Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nice - Bastille day **mod warning post 1**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Let's have a quick tally of today. So far the people posting here have killed... None. Religious nuts have killed 80+.

Can you point me to where it says this guy was an extremest? Usually they're fairly quick to state these details but all we know so far about the man and his attack is this:
    • He was 31.
    • He was French-Tunisian.
    • He was not on French intelligence services' watch list.
    • He was known to local police in connection with theft and violence offences.
    • The rifles in the vehicle were replicas and the one grenade was inactive.
    • He used a hand gun after stopping the vehicle.
    • He killed 84 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Adventagious

evil_seed wrote: »
    We can't let the terrorists win. We have to keep on trucking

It's not clever, it's boring and a bit pathetic. You happy with your little joke?

There's dark humor and there's stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've had to use the report button more times in the last three minutes than I have in the last three years. Some of ye need to take a wee step back and remember what the thread is about, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,951 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I'm Irish, I was born and raised here. I can't suddenly become American tomorrow If I want to.

My mate Tariq is Muslim, he was born and raised a Muslim. He can become a Catholic tomorrow if he wants to.

Your argument is ridiculous.

But according to some a French Muslim born in France isn't French and should be deported to his parents or grandparents homeland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,204 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Awful attack , but goes to show if someone wants to kill , they dont have to have explosives / gun training.
    84 dead and 50 injuref the last i heard . RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭IrishTrajan

So as an Irish born Muslim, born of Irish parents with Irish grandparents, where exactly would you be deporting me , my Nieces, my grand nieces and nephews to exactly???
    Because I will not be compelled to deny my religious beliefs because of the ignorance and bigotry of others!

To whatever country will take you. Once your nieces and nephews are of age, they can also be given the option to drop Islam or leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

:(

There's always that moment where you're afraid that it might be someone you know.

Ya, had friends out there last week.

I was on the prom in Nice myself last summer on a lazy sumemrs night like yesterday with lots of families and tourists mingling about.

I happened to watch a fireworks display in Canne that same week and it was thronged, no where to move or go on the prom. I cannot imagine what it would have been like standing in a crwod like that while a truck barrels down on you. God almighty....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I understand that people cope with tragedies in different ways. But this is neither the time nor the place to be making jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Did anyone hear the interview on Sky News at about 12 last night? It was an English woman who was describing how she escaped the carnage by have to use the toilet. At the end she said she was upset because "I'm upset because this has ruined my shopping trip, I bought a load of stuff, and now I can't enjoy it"

People react in strange ways to trauma look at the woman in the car when her boyfriend was shot in the US last week filmed it dispassionately as if it was happening to someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

So as an Irish born Muslim, born of Irish parents with Irish grandparents, where exactly would you be deporting me , my Nieces, my grand nieces and nephews to exactly???
    Because I will not be compelled to deny my religious beliefs because of the ignorance and bigotry of others!

..as long as the ignorance and bigotry is on your terms, eh. [nudge] [nudge] [wink] [wink] ;)

If that is what is required.

The EU has an economy of over $18.5 trillion, we make up 20% of the entire world's economy. Do you really think cutting trade with North Africa is going to cripple us and not them?

We stop sending beef to the middle east they stop sending oil to us, who's economy grinds to a halt 1st?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Hurtbuthealing

To whatever country will take you. Once your nieces and nephews are of age, they can also be given the option to drop Islam or leave.

Wont be happening Kiddo
    I am Irish, I am an EU Citizen, my rights are guaranteed both under the Irish Constitution and the European Convention on Human Rights.
    So tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

tomofson wrote: »
    Nothing as of yet to suggest he was muslim, so keep the hate preaching to yourself for now

Don't kid yourself, you know as aswell as I do what group of people are responsible for this. Isis supporters are praising the attack on Twitter and there are (albeit unconfirmed reports) that Isis have claimed responsibility.

elefant wrote: »
    More concerned about, sure.

But if you're being serious (I have some doubts) then the views that you hold are representative of something that is also very much to be feared.

There's a reason people like me have developed the views they have, and it's because the centre and the left have refused to even acknowledge the problem of Islamism for years, and now we have another 80+ Europeans lying dead because of it. It's just fúcking infuriating that lives are being lost because people don't want to acknowledge a problem.

My girlfriend is Turkish, but if it means I have to leave Ireland with her and deport every other Muslim, then it's what I will do because something has to change before more children have their fúcking skulls crushed in by some Islamist cúnt whose parents shít him out in a European country.

Every other policy has failed, from assimilation and integration to multiculturalism. Holding hands and playing nice is not going to solve this problem.

We stop sending beef to the middle east they stop sending oil to us, who's economy grinds to a halt 1st?

I think you should look at who we import oil from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭dinorebel

I've not said we should bomb them or shoot them or stab them.

Maybe but I'm sure you'd love to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,436 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Jaypers, go easy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭conorhal

tomofson wrote: »
    Nothing as of yet to suggest he was muslim, so keep the hate preaching to yourself for now

To the absolute surprise of nobody:

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/driver-in-nice-attack-was-frenchtunisian-man-known-to-police-34886121.html

It's now time for you to move on to the, religion of peace, only a tiny minority, this isn't true islam defence of the indefensible with lashings of whataboutery for good measure.

My girlfriend is Turkish, but if it means I have to leave Ireland with her and deport every other Muslim, then it's what I will do because something has to change before more children have their fúcking skulls crushed in by some Islamist cúnt whose parents shít him out in a European country.

You're ruining the Irish bloodline you absolute animal. What are you doing? Something has to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

Mena wrote: »
    Not really sure what's more concerning; the rise of radical religious nuts around Europe, or the foaming, keyboard radicals (you're just as bad FFS) posting here.

Isn't their an age limit on boards?

Let's have a quick tally of today. So far the people posting here have killed... None. Religious nuts have killed 80+.

Quite sure you can extrapolate from that which group you should be more concerned about.

Yet. You're displaying the same lunatic ideas these people subscribe to. The fact you're blind to it is what's most concerning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

One of the main things that EU countries subscribe to is not to discriminate against its citizens on the basis of religious affiliation. So your question is rendered irrelevant really

So how come Germany has banned Scientology, they literally just said No, you aren't a religion. Why can't the west just do that? CPO all mosques, build playgrounds or parks where they once stood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

conorhal wrote: »

Search for Muslim: 0 results.
    Search for ISIS: 0 results.

dinorebel wrote: »
    Maybe but I'm sure you'd love to.

I most definitely wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Incitement to hatred? I've not called for them to be attacked, I've not said we should bomb them or shoot them or stab them. I've said we should deport them. That's not incitement to hatred, I'm not hating on anyone. I'm offering a solution to a problem.

A problem that just saw men, women and children crushed into the gravel because some prick decided today was the day.

So by your logic, which is totally flawed, hatred can only be expressed physically, and even then it's limited to bombing, shooting or stabbing. So inflicting pain. Are you actually for real? Deporting an entire religion is not hatred? Is it compassion, love? Your suggestions are not solutions to a problem, it's a solution to xenophobia. Your suggestions will only compound the problem.

Oh, and to your earlier idiotic statement regarding implementing economic sanctions to those who refuse to accept our deportees. Last time I checked, Ireland was a very small Island, which is very far from an economical power house, like you suggest we are.

According to this site ; http://atlas.media.mit.edu/en/profile/country/irl/#Exports

We import a total of $40M from Egypt and export about $250M to Egypt. I am not sure you understand how this works, but we need Egypt more than they need us, I doubt we are even on their economic map. They probably don't even realize they are importing from Ireland.

Saying we won't trade with Egypt if they don't agree to our terms is kinda like the following;

"Egypt, if you don't take back these guys we are going to start burning our own crops... so there..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭endacl

dinorebel wrote: »
    People react in strange ways to trauma look at the woman in the car when her boyfriend was shot in the US last week filmed it dispassionately as if it was happening to someone else.

I'd say she filmed it dispassionately and calmly because there was a lunatic with a loaded gun pointing in the window of the car she was in. While being black. The situation required a cool head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Some of ye need a serious dose of cop on.
    Cracking jokes after 84 people were murdered.
    Pushing racist agendas and jumping to conclusions and blaming a whole race for the act of a few.
    Step away from the keyboard and allow the thread to get back to a proper discussion about what happened.

There's a reason people like me have developed the views they have, and it's because the centre and the left have refused to even acknowledge the problem of Islamism for years, and now we have another 80+ Europeans lying dead because of it. It's just fúcking infuriating that lives are being lost because people don't want to acknowledge a problem.

Every other policy has failed, from assimilation and integration to multiculturalism. Holding hands and playing nice is not going to solve this problem.

So which army will you be joining? When will you be signing up to go and fight isis?

Mena wrote: »
    Yet. You're displaying the same lunatic ideas these people subscribe to. The fact you're blind to it is what's most concerning.

These ideas are not alike. I'm advocating for the murder of Muslims, I'm not saying we should gas them, as some people here seem to extrapolate from my posts. I am saying we should deport them.

Unless all this outrage has been kicked up because a guy in a truck just deported 80 people, don't compare me with him and his ilk.

Mod: Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

So how come Germany has banned Scientology, they literally just said No, you aren't a religion. Why can't the west just do that? CPO all mosques, build playgrounds or parks where they once stood.

do you think banning Christianity in Northern Ireland would have solved the troubles?

So which army will you be joining? When will you be signing up to go and fight isis?

The British. I'm fully aware, people are going to take this as me pretending to be tough, but if they'd hire me as an officer before I finish my degree and wanted to deploy me to Syria or Iraq, I'd sign up tomorrow.