German activist lied about sex assault by Arab men to avoid fueling racism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,504 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

So why report it at all if she was going to prevent the Police from identifying the perpetrators?

So she originally said her story to avoid fueling racism then went back to tell what really happened...

Confessions of a liar guys. I really suspect no such thing happened.

Why do alleged victims of sexual crimes always wind up being called liars on these threads?

My first post on this thread:
    She may be so traumatised by the whole incident that she reframed it in a way that made it easier to cope with, and stayed with that narrative until she'd stabilised enough to confront the facts.

People can behave in difficult to understand ways when they're acutely distressed.

Is it really easier to believe the victim of a sex assault of that magnitude is lying than it is to believe she's traumatised and distressed and mentally suffering to the extent that she does and says irrational things? Victims of those kinds of crimes aren't likely to be thinking things through coldly and logically when they've been put through hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Candie wrote: »
    Is it really easier to believe the victim of a sex assault of that magnitude is lying than it is to believe she's traumatised and distressed and mentally suffering to the extent that she does and says irrational things?
    Course it is... for some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Not only did she change her story to the Police - who've confirmed that a woman has made such claims - she's taken to FB to write an apology to refugees because of her alleged attack

"Dear male refugee,

presumably of my age. Perhaps a few years younger. A bit older.

I am so incredibly sorry!

Almost a year ago I saw the hell, which you escaped from."

Read the rest of her drivel here http://www.breitbart.com/tech/2016/02/16/member-of-german-left-youth-party-apologizes-to-refugees-on-facebook-after-alleged-sexual-assault-by-migrant/ if you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Why do alleged victims of sexual crimes always wind up being called liars on these threads?

My first post on this thread:

Is it really easier to believe the victim of a sex assault of that magnitude is lying than it is to believe she's traumatised and distressed and mentally suffering to the extent that she does and says irrational things? Victims of those kinds of crimes aren't likely to be thinking things through coldly and logically when they've been put through hell.

she admitted she lied and explained why...so yes she lied.

even in hindsight , she didn't say her distress at being attacked was the reason...
    you are making stuff up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Not only did she change her story to the Police - who've confirmed that a woman has made such claims - she's taken to FB to write an apology to refugees because of her alleged attack

"Dear male refugee,

Read the rest of her drivel here http://www.breitbart.com/tech/2016/02/16/member-of-german-left-youth-party-apologizes-to-refugees-on-facebook-after-alleged-sexual-assault-by-migrant/ if you want.

She's insane. Completely insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Its dead Jim

"Dear male refugee,

Didnt click on the link as I dont want to give ****e views but it is a bit odd they says alleged in the link. Doesnt breitbart think that all refugees are here to rape?

Sounds like someone too invested in their "cause" and the default after a trauma was to cling to everything they'd spent several years convincing themselves was right. There's plenty of them about.

• Site Banned Posts: 88 ✭✭FrJGHackett

Because she admitted lying?

Didnt click on the link as I dont want to give ****e views but it is a bit odd they says alleged in the link. Doesnt breitbart think that all refugees are here to rape?

The link is to show I'm not making it up. I'd rather not have to add links but that seems to be the burden of proof nowadays.

Until the polizei say otherwise, it is an alleged sexual assault. Sexual assault is an umbrella term, so we don't know what allegedly happened - could be something serious, could be something like an ass-grab or cat-calling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Can't speak for anyone else or any other allegation but when someones story changes and the reason for it changing sounds far fetched it usually indicates lies.

Think of it this way, say I went to the police about getting attacked. Not sexually just attacked. Now later I change my story because I was worried about racially fueling the fire but now I'm telling the truth... I wasn't before. Don't you think the guard in question won't think to himself/herself that I very well may be just making this whole thing up?

This is inane. Completely inane.

No one stiflied her only herself? :confused:
    I think that the point is that she felt that she had to avoid being "racist" when she reported the crime, as a result of the social engineering that has gone one in recent years.
    You can't call a spade a spade anymore as it isn't considered PC!

I think that the point is that she felt that she had to avoid being "racist" when she reported the crime, as a result of the social engineering that has gone one in recent years.

Where did you pull this crap out of?

The point is: she allegedly suffered an assault, went to police and gave false information because her priorities are somewhat arseways. You, without knowing her, have decided to speak on her behalf and blame society for her failure. A small bit of cop-on wouldn't go astray...

It's an absolutely infuriating, bewildering, frustrating thing when crimes are downplayed due to the community from which those who commit them hail... however saying she's insane - brings nothing to the table and best left to the professionals.

She's hair pullingly frustrating and possibly messed up after an assault (if it took place) but there's little to no evidence that she has actually lost her mind.

Where did you pull this crap out of?

The point is: she allegedly suffered an assault, went to police and gave false information because her priorities are somewhat arseways. You, without knowing her, have decided to speak on her behalf and blame society for her failure. A small bit of cop-on wouldn't go astray...
    Yes it would, look at the story!

You support Brexit and Donald Trump because a woman you have never met changed her statement to the police 12 hours after she first made it?
    Where did he say or indicate he supports Brexit and Donald Trump at all, let alone because of this woman? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

You support Brexit and Donald Trump because a woman you have never met changed her statement to the police 12 hours after she first made it?

Now that's fcuked up.

I remember you got red carded a few years ago for your reply about a crime in Dublin (AFAIK it was a rape as well) because you didn't like the narrative it put out.
    Trying to divert the thread like this is just blatantly obvious and it doesn't make you a "good" person it makes you seem like someone that will excuse anything.

PS Mods if your going to card me for this look at the persons infraction record and you should spot it fairly easily - plenty of other posters get pulled on the way they post in the past by users without sanction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,016 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

what "social engineering" would this be? i'd love to know, as i certainly haven't been "socially engineered" by anyone.

nonsense. pc doesn't exist and is a myth. you can very much "call a spade a spade" however you must provide proof from a reliable source when doing so.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Two Tone wrote: »
    Where did he say or indicate he supports Brexit and Donald Trump at all, let alone because of this woman? :confused:

It was a third person rhetorical 'you'. Which addresses exactly what he typed.

But you knew that already.

It was a third person rhetorical 'you'. Which addresses exactly what he typed.

But you knew that already.
    I honestly didn't, otherwise I wouldn't have said it. You can't read my mind. And claiming that that was the ****ed up thing, rather than the woman feeling compelled not to describe her attackers' physical traits in case it would cause racism, is just deflection.

It won't make a person "racist" to view this as a less than ideal situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,504 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

what "social engineering" would this be? i'd love to know, as i certainly haven't been "socially engineered" by anyone.

I would guess that you don't mix with the same groups as this person so are not subjected to her peer pressure. That said blaming social engineering really takes the blame away from her. She did it not her right on group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,912 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Indeed.
    She also appears to be ravaged with Stockholm Syndrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,720 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Why does the world need psychiatrists when it has Boards users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

nonsense. pc doesn't exist and is a myth. you can very much "call a spade a spade" however you must provide proof from a reliable source when doing so.

The concepts of 'proof' or 'reliable sources' isn't the first thing I'd associate with either of the extremes here....

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Indeed.
    She also appears to be ravaged with Stockholm Syndrome.
    looksee wrote: »
    Why does the world need psychiatrists when it has Boards users.
    Indeed. Padd, on what do you base your assessment/diagnosis dude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

• Woman commits to aiding refugees.
    • Suffers traumatic assault at the hands of people who may be refugees, forcing her to question her activism while simultaneously dealing with the trauma of her assault.
    • In this frame of mind, she initially decides not to report her attackers' appearance, but changes her mind after a short time.

I really don't get how people can't imagine how she was thinking, and leap to the conclusion that she's insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,054 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Not me or anybody can say how she felt after her horrific ordeal.

My deepest sympathy for her. It was be must frightening experience.

Just hope they catch these bruts and put them behind bars

EVENFLOW

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

She's perfectly sane compared to the woman who thanked her rapists:

https://www.unzensuriert.at/content/0020023-Vergewaltigte-Sozialistin-bedankt-sich-bei-Fluechtlingen

http://shoebat.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/24-j%C3%A4hrige-Sprecherin-der-Linksjugend-Brief-an-Vergewaltiger1.png

Yes, the left has become so PC that they thank their rapists and apologise to them.
    I detest and hate the far right, but these nutters are just as bad. Sorry for the triggering and the microagression and apologies to Generation Snowflake.

This is from google translate, but I can't be arsed translating this now:
    Dear male refugee,
    probably my age. Probably a few years younger. A bit older.
    I'm so incredibly sorry! Almost a year ago I saw hell, you flee from you. I was not directly on the fire, but I have visited the people in the refugee camps in South Kurdistan. Have seen old grandmothers who have to worry about too many parentless children. I have seen the eyes of these children, some have not lost their lights. But I have also seen the children whose eyes were empty and traumatizing. I have about 20 of ezidischen children have in their math classes show Arabic characters and still remember how a little girl started to cry, just because a chair umfiel.Ich have seen a hint of the hell from which you fled.
    I did not see what is in front of it happened and also your grueling flight I did not have to witness.
    I am glad and happy that you made it here. That you could leave the IS and its war behind you and are not drowned in the Mediterranean.
    But I'm afraid you're here not sicher.Brennende refugee shelters and attacks on refugees and a brown mob through the streets.
    I have always opposed fought that it is here that.
    I wanted an open Europe, a friendly. One, in which I can enjoy living and one in which we are both safe. I'm so sorry.
    For both of us I'm so incredibly Leid.Du, you're not sure, because we live in a racist society.
    I, I'm not sure, because we live in a sexist society.
    But what I'm really sorry, the fact that the sexist and cross-border actions that were done to me only contribute to the fact that you always increasing and aggresiverem racism exposed bist.Ich promise you, I'll scream. I will not allow it to happen next. I will not stand idly by and let it happen, that racists and concerned citizens identify yourself as the problem.
    You are not the problem. You are not a problem.
    You are usually a wonderful person who deserves it as much as anyone to be safe and free.
    Thank you exist - and nice that you're here.

• Woman commits to aiding refugees.
    • Suffers traumatic assault at the hands of people who may be refugees, forcing her to question her activism while simultaneously dealing with the trauma of her assault.
    • In this frame of mind, she initially decides not to report her attackers' appearance, but change her mind after a short time.

I really don't get how people can't imagine how she was thinking, and leap to the conclusion that she's insane.
    Aye, it's a provocative and quite dickish thing to say.

It's also just... really really stupid. Some of the thankers should have more sense.