Pokemon go

sticker wrote: »
    Anyone know if the save / profile is saved on the account server file.. Beith Google acount or Pokemon Trainer server account or is the profile saved locally on the device?

My son has a brand new ipod touch 6 but it won't work outside with pokemon go... such a shame

It's saved with whatever service you use to sign up with, so you can sign in and use it on any device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Anyone know if the save / profile is saved on the account server file.. Beith Google acount or Pokemon Trainer server account or is the profile saved locally on the device?

My son has a brand new ipod touch 6 but it won't work outside with pokemon go... such a shame

Your profile is linked to the google or PTC account its not saved locally on the phone so you can sign into it on another device or after deleting the app and your progress will be saved

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Yeah you need internet/gps on the whole time to work unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭MillField

I'm not ashamed to say that I stopped about 4 times while walking into work today to catch Pokemon.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭sticker

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Yeah you need internet/gps on the whole time to work unfortunately.

Such a shame, shelled out a good few bob for this device for my 8 year old son and now that the monster app has landed that we can both enjoy together and he has to borrow his mothers phone - who not a happy camper!

Any ideas to the most budget price to run Pokemon Go?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Such a shame, shelled out a good few bob for this device for my 8 year old son and now that the monster app has landed that we can both enjoy together and he has to borrow his mothers phone - who not a happy camper!

Depending on what phone you have, i know the iphones can be used as a hotspot so he can use the same internet as you when you're with him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

eevee hack for anyone who wasn't aware ...

http://www.ew.com/article/2016/07/16/pokemon-go-eevee-evolution-hack

Renamed one as Rainer & got the Vaporean so looks like it's a legit hack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Wonder what I'll catch on the way to work, I see there's a clam a ghost and rattata nearby. More interested in the pokestops. I want an egg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

Got a seel from an egg. Caught 10 new ones this morning. Visited a gym, 2 powerful yellows in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

Is distance traveled available in the app or are people basing it off eggs they've hatched?

The only thing this phone doesn't have is 4g and with 3's all you can eat data he'd be grand.

Huawei ascend y330.

Noxin wrote: »
    Is distance traveled available in the app or are people basing it off eggs they've hatched?

When click on your player as in thing bottom left then scroll down, I thought the same.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

DuffleBag wrote: »
    Depending on what phone you have, i know the iphones can be used as a hotspot so he can use the same internet as you when you're with him out.

But his device has to have GPS or at least A-GPS to work from what I know.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Sell it and get an actual phone and a data plan. You should end up saving money overall with a low to mid range Android phone.

Weird bug today. Sat down at my desk and there were two Pokemon, a platypus and a fox thing. Caught the platypus, which is rubbish but it would not let me Tap the fox thing which turns out to be evee which is rare around these parts. Needless to say simce restarting the app there have been no Pokemon in the vicinity.

JamboMac wrote: »
    When click on your player as in thing bottom left then scroll down, I thought the same.

Ahh I see it now. Never noticed it before. Nice one.

Noxin wrote: »
    Ahh I see it now. Never noticed it before. Nice one.

I don't have that, just a list of medals

One of them says distance walked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

The jogger medal will tell you.

Yup I was passing over all the medals as well, until I noticed the first one is called jogger. :P

Ah, should have checked. Thanks.
    The distance thing is totally messed up. It failed to register a metre of my cycle to work but counted 400 metres while there phone was sitting on my desk!

Are there male and female versions of every Pokemon?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Walked 12km playing yesterday as I had like 99km done and wanted the 100km award, so thought I'd have a good long walk witha fresh egg...Came back and it registered less than a KM, annoying eh! But still that's another 12KM I wouldn't have walked.

8O0DXtu.png?1

At least I have it ow this morning.

Just Nidoran.

No just nidoran has male and female listed as different ones

Ah, should have checked. Thanks.
    The distance thing is totally messed up. It failed to register a metre of my cycle to work but counted 400 metres while there phone was sitting on my desk!

You can actually use that to your advantage. I figured that if you have the app open and leave it alone until the screen blacks out after a minute, wait about 15 seconds and when you click a button to open the phone youll notice your GPS will try catch up and you end up running around for a bit on the map and it counts towards your distance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

lads trying to play this in cork and theres feck all pokemon, pokestops, gyms nothing.

seems like a terrible game so far anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I swear half the eggs I've hatched has been the GPS spazzing out and walking for me. :p

slingerz wrote: »
    lads trying to play this in cork and theres feck all pokemon, pokestops, gyms nothing.

Depends where you are, rural areas are pretty barren, suburbs have some stuff in them and cities are pretty densely populated

How close are you to a city or a village, they should have things. Anybody who got an egg what level where you. all i get is pokeballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

Where are you based? The city centre is very busy, people have lures set off in the parks most evenings. I'm in Wilton and it's a bit quieter but around the shopping centre has a few stops and is good for stocking up on pidgeys for evolving.

Are hatched eggs guaranteed to contain Pokemon you don't already have?