Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Open 2016 - Official Thread - Read OP before you go on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,698 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Thats just naked pacism and should have no bearing on whether he deserves a major or not.
    Lowest score wins. And deserves to win. Thems the rules of golf.

Don't agree with that. We need more people to be pacisit.

Every corner of the golfing world up to the R&A and anyone who cares or writes about the game are trying to rid the game of it.

The rules will be changed more if required. And they will.

He walked about 50 yards on the first to read a green for a chip shot.

But sorry, not on.

Anyway - Phil deserves to get as many majors as possible - so Phil for me anyway.

We have to face lads like Stenson in mid 30s every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

How many 50 yard shots did Phil pace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,698 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

How many 50 yard shots did Phil pace?

Is true too in fairness :)

But at least with Phil it is worth waiting - Henrik got a par.

Not just that - his routine is obnoxious to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,246 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Don't think you can blame any player for taking a bit of time over a shot.
    Surveying a shot like that is fine IMO. What is torture is when Jason Day closes his eyes and says a decade of the rosary before every shot....
    Once they keep up with the guys in front though, can't really complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

It may only be a 2 horse race but I really enjoyed that, the lead constantly changing between the 2, more of the same tomorrow please.

That snapper clicking on Phils backswing on 18 was, as he said himself "so sh1tty"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,943 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Is there a reason the marker for Monty plays the round? Could he not just mark the card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Mushy wrote: »
    Is there a reason the marker for Monty plays the round? Could he not just mark the card?

I'd imagine the caddy is sick to the teeth of him and his stories and wants someone else to chat to him.:D

J Rahm has the look of DJ about him, just with a bit of winter weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭Panrich

razorblunt wrote: »
    The Beef though, what a character.

I'm not seeing this fascination with Johnston. He certainly has a bit of a back story but he could do with taking a clippers to that beard for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

"Smile everybody. Give us a wave." Di Dougherty's attempts at banter are fairly excruciating....work in progress for sky on the filler front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭Beaulieu

Yeah agree completely re Di Dougherty. She's been a huge disappointment -lightweight and cringworthy. Henni Zuel is excellent -just the right balance of a bit of craic mixed with decent knowledge of the game as an ex European pro.
    Sky have raised the bar to a whole new level - jaw droppingly good at times.

Beaulieu wrote: »
    Yeah agree completely re Di Dougherty. She's been a huge disappointment -lightweight and cringworthy. Henni Zuel is excellent -just the right balance of a bit of craic mixed with decent knowledge of the game as an ex European pro.

She doesn't seem very comfortable in the role I don't think, actually not sure what exactly her role is in Sky golf any more anyway. I think Nick is a bit lightweight too to be honest, nice enough guy but don't think he says anything very interesting ever. Never going to criticise ex-buddy pros for a start.

The coverage is fine really, only a few token complaints, though still need by beeb fix in the evenings just to satisfy my fusty old traditionalist leanings ;)

Magic of the Postage Stamp: update Day Four.

116 yards: Adam Scott 7 iron to 20 feet. Happy to walk off with par.

Panrich wrote: »
    I'm not seeing this fascination with Johnston. He certainly has a bit of a back story but he could do with taking a clippers to that beard for a start.

There seems to be an unwritten rule in golf, the more crap the beard is the more likable the guy, there was Lowry and De Laet before this.

Though De Laet's beard is pretty impressive.

Beaulieu wrote: »

Di has been presenting that show aimed at kids that's on before Soccer AM, it comes across as she's very much in the "kids tv presenter mode".

I agree with Nick Dougherty being too lightweight also, I know you don't need to have won multiple times to offer insight, but he doesn't seem to say anything of note.

I guess, ordinarily they would have expected Howell to be there but his resurgence has kept him busy across tournaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

First time I've heard the new starter. Not the same without Ivor! :(

Di has been presenting that show aimed at kids that's on before Soccer AM, it comes across as she's very much in the "kids tv presenter mode".

I agree with Nick Dougherty being too lightweight also, I know you don't need to have won multiple times to offer insight, but he doesn't seem to say anything of note.

I guess, ordinarily they would have expected Howell to be there but his resurgence has kept him busy across tournaments.

Didn't know that, it does explain quite a lot alright, particularly the handing out the free muffins as if they were candy bit. Sounds like saturday morning sky is all about the kids and kidults then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Do you know that beef is a real character ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭dball

its just beef no need for the "that" did you know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

How long did it take them to mention the beef was a character! I wouldn't have known ..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Rory missing tiddler after tiddler and that's such a pity. He should be 3 under now

He should really be -7 or -8 if you take all the week's missed tiddlers into account which would be an excellent performance given he got the worst of the draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Mango Joe wrote: »
    Would Rory even make the Olympics at this rate? Seems to be a very average player and a deeply unpleasant person.

The very average player who wouldn't qualify for the Irish Olympic team is in 6th place and leading Irish man by 7 shots after being on the wrong side of the draw.

Harmon with the claws out on Clarke's weight gain, has the "eating too much" condition he says.

He's not wrong though, press circuit screwing with the gym plans I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Panrich wrote: »
    I'm not seeing this fascination with Johnston

Wha ? :confused:

English : check
    Journeyman who has won nothing of note : check
    Adopts 'just glad to be here' air : check
    Up the leaderboard of his 'home' Open : check
    Smiles : check
    Down to earth unpolished interviewee : check
    On Sky, so looking for any cheap angle to talk up : check
    Nickname : check. And bonus points for a unique and odd one. And double bonus points for one the crowd can hoot.

=> is a 'character'.

The guy's got it all.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Harmon with the claws out on Clarke's weight gain, has the "eating too much" condition he says.

He's not wrong though, press circuit screwing with the gym plans I'd say.
    Laid into Na earlier too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

Sky's coverage has been okay but they are really going overboard with this Andrew Johnston crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Solid drive from Mickleson but he looks very nervous - looked more like a rookie than a Major winner!

Stenson looks quite determined!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

PropJoe10 wrote: »
    Sky's coverage has been okay but they are really going overboard with this Andrew Johnston crap

Beeeeeeeeeef!! Nice birdie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

That's the problem when it's a two horse race for two full days. Nothing to talk about or to show that matters apart from the final two ball

Havent had even the two full days yet. The problem with two horse races in golf is that it can fizzle out very quickly if one starts moving forward and the other backward in the first few holes. Could be all over by hole 6. Beef battling valiantly for a 3 spot, being a character and all, could be as exciting as it gets.