Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,492 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Your woman that blew the whistle on it is still banned too :D

She thought she'd be allowed compete as one of those no nation athletes but the IOC have basically said "thanks for your help, now piss off".

She was dirty as well though, wasn't she? (I haven't been following it much so I'm not sure)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

She was dirty as well though, wasn't she? (I haven't been following it much so I'm not sure)

Correct. I think it's harsh on her but they can't make an exception regardless of her worthy actions. All Russian track and field athletes are banned and she is one of them as well as being a confirmed drugs cheat previously which has led to her not being permitted to compete as a neutral athlete.

The IOC should hang their heads in shame. This Olympics will be remembered as a grotesque mess and it's in danger of doing irreparable damage to the Olympics as an overall entity.

They can now sit proudly alongside FIFA as kingpins of shambolic sporting officialdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Another mass shooting at a Florida nightclub (5:20am there now).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Another mass shooting at a Florida nightclub (5:20am there now).

That country is seriously FUBAR. When will they do something about the availability of firearms, and especially assault weapons? It's just downright insane that people can own military grade weaponry and downright stupid to think that it won't lead to incidents like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

molloyjh wrote: »
    That country is seriously FUBAR. When will they do something about the availability of firearms, and especially assault weapons? It's just downright insane that people can own military grade weaponry and downright stupid to think that it won't lead to incidents like these.

I love how the yokels cite the "Second Amendment to the Constitution" as if it's gospel and above reproach. It's a fvcking amendment FFS, if the constitution can be amended surely a friggin' amendment can be looked at again! And I'm pretty sure the founding fathers never intended citizens to have assault weapons that could be used to murder many fellow citizens...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

She was involved in the program for something like 5 years and only came forward when they stopped protecting her and she failed a test.

Zzippy wrote: »
    I love how the yokels cite the "Second Amendment to the Constitution" as if it's gospel and above reproach. It's a fvcking amendment FFS, if the constitution can be amended surely a friggin' amendment can be looked at again! And I'm pretty sure the founding fathers never intended citizens to have assault weapons that could be used to murder many fellow citizens...

It's all so bloody obvious isn't it. A majority of people in Ireland wanted to end a ban of divorce, it was ended. A majority of people wanted to extend marriage to same-sex couples, it was extended. However the gun companies have their nice lobby front called the NRA who have the politicians in their pocket.

From my naive viewpoint, I think sadly the horse has bolted. Now that everyone has guns, good luck taking guns off people who only feel they need them to protect themselves. I completely agree with you and molloy, but I just don't see it happening. Tbf if I know people/criminals in my area have an AR15, I might want one too. It's a sad, vicious circle.

The point that gets me is those who support no background checks and/or the gun show loophole regarding background checks. Nobody with any kind of violent conviction should get near a deadly weapon, yet afaik in some states they can. The NRA and co. spin this hysteria about background checks being a front for universal gun registry and making this a privacy issue. It would be funny if it wasn't so sad. They just want the 'freedom' to sell as many weapons as possible, simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Buer wrote: »
    Correct. I think it's harsh on her but they can't make an exception regardless of her worthy actions. All Russian track and field athletes are banned and she is one of them as well as being a confirmed drugs cheat previously which has led to her not being permitted to compete as a neutral athlete.

The IOC should hang their heads in shame. This Olympics will be remembered as a grotesque mess and it's in danger of doing irreparable damage to the Olympics as an overall entity.

The exception is to allow her to compete as a neutral rather than a Russian athlete.

She's not banned from competing because of a drugs test. She got caught, was banned and has served her time. What the IOC have said is that she may not participate under a neutral flag something which the IAAF have approved for her in competitions run by them and which she already did in the European Championships.

The key point is that she doesn't live in Russia and has been subject to anti-doping testing in another country (the USA). This is an opportunity they offered to all Russian athletes i.e., if they could prove that they had been subject to a 'valid' anti-doping program then they could compete. Only one other competitor (also based abroad) satisfied this criteria IIRC.

There is such a thing as a 'neutral flag' country in the Olympics. It was originally designed for use by athletes who are from countries that have no properly functioning administration e.g. Somalia. The IOC don't think that it would be right for her to represent someone other than Russia. While there is some logic there it's part of a pretty craven response to the Russian doping scandal and doping in general.

The only response that I can think of to this by the general public is to boycott olympic sponsors.

Buer wrote: »
    They can now sit proudly alongside FIFA as kingpins of shambolic sporting officialdom.

Actually, I think that the UCI might still be in the lead here.

Clearlier wrote: »

Actually, I think that the UCI might still be in the lead here.

Nah, with McQuaid gone the UCI is much more transparent now. Also, there was no suggestion of McQuad illegally using UCI money to enrich himself, or accepting bribes. In terms of sheer brazenness and scale, FIFA is way out there. Not for nothng the FBI and other agencies are investigating it.

Yeah, you're right. The corruption of FIFA encompassed more areas. I was just thinking about in respect to doping where at its height it's unlikely that many completed the TdF without doping. McQuaid's removal has helped I think but cycling is still elbow deep in doping. There's still an incredibly (using that word advisedly) enormous job to be done to clean up the sport.

Tbf if I know people/criminals in my area have an AR15, I might want one too.

I wouldn't. I'd want to change area or insist the police do their jobs and deal with those criminals or look for law changes to stop people from being able to get their hands on those weapons. There's a whole list of things I'd want before the thought of going out and arming myself comes to mind. And even if I did want to arm myself for self-defence purposes my first port of call wouldn't be an assault weapon.

Yeah, you're right. The corruption of FIFA encompassed more areas. I was just thinking about in respect to doping where at its height it's unlikely that many completed the TdF without doping. McQuaid's removal has helped I think but cycling is still elbow deep in doping. There's still an incredibly (using that word advisedly) enormous job to be done to clean up the sport.

At it's peak yes, cycling was undoubtedly the dirtiest sport in terms of PEDs, and in order to succeed you pretty much had to be on EPO. I think football has swept a huge amount of that under the carpet - the Fuentes affair in Spain, for example. Cycling has done a lot since Armstrong to clean up, and now has the most stringent testing regime of any sport AFAIK. Of course, with micro-dosing some cyclists will still take the risk, but the huge number and regularity of testing, as well as freezing of samples and retrospective testing, is a big deterrent now. Something a lot of sports could emulate.

I wouldn't. I'd want to change area or insist the police do their jobs and deal with those criminals or look for law changes to stop people from being able to get their hands on those weapons. There's a whole list of things I'd want before the thought of going out and arming myself comes to mind. And even if I did want to arm myself for self-defence purposes my first port of call wouldn't be an assault weapon.

So you're not willing to do everything to protect your family?

- That's the kind of spin we're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

So you're not willing to do everything to protect your family?

- That's the kind of spin we're talking about.

It's not really spin, it's just part of their culture. There's nothing actually wrong with the guns themselves, save perhaps some of the assault rifles, the problem is the neglect of so many vulnerable people in their society as well as an inability to adequately provide healthcare. It's irresponsible to allow those two issues to be combined with the widespread availability of firearms but I personally doubt even a strict federal ban on gun ownership would fix the problem they have. We have almost non-existent gun ownership in Ireland and Britain but private gun ownership is prevalent in Europe without the same problem in most countries.

I think there's actually a far closer correlation between gini coefficiency and violent crime than availability of weapons. I think the real answer is to fix the cause rather than the symptom (although i think they should definitely restrict heavily ownership in the interim).

It's not really spin, it's just part of their culture. There's nothing actually wrong with the guns themselves, save perhaps some of the assault rifles, the problem is the neglect of so many vulnerable people in their society as well as an inability to adequately provide healthcare. It's irresponsible to allow those two issues to be combined with the widespread availability of firearms but I personally doubt even a strict federal ban on gun ownership would fix the problem they have. We have almost non-existent gun ownership in Ireland and Britain but private gun ownership is prevalent in Europe without the same problem in most countries.

I think there's actually a far closer correlation between gini coefficiency and violent crime than availability of weapons. I think the real answer is to fix the cause rather than the symptom (although i think they should definitely restrict heavily ownership in the interim).

Agreed. I really don't have that much of a problem with the general idea of gun ownership, but there quite simply isn't enough done to regulate that industry. And of all the industries that needs it, the one that deals exclusively in causing bodily harm is quite clearly top of that pile.

The other social issues are obviously huge factors too but that's just another side to what is quite clearly a fairly rotten country.

At it's peak yes, cycling was undoubtedly the dirtiest sport in terms of PEDs, and in order to succeed you pretty much had to be on EPO. I think football has swept a huge amount of that under the carpet - the Fuentes affair in Spain, for example. Cycling has done a lot since Armstrong to clean up, and now has the most stringent testing regime of any sport AFAIK. Of course, with micro-dosing some cyclists will still take the risk, but the huge number and regularity of testing, as well as freezing of samples and retrospective testing, is a big deterrent now. Something a lot of sports could emulate.

Lies, damned lies and statistics but if you look at the average speeds for completing the TdF it really doesn't look like we've returned to pre-epo performance levels. There's not a single year pre-epo that was as fast as this years tour, or last years, or the year before either or....

By contrast, there are quite a few years where we know that epo was used where the average speed is lower than this years tour and last years and the year before that...

As I said at the start, lies, damned lies and statistics..., there are very good reasons not to look at average speed on the tour as you're not comparing like with like however when you look at all of the numbers I find it impossible to accept that we might be looking at a clean era in cycling. It's just not believable.

The marginal gains nonsense that we're hearing is in fact nonsense. With a couple of exceptions these are things that have been done before no matter what the protagonists claim.

I think that cycling is still the sport with the greatest levels of doping but soccer probably the greatest levels of corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Never while the NRA (Arms Industry) continue to lobby (pay off) politicians on both sides. The commentary after the police shootings in Dallas was comical, "This wouldn't happen if there were more people carrying guns" said an NRA spokesperson :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,997 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Murica...

A country where kinder eggs are banned because they are "dangerous"

Like the comedian who quipped

"I went in to Walmart and asked for 2 kinder eggs"

The girl replied "we don't sell them sir because they are dangerous"

"Grand, I'll just take these 2 AK47's please"

stephen_n wrote: »
    Never while the NRA (Arms Industry) continue to lobby (pay off) politicians on both sides. The commentary after the police shootings in Dallas was comical, "This wouldn't happen if there were more people carrying guns" said an NRA spokesperson :eek:

Yeah there is literally no logic to that at all. More people having guns is only ever going to increase the likelihood of that kind of thing happening. But people buy that rubbish over there. It's utterly baffling. But as IBF mentioned there are no shortage of social issues contributing to all of this. It's just a very strange country that seems to be getting worse instead of better at the moment.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I still find it quote disquieting that the police here have guns.

Absolutely hate the things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I like Bernie Sanders but his supporters at the DNC are fecking gob****es

Lies, damned lies and statistics but if you look at the average speeds for completing the TdF it really doesn't look like we've returned to pre-epo performance levels. There's not a single year pre-epo that was as fast as this years tour, or last years, or the year before either or....

By contrast, there are quite a few years where we know that epo was used where the average speed is lower than this years tour and last years and the year before that...

As I said at the start, lies, damned lies and statistics..., there are very good reasons not to look at average speed on the tour as you're not comparing like with like however when you look at all of the numbers I find it impossible to accept that we might be looking at a clean era in cycling. It's just not believable.

The marginal gains nonsense that we're hearing is in fact nonsense. With a couple of exceptions these are things that have been done before no matter what the protagonists claim.

I think that cycling is still the sport with the greatest levels of doping but soccer probably the greatest levels of corruption.

Elite sport is all about marginal gains, in every sport. Usain Bolt is making marginal changes to his training in order to gain thousandths of a second. Rugby teams are doing small things all the time to get marginally better. Sky quoting a marginal gains philosophy is a bit BS alright, because they have completely changed the approach - signing the strongest domestiques, most of whom could lead their own team, the space age buses and own mattresses, sports scientists.
    Average speed is a BS metric IMO, cycling has become less exciting now as average speeds have gone up, as a higher average speed means riders are on the limit the whole time and can't attack successfully. The sky train driving relentlessly at a high average speed is a successful tactic. I'd look more at power/weight or watts/kg, especially on the climbs, and AFAIK those figures have come down a bit since the EPO era.
    Yep there are suspicious performances, e.g. Horner in the Vuelta 2013, but I think overall it's far cleaner than it was before. If we saw the same level of testing in other sports I don't think cycling would prove the dirtiest, by a fair distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Are you taking about testing today or historically?
    Because historically, cycling has been the most riddled sport along with athletics (sprints)

Today...I don't know....team sports like rugby & soccer don't really need ped's ....American football...different story...imo, that's possibly the sport with the most to hide at the moment...but that's not to say sprinting..and cycling are clean either , I just don't think the drug culture is as prevalent anymore

Are you taking about testing today or historically?
    Because historically, cycling has been the most riddled sport along with athletics (sprints)

Today...I don't know....team sports like rugby & soccer don't really need ped's ....American football...different story...imo, that's possibly the sport with the most to hide at the moment...but that's not to say sprinting..and cycling are clean either , I just don't think the drug culture is as prevalent anymore

Talking about sport today. Cycling in the past was undoubtedly riddled.

Team sports like rugby & soccer don't really need PEDs... are you serious? The requirement in rugby for size and strength are a huge incentive to use steroids. EPO would be a massive aid in soccer where players are running 10k+ per game. To think it's not happening is naive in the extreme. There was a massive cover-up in Spain, where frozen blood bags from hundreds of athletes disappeared, mostly the soccer players, before they could be reanalysed with new testing methods. The level of testing in rugby is ridiculously low, yet there have been a disproportionate number of positive tests. Seem to be a lot of players with "asthma" in the sport...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

I'm not saying it isn't done in football, but it would be almost impossible to hide it due to the huge numbers of people at any 1 club... athletes work 1 on 1 or in small groups, cyclists have close knit teams....football clubs have squads of 40 players. Players come and go over the season and during the season....the chance of there being any systematic doping are virtually nil.
    That's not to say players aren't....but they would be doing it on their own imo.
    Rugby, I don't know, I've yet to see any figures to show that there is an issue, the fact that muscle mass is more important than in footie would mean it's more likely to be abused...but haven't seen anything as of yet.
    I still think the 3 sports i mentioned would probably be the leaders still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I'm not saying it isn't done in football, but it would be almost impossible to hide it due to the huge numbers of people at any 1 club... athletes work 1 on 1 or in small groups, cyclists have close knit teams....football clubs have squads of 40 players. Players come and go over the season and during the season....the chance of there being any systematic doping are virtually nil.
    That's not to say players aren't....but they would be doing it on their own imo.
    Rugby, I don't know, I've yet to see any figures to show that there is an issue, the fact that muscle mass is more important than in footie would mean it's more likely to be abused...but haven't seen anything as of yet.
    I still think the 3 sports i mentioned would probably be the leaders still

But we know for a fact that systematic doping has happened in football in the past. I for one don't see what on earth Fuentes was doing with those Spanish players if not helping them to do exactly that. He is the man who oversaw doping in cycling and we know he has worked with clubs throughout Spain (Real Sociedad were paying him £280,000 a year as a consultant... Their president also said they spent the same amount of medicines which were not declared on the accounts, I don't think that's for calpol!). I would personally say it's almost a certainty that it's a problem that exists in multiple team sports including soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

wp_rathead wrote: »
    I like Bernie Sanders but his supporters at the DNC are fecking gob****es

how dare they not unquestionably support the people that have spent the entire primary patronising and insulting them #uniteblue

the dnc establishment are doing more to increase the likelihood of a trump victory than he ever could

Swan Curry wrote: »
    how dare they not unquestionably support the people that have spent the entire primary patronising and insulting them #uniteblue

the dnc establishment are doing more to increase the likelihood of a trump victory than he ever could

The whole Bernie Sanders thing is quite interesting. Obviously a lot of people here in Ireland would look at him and think "yeah, that guy makes a lot of sense". And more and more people in the US seem to be thinking the same way. The problem is that someone like Sanders would not just mobilise those people, he would also mobilise the Republicans as well. The number of people who genuinely believe he is an out and out Socialist who wants to make the US like Venezuala is staggering. And like with gun ownership there is no talking to some about it. It's just a totally different culture. Imagine what a campaign against him would be like.

Personally I'd take Sanders over Clinton, but you have to look at it from an American politics perspective. Are they really ready for someone like Sanders? How successful could he really be with the way Congress is set-up if he were to be elected? And at the end of the day the Democrats are far more likely to win over the swing vote (and the inevitable Republican protest vote) with Hilary than with Sanders.

I understand the frustration that Sanders supporters feel, but I think the DNC made the right call. But now they need to get all Democrats behind Hilary, so they have a campaign aimed at doing so. They don't have to support them unquestioningly, but they can have their issues and try and get them dealt with while also not sabotaging the Hilary campaign. It's done now. We can only go one way, and that's forward.

Am I correct to think Sanders as President would try to close the tax loopholes that allow many multinationals to domicile in Ireland?

The more and more I see of this Presidental Campaign, the more I think Trump might win.

Am I correct to think Sanders as President would try to close the tax loopholes that allow many multinationals to domicile in Ireland?

The more and more I see of this Presidental Campaign, the more I think Trump might win.

Not sure on that one tbh. But it sounds like something he'd do. He wouldn't be at all an extreme candidate here in Ireland. Most of what he seems to stand for seems to be the norm here, i.e. affordable health care and education, regulation on big business to ensure it doesn't take the piss etc. When you see him getting slammed for saying that people shouldn't have to depend on welfare when working full-time you have to wonder what kind of warped view of the world some have over there.

I don't think Trump will win tbh. There's far too many Republicans who are steadfastly against him. If the Democrats can get the Sanders base on board then they should be laughing. Someone like Trump simply won't get swing votes and won't be able to get voters to cross the aisle for him. Plus the thoughts of having him for President should mobilise a lot of Democrats who might not otherwise have bothered.

What is interesting though is that extreme candidates (Sanders would be extreme in the US) on both sides have received a lot of backing from the general public, with the traditional candidates coming in for a lot of hostility. Like in the UK and here to a lesser extent, the disconnect between the public and the politicians seems to be a very big issue in a lot of Western politics at the moment.