Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanker watch: Warning signs that someone is a tosser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

cazzer22 wrote: »
    I know a girl who will always disagree with anything other people recommend. I might say ''Oh, I went to this place in Stillorgan and it was so lovely, you should definitely check it out.''. ''Oh I was there before and thought it was awful''. I get everyone is entitled to their opinion but this happens with EVERYTHING. From movies, restaurants, shops, cities in Europe. It's almost like she's making a conscious effort to be contrary.

I know somebody exactly like this. If I buy something, let's say I got something I really wanted or needed and got it at a good price, she will run it down, point out all the potential downfalls, tell me that a different brand of the same thing is much better or that I should have tried this shop or that shop because I could have got it cheaper. blah blah blah. Then she will go off and secretly buy the same thing for herself in the place I got it, and tell nobody.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Offaly Exile

mosesgun wrote: »
    It's not necessarily the volume that I take exception to its more the location. However you sound like you've plenty of issues so I'll let you off

Surely you meant plenty of tissues :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,153 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

people who smoke in the "no smoking" area outside hospitals.

selfish w*nkers

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I know a girl who will always disagree with anything other people recommend. I might say ''Oh, I went to this place in Stillorgan and it was so lovely, you should definitely check it out.''. ''Oh I was there before and thought it was awful''. I get everyone is entitled to their opinion but this happens with EVERYTHING. From movies, restaurants, shops, cities in Europe. It's almost like she's making a conscious effort to be contrary.

you should make up a place then get her to give her opinion on it in front off all your friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Is she one of those people who, when you tell a story, she has to tell a story to beat/top it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

There are posters on this board like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

There are posters on this board like that

And you have evidence for this claim, have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

Zxclnic wrote: »
    And you have evidence for this claim, have you?

Once your not blind its obvious. The evidence is there for all to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

osarusan wrote: »
    Tossers who park across two or sometimes over even 4 spaces in a carpark.

To avoid the other gobdaws who are careless and put dings in their doors probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

you should make up a place then get her to give her opinion on it in front off all your friends

This is definitely something I'm going to do. Great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

To avoid the other gobdaws who are careless and put dings in their doors probably
    I remember spotting a big, expensive car parked across two spaces in a car park once. The driver had parked in the remotest part of the car park, where the spaces weren't remotely in demand. Fair enough, I thought. Most of them are parking in two-plus spots in places where there aren't spare places in the first place. Those people deserve every ding they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,644 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

People who play music on buses out of their phone or speakers without headphones, we really don't want to be treated to Calvin Harris or David Guetta's latest music thanks.

mikhail wrote: »
    I remember spotting a big, expensive car parked across two spaces in a car park once. The driver had parked in the remotest part of the car park, where the spaces weren't remotely in demand. Fair enough, I thought. Most of them are parking in two-plus spots in places where there aren't spare places in the first place. Those people deserve every ding they get.

I appreciate that but spaces are far too narrow now for the bigger modern cars and it's not beyond the bounds of possibility that some people ding the other car out of jealousy or malice regardless where the person parks their car .
    I'm amazed how some 20 year old cars are ding free and newer Audi or BMW cars are peppered on their doors .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

People who wear short tops, who are overweight .not everyone has to be thin,
    but theres no need to show off your belly.
    Certain fashions do not suit fat people.
    People who have large tattooo,s on their face or neck.
    people who wear tee shirts with crude sexual slogans on them.
    People who just use american slang,
    yo,dude,bro,omg,guys,awesome,
    We irish .we have our own special slang, the craic was 90, langer,gaff,ma,
    You are from tallaght, why do you speak like a teen youtube celebrity from california.
    people who go to pubs,clubs wearing celtic jersey,s ,
    wear a jersey going to a match ,or maybe if watching the soccer in a sports bar.

Because people don,t bother dinging 20 year old cars,
    they might bing a 2015 bmw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,384 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

riclad wrote: »
    You are from tallaght, why do you speak like a teen youtube celebrity from california.
    wear a jersey going to a match ,or maybe if watching the soccer in a sports bar.

You edited that:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

People use acronyms all the time, abbreviating a phrase and expecting everyone to know what they are on about. Ruins the flow of meetings and conversations.

A wanker I worked with used to make his own up and a number of times would fire one in confusing everyone as the same acronym was used in the industry with a completely different meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,116 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Shemale wrote: »
    People use acronyms all the time, abbreviating a phrase and expecting everyone to know what they are on about. Ruins the flow of meetings and conversations.

A wanker I worked with used to make his own up and a number of times would fire one in confusing everyone as the same acronym was used in the industry with a completely different meaning.

Banned: abbrev.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

Lux23 wrote: »
    A woman who has 'full time Mammy' as her occupation on Facebook.

Pure ****, its like they are saying mammies that work are part time mammies. If their kid needs anything before they get home, sorry I can't help, I am not you mammy until 6:30. FFS

Is she one of those people who, when you tell a story, she has to tell a story to beat/top it?

Tell her you've been to Tenerife. She'll probably try to one up ya and say she's been to Elevenerife. Then you have her by the ladyballs.

riclad wrote: »

And those jealous fcuks are the greatest **** of all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,760 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Shemale wrote: »
    Pure ****, its like they are saying mammies that work are part time mammies. If their kid needs anything before they get home, sorry I can't help, I am not you mammy until 6:30. FFS

They're generally ****e mammies as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Or people who have as their occupation "full time mad bastard", you know they are bone idle, boring ****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

Mine are all driving related:

People that refuse to use indicators
    Those that stop in yellow boxes
    Cyclists that break rules of the road ( Are most likely same ones that then complain about aggressive/bad drivers)
    Those that cant seem to understand you can use bus lanes when out of hours (read the signs for times) and proceed to drive like dickheads to cut you off in the ignorance that its me that has wronged them by skipping traffic going down the free lane.
    People that speed up to cut you off when you indicate to merge into their lane despite being well in front of them.
    People who cant park for the life of them,parking so close to you that you cant get into your own car (whatever about parallel parking,how hard is it to get a car someways straight between 2 white lines?)

Im sure theres more Im forgetting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

dbagman wrote: »
    Mine are all driving related:

Im sure theres more Im forgetting

:eek: How can you forget fast lane hogs?

The worstest of all shltty drivers.

There is a 3 mile stretch of 2 lane dual carriageway on my way to work and I spend half the time having to undertake slow beggars driving up the fast lane at 40mph.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

DrPhilG wrote: »
    :eek: How can you forget fast lane hogs?

The worstest of all shltty drivers.

There is a 3 mile stretch of 2 lane dual carriageway on my way to work and I spend half the time having to undertake slow beggars driving up the fast lane at 40mph.

sweet jesus how did i forget that one. rockets to the top of the list. Similarly those that race up behind you and start flashing their lights when you're in the fast lane but overtaking cars,just not at 200mph.
    And those that merge onto the motorway and go straight for the fast lane at all costs.
    Following on from above the people that think its ok to merge into the fast lane but not adjust their speed accordingly then wonder why you flash them as you have to jam on as you're now racing up their backside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Charizard

And those jealous fcuks are the greatest **** of all

Classic fat girl who wears belly tops reply :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,119 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Those road users who don't know that you can stop in a 'yellow box' in certain circumstances.

Those road users who think there is a 'fast' lane.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

People who say "If I were you I would do X".