Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did Gardai destroy possible burial site of Irelands longest missing child?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

Doesn't everyone have to pay to use archives? How much more than normal was she charged?
    She thinks 13k for 3.5 mins of footage is a bit steep.
    I don't know what the rate is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

Can't see it, can see talk about it, but not what it's about?

Laois Td and Foreign Trade Minister Charlie Fitzgerald has replied on twitter about a story on mary that Newstalks twitter team posted

his reply? - zzz

he soon took it down, but its been screenshotted & being passed around twitter , unfortunatley my computer is playing up

unreal the **** these people get away with

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    Laois Td and Foreign Trade Minister Charlie Fitzgerald has replied on twitter about a story on mary that Newstalks twitter team posted

his reply? - zzz

he soon took it down, but its been screenshotted & being passed around twitter , unfortunatley my computer is playing up

sorry charlie Flanagan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 JohnCash0260

Does anyone here know the name of this politician who allegedly hindered the investigation?
    I heard someone denied being the person responsible this morning.

We do but it's better not to say. From well known family. Have a look on Twitter and YouTube videos. I'm sure you'll come across him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

sorry charlie Flanagan

I'm not excusing it, but like I said earlier about the politician who closed his FB account, he may not be controlling his own Twitter account.

It could be someone with access to the account.

Makes it no less excusable, and an explanation should be demanded regardless.

An explanation, and an apology from Flanagan.

EDIT:

http://www.politwoops.co.uk/p/fine-gael/CharlieFlanagan

https://mobile.twitter.com/pmbairrins/status/753983631652220928?p=v

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Gemma ODoherty is reporting that Garda Collins has confirmed political interference in the Mary Boyle case

So what was his earlier comment about, I wonder?

I'm not excusing it, but like I said earlier about the politician who closed his FB account, he may not be controlling his own Twitter account.

It could be someone with access to the account.

Makes it no less excusable, and an explanation should be demanded regardless.

An explanation, and an apology from Flanagan.

EDIT:

http://www.politwoops.co.uk/p/fine-gael/CharlieFlanagan

https://mobile.twitter.com/pmbairrins/status/753983631652220928?p=v

i meant to reply to that post earlier about that politician who closed his FB down , he wasn't asked if he was the politician concerned , he was merley asked would he help the family seeing as he was local , the person posting the question to him never accused him once or even alluded to it.

and an hour later his facebook was gone with no reply

and for the record it is him who is believed to be the one involved , his actions say it all imo

i meant to reply to that post earlier about that politician who closed his FB down , he wasn't asked if he was the politician concerned , he was merley asked would he help the family seeing as he was local , the person posting the question to him never accused him once or even alluded to it.

and an hour later his facebook was gone with no reply

and for the record it is him who is believed to be the one involved , his actions say it all imo

What if he'd answered "yes, leave it with me"?

Or "no"?

An avalanche of further comments that he'd be able sue over, either way?

And none of it makes any difference in terms of proof of any involvement, other than proving his facebook account was closed/deleted, that's all I'm saying.

It's certainly odd behaviour, but it doesn't tell "me" he's guilty of anything.

It could feed the rumours but that's all.

Charlie Flanagan's situation is different, his deleted tweet needs to be explained because it looked like he was saying that he was being bored by the subject.

And then changed his mind about saying it.

Wonder will newstalk ask him what he meant?

Best of luck with the march today.

What if he'd answered "yes, leave it with me"?

Or "no"?

An avalanche of further comments that he'd be able sue over, either way?

And none of it makes any difference in terms of proof of any involvement, other than proving his facebook account was closed/deleted, that's all I'm saying.

It's certainly odd behaviour, but it doesn't tell "me" he's guilty of anything.

It could feed the rumours but that's all.

Charlie Flanagan's situation is different, his deleted tweet needs to be explained because it looked like he was saying that he was being bored by the subject.

And then changed his mind about saying it.

Wonder will newstalk ask him what he meant?

Best of luck with the march today.

Thank you I have asked newstalk to comment ,hopefully others can ask them too I had also rang pat the cope the day before he went public to warn him that people suspected it was him, so I know what you are saying but compara and contrast both reactions , if the 2nd one had nothing to hide he could simply say so just like pat the cope did

brooke 2 wrote: »
    So what was his earlier comment about, I wonder?

It's hard to know. Maybe the pressure got to him. Probably confirmed to Gemma after that there was interference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

his reply? - zzz

https://twitter.com/JJCONeill/status/754248246114025472

and
    https://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/754243302145331200

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

It's hard to know. Maybe the pressure got to him. Probably confirmed to Gemma after that there was interference.
    Collins needs to explain himself and so does gemma if she is relying on him as a credible witness. If a suspect behaved like that Collins is the very person who would find it suspicious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Does anyone here know the name of this politician who allegedly hindered the investigation?
    I heard someone denied being the person responsible this morning.
    We do but it's better not to say. From well known family. Have a look on Twitter and YouTube videos. I'm sure you'll come across him.

Tayto Lover knows exactly what he's doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Ted111 wrote: »
    Tayto Lover knows exactly what he's doing.

Which is?

frag420 wrote: »
    Which is?

Trying to get the guy named therefore hindering any possible trial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Doesn't everyone have to pay to use archives? How much more than normal was she charged?

As said €13.5k for 3.5 minutes of footage. Over on Broadsheet a poster there said RTE runs the archive service for general members of the public and that he had gotten an hour long program from them for personal use only, the cost was €70 so yeah a massive difference between that and €13.5k
    this is the documentary im pretty sure that the producers of which refused Gemma O D to use , so would be pretty hard to find id wager, if i recall this is the one that had a reconstruction of Marys last moments and was made in conjunction with the garda, no mentions of Red VW beetles in it though

It certainly would be good to see it in light of Gemmas documentary and new developments. Highly unlikely anyone has copied it from 2008 and posited it online but as said above it would be available from RTE Archives for €70

Collins needs to explain himself and so does gemma if she is relying on him as a credible witness. If a suspect behaved like that Collins is the very person who would find it suspicious

He does, as long as her latest report is true.

But I think she would have to be bonkers to have made it up.

Yet, nothing has come of her now supposedly having the politician's name.

And it is plausible to think that nothing will.

What can come of it?

Another gentle informal questioning, to which the responses can be "no" or "don't remember".

She can threaten to put it into the public domain, to call someone's bluff, but it's risky, even for her.

IF there's collusion in a cover up there's more than 1 or 2 coppers in on it.

She needs another couple to come on board.

If Collins had thought he'd been in any way misrepresented in the documentary surely he could have alluded to it during the subsequent newspaper interview.

He didn't but yet he said the phone call had nothing to do with the case and that there was a cover up but that it wasnt political or gardai.

Something is definitely not right.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    As said €13.5k for 3.5 minutes of footage. Over on Broadsheet a poster there said RTE runs the archive service for general members of the public and that he had gotten an hour long program from them for personal use only, the cost was €70 so yeah a massive difference between that and €13.5k

It certainly would be good to see it in light of Gemmas documentary and new developments. Highly unlikely anyone has copied it from 2008 and posited it online but as said above it would be available from RTE Archives for €70
    a poster can say anything on broadsheet. And there are probably different rates for private individuals to watch at home as distincet from someone making a documentary available to the world. If Gemma thinks she was overcharged she should say what the normal fee is and show evidence of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 DonegalTech

Does anybody have any of the psychics findings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

Ah here, you're not going to try to muddy the waters with mumbo jumbo are you?

I know this is the CT forum (and don't think this thread belongs here in any case), but let's stick to plausible ideas and information..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 DonegalTech

UsedToWait wrote: »

Ah here, you're not going to try to muddy the waters with mumbo jumbo are you?

I know this is the CT forum (and don't think this thread belongs here in any case), but let's stick to plausible ideas and information..

The psychic was brought over and apparently worked with the Gardai, so I am curious as to what the outcome of that work was.

a poster can say anything on broadsheet. And there are probably different rates for private individuals to watch at home as distincet from someone making a documentary available to the world. If Gemma thinks she was overcharged she should say what the normal fee is and show evidence of that

She didn't say she was being overcharged.

She just showed what they were charging her:

https://mobile.twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/750028466578395136?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

Commercial use is completely different to personal use, and without doubt requires a different level of payments.

As I understand it the intention was to have the documentary carried by commercial stations, so the content would have to be correctly licenced.

Commercial use is completely different to personal use, and without doubt requires a different level of payments.

As I understand it the intention was to have the documentary carried by commercial stations, so the content would have to be correctly licenced.

It seems from here that costs would be outlined during initial enquiries:

http://www.rte.ie/archives/sales/2015/0722/716459-sales-and-services/

She may not have been deterred by the cost but wanted to show how much it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

to be fair, there's a massive difference between buying footage from the archive for personal use and buying it for commercial use.

€13.5k doesn't sound particularly steep for footage which is fairly crucial to her documentary, which is getting loads of hits and which may well end up broadcast at some point, in some form.

RGDATA! wrote: »
    to be fair, there's a massive difference between buying footage from the archive for personal use and buying it for commercial use.

€13.5k doesn't sound particularly steep for footage which is fairly crucial to her documentary, which is getting loads of hits and which may well end up broadcast at some point, in some form.

The big unknown is whether it is the going rate or whether it is gouging.

Allowing for the fact that it was not for personal usage, the documentary doesn't look to have any commercial viability at this point, so it would have been difficult for RTE to assign a commercial value to it.

Imagine what it would have cost had it been for broadcast by an independent film maker of a documentary to be broadcast on RTE.

100,000 hits on a youtube video won't pay the bill.

The other cop in the documentary has rubbished the red car story that was in the star according to Gemma O'Doherty.

https://mobile.twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/754319115469193217?p=v

Gemma O Doherty claims ex Det. Murray has dismissed Coughlan's recent claims.

He said that Coughlan told him in 1977 there were no cars seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall