Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Seen that on Twitter.

Any chance its Gavin trying to throw the Donegal lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Paulzx

mjp wrote: »
    Tickets up for sale again on tickets.ie now. Website seems to be a lot more efficient than it was previously giving you an update where you are in queue and how long it will take

Yeah its moving fast. Gave me an initial queuing time of 24mins but was much quicker. Always go to the Cusack but its sold out. Davin and terrace still left.

Was sweating on not getting tickets as the kids were doing their nut when i said we might not be going:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Slattsy wrote: »
    Seen that on Twitter.

Any chance its Gavin trying to throw the Donegal lads?

All it's doing is giving us/me false hope.

JG says he's fit and trained, so looks cleared to me!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Dublin -4 a good bet for weekend against Donegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Johngoose wrote: »
    Dublin -4 a good bet for weekend against Donegal?

No. The odds won't be worth it.

Dublin are hitting around 21/22 points a game. Donegal's magic number at the minute is 11.

-10 on that basis but even still the odds won't be that great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,830 ✭✭✭corny

I liked it better when the Donegal lads were mad bullish, telling us how much better their players were than ours.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

I'm expecting Dubs to win,but what do you make of McBrearty for Donegal?Can he be shut down?He's probably Donegal's biggest smoking gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Johngoose wrote: »
    I'm expecting Dubs to win,but what do you make of McBrearty for Donegal?Can he be shut down?He's probably Donegal's biggest smoking gun.

If he had done what he did against Cork consistently this year the Dubs would be concerned, but he's been average enough in the other games. Wasn't it one of the Monaghan games neither he or Murphy could convert handy enough looking frees?

I'd love to see him playing a stormer against ye just to make the game interesting but it'll be a hell of a lot harder against yer defense than that Cork one.

Jayop wrote: »
    If he had done what he did against Cork consistently this year the Dubs would be concerned, but he's been average enough in the other games. Wasn't it one of the Monaghan games neither he or Murphy could convert handy enough looking frees?

I'd love to see him playing a stormer against ye just to make the game interesting but it'll be a hell of a lot harder against yer defense than that Cork one.

In Ulster. Must be nice getting to croker and not having 4/5 players up your arse at all times!

You don't think he'll be marked just as heavily by Dublin if he's playing well?

Yes and no. It's not as extreme because the system of play is geared so differently. He'll absolutely be very well marked in terms of being identified by Dublin and also having some excellent defenders for company but there will still be space (or the promise of space) in which to show for the ball/operate. A bit more 'traditional' shall we say. They way Dublin play still allows for some of that I think.

It's just less claustrophobic for the most part really is what I'm getting at. Like someone opening a window and letting air into a stuffy room.

Let the ould smell of Tyrone out the window as ORourke would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Carr Bar and Heery to start for me lads.
    I hope Vinny has a good game and O'Leary will have his kickout strategy well worked out.

Stoner wrote: »
    Carr Bar and Heery to start for me lads.
    I hope Vinny has a good game and O'Leary will have his kickout strategy well worked out.

So out of the two playing this weekend*, who would ye** prefer to face in the final?

* Assuming Tyrone/Mayo beat Tipp
    ** Assuming ye get to the final too

Tyrone.

I would genuinely like to see Mayo win one at someone else's expense.
    I think a fully mobile Mayo without ROC for us would spell trouble. We did a lot better with ROC last year than without.
    I think we'd handle Tyrone better.

Tyrone have a nice balance but i think that we might have their number at this time , MDMA does a decent job on Cavanagh. I think that physically last year Tyrone wilted a little against kerry and kerry wouldn't be top of the ladder here. I've never seen this Mayo team wilt in the past three or four years.

Tyrone are shaping up nicely. With the risk of sounding like everyone else I don't know how far they have come but it's all the same lads I've seen over the past year. Very well balanced but that will suit us. We don't care if you are set up to nullify strong midfield parings we dont have one anyway.
    You dont seem to like being run at, Mannion is flying form this year and i think he'd win frees from the Tyrone half back line.
    I really liked the job Tyrone did on Donaghy last year when he broke his own ball there was a man ahead of him, when it dropped in behind there was a man there. I was right in the middle if the halfbacks and the fullback line it was great to watch. Great tactics and id wonder at Mickey's plan
    I think Tyrone might wrap up McManamon. Brogan , Connelly and Andrews but I think it would be a good opportunity for the likes of Costello and Mannion and Kilkenny to get stuck in.
    I'd hope to beat Tyrone by having scoring forwards out wide and maybe they'd tire.
    You don't want to get Mayo on their good day. Regardless of people not liking that statement they do seem to have at least one a year

If Dublin get past Donegal, we'll have had a good look at you too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

James McCarthy is back training and available for selection for the Donegal match.

Looks like being a very dry and humid day in Dublin on Saturday.

These Donegal boys coming down in their bobsleighs wont know whats going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,281 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

So out of the two playing this weekend*, who would ye** prefer to face in the final?

* Assuming Tyrone/Mayo beat Tipp
    ** Assuming ye get to the final too

I am starting to seriously think that Tipp have a great chance of beating Tyrone/Mayo.

If I had to pick one of the three though I would like Tyrone because it would not feel right beating Mayo!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Can someone give a few good pub recommendations near to Croke Park? It's looking like I'm going to be in Dublin with some time to spare on Saturday, so I might get a pint or two in before the match!

Sure you can't go wrong with Quinns or The Big Tree on match day. If you get in early you'll see the Dubs all watching the cricket before the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Quinns..jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I have often gone to the likes of Gills, Corner of NCR and Russel st pubs around there are normally jammers before and after the matches I tend to stick to pubs around the Phisboro area.
    As there never that packed before the match so no queuing for a pint and normally have plenty of seats available it is around a 10 min walk from there to Croker.

I tend to go into The Shelbourne for a few scoops then get a taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Sure you can't go wrong with Quinns or The Big Tree on match day. If you get in early you'll see the Dubs all watching the cricket before the game.

Pakistan could have won it by then so we won't have anything to watch.

Bambi wrote: »
    Quinns..jaysus

A fine spot on game day. Packed with football heads and no messing I've ever seen.

In fairness, i wouldnt go near Quinns, an absolute ****hole. Filthy kip and the pints are disgusting.

Did anyone see those pictures of the basement there last year !! Haven't been since

Mqny a debate goes on in here during the fallow periods between September and January about boozers.

Quinn's is a kip. Avoid.

Myself, I head to McGrath's, the Red Parrot or the back bar of Jury's/Croker Park Hotel.