Bad omens on a first date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭KikiDee

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Rude to the service staff.

Huge +1 to this!

Also, when he tells you he models himself on Fr Jack Hackett...just why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

KikiDee wrote: »
    Also, when he tells you he models himself on Fr Jack Hackett...just why??
    that's alarmingly specific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

When she says ...she thinks she loves you already....
    Make like Christ on a bike. Pedal. Pedal fast and don't look back it doesn't matter if they look like the best thing since sliced bread. Just get the hell out of dodge.

Cina wrote: »
    that's alarmingly specific.

You know what's worse?? I actually stayed for the rest of the date :confused:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

'Lie on this alter and give your allegiance to satan'

It happens alot more than you would think.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Get Real wrote: »
    Boom. This. No matter who you are this is a huge reflection on your personality regardless.

I have on occasion been places with large groups and certain people would be as nice as pie talking to the group and then a sudden cold, condescending and angry tone to waiters etc.

I always think :confused: why the sudden bi***iness to someone you don't even know and who is being polite to you?

Suffice to say I keep a distance. I don't even think they realise they're doing it, and their lack of respect to other human beings is a huge insight into their inner thoughts and personality.

On a date, and this happens, I drop her. Even new acquaintances, lads etc, I stay polite but would't be overly eager to be associated.

When she uses "boom" in conversation.

Doesn't make your heart go boom no?? Couldn't resist :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

When she flags down a passing taxi, jumps in and says "Drive, just fuckin' drive!"

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

She can use me any way she wants.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

When her phone beeps and she casually tells you her mother and one of her friends are on the way to join ye for a drink !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

When they turn up and say "Isnt it weird that we're either going to end up together for the rest of our lives or we might never see each other again, lets hope its the first one"

Eeeeeehhhhhhhhhh. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    She can use me any way she wants.

If she got "bap" in the conversation as well I might be impressed , well no I wouldn't actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭ampleforth

Cina wrote: »
    Cinema on a first date?

Amateur.

I was young... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

When they bring their ex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

"I can be a bit of a c*nt when I get drunk"

She didn't dissapoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭anitaca

When he says "let's share dessert!" I think "let's never see each other again!"
    you're not into romance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

anitaca wrote: »
    you're not into romance

Nuh uh. Romance is staying the fcuk away from my hot choc fudge brownie thank you very much :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

brown shoes and a black suit hahaha i kid i kid...
    worst one for me was meeting in a cafe where i knew the owner, he clicked his fingers to get the waitresses attention.

took all my might not to get up and leave that instant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

When they give out to you, probably not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

brown shoes and a black suit hahaha i kid i kid... worst one for me was meeting in a cafe where i knew the owner, he clicked his fingers to get the waitresses attention.

Hate brown shoes! Besides that, the rudeness to staff drives me crazy, clicking fingers is the height of ignorance dunno how you managed to stay! Had a girl once that didn't know who Jane Austen was or any of the books, even the films, not a huge issue but said a lot about our compatibility for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

She introduces you to her parents.

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Rude to the service staff.

Absolutely the best indication of a horrible person.
    "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good." Samuel Johnson

Words to live by.

I was chatting to a guy at a party and we were getting along really well and he asked me out and I agreed, and shortly after he asked me how 'open-minded' I am...while licking his lips and doing little grunts.

Nearly had a widdle trying to suppress the laughter - and the horror for that matter. It was the grunts that did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

When she uses her sister's photo. She made an airship look skinny in her own photo.

Ah I remembered one! I was working with a guy from another city and he asked me out about a week before he was due to leave. On the night he arrived at my door pale as a sheet and shivering. I asked him if he was too ill to go out and he insisted that he was good to go. We went to a lovely restaurant and sat down, and as the evening went on he looked sicker and sicker, and eventually when we stood up he collapsed and an ambulance was called.

He was admitted and treated for a serious infection, I had to vacate his hotel room and pack up his stuff, pick his mother up from the airport, finish his work for him, sort out his flights, shop for pj's and other stuff he needed in hospital...no romance in the end but we're good pals now. And I get to say I put a guy in hospital on our first date.

So obvious signs of illness would be a no-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

When, on your first date the guy cries because he doesn't like the thought that there may not be an afterlife.

Good talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Someone that's hung up on their ex (i.e mentions them more than once) or speaks ill of any of his exes. Serious no-no. I'd just think "that could me one day".

Biggest one would be someone who is mean though. Instant turn-off.

Badmouthing exes is a big one. Same with badmouthing family members - fair enough if you're well acquainted but airing dirty laundry of any kind on a first date is a no-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

beks101 wrote: »
    Someone that's hung up on their ex (i.e mentions them more than once) or speaks ill of any of his exes. Serious no-no. I'd just think "that could me one day".

Biggest one would be someone who is mean though. Instant turn-off.

Thought that would be a given :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

When she orders fava beans and a nice Chianti to go, then asks if you'd mind if you both eat back at her place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Arrange to meet for a cup of coffee/tea and chat

and they turn up at the wrong costa