Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stores Closing in Sligo **mod warning post #720**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Kettleson wrote: »
    Oh wells...nothing wrong with a bit of nostalgia..

Jaysus, now that is a trip. My older brother used to hang around with a few of those lads. You'd always find them propping up a wall in Quinnsworth arcade of a Saturday. I was only a wee fella during the grim years of the 80s - but Sligo seemed as good a place as any to grow up in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

That's for sure. There was / is / always will be worse places than Sligo. It has its character(s) and charm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭curtisbrown

KG Tool Hire on the docks is closing, or has closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,665 ✭✭✭magnumlady

KG Tool Hire on the docks is closing, or has closed.

I wondered why the shutters were down yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,616 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Cromleach Lodge has closed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

Basq wrote: »

real shame that - what a lovely place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

I wonder what the domino effect will be. How many suppliers and service providers are owed money and likely to hit the wall as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Someone said on their facebook page it was closed by Revenue. Whether thats true or not I dont know.

I have never been there before but I heard it's fantastic from the amount of reports on TripAdvisor! It's sad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Someone said she was on Joe Duffy blaming revenue for the closure.

Sorry. I just listened to the podcast. The "She" was a woman who had a wedding booked, not the owner.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Someone said she was on Joe Duffy blaming revenue for the closure.

the fella on RTE's Operation Transformation had the revenu people come into his restaurant in Belmullet and shut him down - whats up with them? - sounds like there is no leniency, rather than keep the places open on the hope arrears can be paid back they go in and shut these places down! (if thats what it is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭littlejp

the fella on RTE's Operation Transformation had the revenu people come into his restaurant in Belmullet and shut him down - whats up with them? - sounds like there is no leniency, rather than keep the places open on the hope arrears can be paid back they go in and shut these places down! (if thats what it is)

I would imagine they have tried all other options before shutting somewhere down. Revenue don't want to close businesses but they do want to get paid. Also sends a message to other businesses to make sure they pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭dingding

littlejp wrote: »
    I would imagine they have tried all other options before shutting somewhere down. Revenue don't want to close businesses but they do want to get paid. Also sends a message to other businesses to make sure they pay.

Agreed, the people who pay are subsidising the people who don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭FoxyVixen

Such a shame. Was there for a wedding, beautiful spot.

dingding wrote: »
    Agreed, the people who pay are subsidising the people who don't.

Very true.

Personally I think it's such a cop out to say "revenue shut us down". Your not paying your bills like most other businesses is what shut you down. As for what revenue expects a viable business to pay, I better not start or
    I won't be able to stop.
    Shame to see them gone, they tried to do something a step above other places. Whether they succeeded or not is another thing but again this government both locally and nationally seem to want to shut businesses instead of encourage them. Especially here in Sligo.

The restaurant upstairs in Dunnes closed down on March 1st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

littlejp wrote: »

IF you believe the buck from Belmullet then he apparently had a deal in place with revenue and he was paying what he had agreed. The total was a very small amount anyway and the Sheriff still shut him down.

Hard to believe that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭shanec1928

Very true.

Personally I think it's such a cop out to say "revenue shut us down". Your not paying your bills like most other businesses is what shut you down. As for what revenue expects a viable business to pay, I better not start or
    I won't be able to stop.
    Shame to see them gone, they tried to do something a step above other places. Whether they succeeded or not is another thing but again this government both locally and nationally seem to want to shut businesses instead of encourage them. Especially here in Sligo.
    It wasn't the first time they done that either.

Very true.

I won't be able to stop.
    Whats the Govt. got to do with it?
    They didn't pay their bills and had to close down. They didn't tell the people they took hard earned cash from as deposits that they were going to pocket the money and give them nothing in return.
    I recall a couple of years ago a local plumber (i think it was) who had to put a picket on the place to get paid for work he had done and never got paid for.
    So it didn't all happen overnight.

magnumlady wrote: »

:mad: - thats shame, handy little to have a little cuppa sit down and snack when your out shopping in there

red sean wrote: »
    Whats the Govt. got to do with it?
    They didn't pay their bills and had to close down.

They set and collect ridiculous prohibitively high taxes and rates that small businesses are expected to pay and still survive. That's what Cromleach blamed their closure on. They blamed Revenue.

I do have some sympathy because I know first hand about these costs, but then most of the rest of us manage to pay our bills and don't take €500-€1000 cash deposits off people or leave suppliers unpaid.

They would have had the benefit of 9% rate there too wouldn't they, or was that axed?

9% rate remained after last budget, so they have better rates than other types of business.
    My sympathies lie with the employees, service providers, suppliers etc.
    Taxes are high for all of us but then services have to be paid for.
    And believe me after a long time in business I know!

red sean wrote: »
    9% rate remained after last budget, so they have better rates than other types of business.
    My sympathies lie with the employees, service providers, suppliers etc.
    Taxes are high for all of us but then services have to be paid for.
    And believe me after a long time in business I know!

I've spoken to two mutual suppliers just this morning who are owed substantial money on account.

well I hope someone else opens up the cafe upstairs in Dunnes cranmore again one day, even if its only for coffee, tea and snacks/biscuits/sandwiches (from downstairs) , i personally wouldnt even care if they didnt offer hot cooked meals any more to keep costs down but for standard refreshments i reckon its needed there.

It was handy alright. I've a few friends working in the revenue office and used often meet up with them there during their breaks. I could park and it saved them having to come up town.

magnumlady wrote: »

Oh! Didn't know that, that's also a shame, it was a grand cafe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭sligono1

Looking like the gloom is set to continue,saw a FB post about Fureys pub paul the guy that runs it saying that's it after 9 years his lease is up and that's it.im guessing it closing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,616 ✭✭✭✭Basq

sligono1 wrote: »
    Looking like the gloom is set to continue,saw a FB post about Fureys pub paul the guy that runs it saying that's it after 9 years his lease is up and that's it.im guessing it closing.
    It's a shame as Fureys was practically my local but it's been absolutely dead most nights I've been in lately.

And to be honest, Paul took on Connollys and that place is booming in comparison!

The Curiosity Shop on Harmony Hill has gone.