Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did Gardai destroy possible burial site of Irelands longest missing child?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

She didn't say she was being overcharged.

She just showed what they were charging her:

https://mobile.twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/750028466578395136?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw
    well people are complaining about it and she is using it to take petty swipes at rte which seems a bit childish. Margo said other stations would run the doc if the cut it, presumably so they would not get sued. Gemma does not have to worry about being sued if 13k is a bit cost to her. RTE would have to worry about being sued

She needs to stop this petty bitterness at RTE and get on with her documentary and concentrate on Mary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

well done. any video?

I just caught them on Twitter, there are a load now. Great turn out, and some good pictures.
    No doubt there's a video in there amongst them.

https://twitter.com/search?q=%23maryboyle&src=typd

https://twitter.com/search?q=%23countmyfeet&src=typd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

The big unknown is whether it is the going rate or whether it is gouging.

Allowing for the fact that it was not for personal usage, the documentary doesn't look to have any commercial viability at this point, so it would have been difficult for RTE to assign a commercial value to it.

Imagine what it would have cost had it been for broadcast by an independent film maker of a documentary to be broadcast on RTE.

100,000 hits on a youtube video won't pay the bill.

There is no reason to think, not mind say believe, that anything other than a commercial value was quoted for inclusion in the documentary.

Whether or not the docu has any commercial value at THIS time is completely immaterial and could never have been predicted, either by the owner and much much less by RTE. Even if it could I doubt it would have any bearing on the licence fee.

Do you believe that RTE would not have been charged a fee if they wished to air this docu? Would that have been gouging too?

I don't.
    I think it is disgraceful.

I agree with demonstrating, but this is going too far altogether.

I don't.

it is disgraceful to get away with murdering child for 40 years

Yes, and two wrongs never ever made anything right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 JohnCash0260

I don't.

What exactly is wrong with it?

Yes, and two wrongs never ever made anything right!
    correct

but the sign is not a wrong. it is true isn't it? what do youthink is wrong with it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

There is no reason to think, not mind say believe, that anything other than a commercial value was quoted for inclusion in the documentary.

Whether or not the docu has any commercial value at THIS time is completely immaterial and could never have been predicted, either by the owner and much much less by RTE. Even if it could I doubt it would have any bearing on the licence fee.

Do you believe that RTE would not have been charged a fee if they wished to air this docu? Would that have been gouging too?

My point was that no one knows if it was gouging or not.

If RTE regularly charges 12 grand for three minutes.

Their charges are not mentioned on their web page.

Perhaps they are made up as they go along, perhaps not, do you know?

As for the commercial status of the documentary. The documentary currently has the same commercial value as anything else that is free to watch on YouTube, sfa.

If RTE does decide to broadcast it, then it becomes a commercial product.

Apparently it's so un commercial no broadcaster will touch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

Im the big handsome guy at the front with the FOR sign :)

great turnout , restores your faith in people

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    Im the big handsome guy at the front with the FOR sign :)

great turnout , restores your faith in people
    well done. any news from being on the spot?

391889.jpg

This is what I posted about and object to. Somehow it was not included in my quote and a video link got inserted in its place.

"Child Killer at Large
    Protected by Corrupt Local Politician"

This is not in any way proved and indeed might well not be the case.
    Regardless what people believe, I consider such 'statements' to be totally out of place on such a march.

well done. any news from being on the spot?

great crowd, more than expected , some really nice speeches, and a very poignant vigil with a group of kids letting 6 white Balloons go outside the Garda station and people tying their purple ribbons to the bush outside the garda station and leaving lighted candles

Couldnt have went better really, sun even shown , so proud of everyone today and massive credit to Naomi for creating the event and keeping it politics free and all about Mary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,995 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Fair play to Margo - it's reported that she decided not to attend so as not to take attention away from the main issue.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Cliff Walker

Garda press office shill Paul Reynolds was almost having an Orgasm on the news at 1 when he Came on to report the digging yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Garda press office shill Paul Reynolds was almost having an Orgasm on the news at 1 when he Came on to report the digging yesterday.

In what way did he come across about the dig?

Esel wrote: »
    Fair play to Margo - it's reported that she decided not to attend so as not to take attention away from the main issue.

yes this is true and she could have been there no problem, she had a short speech read out to the crowd

391889.jpg

This is what I posted about and object to. Somehow it was not included in my quote and a video link got inserted in its place.

"Child Killer at Large
    Protected by Corrupt Local Politician"

This is not in any way proved and indeed might well not be the case.
    Regardless what people believe, I consider such 'statements' to be totally out of place on such a march.

people are entitled to their opinions, & that happens to be an opinion that a lot of people share on this issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 evancostello

should have kept the crazies away.They are entitled to free expression but with that come responsibility to do so in a fair way. Thats is not remotely fair. You cannot ask for justice for Mary by visiting injustice on someone els. Shame on you

people are entitled to their opinions, & that happens to be an opinion that a lot of people share on this issue

That is not expressing an individual opinion, or even a collective one.
    That is making a public statement ...... something completely different .... and by implication involving all others in the march too.

should have kept the crazies away.They are entitled to free expression but with that come responsibility to do so in a fair way. Thats is not remotely fair. You cannot ask for justice for Mary by visiting injustice on someone els. Shame on you

wow another Negative comment from you , how surprising

yes this is true and she could have been there no problem, she had a short speech read out to the crowd

I would say that Margo maybe should stick to singing but on second thoughts..... I am not a fan.

The march is about raising the focus on Mary Boyle and should be about anything or anybody else.

That is not expressing an individual opinion, or even a collective one.
    That is making a public statement ...... something completely different .... and by implication involving all others in the march too.

there was a few people holding those placards, they were entitled too , i would have held one if i wasnt asked to go up the front

yes they are making a public statement , dont you get it ??? a corrupt politician is covering up for a child killer in our opinion .. what would you suggest we hold on our placards instead

wow another Negative comment from you , how surprising

free sxtressing Oran . Play the ball not the man

I would say that Margo maybe should stick to singing but on second thoughts..... I am not a fan.

The march is about raising the focus on Mary Boyle and should be about anything or anybody else.

as you give a Fúck about Mary Boyle every single post you have made on here has been negative about our campaign, nothing constructive to say and now descending into personal abuse .. and your account was solely made to post on here so far , away and slither back on to a fianna fail forum with the rest of the snakes from that party

free sxtressing Oran . Play the ball not the man

i have no idea what the means , my name isnt Oran either

there was a few people holding those placards, they were entitled too , i would have held one if i wasnt asked to go up the front

yes they are making a public statement , dont you get it ??? a corrupt politician is covering up for a child killer in our opinion .. what would you suggest we hold on our placards instead

I hope you are bang on about that and you are never on the wrong side of the law and the law just decide to paster your details for all to see. mob rule

i have no idea what the means , my name isnt Oran either

you know means it means. free expression whoever you are. play the ball. Know what that means???.