Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stores Closing in Sligo **mod warning post #720**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Work going on in their old store on O'Connell St. this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭prodsc

thebuzz wrote: »
    So are Elvery's still there yeah? I have a voucher for them so I hope so?

Elverys still there. They are dividing the current store. All Elverys branding inside Johnson's Court. :)

Just make sure the voucher is not out of date!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭worlds goodest teecher

Just wondering if the Korean restaurant is still operating? Went to go one evening last week but it was shut. Does it shut on certain evenings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

Taken from their Facebook page;
    Open from 12pm from Tues.~Friday, from 3pm on Saturday and 5pm on Sunday! Closed on Mondays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,618 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Something strange happening in Applegreen's on Pearse Road..

.. not letting cars in, cars now blocking both entrances, staff outside.

Hopefully not another closure! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Basq wrote: »
    Something strange happening in Applegreen's on Pearse Road..

.. not letting cars in, cars now blocking both entrances, staff outside.

Hopefully not another closure! :(
    Is this why Parcel motel moved to Mullens??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,618 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Actually went by half an hour ago and seems fine now. Strange!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭drdidlittle

Emergency drill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Emergency drill?

I was a manager of a petrol station/convenience store years ago in the US, and we had to hold fire drills. I think you're probably correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭sligono1

red sean wrote: »
    Is this why Parcel motel moved to Mullens??

I herd a while back that a big redevelopment of the petrol station was in the pipeline so perhaps that's starting soon so the the parcel motel had to move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,091 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

sligono1 wrote: »
    I herd a while back that a big redevelopment of the petrol station was in the pipeline so perhaps that's starting soon so the the parcel motel had to move

well I thought I heard that Applegreen just didnt want the lockers there any more and thats why PM had to find them a new home

Hasnt Applegreen station already had a revamp just recently? are they having another one then?

The long arm of the law was there at that time... When I wen in not to long after there was a lot of un-uniformed staff there which was odd and the girl in the deli counter looked very emotional and teary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭mojopin10

Fridge started smoking and the staff smelt burning and called the fire brigade. False alarm nothing bigger than that

Girl at Deli counter emotional and teary because of smoke inhalation then :D

glad we cleared that one up then :)

Toolans in Ballisodare seems to have closed up shop.

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Toolans in Ballisodare seems to have closed up shop.

Oh right, never been in the shop before but heard bad reviews about the place such as the shopkeepers being nasty to their customers :/

Vlove wrote: »
    Oh right, never been in the shop before but heard bad reviews about the place such as the shopkeepers being nasty to their customers :/

She was a miserable aul hoor and greedy to boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

She was a miserable aul hoor and greedy to boot

She milked the students from the secondary school for sure, for years.

rizzodun wrote: »

what goes around comes around :D

I know, and its been 16 years since I was in that school

The story I heard, was nothing was priced up in the shop. If she didnt like you , you got charged at a higher rate for the shtuff! :D

Ha, me too! Hello classmate..

Small world.

I remember when she used to come down to the school to open the pox of a tuc shop with her half cooked bread rolls. Everything was overpriced. I swear she was like Mr Krabs when she saw people coming

krabs-loves-money-4.jpg?quality=0.75

Was funnier when the kids riled up and decided 'boycott!'

Only to realise they quite liked their bags of meanies and gave in after one day.

Was funnier when the kids riled up and decided 'boycott!'

Only to realise they quite liked their bags of meanies and gave in after one day.

Nah, She was tipped off that we were going to have a boycott, so never came in and opened the shop that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭Slideways

I worked close to ballisodare for years. Herself and that other miserable fecker in Glynns (I think it was) had the run of the town and both shops were terrible.

Once Cecil turned up it was the end of them

Slideways wrote: »
    I worked close to ballisodare for years. Herself and that other miserable fecker in Glynns (I think it was) had the run of the town and both shops were terrible.

Once Cecil turned up it was the end of them

Do you mean Clancys Spar in Ballisodare,Glynns was opposite the Park Hotel?
    When Cecils opened he didnt have an ATM for a few weeks, so customers went into Clancys to use his ATM and then shop in Supervalu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭Slideways

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Do you mean Clancys Spar in Ballisodare,Glynns was opposite the Park Hotel?
    When Cecils opened he didnt have an ATM for a few weeks, so customers went into Clancys to use his ATM and then shop in Supervalu!

Sorry, Glancys I think it was. Not a very pleasant bloke behind the till and I would have gone in there quite a bit. Ended up going to McCormacks in Carraroe which goes to show how little I thought of the spot!

Knox seem to be always closed, it was nice little cafe :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Vlove wrote: »
    Knox seem to be always closed, it was nice little cafe :/

I was in town last week and they were open and serving. Of course they open mostly for breakfast and lunch; they are open later only on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings. Yeah, great little place.