Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

I don't think Kilkenny supporters will be talking like that. Waterford have a lot of capable hurlers, and if they hit a good day could spring a surprise.

Kilkenny will not be over confident and will be well primed for a tough and very competitive match from Waterford.

Looking forward to a fine day and good hurling from both sides. Whowever wins will need a hard match if they are to win the final against either Tipp or Galway.
    Thanks Mr Cody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Justice for the individual

Thanks Mr Cody!

No bother, (little do you know) - a bad idea to talk too cocky, and Brian (or his team) does not do cocky - ever!

Chastenising experiences from the past has ingrained an awareness of not taking any game for granted.

Which of you (non-Kilkenny supporters) is Ger Loughnane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭blue note

No bother, (little do you know) - a bad idea to talk too cocky, and Brian (or his team) does not do cocky - ever!

Chastenising experiences from the past has ingrained an awareness of not taking any game for granted.

Which of you (non-Kilkenny supporters) is Ger Loughnane?

Well! Whatever about the things Kilkenny have to worry about this weekend, it seems complacency isn't one of them! They can just rest that at the back of their mind somewhere, because complacency is something for other teams to worry about!

I don't think Kilkenny supporters will be talking like that. Waterford have a lot of capable hurlers, and if they hit a good day could spring a surprise.

Kilkenny will not be over confident and will be well primed for a tough and very competitive match from Waterford.

Looking forward to a fine day and good hurling from both sides. Whoever wins will need a hard match if they are to win the final against either Tipp or Galway.

Oh im not suggesting for one second that KK will take Waterford lightly. The secret to Kilkennys success has been the way they do their homework. Yes, Waterford have brilliant individual hurlers in Shane Bennett, Ozzie Gleeson, the Currans, Mahonys, et al....but they are playing with a tactical strait jacket. Hitting ball up to no one will suit Kilkenny the finest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

[QUOTE=Justice for the individual;100575177

i don't think Kilkenny supporters will be talking like that. Waterford have a lot of capable hurlers, and if they hit a good day could spring a surprise.

[/QUOTE]

They may not be talking like that according to the party line but the very words you use like "could" spring a "surprise" says it all. Kilkenny supporters expect to win handy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Powerhouse wrote: »
    They may not be talking like that according to the party line but the very words you use like "could" spring a "surprise" says it all. Kilkenny supporters expect to win handy enough.

So you think Waterford winning wouldn't be a surprise? Of course it would be. It's just no reason to be complacent.

So you think Waterford winning wouldn't be a surprise?

I didn't venture an opinion either way. I just speculated that Kilkenny supporters expected to win handy enough.

I honestly don't think so. A reasonable assessment, to me, would be that Waterford's tactics don't lend themselves to a handy win (Tipp doing exactly that doesn't mean that KK fans would be going in expecting to do the same thing just because)

Well I don't think anybody would set out expecting to win by 20 points+. That just happens. A win could be a long way from that and still be handy enough. Kilkenny beat Waterford by 6 last year and I'd consider that a handy one in that a defeat never looked remotely likely.

Yeah but I don't think there's any dishonesty in the cautiousness of KK fans. It's a team everyone is dying to see beaten, and KK fans can expect lots of gloating when that happens, so I think we're wary of the fall. But to my mind losing to Waterford the way they usually set up is highly unlikely, and a change of approach is not likely either. But stranger things by far have certainly happened. Waterford have the players to cause the upset...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

I'd be worried wnough about Sunday. I think that Tipp's hammering of Waterford will take the pressure off them. They have nothing to lose and won't take the same beating again.

In regards to their 'system', they must go ahead and keep ahead. If they fall behind, like last year's semi-final, can they change things around?

I think if they being their 'shooting hurls' to Croke Park, they'll be well in the game. Their shot selection must be good. Sometimes they shoot from distance for the sake of it and when they get 2 or 3 wides in a row like that, the confidence starts to go.

I'd be worried enough about Sunday. I think that Tipp's hammering of Waterford will take the pressure off them. They have nothing to lose and won't take the same beating again.

In regards to their 'system', they must go ahead and keep ahead. If they fall behind, like last year's semi-final, can they change things around?

I think if they being their 'shooting hurls' to Croke Park, they'll be well in the game. Their shot selection must be good. Sometimes they shoot from distance for the sake of it and when they get 2 or 3 wides in a row like that, the confidence starts to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

I'd be worried wnough about Sunday. I think that Tipp's hammering of Waterford will take the pressure off them. They have nothing to lose and won't take the same beating again.

The forecast for Sunday is for it to be very windy so one would expect Waterford to have loads of players back. I don't expect it to be much of a spectacle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

I reckon the starting lineup will be

E Murphy
    P Murphy, J Houlden, R Lennon
    P Walsh, K Joyce, C Buckley
    M Fennelly, C Fogarty
    W Walsh, TJ Reid, L Ryan/E Larkin
    Jj Farrell, R Hogan, C Fennelly

From what I'd imagine Cody doing I can't see anyone else being dropped except Larkin or Lester. Lester is apparently going great guns in training and might retain his place, although it's always hard to imagine Cody not playing Larkin. I reckon the rest pick themselves. Personally I'd prefer to see Jackie corner back for his leadership and experience but I don't think Cody will change it unless there is an injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

I can see Power retained from start

Well I got that wrong hardly a surprise with master Cody in charge.

Kil.v Wat.
    E Murphy
    P Murphy J Holden S Prendergast P Walsh K Joyce C Buckley
    C Fogarty M Fennelly
    W Walsh TJ Reid J Power JJ Farrell C Fennelly R Hogan
    Subs
    R Reid
    J Tyrrell
    R Lennon
    C oShea
    L Ryan
    E Larkin
    C Martin
    K Kelly
    M Bergin
    L Blanchfield
    M Malone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,561 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Based on his performances so far in the championship, Lester can feel unlucky not to start. There's a lot of pressure on John Power to preform.

Larkin still must not have 'clicked' into gear yet in training.

I feel more assured have Prendergast at corner-back than Lennon, only slightly though.

absolutely no surprises there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭kk.man

RIP Ducksie.

Cody had 2 in reserve the last day..Larks and Lester good men to have on standby

Well I got that wrong hardly a surprise with master Cody in charge.

Kil.v Wat.
    E Murphy
    P Murphy J Holden S Prendergast P Walsh K Joyce C Buckley
    C Fogarty M Fennelly
    W Walsh TJ Reid J Power JJ Farrell C Fennelly R Hogan
    Subs
    R Reid
    J Tyrrell
    R Lennon
    C oShea
    L Ryan
    E Larkin
    C Martin
    K Kelly
    M Bergin
    L Blanchfield
    M Malone
    Tough on Rob Lennon as he did nothing wrong but he is probably more suited to a central position. Cody not showing any bias towards the Village lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Based on his performances so far in the championship, Lester can feel unlucky not to start. There's a lot of pressure on John Power to preform.

Larkin still must not have 'clicked' into gear yet in training.

I feel more assured have Prendergast at corner-back than Lennon, only slightly though.

Agree on Lester. He threw himself into everything against Galway. Cody couldn't have asked more from him in terms of effort. Power must be playing some stuff in training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Can't see power lasting the 70 minutes. Flatters to deceive for me . really unlucky on Lester and Lennon but our bench now looks strong.lets hope we stay on track for 3 in a row.

Yeah, Lester will be disappointed as he hasn't done much wrong. Decent enough bench to shake things up a bit.

Always think Power is more suited to the impact sub but now he has his chance to prove what he can do. Hopefully he'll work as hard as Lester does and chip in with a few scores. Will he play in the corner?

With Lennon and JT, there's a bit of defensive cover and Lester can play half back through to half forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Why do I get the feeling we'll be listening to this obvious baiting right up until the semi final and then not a word out of you again after? We've had your ilk on this thread in the past.

In fairness, when you make a comment like your one about not coming outside the 45 you cannot complain about what comes next.

Complete provocation.

In fairness, when you make a comment like your one about not coming outside the 45 you cannot complain about what comes next.

Complete provocation.

Edit: **** it, not worth dredging up that argument again.

Yeah, Lester will be disappointed as he hasn't done much wrong. Decent enough bench to shake things up a bit.

Always think Power is more suited to the impact sub but now he has his chance to prove what he can do. Hopefully he'll work as hard as Lester does and chip in with a few scores. Will he play in the corner?

With Lennon and JT, there's a bit of defensive cover and Lester can play half back through to half forward.
    I think this is the first time in 16 years that we have gone into battle into championship without one of Shefflin, Larkin, Brennan or Power starting. Changing times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

blackcard wrote: »
    I think this is the first time in 16 years that we have gone into battle into championship without one of Shefflin, Larkin, Brennan or Power starting. Changing times

Yet we keep rolling along blackcard(brillant management)

I think it fair to say that we keep rolling along because there has been no real opposition over the past decade.

I'm a getting nervous but I know we can do it if we turn up fully focused no matter what they throw at us (unless everything goes right for them and all those long shots hit the target)

No neutral pundit is giving them a chance they're all plumming for Kilkenny and that never sits well with me, however I don't ascribe to the "Kilkennys unbeaten streak is so long it has to fall at some stage" and that is the reason Waterford might win. Waterford will win if they change their system and are a bit more attacking and it all comes off for them and they work like savages for 75 mins. At most we will face a 2 man FF line and by picking Dunford and Dillon I think McGrath is relying on them to win possession in the middle third and run at our lads or support other runners to create scoring chances. To be honest i think that is their best option far better than having lads taking pot shots from 60, 70, 80 yards on whats supposed to be a nice but gusty day.

Waterford undoubtedly have some very talented players and are a year older and stronger but a lot of them are still very young lots are under 21 and this can be a hindrance especially up front when they have to try and select the correct option shoot or pass?

I think Derek McGrath was very clever to instigate this system, much and all as I hate it. It was the best way for a team with so much youth in it to compete and to not get hockeyed and other than the Tipp game he has been successful in that. However we all realise and so does McGrath that it won't beat Kilkenny or Tipp in championship matches, yes you might beat us in the league on a bog when they have 4 months training and we have 4 weeks training done but when it gets to the business end when we're at the perfect pitch absolutely everything will have to go right for them and lots will have to go wrong for us for them to win if they play as they have done up to now. If they push a few lads forward they definitely have a good chance but i still doubt it will be enough. I think next year they would need to be a lot more aggressive while attacking and learn to defend in waves without the sweeper. If they do this they might get a few beatings while they learn their new roles just like they did in 2014 but it is a far more natural way to hurl and shouldn't take them as long to adjust. I'd be extremely nervous if they got this far playing attacking hurling with some of the young forwards they have coming through. I listened to and interview on a podcast with Derek McGrath during the week and from what I heard he would implement some parts of the basic idea above, he wouldn't abandon the sweeper by the sounds of it and therefore I think he should be replaced if Waterford want to progress.

Those that are hopefully for Waterford are sighting the fact that we have gotten beaten 4 times in championship since 2005. They say that we were overwhelming favourites everytime we lost just like we are tomorrow no one could see us losing then or now.
    The four championship matches we lost were
    Tipp 2010 AI, had won 21 previous championship matches

Galway 2012 Leinster Final, had won 5 previous matches including AI and blasting Dubin in the previous match

Dublin 2013 Leinster Semi, Had won four and drawn two. I think the theory falls apart on these games I didn't fancy us after the drawn game much as I hoped we'd do it.

Cork 2013 Qualifier, had won two matches over Tipp in the park and Waterford after ET in Thurles, a match we could have won but we were never right all year.

The one thing about all these games is we were missing or playing players who were injured

Tipp 2010- Missing Brian Hogan, Henry and Johnn Tennyson hamstrings
    Galway 2012- at least 5 players were carrying knocks into this game, Jackie-hamstring, Tommy-shoulder, Larkin-?, JJ-? and AN Other can't remember it all now but our five worst performers were all trying to come back too early from knocks, injuries and strains
    Dublin & Cork 2013- we were never at the races that year and all our lads just looked shattered beyond belief we put it up to teams and we were never going to be beaten by Tipp in our own backyard, other than that it was just waiting for the inevitable sucker punch.

This year we don't have any injury worries we have a full squad to pick from even lads with season ending injuries are back training with the panel (Ger Aylward and James Maher). We've had 2 draws and 11 wins since 2013 I don't think this run is going to come to an end like the last ones did if it does it's because we were beaten by the better team on the day.

Since the start of last year KK have scored 10 goals in Championship so in six games we scored the following goals
    5 v Wex 2015
    1 v Gal 2015
    1 v Wat 2015
    1 v Gal 2015
    1 v Dub 2016
    1 v Gal 2016

However we've only conceded 3 goals in the same 6 games
    0 v Wex 2015
    2 v Gal 2015
    0 v Wat 2015
    1 v Gal 2015
    0 v Dub 2016
    0 v Gal 2016

For a team who are struggling to score goals then this is a huge challenge. A challenge I believe Waterford have the players to overcome but not the right system this year.

We scored on average 24 points to go along with those goals while only conceding only 17.5 points per game

Waterford have played 7 games in the same period and scored the following goals
    3 v Crk 2015
    0 v Tipp 2015
    2 v Dub 2015
    0 v KK 2015
    1 v Cla 2016
    0 v Tipp 2016
    0 v Wex 2016

Waterford have conceded the following in those same games
    1 v Crk 2015
    0 v Tipp 2015
    1 v Dub 2015
    1 v KK 2015
    0 v Cla 2016
    5 v Tipp 2016
    0 v Wex 2016

So Waterford scored 6 in 7 games but with the ultra defensive system ye've still conceded 8 goals in 4 of those games and only kept the ball out of the onion bag against Tipp 15, Clare 16 and Wex 16 to me thats not very impressive for Derek Mc Graths system and actually worse than it thought their record would be.

Waterford scored an average of 21 points in those seven games and conceded and average of 19.7 points.

Waterford are scoring on average 1.3 points more than the opposition and an odd goal more (8 to 6 over 7 games)

Kilkenny are scoring on average 6.5 points more than the opposition and have scored over 3 times as many goals as our opposition in the 6 games

None of the above proves anything or tells us what will happen tomorrow but they give a good indication that Kilkenny can score goals no matter who they are playing and even without the goals they're scoring plenty of points to win especially when they defend so well from 15 to 1.

Waterford did not invent the sweeper system.

Clare moved Markham back as an extra defender in the Noughties or earlier. It never worked either. There is no point in putting back an extra defender - it gives room around the pitch to the opposition and good passing will destroy a defensive team.