434 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Tickets on sale now for the replay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

Dublin beat KK in LHC semi final replay in 2013. The drawn mach was no fluke by Dublin, a bit like Waterford yesterday. Waterford have every chance imo. This Kilkenny greatness has to end sooner or later, hopefully the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

robopaddy2 wrote: »

dunfords nerves got him but mossy was off the pace when he came in too, hard to call

Yea Colin's hurling just wasn't sharp enough today. Hasn't seen enough game time this year maybe. Dillon justified his place though. Put in a tremendous shift.
    He wasn't sharp as usual but he was also very sick Friday and Saturday and was a surprise to see him starting. He still gave it 100 per cent and covered every inch of the field