Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Stoner wrote: »
    It's a game for Andrews alright. He's turned into a proper big game player and more defensive than any forward we have .

Kevin Mc from the bench.

Every game should be a game for Andrews, the guy is a beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,284 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Plaque ? surely .. lol

Haha yeah well it is sort of a Mayo plague!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

JRant wrote: »
    Smyth's is closed at the moment. It was bought out by that Brú brewery and they're renovating it.

didn't know that. This fancy brewery is hardly going to have brown bread and soup is it?

Frequented it many times back in the dark days. Drinking cans out in the back carpark with the sun blaring down. Was always great craic in fairness.
    yer man Joe the barman still get's the mic to make an occassional announcement to the hushed crowd congratulating the dubs on thier win and wishing them the best in the next round "where they will beat the sh*te out of them".

Always gets a good response! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

First pint in Grogans!

Swapped my Hill tickets from Lower Hagan,so can l can wander in just before 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Looking like a nice day for it. Not feeling overly nervous just yet. I'm sure when I eventually head out the door and hop on the bus it'll all kick in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

didn't know that. This fancy brewery is hardly going to have brown bread and soup is it?

They'll have deconstructed brown bread and soup. Wrapped in bacon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Just heard an update from the Gardai:
    Hill 16 is Donegal Only.

All the best lads. May the best (defensively sound) team win :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

They'll have deconstructed brown bread and soup. Wrapped in bacon.

Soup? It's...loike ..broth?

Bambi wrote: »
    Soup? It's...loike ..broth?

With lentils.

---

The 1995 Jersey is like a blanket. I'm ****ing melting. :(

With lentils.

---

The 83 retro version is more suited to this weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

In the hogan stand bar genuinely have to scoop me up in a glass it's a sweatbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Heading in now. Fierce windy here by the sea, in Sutton. Hope its a bit calmer in Croker. Dublin Bay is looking only garjis in the sunshine !

Here is to another glorious day, for our glorious Capital.

GAAman wrote: »
    In the hogan stand bar genuinely have to scoop me up in a glass it's a sweatbox

So you're sayin I won't need me parka :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I packed the poncho, just in case. Lots of clouds in that sky & there is a long ass day ahead of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Spare Hill ticket if anyone's looking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

With lentils.

---

summers were colder in the olden days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭dave 27

What channel is this match on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Bloody fuming after that. I'll have to watch the recording later but that was as inept a performance from a ref that I've seen in a long long time.

Kilkenny was immense and our backs played very well.

How Murphy got away with that wild swing on Fenton is beyond me.

First red looked as soft as they come. A nothing tackle and Dermo gets the line for it. Didn't see O'Garas but the brother seen it on tv and said it was ridiculously soft.

God, refs are ruining the game.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Handy enough win. As expected.

Referee tried his hardest to keep Donegal in the game. I commend him for this.

Both Ulster teams out after pathetic performances. Says it all.

Roll on Kerry.

Pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Slattsy wrote: »
    Handy enough win. As expected.

Referee tried his hardest to keep Donegal in the game. I commend him for this.

Both Ulster teams out after pathetic performances. Says it all.

Roll on Kerry.

Pints!

Lots and lots of pints on the way.

Delighted to get the win. It will really stand to the lads.

Kilkenny put in a performance that I didn't think he had in him. Just heard he had over 50 possessions!!! Don't think he lost the ball once. Some serious talent in that young lad.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭wonga77

Tbf Murphys tackle in real time looked more clumsy then dangerous although in the replays he did hit Fenton a proper crack. DC second caution was tame enough but already on a card he should have known better, id say it was the instant reaction of the Donegal players that made up the refs mind.
    O Gara red was very soft, if he was going to be sent off he may as well have laid Mcgee out. I still think the Dubs played well within themselves and should get over Kerry with a bit to spare in the semi

wonga77 wrote: »
    Tbf Murphys tackle in real time looked more clumsy then dangerous although in the replays he did hit Fenton a proper crack. DC second caution was tame enough but already on a card he should have known better, id say it was the instant reaction of the Donegal players that made up the refs mind.
    O Gara red was very soft, if he was going to be sent off he may as well have laid Mcgee out. I still think the Dubs played well within themselves and should get over Kerry with a bit to spare in the semi

Mostly agree with the.

That was a rather unnervingly unnerving display. Never worried.

Can't say that Kerry would have enjoyed watching either of us or Mayo
    It's us or the other semi that'll win Sam.

COYBIB

Looks likes this sesh in Benburb can wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

That was tough. Hell pints are going to flow. Need to see the game again but I hope to never witness a referee like that again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Bloody fuming after that. I'll have to watch the recording later but that was as inept a performance from a ref that I've seen in a long long time.

Kilkenny was immense and our backs played very well.

How Murphy got away with that wild swing on Fenton is beyond me.

First red looked as soft as they come. A nothing tackle and Dermo gets the line for it. Didn't see O'Garas but the brother seen it on tv and said it was ridiculously soft.

God, refs are ruining the game.

O Garas red was an absolute joke.

Tyrone would have had Mayo only for their abysmal kicking, Mayo take their points well but they're not that impressive this year imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭corny

Said in the other thread Connolly was sent off because Donegal tried hard to get him sent off. He literally did nothing to earn the first yellow. Happened right in front of me. McGlynn pulled him to the ground, Connolly tried to get up and he jostled him some more. Connolly made a concerted effort not to make an aggressive move. Thing is these teams know the standard practice is two yellows. Job done. From then on all they have to do is make a mountain out of a mole hill of any Connolly challenge and a timid ref will fall for it. McGlynn almost assaulted Connolly after he tackled Thompson.

He's no saint Connolly but he's just not going to be let play football by good teams. They're going to do their best to get him sent off.

Anyway happy to answer that shower on the scoreboard. They, and Tyrone, are horribly negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Delighted with that. Lots to work on mainly positives thought.

No damage to McCarthy MDMD backbone track. John Small the real deal. Cooper cool to the finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

corny wrote: »
    Said in the other thread Connolly was sent off because Donegal tried hard to get him sent off. He literally did nothing to earn the first yellow. Happened right in front of me. McGlynn pulled him to the ground, Connolly tried to get up and he jostled him some more. Connolly made a concerted effort not to make an aggressive move. Thing is these teams know the standard practice is two yellows. Job done. From then on all they have to do is make a mountain out of a mole hill of any Connolly challenge and a timid ref will fall for it. McGlynn almost assaulted Connolly after he tackled Thompson.

He's no saint Connolly but he's just not going to be let play football by good teams. They're going to do their best to get him sent off.

Anyway happy to answer that shower on the scoreboard. They, and Tyrone, are horribly negative.

And good riddance! But we still have stuff to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Yere fitness is mind boggling.

The thing that makes it so obvious is the leadership ye have in the full back line. Philly flying up the field in the last five minutes with the game in the balance because he sees the gap. Looks like he just came on.

He is brilliant, should have been FOTY by a distance last year imo and only missed out over controversy.