Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mega Mk7 Golf GTI/GTD/R thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭AutoMan79

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Yeah it'll likely be something like that - new lights and the digital dash in the Highline upwards.

Also, they said that the price will not change but digital dash will be super expensive probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭blingrhino

And maybe the R will have the upgraded engine and gearbox in that .

That is what im hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭JoeA3

AutoMan79 wrote: »
    Also, they said that the price will not change but digital dash will be super expensive probably.

It's standard in the Tiguan and Passat Highline. I'd expect they'd do likewise with the Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,044 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

on a side note, what do ye use to clean the dials/speedo etc?

I'm very cautious as I had a type r and it marked so easy :(

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

Yeah same here. Maybe a dab of glass cleaner if there's any stubborn marks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Mine actually had hairline scratches from the factory. Annoying, and by the time I noticed it no point going to the dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

You might be able to get a detailer to sort that if it was bothering you. I've seen binnacles removed and polished relatively easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭G00L

What sort of insurance are people paying on their R? I am close to signing the deal to get mine but just covering off on a few additional things. Running costs and insurance etc are the final thing i am looking at.

Tax of 570 is obviously not cheap but you dont get an R to save money. How have people found the running costs and insurance premiums? I have been quoted an increment of 120 until my next renewal date which is fine (annual equiv approx 240). However, thats no indication of future annual premium. Plus insurance markets are so volatile at the moment

G00L wrote: »
    What sort of insurance are people paying on their R? I am close to signing the deal to get mine but just covering off on a few additional things. Running costs and insurance etc are the final thing i am looking at.

Tax of 570 is obviously not cheap but you dont get an R to save money. How have people found the running costs and insurance premiums? I have been quoted an increment of 120 until my next renewal date which is fine (annual equiv approx 240). However, thats no indication of future annual premium. Plus insurance markets are so volatile at the moment

I wound up having an argument with my existing insurer the morning I was due to collect the car. They wanted about 300 off me to change over the car (from a GTI). Long story short, I ended up cancelling that policy and took out a new one that worked out a bit cheaper than the one I was on. I think the premium was about 550 and it's due for renewal again next month... I'm fearful it could be bad!

Main running cost is fuel... I average 27-29mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭blingrhino

€570 with RSA.

Clean licence and no points ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭G00L

G00L wrote: »

I wound up having an argument with my existing insurer the morning I was due to collect the car. They wanted about 300 off me to change over the car (from a GTI). Long story short, I ended up cancelling that policy and took out a new one that worked out a bit cheaper than the one I was on. I think the premium was about 550 and it's due for renewal again next month... I'm fearful it could be bad!

Main running cost is fuel... I average 27-29mpg.

The insurance market is so volatile at the moment. Been ringing a few today to try and gauge a cost.

You might be able to get a detailer to sort that if it was bothering you. I've seen binnacles removed and polished relatively easily.

Yeah I think I could probably have a good go myself, but it is only in direct sunlight so not a huge deal.

Gave it a good valet today, few things stick out. I'm doing a lot of driving at present so no point in going to town on it but still...

The paintwork already has lots of swirls. Will get a machine polish when my driving settles down in 3 months or so. Presently doing 500-750km a week so hard to keep clean. It came with a good few from the factory, as they all seem to do.

Flies are a disaster. Rotten little feckers that are harder to sort than tar!

The diamond cut Nogaro alloys are a disaster to keep looking well. The OEM finish is tarnishing already, and I have cleaned and sealed them regularly. Interestingly the one I got re-diamond cut by Collins engineering is holding up ok. Had to fill in some stone chips on the black part but not looking bad. Indistinguishable from the 3 factory finished ones.

MPG is interesting. 53 mpg or so if you set cruise to 110kph. Set it to 130kph on motorway yesterday and it dropped to 45mpg. So far with a mix of town to motorway driving 70/30 I am averaging 42mpg.

The stock sound system is very impressive. By far the best I've had. Great bass kick and loud.

Overall after 6 months I'm pretty satisfied. Although as is the way I am already browsing calzone again. Thinking a 4 series Gran coupe next. The question is if the 2.0 is powerful enough, I'm getting very used to the 184bhp at this stage.

The diamond cut wheels are a pain in the arse. Be careful of what cleaners you use (avoid anything acidic) as that'll definitely accelerate the deterioration! If they've started corroding already and it isn't due to kerbing / abuse, I'd show them to the dealer. I know of lads who've had them replaced under warranty.

Ya I only use acid free cleaner. Usually don't use any at all. I'll give them a proper look over before I go for the first service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Is this one of you lot?

I thought you had free servicing thrown in for a few years, but obviously not.

Is this one of you lot?

I thought you had free servicing thrown in for a few years, but obviously not.

I know of him but I don't think he posts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

I can't view the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

^^^ He has a few videos including a review of his car.

Yeah this is actually quite good, well put together....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Neilw

OSI wrote: »
    Was only looking at the clock approaching 5k and thinking of doing an oil change myself. Considered myself mad, but at least I know there are others just as dedicated :pac:

I'm going to do one soon, 7k on mine. 50 euro would cover it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Neilw wrote: »
    I'm going to do one soon, 7k on mine. 50 euro would cover it.

Given what it is, would you not spend the extra 50 quid or so and get it done by vw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Neilw

Given what it is, would you not spend the extra 50 quid or so and get it done by vw?

Yeah I could do alright, it's always nice to see extra work with a cars history.
    I would have thought an oil change would be a fair bit more than €100 from VW?

Neilw wrote: »
    Yeah I could do alright, it's always nice to see extra work with a cars history.
    I would have thought an oil change would be a fair bit more than €100 from VW?

I'd say more like €150.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Fireball14013

Why would you spend more money to get an inferior job done though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

My main problem with main dealers is handing my car over to them,i've heard to many stories from customers (members here) and a friend who worked in a main dealer once.

I was in ordering some parts lately and the parts guy in Audi was putting the big sell on for getting an oil change done there, you could get free AA membership for a year and (possible) goodwill from Audi in the case of any future big jobs, i still went with a trusted Indie.

tossy wrote: »
    My main problem with main dealers is handing my car over to them,i've heard to many stories from customers (members here) and a friend who worked in a main dealer once.

I was in ordering some parts lately and the parts guy in Audi was putting the big sell on for getting an oil change done there, you could get free AA membership for a year and (possible) goodwill from Audi in the case of any future big jobs, i still went with a trusted Indie.

For a new car under warranty you really do need to bring it to the main dealers. If you've ever got issues during the warranty period and you haven't been getting it serviced with them you'll be asking for hassle and aggravation.

Having said that, I'm not fond of handing the keys over to them either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

For a new car under warranty you really do need to bring it to the main dealers. If you've ever got issues during the warranty period and you haven't been getting it serviced with them you'll be asking for hassle and aggravation.

Once genuine parts are used they can't say anything.

tossy wrote: »
    Once genuine parts are used they can't say anything.

Technically yes, but if they know the car and they are familiar with you dropping it into them for services as a regular customer you'll just have a far easier life all round in my experience. I've had warranty issues resolved with zero fuss in the past whereas I know of lads who've had hassle... it depends on the dealers too I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I wanted to get the Audi serviced elsewhere but they said the warranty would be void even going to Newmarket Motors who are VW dealers. This was Audi Cork but amazingly there was no problem getting it done in VW Fermoy which is the same company..

The first time they washed it with a brush leaving marks everywhere and then the last service i found a huge handprint of oil on the front pillar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Think I saw that handprint on a facebook page. I was thinking if it was an S-Line you would'nt have seen it!:pac: