Happy straight pride day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

But is it as cute as as being gay, black and proud?

Diff set of circumstances really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

RWCNT wrote: »
    Diff set of circumstances really.

Accepted, but whats "cute" about a straight white man being proud of his sexuality and race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Why is anybody fúcking proud of anything? We have no input into our genetic makeup/skin colour/sexual orientation. So regardless of how we ended up, we've nothing to be proud of. Proud implies that we actually worked for and achieved something. The whole world needs to get over itself ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Why is anybody fúcking proud of anything? We have no input into our genetic makeup/skin colour/sexual orientation. So regardless of how we ended up, we've nothing to be proud of. Proud implies that we actually worked for and achieved something. The whole world needs to get over itself ffs.

Because for a long time those inherent, unchangeable traits were something which people were told made them lesser; something they should feel shame about, despite as you point out, the fact that they were born that way. If there were no homophobia, there would be no need for pride. If there were no racism then James Brown telling people to 'say it loud, I'm black and I'm proud' would be meaningless. It's not the traits themselves which create the need for pride, it's the context.

Those are reasons for standing up to oppression and supporting each other and propagating change and celebrating diversity etc. - they are not reasons for feeling "proud" imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I dunno. I don't feel particularly proud to be straight.
    I was just born this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Accepted, but whats "cute" about a straight white man being proud of his sexuality and race?

The fact that I sincerely doubt you've ever been made to feel you should be ashamed of either. That's what I take "Pride" to mean in this context, it's pride in the face of people who'd like to put you down. Fair play if you're just proud of who you are in general, but I don't see why you'd be especially proud of being straight and white.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Those are reasons for standing up to oppression and supporting each other and propagating change and celebrating diversity etc. - they are not reasons for feeling "proud" imo.

"You should be ashamed to be the way you are, you should hide it or bad things will happen"

"well fcuk off I'm not, and you saying I should be, makes me proud to be myself and not hide it, because you're making that difficult and I'm not backing down"

Makes sense to me. I've never marched in pride, but I'm a middle class bisexual from a liberal family and the way I'm comfortable presenting myself means that people usually assume I'm straight. I've had about as much of an "easy ride" (heheh) as an LGBT person can get, and I connect with pride a lot less than many of my friends, I suspect as a direct result. But I can easily see why it means more to people whose experience has been different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

We are here, we are straight, lock up your adults daughters....

Bout damn time. All these haters trying to stop us from expressing ourselves. What about our feelings? hmmm? Straightphobics the lot of ye

There was I under the impression that all those hippies from years ago were lecturing us on how we will all be the same and one happy family with no distinctions. Yet, the desperation to label everyone now a days ...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'll tolerate it. Today only though. I don't want to see any in your face heterosexuality any other time. It's turns my stomach. I just don't understand it. And don't be pushing your straight agenda and sexualities on innocent kids. They don't need to know about that stuff until their much older.. I actually once saw a straight man ask a little boy who was playing with a little girl, "Is this your girlfriend?" A fully grown man teaching young kids that being straight was... He's lucky I was the only person who noticed. There's even talks of teaching kids what being straight means when they're in fifth and sixth class. I wouldn't let any of my kids near that class. And if I find out they start talking about being straight without letting me excuse my children from the class, I'll pull them from the school. I know plenty of solicitors who would love a case like that. They're my children, I'll be the only one telling them what's right and what's wrong. As is my right as a parent.

"You should be ashamed to be the way you are, you should hide it or bad things will happen"

"well fcuk off I'm not, and you saying I should be, makes me proud to be myself and not hide it, because you're making that difficult and I'm not backing down"

Makes sense to me. I've never marched in pride, but I'm a middle class bisexual from a liberal family and the way I'm comfortable presenting myself means that people usually assume I'm straight. I've had about as much of an "easy ride" (heheh) as an LGBT person can get, and I connect with pride a lot less than many of my friends, I suspect as a direct result. But I can easily see why it means more to people whose experience has been different.

If someone said this to me, I'd just think they were an ásshole. It wouldn't change how I feel about myself (for better or worse) and wouldn't make me feel suddenly proud, or that I should big up my sense of pride in order to counteract their ignorant warbling, but I do see the merit of pride of course.

I don't do pride anymore, though I embraced it thoroughly in my youth and have nothing bad to say about it. Maybe when I decide what I am I'll march again! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I'll tolerate it. Today only though. I don't want to see any in your face heterosexuality any other time. It's turns my stomach. I just don't understand it. And don't be pushing your straight agenda and sexualities on innocent kids. They don't need to know about that stuff until their much older.. I actually once saw a straight man ask a little boy who was playing with a little girl, "Is this your girlfriend?" A fully grown man teaching young kids that being straight was... He's lucky I was the only person who noticed. There's even talks of teaching kids what being straight means when they're in fifth and sixth class. I wouldn't let any of my kids near that class. And if I find out they start talking about being straight without letting me excuse my children from the class, I'll pull them from the school. I know plenty of solicitors who would love a case like that. They're my children, I'll be the only one telling them what's right and what's wrong. As is my right as a parent.

███████▄▄███████████▄
    ▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
    ▓▓▓▓▓▓███░░░░░░░░░░░░█
    ██████▀░░░░░░░██████▀
    ░░░░░░░░░█░░░░█
    ░░░░░░░░░░█░░░█
    ░░░░░░░░░░░█░░█
    ░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

I'm very proud of the job I finished today.
    I was STRAIGHT up in the morning,went STRAIGHT into work.

I planted a hedge STRAIGHT away,and it was STRAIGHT.

Now I'm heading STRAIGHT to lunch,and eat my dinner STRAIGHT down the hatch,excuse the pun....

STRAIGHT forward or wha....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

"The fact that I sincerely doubt you've ever been made to feel you should be ashamed of either. That's what I take "Pride" to mean in this context, it's pride in the face of people who'd like to put you down. Fair play if you're just proud of who you are in general, but I don't see why you'd be especially proud of being straight and white."

Thats a good answer, covered everything, i've no qualms with you good sir.

I guess i'm a proud white man who happens to be straight.

The bigger the pride the harder you fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The bigger the pride the harder you fall.

How about a lions pride?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I prefer Steak and BJ day followed by Chipper Day.
    I like my days to have food themes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How about a lions pride?

There's been cases of bisexual male lions documented in the wild.

Some prides seem to tolerate it and others don't. It depends on how the Alpha pride leader feels about it.

I'm organizing a fisherman's pride day,those effing hippies giving out about me catching fish....

I'll wear a hippie beater fishnet vest and be lacing up the boots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Pride days are good craic, but I'd rather we went away from being proud of things we have no control over in general.

Seems like that's the source of a lot of problems. Nationalism, racial purity and the likes. It's a double edged sword.
    I'd prefer if the gays didn't join everyone else in the race to see who can be the biggest gob****e about the elements of their character they've had no input into.

Of course, in practice, it's a push back against having to feel ashamed, but the biggest victory will come when nothing is made of it and you're not gay and proud, you're just "Jimmy" or "Mary" or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

If its as a joke then Im okay with it. If people are seriously using it as a way to belittle gay people in a hurtful way then no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

I'm no more proud of being straight then I am ashamed of it.
    I had no choice, it's how I happened to turn out.

Gay pride / straight pride / little bit of both pride is fúcking stupid.
    It just means "not being ashamed" in this context - it isn't pride in the sense of achieving something. Ireland is a much better place for gay people than it was 30 years ago but I guess people enjoy the event, plus there are probably still teenagers who are not comfortable with the realisation that they are gay, and gay pride is a good way to ease their anxiety.

It is a good international message also.

For centuries gay and black people were made to be ashamed of these biological traits. They wanted to tell society that these traits are okay and normal. The opposite of ashamed is 'pride', pretty easy to get your head around.

I think straight pride day falling on a day so close to the Orlando shooting is quite distasteful though and really just highlights the lack of need for the day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

No problem with it, and neither should anyone else. Everyone wants to be treated the same way,
    so then, everyone regardless of sexual orientation should be able to have one..... or none at all, so long as all are equal does it matter?

screamer wrote: »
    No problem with it, and neither should anyone else. Everyone wants to be treated the same way,
    so then, everyone regardless of sexual orientation should be able to have one..... or none at all, so long as all are equal does it matter?

Yup. You got it, everyone should be treated equally but gay people arent !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Just came in to post this, been in my head for the past few days. Thanks OP, you cnut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I Can imagine if it ever happened it would only end in violence... Tolerance !!! Equality !!