Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Teferi wrote: »
    This plus throwing Watson under the bus after the last Ryder Cup showed his true character I think. I've thoroughly disliked him after that.

Yeah that was pretty awful tbf.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I don't know if I'd love or hate Stranger Things. What age is it suitable for?

I'd say older kids could watch it, like 13+ but there are some bits that genuinely made me jump. It's not a kids show though, it's plenty grown up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Teferi wrote: »
    This plus throwing Watson under the bus after the last Ryder Cup showed his true character I think. I've thoroughly disliked him after that.

You know, that doesn't even bother me that much in retrospect. Some of Watson's behaviour that has emerged since was pretty brutal and Mickleson shot from the hip. It was letting his manicured mask slip but it was justified from what I can see. And that's disappointing as I always was a big fan of such a great figure as Watson.

But it was business as usual last year when he was asked about Watson ahead of The Open and he gave such a rehearsed answer about Watson being a legend of the game and him deserving a great send off to his Open career. I'd have respected him if he just stuck to his guns.

Other items like the recent insider trading revelations and the contrived emergency trips home to attend his daughter's graduation (from 8th grade!) are more what I roll my eyes at when it comes to him. He's a PR animal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Any one watching Stranger Things on Netflix?

Easily the best original series they've done and probably better than anything regular TV has done for a while.

Just watched the first two. It's pretty good alright. Loving the music

Synode wrote: »
    Just watched the first two. It's pretty good alright. Loving the music

I've just finished it and it's amazing right the way through. Everything about it was perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭kuang1

I've just finished it and it's amazing right the way through. Everything about it was perfect.

I'm confused...do you like it or not?! ;)

kuang1 wrote: »
    I'm confused...do you like it or not?! ;)

Eh.......... it's alright.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,070 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Magnifica 70 is my current watch. Breaking Bad meets Boogie Nights in 70s Brazil. Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Don't know what you're doing watching all that shite for lads. Gilmore Girls is on Netflix.

• It is outrageously warm. I really don't like it.

• BT Sports no longer on Virgin/UPC lads...

https://www.virginmedia.ie/finalwhistle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

It is outrageously warm. I really don't like it.

I fvckin hate it!

Zzippy wrote: »
    I fvckin hate it!

It's nearly 10 pm and it's still boiling. I watered the plants in the back garden and it felt like I'd run a marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Magnifica 70 is my current watch. Breaking Bad meets Boogie Nights in 70s Brazil. Great stuff.

You're exploring Dora...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

It's seriously brilliant. If you watched ET, The Goonies, Flight of the Navigator, Stand by Me etc etc. as a kid it's like a mash up of all the best parts of them.

There's only 8 episodes so if you're a binge watcher you could probably do it all in a day. I'm planning on watching the last 2 eps tonight which will be 3 days, for me that's a record.

Watched the first 2 episodes tonight. It really does perfectly capture the likes of ET, Goonies and The Outer Limits type stuff really well. Really enjoying it, but not sure how it would work without the nostalgia element, i.e. for the kids among us.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Watched the first 2 episodes tonight. It really does perfectly capture the likes of ET, Goonies and The Outer Limits type stuff really well. Really enjoying it, but not sure how it would work without the nostalgia element, i.e. for the kids among us.

I don't know, I think the story is strong enough that anyone would enjoy it. It has the feel of those other things but it's not like it's endless references and in jokes that people not in a specific age range wouldn't get. It is probably a different experience though.

I wasn't really of the right age for a lot of the stuff Stranger Things seems to be inspired by but I still loved them when I did see them. I didn't see The Goonies until I was in my late teens. I'm sure modern kids would love ET or The Goonies now if they saw them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Mfceiling. I tried Gerry's on Montague St. this morning. Thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

From the reviews I'm reading it has universal appeal. So I'll try it out. I just finished Game of Thrones. I'd only ever watched two seasons becuase I read the books and honestly struggled to read a story that had effectively been spoilered for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I have to work outdoors today. It's forecast to get up to 28 or 29 degrees. FML

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Zzippy wrote: »
    I have to work outdoors today. It's forecast to get up to 28 or 29 degrees. FML

Pffft. Harden up.

The mercury is supposed to hit 34 here.

And tomorrow I head off on a 4-day/3-night mountain walk, 6-8 hours/day, max altitude about 3000m.

Maybe some of the other forum members will feel sorry for you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Pffft. Harden up.

And tomorrow I head off on a 4-day/3-night mountain walk, 6-8 hours/day, max altitude about 3000m.

Personal choice. Doesn't count swiwi... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Will the IOC follow the recommendations of WADA and blanket ban all Russian competitors from the Olympics....I'm not a betting man, but I'm going with No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Will the IOC follow the recommendations of WADA and blanket ban all Russian competitors from the Olympics....I'm not a betting man, but I'm going with No

I heard a suggestion they might ban athletes and then open an avenue where atheletes who have been out of that system and under regular testing can apply for clemency, I would agree with that approach

I believe they already have such a process, it's how a few Russians have managed to get in already. Didn't someone post about the pole vaulter a few days ago in here? She lives and trains in the US and has done for a long time and that was the basis of her appeal.

That said.... Sharapova has been US based most of her life and was still using meldonium. Although these recent findings go way beyond that particular substance.

• Can't recall the pole vaulter. Maybe another photo would help?

Can't recall the pole vaulter. Maybe another photo would help?

russian-lev-lobodin-competes-during-the-decathlon-shot-put-26-august-picture-id2432784

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Pffft. Harden up.

I've found the Irish to be a strange bunch when it comes to weather. They complain when it's too cold, too hot, too wet, too sunny, too windy, too calm. I think their ideal is 16-19 degrees, light breeze, sunny with intermittent clouds.

For me, I'll take 25-35, sunny and no wind thanks. As long as there is a pool nearby.

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I've found the Irish to be a strange bunch when it comes to weather. They complain when it's too cold, too hot, too wet, too sunny, too windy, too calm. I think their ideal is 16-19 degrees, light breeze, sunny with intermittent clouds.

Mild is what we like. You may notice we struggle with rain also. We don't own raincoats and you can spot a native on a rainy day by looking for the person using literally anything other than an umbrella to shelter from the rain.

A grand soft day is what we like and anyone who says they like this heat is a liar and I will fight them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Mild is what we like. You may notice we struggle with rain also. We don't own raincoats and you can spot a native on a rainy day by looking for the person using literally anything other than an umbrella to shelter from the rain.

A grand soft day is what we like and anyone who says they like this heat is a liar and I will fight them.

I love the heat. As long as I'm wearing shorts and outside. Currently sweating my balls off in a suit in an office with no air con

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Yeah_Right wrote: »

For me, I'll take 25-35, sunny and no wind thanks. As long as there is a pool nearby.

Jaysus the weather is never good enough for you kiwis, always need something better. Harden up!