Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭corny

Powerhouse wrote: »
    I realise the nature of the role he was playing, but the way I see it "recycling possession" is really just charmschool-speak for punching the ball to an unmarked colleague five or fifteen yards away. The only reason I took issue with the praise he was getting is that the possessions he was praised for were an inevitable function of the role. Of course he was going to get more possessions than Bernard Brigan or Jonny Cooper because he was the go-to man and everyone was passing through him.

To praise him for the number of possessions is like praising the goalkeeper for the number of times he kicks out the ball. Similarly praising him for not losing possession fails to take into account that he was playing zero-risk football almost all the time. Many times he could hardly have given away possession as there was no Donegal player challenging. Many times he has so much time that he had the football in one hand and was directing colleagues with the other. Not saying that doesn't require having your wits about you but let's acknowledge the inevitability of possessions and accurate passes in this context. I think it is way over the top that he is singled out by someone for his performance and think that is a triumph of statistical thinking over creativity.

I'm not saying he didn't do the appointed job well enough but praising him for getting on the ball a lot and not losing possession with his passes is like praising the postman for posting letters. Any player playing that role would rack up largely similar statistics because of its nature. I'd be more inclined to praise McManamam for breaking the line regularly with his runs (which runs genuine risk of dispossession) or Duarmuid Connolly's long-range points.

Sorry for the long reply but I am trying to get across that I am not saying he played badly but that I see his performance in a certain context where a high level of possessions and pass accuracy were inevitable given his role. I am not saying that his performance did not require discipline and patience. But those characteristics are not what he was being praised for in the post to which I initially replied.

No its a point well made.

Hope this passive role doesn't become the norm for KK. Maybe being a bit alarmist but he's half the player he should be if he's constantly taking the sting out of the game.

Wouldn't have given him MOTM either. Cooper, Byrne, Fenton, Connolly in that order. Cooper and Byrne were faultless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Apparently Eoghan O'Gara has spent the last two years in the mountains of tibet. Learning from a Martial Arts Guru who has thought him the mystic 427 Pressure Points in the human body to cause instant death.

But with Neil McGee miraculously surviving the touch of death on saturday Eoghan is looking for his money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ted111 wrote: »
    Apparently Eoghan O'Gara has spent the last two years in the mountains of tibet. Learning from a Martial Arts Guru who has thought him the mystic 427 Pressure Points in the human body to cause instant death.

But with Neil McGee miraculously surviving the touch of death on saturday Eoghan is looking for his money back.

Maybe mcgee just needed winding like a babby? Puke football how are ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭blue4ever

The sooner it's realised that O'Gara is a liability the better. In his return game he was carded in 30 seconds. Galvin took the unprecedented step of going on to the pitch and speaking to him on that occasion.

As I'm at it - I don't know what to make of Connelly. A truly gifted player and a anchor man of the strategy. BUT another liability - there's a risk/reward there that of late tilts towards risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,283 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Powerhouse wrote: »
    I think it's a little more complex than that. Donegal would be disappointed not to get some credit for Connolly's dismissal too as they constantly goaded him and wrestled him to try to get him on a card and then tried to start a row when he tackled the other player later to make sure the referee would take action.

And if you believe Connolly has "only himself to blame" then surely the same applies to O'Gara? Remember that "attempting to strike" never mind actually striking is a red card so technically the perceived power of the strike is irrelevant.

As far as I could from where I was Connolly did very little to get the second yellow and was clearly goaded into it by the Donegal fella who went down with an oscar level of performance.

Other teams will always target three Dublin players:
    Connolly
    EOG
    Philly

At least Connolly was not unprovoked and the anger management courses have obviously helped:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0129/500958-diarmuid-connolly-anthony-kelly/

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Just watched the replay there while I polished off the remainder of my chicken fried rice. (classy dude)

Very comfortable wasn't it? Never out of third gear. Controlled the game from start to finish. Mcbrearty overrated as I said, yet to do it against a proper team in Croker and McHugh the danger, and gets a goal accordingly. Kilkenny was sublime.

Both reds very harsh. Connollys first yellow was laughable, but these Donegal players have been feigning injury for years so it was expected. Ogaras isn't even worth talking about.

We'll destroy Kerry.

blue4ever wrote: »
    The sooner it's realised that O'Gara is a liability the better. In his return game he was carded in 30 seconds. Galvin took the unprecedented step of going on to the pitch and speaking to him on that occasion.

As I'm at it - I don't know what to make of Connelly. A truly gifted player and a anchor man of the strategy. BUT another liability - there's a risk/reward there that of late tilts towards risk.

You couldn't drop Connolly now he has too much skill as a footballer.
    I said it before that the time to drop him would have been during the warm up games aka the leinster championship.

If anyone should be dropped it is Bernard Brogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

People really need to look at this again.

The diving was of epic scale. Jonny got a yellow card after being head butted by that as£hole who then went to ground!

I might be getting old, but the likes of Lyons and Earley and O'Driscolll and Kenneally would not show their faces again if they were involved in the cowardice and acting we saw on display from Donegal yesterday.

Embarrassing.

I agree on EOG though because he is not worth the risk at this stage especially when there are other options.

Galvin took the unprecedented step of going on to the pitch and speaking to him on that occasion.

I don't think skinny jeans is in a position to lecture anyone on discipline. Nor should be encroaching on the pitch in dublin matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Ted seems bitter.

Someone give Ted a hug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Looks like he was 12-Click-Hugged. :D

Galvin took the unprecedented step of going on to the pitch and speaking to him on that occasion.

I don't think skinny jeans is in a position to lecture anyone on discipline. Nor should be encroaching on the pitch in dublin matches.

Galvin played in a completely different eara of football. And No, he shouldn't be on the pitch - but he was and took that step possibly to calm OG - he obviously understands what a livewire he is.

I note that many papers today mention Dublin's discipline - it's probably unwarranted and I'd have to watch it again on the player to see the incidents. But it only flags this to Refs and makes us vulnerable to soft cards.

And... I though David Gough took charge of the Mayo Tyrone game really well - he needed to act quick - what he didn't take as any backchat and handed out a few cards and extra yards for that. I hope he's in the mix for a bigger game this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

The problem with GAA football,and its ever increasing band of Premeirship type fans,is that there is now a clear comparison betweeñ how both types are played and supported.

I watched both games in Croker,and the diving,writhing and cheating by so called hard men,was sickening.

If O'Garas contact is a liability,and deserves a sending off,while so many cheat and dive,gaelic football will follow the premiership into the same mundane world of over the top theatrics,that has little to do with the spirit of any sport.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Ted seems bitter.

Someone give Ted a hug.

Couple of questions for you Slattsy.
    Do you know the name of dublins manager?
    And do you have a sense of humour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Happy enough with the win. Would like to see us put our superiority on the pitch, reflected on the scoreboard, the only place where it really matters. Just like the first Mayo semifinal and the AI final, we just never seemed to put teams away, early on, when we clearly have the players to do so. Maybe I'm being too harsh. Having a 5-7 pt lead for the majority of the game, against a team like Donegal, is not something to be sneezed at. But the game was still uncomfortably close heading into injury time.

Lots of young leaders stood up yesterday, when the heavy hitters were having a quiet day, or weren't being as influential as usual. John Small got my vote for MOTM. Looks like he's been playing in Croke Park all his life. CK was great, but all the tippy tappy, keep the ball shyte out around the middle of the field drives me demented. Not a bit surprised we eventually effed it up and it led to a Donegal goal. It's just not in our DNA to do it, for sustained periods of time. Sooner or later, mistakes will creep in if we keep it up.

Not going to say what I think of Diarmuid Connolly, or I'll get banned. Am just so bloody sick and tired of him being front and centre YET AGAIN, in the conversations the day after. Spare me all the "he was targeted" or the "he doesn't get enough protection from the ref" crap. Christ Almighty, my neighbours 6 week old poodle, has better self control than he does ! :mad:

There is one incident just before Connolly was sent off, that deserves to be frozen in time.

Let's be honest, if you did that sort of sh1te when you were playing for Kerry, Rossies, Cork, Dubs, Meath, Offaly, Galway back in the day you would be a laughing stock.

In fact you would never be picked to play again.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    There is one incident just before Connolly was sent off, that deserves to be frozen in time.

Let's be honest, if you did that sort of sh1te when you were playing for Kerry, Rossies, Cork, Dubs, Meath, Offaly, Galway back in the day you would be a laughing stock.

In fact you would never be picked to play again.

Bonnie people in Glass houses and all that ;). There is no team in the country innocent of it.

https://vimeo.com/137830283

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/gif-should-philly-mcmahon-be-getting-tiernan-mccann-level-criticism-for-this-dive/306906

Galvin played in a completely different eara of football. And No, he shouldn't be on the pitch - but he was and took that step possibly to calm OG - he obviously understands what a livewire he is.

I note that many papers today mention Dublin's discipline - it's probably unwarranted and I'd have to watch it again on the player to see the incidents. But it only flags this to Refs and makes us vulnerable to soft cards.

And... I though David Gough took charge of the Mayo Tyrone game really well - he needed to act quick - what he didn't take as any backchat and handed out a few cards and extra yards for that. I hope he's in the mix for a bigger game this year.

The manager of your county team is Jim Gavin.
    Paul skinny jeans Galvin is a kerry footballer who has played in the present era.
    My response to you was just a light hearted joke but maybe you and slattsy are a bit hung over this morning. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

As far as I could from where I was Connolly did very little to get the second yellow and was clearly goaded into it by the Donegal fella who went down with an oscar level of performance.

Connolly
    EOG
    Philly

At least Connolly was not unprovoked and the anger management courses have obviously helped:

You only have to rub his hair to get this type of response from a few weeks ago. Unfortunately for him Kerry will be doing more than rub his hair so Gavin might need to book some more therapy sessions:D

The manager of your county team is Jim Gavin.
    Paul skinny jeans Galvin is a kerry footballer who has played in the present era.
    My response to you was just a light hearted joke but maybe you and slattsy are a bit hung over this morning. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

Actually yea - absolutely hanging, in Portugal in 35c heat and regretting the gallon plus Super Bok yesterday! I hastily attacked the keyboard earlier and will now be backing away until the mist clears. I appreciate your tolerance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭corny

Anyone notice the parallels with the first Mayo game (first big game in the championship. Sorry Fermanagh) last year? Discipline not great. Lots of off the ball stuff. I'd say the team chats are going overboard trying to prevent complacency. Lads are hyped to bits.

corny wrote: »
    Anyone notice the parallels with the first Mayo game (first big game in the championship. Sorry Fermanagh) last year? Discipline not great. Lots of off the ball stuff. I'd say the team chats are going overboard trying to prevent complacency. Lads are hyped to bits.

It was last game they were likely to lose in fairness, so nerves were taut... :)

You only have to rub his hair to get this type of response from a few weeks ago. Unfortunately for him Kerry will be doing more than rub his hair so Gavin might need to book some more therapy sessions:D

I think Gavin will stick to the sessions that has put this Dublin team up there,as one of the finest in the history of the game.

The last thing they are is a one man team.

And Kerry will do sfa to change that.

Besides,if Kerry persisted with such a ridiculous tactic,it would be more of a reflection on Kerry's inability to take on Dublin as a team.

But I know Kerry are much better than that.

gladrags wrote: »
    Besides,if Kerry persisted with such a ridiculous tactic,it would be more of a reflection on Kerry's inability to take on Dublin as a team.

But I know Kerry are much better than that.

The last few years have shown there not capable, can't see them improving this year.

Dublin will be clear favourites for the game and All-Ireland.

The last few years have shown there not capable, can't see them improving this year.

Dublin will be clear favourites for the game and All-Ireland.

The fact that they are favourites means little.

Kerry are clearly capable of beating any team,on the day.

Were you get the idea that Kerry are incapable,beats me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

gladrags wrote: »
    The fact that they are favourites means little.

Kerry are clearly capable of beating any team,on the day.

Were you get the idea that Kerry are incapable,beats me.

Well, they have not beaten Dublin in the championship since 2009. That is seven long years ago. So I don't know where you are getting this idea that they are capable of beating anyone. Based on what has happened in their last 3 championship meetings, they certainly aren't capable of beating Dublin any more.

That may all change in 3 weeks, if Dublin play a stinker and Kerry play out of their skins. But their form of the past year & all the 30 plus, aging legs on display in their last two meetings, would not make me predict that the status quo is going to change any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Connolly
    EOG
    Philly

The second yellow card was deserved,a high tackle around the neck.. So called clothes hanger tackle,very dangerous.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Well, they have not beaten Dublin in the championship since 2009. .

Pity the Heff didn't live to see us make sh1te of them :)

People need to understand where Dublin football is coming from.

Heffernan had the bollix kicked out of him in 1955, and by showers of fkn knackers from the bogs of Leinster.

When he was given Dublin in1973, he said "never again will these c0nts do this to a team wearing the blue jersey"

That is our tradition.

You want to beat the fkn Dubs, man up... like Meath, Offaly in their pomp, Kerry, Tyrone 2005.

Otherwise, take your medicine.

Dubs have given it and taken it for over a century.

End at the white line.

Best team ever to wear the blue jersey by the way