Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

stanflt wrote: »
    If milk price doesn't rise above 30cpl by next May I have decided to exit milk production- my grandfather won a quality milk award in 1952 and the cows have won various awards over the years but sentiment doesn't keep the kids and wife and lifestyle going- I may as well exit while I am young so I can focus on a different career path-
    Tough times come and go but tough farmers remain. Come on Stan, 30 cent by next may?? You may as well pack up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Cows in second cut aftergrass last night. Nice lift in the tank this morning. It was a suck it and see job. I wasn't sure how good the covers were but we didn't want to allow it get too strong before we went in or it might not all get grazed before quality dipped.

We're considering not building covers and taking the surpluses that should develop over the next few weeks off as bales. Our girls won't deliver from late Sept without good supplementation so not much point in having big covers. Utilisation is usually poor and they end up getting a big proportion of their feed in a tmr anyway from them on. They delivered over 100kg of ms/hd in the last quarter of last year so there's a reasonable return for the inputs.

Free, what's your SR on the milking platform
    Have you plans to up it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Free, what's your SR on the milking platform
    Have you plans to up it

Overall sr last year over all acres and all stock was 2.5 according to teagasc analysis. I had it lower in my own calculations. Cow numbers up by 25% this year. Using frazzleds count back calc our grass utilised figure based on my sr figure was 11.5-12 tonnes depending on how you value the silage left in store after the winter. If you take teagasc figure grass utilised was a bit higher. No real distinction between grazing platform and overall acres as the only "outfarm" is only 300m from farm entrance. Current sr probably around 3 over all acres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

Noticed a big upturn in milk myself from 2nd cut after grass during the week,it got no fert and is full of clover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,780 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

OverRide wrote: »
    Noticed a big upturn in milk myself from 2nd cut after grass during the week,it got no fert and is full of clover

Mine are in fields reseeded in June. Very slow to come in ,full of milk. Great solids. If only price was good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Seeing as IBR testing is coming down the road here, how does testing/sales of calves/restrictions/timeframe in the scheme work in France, Dawg?

When locked up we can only sell calves for veal or other animals direct to factory.

When tested free of IBR it takes another 2yrs of free tests to be declared properly free. I've another 2yrs to go.

Grand for ye to have plenty grass. It has been a good year here too. Cows in full time today.
    Lucerne and clover bales with maize silage. Expecting jump in production.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

Dawggone wrote: »
    Grand for ye to have plenty grass. It has been a good year here too. Cows in full time today.

Is your good grass year because it's been a wetter summer? It certainly didn't seem the usual kind of summer going on the Euros?
    And don't you usually house during summer?

Dawggone wrote: »

How much of a jump? If you housed when grass was plentiful and in good order would the bales and maize give much of a lift?

OverRide wrote: »
    Is your good grass year because it's been a wetter summer? It certainly didn't seem the usual kind of summer going on the Euros?
    And don't you usually house during summer?

Yes, yes and yes.

Should be back out end of Aug or start of Sept. Then out until Jan and back in for a month or 6weeks.

How much of a jump? If you housed when grass was plentiful and in good order would the bales and maize give much of a lift?

Should lift pr by at least 0.15 and bf 0.3
    Litres will lift by 6 or 8.

I've top quality maize, lucerne and clover so no concentrates except 60gms/hd urea.

Overall sr last year over all acres and all stock was 2.5 according to teagasc analysis. I had it lower in my own calculations. Cow numbers up by 25% this year. Using frazzleds count back calc our grass utilised figure based on my sr figure was 11.5-12 tonnes depending on how you value the silage left in store after the winter. If you take teagasc figure grass utilised was a bit higher. No real distinction between grazing platform and overall acres as the only "outfarm" is only 300m from farm entrance. Current sr probably around 3 over all acres.

Impressive figures. Do you see yourself upping the SR.
    Im still carrying some of the replacement stock here on the MP. I'm at 3 SR atm , but have been looking at moving calving date back 10 days to 10/02 and like yourself not go crazy building too early. Going on last years and this years grass figures with 1-1.1ton (upping by 400kgs) of meal and by getting the balance of the replacement stock off the mp, a SR of 3.3 is achievable.
    Head scratching here, because to make this move would leave me on the wire grass wise and would mean a labour cost of ~18k ( but no capex). I don't want to end up with a high cost system. :confused:

Impressive figures. Do you see yourself upping the SR.
    Im still carrying some of the replacement stock here on the MP. I'm at 3 SR atm , but have been looking at moving calving date back 10 days to 10/02 and like yourself not go crazy building too early. Going on last years and this years grass figures with 1-1.1ton (upping by 400kgs) of meal and by getting the balance of the replacement stock off the mp, a SR of 3.3 is achievable.
    Head scratching here, because to make this move would leave me on the wire grass wise and would mean a labour cost of ~18k ( but no capex). I don't want to end up with a high cost system. :confused:

High cost per what? And then compared to what!

High cost per litre/kgms... Take your pick
    Compared... To my extravagant lifestyle :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Cows in second cut aftergrass last night. Nice lift in the tank this morning. It was a suck it and see job. I wasn't sure how good the covers were but we didn't want to allow it get too strong before we went in or it might not all get grazed before quality dipped.

We're considering not building covers and taking the surpluses that should develop over the next few weeks off as bales. Our girls won't deliver from late Sept without good supplementation so not much point in having big covers. Utilisation is usually poor and they end up getting a big proportion of their feed in a tmr anyway from them on. They delivered over 100kg of ms/hd in the last quarter of last year so there's a reasonable return for the inputs.

Are you calving many this autumn. (%age of herd).
    It might amuse others but we are not going to be able to build much grass if August comes dry.
    Still seeing stem coming in short rotation paddocks due to moisture stress.
    With extra numbers and full appetites (no drys) current g rates are not going to do a lot imo. The kick after some reasonable rain would be gladly accepted in a couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

It might amuse others but we are not going to be able to build much grass if August comes dry.
    With extra numbers and full appetites (no drys) current g rates are not going to do a lot imo. The kick after some reasonable rain would be gladly accepted in a couple of weeks.

What kind of growths are you getting. Just about enough rain to keep growth at 70-80. 5 miles from me lads feeding bales

We were feeding bales until yesterday. Gr around fifty based on the supplementation needed to bridge the gap between demand and what's in the paddocks. I think bales will be going back in after another couple of days. Pulled out of aftergrass, just not enough on it yet. We're getting just enough moisture to keep the stress heading at bay. Around 6/7 miles from stretch as the crow flies.

High cost per litre/kgms... Take your pick
    Compared... To my extravagant lifestyle :):)

Will you get any increase in ms/cow for the extra meal? You should be getting an extra 10% ms if yields hold at least. All of your fixed costs will be diluted as well as some of your "common costs". This is the question a lot of us will be asking soon.

By compared to I meant compared to what other type of system. This is where land charge really comes into question. You can feed meal or rent more land. Meal is a straightforward cost. Rented land has a host of variables. Sward quality, distance, lease length, land quality, fertility. A dairy farm out over the ditch from your own mp which was run in a similar manner to your own with good fertility and infrastructure is worth X everything else is worth X-?.

Around 15%. There's a few good young cows who will milk on at a reasonable yield. More than 50% of the herd will be milking Christmas day. They'll only be dried as they're due. We're heading into Aug in fairly good order but ikwym about the difficulties building covers anyway.

The lack of oppurtunity to build covers for four out of the last five years is colouring my thinking on the bales. That and the lift in performance we saw every time we had to house day and night in the spring. Too much of the thinking on production from grass is based on quota limiting production.

We had to go in hard with feed to arrest a big drop in production in early July. We lost 4-5l day in as many collections over the turn of the month. Grass just wasn't getting it done. Lack of quality and quantity to a lesser extent. This morning's collection was back up to the same level as June 24th with a couple less cows. I was listening and reading a lot of opinion talking about cows past their peak and taking out supplement. I estimate it cost me 120-150l/cow for the want of maybe 75kg of meal. Pr level was also too low in what we were feeding which was another mistake. Even at current prices it puts me a couple of thousand euro out of pocket over the past month.

Had skipped biggest cover but left them into it this evening when I checked the long term weather.
    Growth boosted by the last kick in growth after rain 2wks ago . It doesn't have the legs imo.
    Demand is slightly false because 2nd cut ground is back in but only greening.
    Some put it in early others hold off until nearer grazing.

20 days growing. Stem apparent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

20 days growing. Stem apparent.

I'm really surprised that you are getting stem after only 20 days. Hard to manage grass in that situation

Most of bales made this yr have been of the hairy variety :(

Yep. Twenty days wouldn't be fast. You know it's gonna start costing money when you are them after ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,780 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Have my dry cows/incalf heifers grazing any hairy paddocks. Milking Cows on best grass. Will start restricting dry cow intake about 10 days before calving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Had skipped biggest cover but left them into it this evening when I checked the long term weather.
    Growth boosted by the last kick in growth after rain 2wks ago . It doesn't have the legs imo.
    Demand is slightly false because 2nd cut ground is back in but only greening.
    Some put it in early others hold off until nearer grazing.

I was just going to commend your litres figure but then noticed its from June. Why is that not updating for you?

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    I was just going to commend your litres figure but then noticed its from June. Why is that not updating for you?

It's manually entered so I just didn't do it since.
    24.5 l atm @1.92kg solids.

Like freedom I've noticed a fairly rapid drop off. A bit too quickly for my liking.
    A little drop in meal ,sneaking some older/poorer grass from heifers block into cows and maybe going in calf are the reasons I'm coming up with. It's still a little more of a drop than I'd like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Yep. Twenty days wouldn't be fast. You know it's gonna start costing money when you are them after ten.

A question for yourself and stretch, did ye reduce N to paddocks at any stage. My mate while on really light ground recons it's part of his problem. He can't be certain but thinks a little more may have carried him further iykwim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Did ye ever grow any of the more drought tolerant grasses that send roots down 2-3 foot? Chicory might help keep quality up too, plenty of nz research on it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,055 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Did ye ever grow any of the more drought tolerant grasses that send roots down 2-3 foot? Chicory might help keep quality up too, plenty of nz research on it...

hasnt chicory really poor persistance ? Cows love it though , (might be why it's persistence is so poor in a test paddock, with something new the cows will hunt out every last leaf)..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦