Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Jayop wrote: »
    Sure you can't go wrong with Quinns or The Big Tree on match day. If you get in early you'll see the Dubs all watching the cricket before the game.

The Big Tree all the way.Gills is a nice spot too.

Slattsy wrote: »
    In fairness, i wouldnt go near Quinns, an absolute ****hole. Filthy kip and the pints are disgusting.

Not a big fan of Quinns,Fagan's is a nice establishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A fine spot on game day. Packed with football heads and no messing I've ever seen.

It's always been a filthy kip

plus they were caught with this, how the hell they avoided being shut down permanently I don't know

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/horror-of-quinns-pubs-sewagecovered-cellar-on-allireland-match-day-30906553.html

Walk down to fagans or up to the boozers in dorset street or head up to phibsboro. Anything but quinns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

seligehgit wrote: »
    The Big Tree all the way.Gills is a nice spot too.

Big Tree gets too whacked out if it.

I'm partial to the Stand or the Hideout as well on the NCR at Fitzgibbon St.

Never manage to get onto Gills at all.

I'll be in Jury's with the other Fungannon red hands before the game.

Bambi wrote: »
    It's always been a filthy kip

plus they were caught with this, how the hell they avoided being shut down permanently I don't know

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/horror-of-quinns-pubs-sewagecovered-cellar-on-allireland-match-day-30906553.html

Walk down to fagans or up to the boozers in dorset street or head up to phibsboro. Anything but quinns

Fagans is brutal. Front bar is okay.
    Plus it's tarnished by association with that Bertie yoke.

Eh, Kennedy's next door us a great boozer. But I saw. For sale sign up so u don't know what the jazz is. Haven't been up that far all year (not even to Tolka :0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I used to enjoy the Tolka House or Gravediggers (apart from the walk) and a closer option of Botanic House Was never a big fan of those pubs in Drumcondra

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I used to enjoy the Tolka House or Gravediggers (apart from the walk) and a closer option of Botanic House Was never a big fan of those pubs in Drumcondra

Here we go... SLATTSY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The walk wouldn't be so bad from The Gravediggers if the staff weren't assholes.

And the pint wasn't great last time I was there.

The biggest decision of my life will be where to go for pints beforehand. Somewhere in Phibsboro possibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dublin have used 24 players in 3 Championship games.Appearances+Subs for 2016 Championship Games

Brogan, Bernard 3
    Byrne, David 3
    Cluxton, Stephen 3 (2 Clean Sheets. Conceded 2 Goals)
    Connolly, Diarmuid 3
    Cooper, Jonny 3
    Fenton, Brian 3
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 3
    McMahon, Philip 3
    McManamon, Kevin 3
    O’Sullivan, Cian 3
    Rock, Dean 3
    Small, John 3
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 2+1
    Bastick, Denis 1+2
    Lowndes, Eric 1+2
    Mannion, Paul 1+2
    Fitzsimons, Michael 0+3
    O’Callaghan, Con 0+3
    Flynn, Paul 2
    McCarthy, James 2
    Andrews, Paddy 0+2
    Daly, Darren 0+2
    Costello, Cormac 0+1
    O’Gara, Eoghan 0+1

Dublin have scored 4-61 and conceded 2-31 in 3 Championship games. Scorers 2016 Championship Games

Rock, Dean 1-28
    Connolly, Diarmuid 1-9
    Brogan, Bernard 1-7
    McManamon, Kevin 1-3
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-4
    Flynn, Paul 0-3
    Andrews, Paddy 0-2
    Byrne, David 0-1
    Fenton, Brian 0-1
    Mannion, Paul 0-1
    O’Callaghan, Con 0-1
    Small, John 0-1

Dublin have used 36 players in 9 League games.Appearances+Subs for 2016 Championship Games

Rock, Dean 7+2
    Fitzsimons, Michael 5+4
    Costello, Cormac 4+5
    Byrne, David 8 (Olafs)
    McCarthy, James 8
    Cooper, Jonny 7+1
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 7+1
    Small, John 6+2
    McMahon, Philip 7
    O’Sullivan, Cian 7
    Andrews, Paddy 6+1
    Bastick, Denis 6+1
    Fenton, Brian 6+1
    Flynn, Paul 6+1
    Cluxton, Stephen 6 (5 Clean Sheets. Conceded 1 Goal)
    Connolly, Diarmuid 6
    Brady, Tomas 4+2
    O’Conghaile, Emmett 4+2
    Lowndes, Eric 3+3
    Carthy, Shane (Vincents) 1+5
    Daly, Darren 1+5
    Mannion, Paul 5
    Brogan, Bernard 4+1
    Carthy, Shane (Mearnog) 1+4
    McManamon, Kevin 3+2
    Savage, Michael 3 (1 Clean Sheet. Conceded 3 Goals)
    Byrne, David (Ballymun) 2+1
    O’Brien, Kevin 1+1
    McCaffrey, Jack 0+2
    Reddin, Ciaran 0+2
    Ryan, Philip 0+2
    McHugh, Conor 1
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 0+1
    McDaid, Robert 0+1
    O’Callaghan, Con 0+1
    O’Gara, Eoghan 0+1

Dublin have scored 11-127 and conceded 4-99 in 9 League games. Scorers 2016 League Games

Rock, Dean 1-40
    Costello, Cormac 1-22
    Connolly, Diarmuid 3-5
    Andrews, Paddy 1-10
    Brogan, Bernard 1-7
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-8
    McManamon, Kevin 0-8
    Flynn, Paul 1-3
    McMahon, Philip 1-3
    McCarthy, James 1-2
    Mannion, Paul 0-4
    Lowndes, Eric 1-1
    Cooper, Jonny 0-3
    Carthy, Shane (Vincents) 0-2
    Fenton, Brian 0-2
    O’Conghaile, Emmett 0-2
    Small, John 0-2
    Bastick, Denis 0-1
    Brady, Tomas 0-1
    McHugh, Conor 0-1

Dublin have used 32 players in 4 O'Byrne Cup games.Appearances+Subs for 2016 O'Byrne Cup

Andrews, Paddy 4
    Carthy, Shane(Vincents) 4
    Costello, Cormac 4
    Curley, Jarlath 4
    Small, John 4
    McMahon, Philip 3+1
    Reddin, Ciaran 3+1
    McCarthy, James 2+2
    Scully, Niall 2+2
    Bastick, Denis 3
    Brady, Tomas 3
    O'Callaghan, Con 3
    Rock, Dean 3
    Savage, Michael 3
    Cooper, Jonny 2+1
    Culligan, Eoin 2+1
    Mullally, Conor 2+1
    Whelan, Jason 2+1
    Deegan, Michael 1+2
    Concarr, Michael 1+1
    Daly, Darren 1+1
    Caffrey, Adam 0+2
    Hannigan, Graham 0+2
    Walsh, Niall 0+2
    Cluxton, Stephen 1
    Devereux, Nicky 1
    Manning, Oisin 1
    McGuire, Conor 1
    Cunningham, Stephen 0+1
    MacDonncha, Maitias 0+1
    Ryan, Philip 0+1

Dublin have scored 4-61 and conceded 6-38 in 4 O'Byrne Cup games. Scorers 2016 O'Byrne Cup Games

Costello, Cormac 2-11
    Rock, Dean 0-15
    Andrews, Paddy 1-7
    O'Callaghan, Con 1-3
    Carthy, Shane(Vincents) 0-5
    Deegan, Michael 0-5
    Whelan, Jason 0-4
    Brady, Tomas 0-3
    Reddin, Ciaran 0-3
    McGuire, Conor 0-2
    Daly, Darren 0-1
    McMahon, Philip 0-1
    Scully, Niall 0-1

The walk wouldn't be so bad from The Gravediggers if the staff weren't assholes.

The biggest decision of my life will be where to go for pints beforehand. Somewhere in Phibsboro possibly.

^^^THIS^^^

It's a pretty bar, like Mulligans. But up its hole!

Not worth the walk.

I'll be into Jury's at 12 tomorrow. NYIAOW!!!!

Beginning to doubt your allegiance to the Dubs with all this hanging around with the Fungannon gang!;)

I never go to any establishments before the games.Most definitely not tomorrow with the all but forgotten about junior final throwing in at 2.

Big Tree for moi afterwards,a culchie enclave with a few Dubs breaching the trenches.:pac: It is always a fun night in same as long we beat Tyrone!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dubllin 2016 Football Panel Championship Stats

Players Games Scored

Andrew, Paddy 23 1-25
    Bastick, Denis 32 1-6
    Brady, Tomas 5 0-3
    Brogan, Bernard 49 21-186
    Byrne, David (Olafs) 4 0-1
    Connolly, Diarmuid 41 11-61
    Cooper, Jonny 21 0-1
    Costello, Cormac 8 1-10
    Cluxton, Stephen 81 0-48 (47 Clean Sheets. Conceded 49 Goals)
    Daly, Darren 13
    Devereux, Nicky 7
    Fenton, Brian 10 0-5
    Fitzsimons, Michael 32
    Flynn, Paul 44 5-42
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 19 0-36
    Lowndes, Eric 6 0-1
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 37 2-7
    Mannion, Paul 14 3-10
    McCaffrey, Jack 19 2-4
    McCarthy, James 30 1-4
    McMahon, Philip 35 1-12
    McManamon, Kevin 35 7-28
    O’Brien, Kevin 5
    O’Callaghan, Con 3 0-1
    O’Conghaile, Emmett 1
    O’Gara, Eoghan, 28 6-15
    O’Sullivan, Cian 31 0-5
    Rock, Dean 21 3-71
    Small, John 10 0-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Wait, is The Hideout not closed down a few years? I used to go there all the time after matches but I was told it was closed.

I remember being there after the 2011 final and they ran out of drink.
    All they had was draught Bulmers and Guinness. No lager or bottles of anything.
    At one point, some hero drove down into the hundreds (dozens) of people outside and started unloading cases of beer.

Supposed to be a cracker tomorrow anyway so save your money and floor a bag of Bavaria on the canal.

Don't forget to recycle

My Donegal mate aint down until until 12 tomorrow, and i'll have to feed him so will be 1pm before i have a pint :(

Wait, is The Hideout not closed down a few years? I used to go there all the time after matches but I was told it was closed.

I remember being there after the 2011 final and they ran out of drink.
    All they had was draught Bulmers and Guinness. No lager or bottles of anything.
    At one point, some hero drove down into the hundreds (dozens) of people outside and started unloading cases of beer.

I should have said was partial. Haven't darkened the Hideout in an age.
    My Donegal mate aint down until until 12 tomorrow, and i'll have to feed him so will be 1pm before i have a pint :(

That's what you get for having Donegal mates. I learned my lesson when I finished up with my Letterkenny wan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

And I thought I was the only one who reckoned the staff in there were bollixes :D

Hedigans is a grand little pub.

I should have said was partial. Haven't darkened the Hideout in an age.

That's what you get for having Donegal mates. I learned my lesson when I finished up with my Letterkenny wan.

He's a Dub, just living up there! :D

All my other Donegal mates live in Dublin. It cuts them to the core :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Sure the day's nearly gone by that time.

Tell him to get food at the petrol station in Cavan. You'll do Dublin in an hour from there. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Sorry. On days like tamarra, I'm a bit like The Donald building a big wall, to keep the Mexicans out. I stick with me own in Fairview & Ballybough. The nerves are just too bad, to engage with any banter with our brethren from the Colonies.

Any thoughts on how soon the Hill will fill up tomorrow, given the day that is in it & the 4 teams that are playing? Any time I'm there for a full house, knock out game, it doesn't really start to fill up, 'till half time of the Minor match that is on beforehand. But I imagine there will be a lot more interest in the Mayo/Tyrone game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

The Donegal ones will be in early enough to get value from the ticket. More than half of the Dubs will rock in at about 5 imo.

Will the Tyrone and Mayo lads that are in The Hill head off after their match i wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I'll be there before the mayo game anyway possibly be in for some of the minor match depending on travel time etc

Will the Tyrone and Mayo lads that are in The Hill head off after their match i wonder?

It all depends on the result.

If Mayo get beaten well they'll be out the door.

If it'[s a close run thing I can imagine them sticking around for a bit to see what the game is like. It would be a pisser to leave early and miss a classic.

Hard to know. Been years since I was there.

I'm trying to figure out what time I'd need to be there at. Suppose I'll know from the TV! I'll miss rocking up and plumping my ass on the seat just as the refs puts his whistle to his mouth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

The Donegal ones will be in early enough to get value from the ticket.

You underestimate the taste of a suppy pint.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Sorry. On days like tamarra, I'm a bit like The Donald building a big wall, to keep the Mexicans out. I stick with me own in Fairview & Ballybough. The nerves are just too bad, to engage with any banter with our brethren from the Colonies.

Any thoughts on how soon the Hill will fill up tomorrow, given the day that is in it & the 4 teams that are playing? Any time I'm there for a full house, knock out game, it doesn't really start to fill up, 'till half time of the Minor match that is on beforehand. But I imagine there will be a lot more interest in the Mayo/Tyrone game.

What minor match?I was only aware the junior final between Mayo and Kerry was throwing in at 2.

I'd expected a fair gathering of my brethren to be in place for same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

There isn't one. That's what I mean. The Mayo/Tyrone game, should generate a lot more interest, than the Minor game that is usually on before a big, full house, Dubs game. I have a house full of visitors. I won't be able to get to Croker until 3.30 @ the earliest, so am just wondering how packed the Hill will be at that time. I don't want to get shunted into the corner over by the Cusack stand, because my usual spot (behind the goal) is jammers.

Yeah 3.30 would be my ETA too. There's a group of 10 of us on The Hill so it pays to mark out yer territory or in my case a crash barrier to lean against

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

ProudDUB wrote: »

Hear hear, I second that motion. Gaffney's do a lovely pint, the guiness is like sipping velvet :)

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"