Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pokemon go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,632 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

That lucky egg + evolve thing is pretty good. Performed 50 evolves in 30 minutes to go from 14 to 17.

Now to start stockpiling rats pidgeys and weedles all over again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

CSWS101 wrote: »
    Also, for the lucky egg pidgey/weedle trick - how many evolutions were possible before you did it? I wanna do it soon but don't wanna waste it.

Lucky egg lasts for 30 mins. You can easily evolve one every 30 secs, so to make the most out of it you should have at least 60 mons to evolve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Lads first time posting in this thread, i actually had enough of all the talk of pokemon go and just downloaded it for the craic :D see what all the fuss was about :) Got it monday havnt put it down since , only on level 7 :( ,

just a quick question ? Iv 2 eggs incubating there and was wondering does the app have to be open when walking for them to hatch or can it just be running in the background ? sorry for the n00b question .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭AMGer

pudzey101 wrote: »
    just a quick question ? Iv 2 eggs incubating there and was wondering does the app have to be open when walking for them to hatch or can it just be running in the background ? sorry for the n00b question .

It'll clock up the Km's when it's running in the background

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭rustledjimmies

AMGer wrote: »
    It'll clock up the Km's when it's running in the background

Er, since when?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Lads first time posting in this thread, i actually had enough of all the talk of pokemon go and just downloaded it for the craic :D see what all the fuss was about :) Got it monday havnt put it down since , only on level 7 :( ,

App has to be open with screen on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Sarn

Needs to be open on iOS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Er, since when?

Yeah I thought it had to be the open window too...

thanks guys just leave it in the pocket with screen on and go for a cycle :D should clock up a few kms :) lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭CSWS101

thanks guys just leave it in the pocket with screen on and go for a cycle :D should clock up a few kms :) lol

You would have to cycle very slow - 15km/h is the rumoured cut off point

CSWS101 wrote: »
    You would have to cycle very slow - 15km/h is the rumoured cut off point

noway always a catch :D go for a drive with the missus so seens she never goes over that haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭AMGer

Er, since when?

No? I thought I had Kms clocked, maybe it was with the battery saver thing, which they also got rid of

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Good news against the cheaters and hackers; apparently going by reddit, they've found a way to block all bots for the time being and are shadowbanning accounts. Maybe finally little script kiddies wont be hoarding gyms anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Wilberto wrote: »
    Am I one of the lucky ones who haven't been requested to update yet? :D :pac:
    Lucky you, happened to me right around when you posted this. I wouldn't say it was a request though. It's either you update or you can't play.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Kavrocks wrote: »
    Lucky you, happened to me right around when you posted this. I wouldn't say it was a request though. It's either you update or you can't play.

Thanks. I'm too afraid to log in now! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Blitz17

Tinie wrote: »
    Good news against the cheaters and hackers; apparently going by reddit, they've found a way to block all bots for the time being and are shadowbanning accounts. Maybe finally little script kiddies wont be hoarding gyms anymore.

Only changed the way they provide MapObjects, will be solved shortly :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Blitz17 wrote: »
    Only changed the way they provide MapObjects, will be solved shortly :rolleyes:

Ah well, ill be happy with a few days relief from the random asian accounts with 2000+cp snorlaxes taking over gyms with no one near the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,630 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Incense is a waste. Took me eight days to get the necessary coins because being in a small town but with active players I can only take one gym for a few minutes.
    Popped open the incense tonight while walking the dog.
    Noting but those little rats feckers and weedles and not too many of them either. Maybe 7 mons in the half hour. I can get that on some walks no bother.
    Bellsprout with a cp of 170ish was my best find.
    It's getting crap down the country. Was in 3 towns today with populations of 2000,6000 and 20000 and best I got was an 400cp oddish.
    Peeved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

jamescd wrote: »
    From looking at a calculator, a 140CP Magikarp will give me a Gyarados just over 1400CP. I could evolve a stronger Eevee than that anytime and that only costs 25 candies lol

I've been grinding these Magikarps for weeks now. I'd want at least a 2000CP+ monstrosity, otherwise I'd be very annoyed. I better play it safe and look for a stronger one before evolving.

I am closing in on 400 Magikarp Candies, highest I have is 135

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

A guy in my town that has about 2-3 lvl 20+ accounts and keeps going around to gyms taking them over...very difficult to take down. Especially since he's mystic and my town is also predominantly mystic, so people keep levelling up the gyms and adding more in..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

A guy in my town that has about 2-3 lvl 20+ accounts and keeps going around to gyms taking them over...very difficult to take down. Especially since he's mystic and my town is also predominantly mystic, so people keep levelling up the gyms and adding more in..

He's cheating. Report his accounts.

AMGer wrote: »
    No? I thought I had Kms clocked, maybe it was with the battery saver thing, which they also got rid of

Battery saver still on my app, but still screws up my game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭rustledjimmies

Battery saver still on my app, but still screws up my game.

Android Screen Pinning is where it's at...

Battery saver mode only freezes the UI when it rapidly turns the screen on and off, i.e. when the phone is in your hand by your side as you'd usually hold it and you're walking along swinging your hands up and down, up and down, screen on, screen off, screen on, screen off, UI FREEZE.

He's cheating. Report his accounts.

Is that classified as cheating? Hmm, never knew that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Is that classified as cheating? Hmm, never knew that.

Having two accounts isn't cheating, but having two accounts with over level twenty and lots of high CP mons is extremely fishy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Not saying I'm doubting you but how do you know it's the same guy?

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    Not saying I'm doubting you but how do you know it's the same guy?

One of the lads in my local town's Pokemon Go group confronted him about it, basically laughed it off and said something like "get over it". Have seen him a couple times myself taking on gyms and dropping 2 Pokemon with different accounts on it.

Android Screen Pinning is where it's at...

Battery saver mode only freezes the UI when it rapidly turns the screen on and off, i.e. when the phone is in your hand by your side as you'd usually hold it and you're walking along swinging your hands up and down, up and down, screen on, screen off, screen on, screen off, UI FREEZE.

Cheers Captain Obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Looks like my time in the Pokemon filled world is at an end.

I used one of the 0.29 apk versions of the game so i could play on my Galaxy S4 and now it's requesting me to update but the phone isn't able to run so therefore download the update :(:(

Anyone any ideas about this, bar buying a better phone.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

There is a site to gather all your pokemon stats, what ones you have, what IV they are, CP etc. You can add friends and compare. Here is an example of my card you can share as well:

AddEWmKl.png