Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Happy straight pride day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Those f*cking STRAIGHT WHITE MALE WHITE SUPREMACIST BABY MURDERING CIS-SCUM WHITE RAPIST SH*TLORDS LIKE OMG I CAN'T EVEN RIGHT NOW LIKE ARE YOU F*CKING KIDDING ME!?!?
    HOW DARE THEY. AND I'M REPORTING YOU FOR TRIGGERING ME BY POSTING THIS REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Sure why not , if for no other reason then it'll wind the SJW's and PC brigade up no end , i'm straight and i'm proud hahahahaha :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,499 ✭✭✭✭Caoimhgh1n

Nothing wrong with being proud of being straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

That indo article has some gas bits.

"And when I like a man very much, I want his P in my V with a physical intensity that could suction a broken-down bullet train across the country."

I assume the idea is meant to be a joke anyway. It's dumb and I can see how it would be annoying but I don't really see any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭moleyv

That PIV bullet train bit....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

This is stupid.

I don't think anyone has ever felt ashamed for being straight? The reason Pride exists is because people have lived or continue to live in shame for their sexual orientation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm no more proud of being straight then I am ashamed of it.
    I had no choice, it's how I happened to turn out.

Gay pride / straight pride / little bit of both pride is fúcking stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,499 ✭✭✭✭Caoimhgh1n

Zombienosh wrote: »
    This is stupid.

I don't think anyone has ever felt ashamed for being straight? The reason Pride exists is because people have lived or continue to live in shame for their sexual orientation.

Lighten up.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

a spell in a feminist group...

One member posited the theory that all PIV (penis-in-vagina) sex is rape, and that women who engage in it are handmaidens of the patriarchy, colluding in their own sexual assault.

Can you imagine being stuck in a room with that crowd? :eek:

And OP, the paper says it was yesterday. You're late!

I want my "I went to the toilet and washed my hands properly afterwards" Pride day. Because, in my experience, a lot of people don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I want my "I went to the toilet and washed my hands properly afterwards" Pride day. Because, in my experience, a lot of people don't.

Thread went down the toilet quickly. Hur hur hur.

But seriously, every job I've had where I've bumped into my manager in the toilet, they have never ever washed their hands. I don't know if it's a lack of hygiene or they hate me and want to leave as quickly as possible, but dammit this annoys me and I'm proud to not be like them.

Thread went down the toilet quickly. Hur hur hur.

But seriously, every job I've had where I've bumped into my manager in the toilet, they have never ever washed their hands. I don't know if it's a lack of hygiene or they hate me and want to leave as quickly as possible, but dammit this annoys me and I'm proud to not be like them.

Exactly. The worst is when you've seen that someone likely hasn't and you might have to shake their hands later.

Management always seem to be the worst for it, in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,439 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Ha, and the worst bit is you have to use the door handle after them. What's the point in washing my own hands of my own penis germs just to touch where someone else has left their mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

I'm straight and white and proud of both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Super Trigger Fighter 2 - Hyper Cis Edition

That's cute.

RWCNT wrote: »
    That's cute.

But is it as cute as as being gay, black and proud?

Yeah, but do you wash your hands after you pee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Hahahahahahahaha!

The indo article is class!

I am straight, and when I fancy a man, it’s like having an EU-banned vacuum cleaner for a **** – my power draw could pull him towards me from space

Yeah, but do you wash your hands after you pee?

Yes, with my tongue

Another thing to be proud of!

No, i'm not proud of that, I just like the taste of my own p!ss. It's a dirty habit really.

I'm just proud of my sexuality and race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,212 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm a straight white male with no tolerance for SJW or PC nonsense... and I'm very proud of that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I'm a straight white male with no tolerance for SJW or PC nonsense... and I'm very proud of that :D

Is that old horse face from sex and the city - I don't like her either.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭storker

I'm no more proud of being straight then I am ashamed of it.
    I had no choice, it's how I happened to turn out.

Gay pride / straight pride / little bit of both pride is fúcking stupid.

Agreed. Pride in your sexual orientation is as silly as pride in your nationality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭storker

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Seconded, with the addendum..."and yet I still somehow manage to treat everyone with due respect and fairness."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Straight, white, no pride in either. I was born that way and wasn't ever made to feel like a lesser person for it, so why would I be proud? Gay pride, I can understand, given the homophobic sh!t they've been through.

But sure, let people have 'pride' days for whatever they like, I couldn't give a monkeys. It's taking the p!ss out of gay people, but I'm sure most gay people just see it as a little pathetic anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

It's missing the point of pride but basically harmless. Don't think many straight people have ever felt they were in physical danger, not going to get a job, going to get verbal abuse, that they were perverted or mentally ill or disgusting or their family might disown them because they were straight. And yes I'm sure plenty of you have seen screencaps of gay people being mean to straight people on tumblr or had a gay man try to feel you up or ye just have a super funny original joke involving the words snowflake or triggered that you're just dying to make, but the point still stands.

Article is kinda funny though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jaysus, how sad. I mean what kind of an extra "special" snowflake would you need to be to want a straight day.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

K-9 wrote: »
    Jaysus, how sad. I mean what kind of an extra "special" snowflake would you need to be to want a straight day.

It's a pisstake.

But is it as cute as as being gay, black and proud?

Diff set of circumstances really.

RWCNT wrote: »
    Diff set of circumstances really.

Accepted, but whats "cute" about a straight white man being proud of his sexuality and race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Why is anybody fúcking proud of anything? We have no input into our genetic makeup/skin colour/sexual orientation. So regardless of how we ended up, we've nothing to be proud of. Proud implies that we actually worked for and achieved something. The whole world needs to get over itself ffs.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Why is anybody fúcking proud of anything? We have no input into our genetic makeup/skin colour/sexual orientation. So regardless of how we ended up, we've nothing to be proud of. Proud implies that we actually worked for and achieved something. The whole world needs to get over itself ffs.

Because for a long time those inherent, unchangeable traits were something which people were told made them lesser; something they should feel shame about, despite as you point out, the fact that they were born that way. If there were no homophobia, there would be no need for pride. If there were no racism then James Brown telling people to 'say it loud, I'm black and I'm proud' would be meaningless. It's not the traits themselves which create the need for pride, it's the context.

Those are reasons for standing up to oppression and supporting each other and propagating change and celebrating diversity etc. - they are not reasons for feeling "proud" imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I dunno. I don't feel particularly proud to be straight.
    I was just born this way.

Accepted, but whats "cute" about a straight white man being proud of his sexuality and race?

The fact that I sincerely doubt you've ever been made to feel you should be ashamed of either. That's what I take "Pride" to mean in this context, it's pride in the face of people who'd like to put you down. Fair play if you're just proud of who you are in general, but I don't see why you'd be especially proud of being straight and white.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Those are reasons for standing up to oppression and supporting each other and propagating change and celebrating diversity etc. - they are not reasons for feeling "proud" imo.

"You should be ashamed to be the way you are, you should hide it or bad things will happen"

"well fcuk off I'm not, and you saying I should be, makes me proud to be myself and not hide it, because you're making that difficult and I'm not backing down"

Makes sense to me. I've never marched in pride, but I'm a middle class bisexual from a liberal family and the way I'm comfortable presenting myself means that people usually assume I'm straight. I've had about as much of an "easy ride" (heheh) as an LGBT person can get, and I connect with pride a lot less than many of my friends, I suspect as a direct result. But I can easily see why it means more to people whose experience has been different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

We are here, we are straight, lock up your adults daughters....

Bout damn time. All these haters trying to stop us from expressing ourselves. What about our feelings? hmmm? Straightphobics the lot of ye

There was I under the impression that all those hippies from years ago were lecturing us on how we will all be the same and one happy family with no distinctions. Yet, the desperation to label everyone now a days ...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'll tolerate it. Today only though. I don't want to see any in your face heterosexuality any other time. It's turns my stomach. I just don't understand it. And don't be pushing your straight agenda and sexualities on innocent kids. They don't need to know about that stuff until their much older.. I actually once saw a straight man ask a little boy who was playing with a little girl, "Is this your girlfriend?" A fully grown man teaching young kids that being straight was... He's lucky I was the only person who noticed. There's even talks of teaching kids what being straight means when they're in fifth and sixth class. I wouldn't let any of my kids near that class. And if I find out they start talking about being straight without letting me excuse my children from the class, I'll pull them from the school. I know plenty of solicitors who would love a case like that. They're my children, I'll be the only one telling them what's right and what's wrong. As is my right as a parent.

"You should be ashamed to be the way you are, you should hide it or bad things will happen"

"well fcuk off I'm not, and you saying I should be, makes me proud to be myself and not hide it, because you're making that difficult and I'm not backing down"

Makes sense to me. I've never marched in pride, but I'm a middle class bisexual from a liberal family and the way I'm comfortable presenting myself means that people usually assume I'm straight. I've had about as much of an "easy ride" (heheh) as an LGBT person can get, and I connect with pride a lot less than many of my friends, I suspect as a direct result. But I can easily see why it means more to people whose experience has been different.

If someone said this to me, I'd just think they were an ásshole. It wouldn't change how I feel about myself (for better or worse) and wouldn't make me feel suddenly proud, or that I should big up my sense of pride in order to counteract their ignorant warbling, but I do see the merit of pride of course.

I don't do pride anymore, though I embraced it thoroughly in my youth and have nothing bad to say about it. Maybe when I decide what I am I'll march again! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,893 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I'll tolerate it. Today only though. I don't want to see any in your face heterosexuality any other time. It's turns my stomach. I just don't understand it. And don't be pushing your straight agenda and sexualities on innocent kids. They don't need to know about that stuff until their much older.. I actually once saw a straight man ask a little boy who was playing with a little girl, "Is this your girlfriend?" A fully grown man teaching young kids that being straight was... He's lucky I was the only person who noticed. There's even talks of teaching kids what being straight means when they're in fifth and sixth class. I wouldn't let any of my kids near that class. And if I find out they start talking about being straight without letting me excuse my children from the class, I'll pull them from the school. I know plenty of solicitors who would love a case like that. They're my children, I'll be the only one telling them what's right and what's wrong. As is my right as a parent.

███████▄▄███████████▄
    ▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
    ▓▓▓▓▓▓███░░░░░░░░░░░░█
    ██████▀░░░░░░░██████▀
    ░░░░░░░░░█░░░░█
    ░░░░░░░░░░█░░░█
    ░░░░░░░░░░░█░░█
    ░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

I'm very proud of the job I finished today.
    I was STRAIGHT up in the morning,went STRAIGHT into work.

I planted a hedge STRAIGHT away,and it was STRAIGHT.

Now I'm heading STRAIGHT to lunch,and eat my dinner STRAIGHT down the hatch,excuse the pun....

STRAIGHT forward or wha....

"The fact that I sincerely doubt you've ever been made to feel you should be ashamed of either. That's what I take "Pride" to mean in this context, it's pride in the face of people who'd like to put you down. Fair play if you're just proud of who you are in general, but I don't see why you'd be especially proud of being straight and white."

Thats a good answer, covered everything, i've no qualms with you good sir.

I guess i'm a proud white man who happens to be straight.

The bigger the pride the harder you fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The bigger the pride the harder you fall.

How about a lions pride?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I prefer Steak and BJ day followed by Chipper Day.
    I like my days to have food themes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How about a lions pride?

There's been cases of bisexual male lions documented in the wild.

Some prides seem to tolerate it and others don't. It depends on how the Alpha pride leader feels about it.

I'm organizing a fisherman's pride day,those effing hippies giving out about me catching fish....

I'll wear a hippie beater fishnet vest and be lacing up the boots