Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Must be a day for getting stuck. I stuck the jeep today in Westmeath, I was near having to post a plea for help on here only I inched her out :-)

Would have got to ya within the 24hrs no bother

whelan2 wrote: »
    See a lad here mowed 2 weeks ago, its still not baled. top quality stuff I'd say

Same yesterday when I was out topping. Noticed a field that had to be down the sane amount of time. Going brown now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 muirsin

Ye must be in a different country talking about hay. Most miserable night here in a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Fact about miserable day. Engineer never showed up to do percolation test and I'm just watching water flow into the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Fact about miserable day. Engineer never showed up to do percolation test and I'm just watching water flow into the hole.

You have time to run a mole plough out from the perforation hole so. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    You have time to run a mole plough out from the perforation hole so. :D
    Or stone the bottom & cover with soil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Two kind of disturbing stories for you.

Vegan parents forced to give up malnourished child

And

Contract milker cut cows' teats off with scissors

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11674593&ref=NZH_Tw

What is going on in peoples heads:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Two kind of disturbing stories for you.

Vegan parents forced to give up malnourished child

And

Contract milker cut cows' teats off with scissors

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11674593&ref=NZH_Tw

What is going on in peoples heads:(
    I didn't even click on the links, your description was more than suffice.
    Many years ago, as a teenager I unwittingly witnessed a farmer using a Burdizzo to cut the teat from a cow suffering with mastitis :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

When posting above ^^^ I received a message from Boards asking me to click a check box to verify that I am not a robot. Anyone else getting the same. I tried posting this on the laptop but the same message came up and when I clicked in the box the screen returned to my previous/above ^^^ message, iykwim. Posting this via my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Base price wrote: »
    When posting above ^^^ I received a message from Boards asking me to click a check box to verify that I am not a robot. Anyone else getting the same. I tried posting this on the laptop but the same message came up and when I clicked in the box the screen returned to my previous/above ^^^ message, iykwim. Posting this via my phone.

I've gotten them on other sites but not boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Reggie. wrote: »
    Would have got to ya within the 24hrs no bother

You could have walked to me in a few mins, I was very near goin to the local tractor dealer to see could I beg a pull out.

I knew there was a disturbance in the force

Must be a day for getting stuck. I stuck the jeep today in Westmeath, I was near having to post a plea for help on here only I inched her out :-)
    Definitely a day for getting stuck - in Westmeath too.
    Loading a double of cull cows (plus jeep/trailer) with OH early this morning and I got stuck with the jeep on grassy/mossy concrete. Had 4 older girls in the trailer but the jeep slipped and slided in all directions except forward uphill.
    Never had a problem in that yard before but I reckon that it was due to all the rain.

Definitely a day for getting stuck - in Westmeath too.
    Loading a double of cull cows (plus jeep/trailer) with OH early this morning and I got stuck with the jeep on grassy/mossy concrete. Had 4 older girls in the trailer but the jeep slipped and slided in all directions except forward uphill.
    Never had a problem in that yard before but I reckon that it was due to all the rain.
    Women drivers :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Feckin carry on in Neice, real gurilla warfair maximum damage with minimum outlay.
    Heartbreaking to see family's with kids fleeing from these monsters.

Very hard to fight these lone madmen.

The Brits seem to be doing a savage job at keeping it from happening there, I'd have thought London would be a huge target.

Women drivers :rolleyes:
    Get up the yard and keep going :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

_Brian wrote: »
    Feckin carry on in Neice, real gurilla warfair maximum damage with minimum outlay.
    Heartbreaking to see family's with kids fleeing from these monsters.

Very hard to fight these lone madmen.

The Brits seem to be doing a savage job at keeping it from happening there, I'd have thought London would be a huge target.

Watching it here and herself made the same point about the brits managing the threat far better,
    Horrible images alright, so hard to defend against. Maybe we were better off with a few dictators in the middle east keeping these physcos in check.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Watching it here and herself made the same point about the brits managing the threat far better,
    Horrible images alright, so hard to defend against. Maybe we were better off with a few dictators in the middle east keeping these physcos in check.

In fairness easier to keep them in check when your an island. In Europe there's at least 3 sides of a country that they can sneak in over the borders if they wish. Ya have to really think how many got in with the refugee influx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Only hearing about this now. In Nice airport last week there were a lot of the army walking up and down , all armed etc. Walking in 2's and 3's. Was actually saying to oh while we were away I think we only saw 1 french police car for the whole week

I didn't even click on the links, your description was more than suffice.
    Many years ago, as a teenager I unwittingly witnessed a farmer using a Burdizzo to cut the teat from a cow suffering with mastitis :mad:
    Vet uses that method here, barbaric as it seems, the relief for the cow is instant as the poison gets out of her system

In fairness easier to keep them in check when your an island. In Europe there's at least 3 sides of a country that they can sneak in over the borders if they wish. Ya have to really think how many got in with the refugee influx

Well if you look at the Paris attacks they were all EU born and bred that were involved, be interesting to see the extraction of this most recent murderer.
    France has a huge ghetto problem where "citizens" who have come from its former colonial countries are pushed out of sight and given little support. It breeds this sort of decent, 2nd and 3rd generation immigrants who have nothing but distain are easy targets to be radicalised by extremists, if a country has a history of oppression and colonial horrors and it has turned its back on you - not to far for these nutters to go to make murderers. It's very hard to see how an end will be put to this now, eliminating IS in the Middle East may not be enough, Europe may have enough home grown nutters, combined with whatever came in with the floods of refugees to keep this campaign going for some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

France has such a complicated history with Algeria anyway. They didn't just turn their back on Algeria, they were forced to abandon it and did so after a remarkably bloody insurrection, with atrocities and counter-atrocities perpetrated by both sides. The pro French intelligentsia who could not/did not flee were butchered. Those who did get out, their grand children are now the generation in the ghettos, and easy targets for radicalization.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Only hearing about this now. In Nice airport last week there were a lot of the army walking up and down , all armed etc. Walking in 2's and 3's. Was actually saying to oh while we were away I think we only saw 1 french police car for the whole week

I remember reading something about the response to terrorism that said, visible armed police and soldiers are less effective than having decent intelligence and proper police work. It reassures people though to see armed security after an attack (even if it doesn't make you any safer). An interesting point look at the US they got Bin Laden after they stopped wasting time torturing people and started doing real intelligence work

We would do well to remember that the last attacks were carried out by people born and raised in Europe. This is a problem that is European in origin not the result of refugees coming to europe (from countries Europe helped destabilise)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Base price wrote:
    When posting above ^^^ I received a message from Boards asking me to click a check box to verify that I am not a robot. .

Its typical prejudice.

I got one asking me to confirm that I wasn't a zero grazer or a tub mixer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

See a lad here mowed 2 weeks ago, its still not baled. top quality stuff I'd say
    I cut here a week ago and the contractor was finishing up one filed at 10pm. I asked him would he do the last field in the morning. He said no, he'd do it right away. It was 1.30AM when he finished. It down poured at 5AM.

I see a few fields around me still down and they are starting to go brown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ABlur

I cut here a week ago and the contractor was finishing up one filed at 10pm. I asked him would he do the last field in the morning. He said no, he'd do it right away. It was 1.30AM when he finished. It down poured at 5AM.

I see a few fields around me still down and they are starting to go brown.

A lad near me with heavy land was cutting and immediately baling and wrapping it Wednesday evening. Three baler's in the field doing some damage. Though if he waited til after Thursdays rain it would have been a disaster.

ABlur wrote: »
    A lad near me with heavy land was cutting and immediately baling and wrapping it Wednesday evening. Three baler's in the field doing some damage. Though if he waited til after Thursdays rain it would have been a disaster.
    Saw neighbours field there earlier. Half cut and baled but ploughed to ****e, looks like they pulled out as was getting steady worse as they mowed inwards. Bales that were made must be full of muck. Awful thing to see in July.

http://theliberal.ie/breaking-nice-airport-has-been-evacuated-over-suspected-bomb-in-luggage-area/ Last Thursday we spent a few hours in Nice airport, someone left a suitcase behind them in a sit down area. The army lads were over very quickly and cornered off the area, no one allowed in the area. Called a good few times over speaker for who ever owned it to come back, amazing nowadays that some one forgetting their bag can cause such a commotion. It shouldnt be like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Its become a real art form nowadays to try and make silage without rain.

I was full sure we'd get a roaster of a summer going by all rhe rain that fell kast winter but it hasn't turned out that way.

The past few summers its a fune week or two end of May/start of June. Everyone can't make sulage at this time and it doesn't alway suit anyways.

Weatherwise, September could be as good a time as any to make silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

http://theliberal.ie/breaking-nice-airport-has-been-evacuated-over-suspected-bomb-in-luggage-area/ Last Thursday we spent a few hours in Nice airport, someone left a suitcase behind them in a sit down area. The army lads were over very quickly and cornered off the area, no one allowed in the area. Called a good few times over speaker for who ever owned it to come back, amazing nowadays that some one forgetting their bag can cause such a commotion. It shouldnt be like this.

It was like that back in 1995. I was working in Paris at the time out in Charles De Gaulle airport. Happened a good few times that the bomb disposal guys had to come in and 'make safe' a piece of luggage. Were a number of terrorist attacks in Paris that Summer also.