Really embarrassing movie moments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Three words.

Nicolas
    Cage
    Bees

Candie wrote: »
    Left Behind (Nicolas Cage, again), the movie where all the religious people get zoomed up to heaven and all the heathens and cheaters and all round bad 'uns are....

.....LEFT BEHIND!

So bad, you're more puzzled than anything else. Especially
    the scene where the kid disappears out of his clothes.

Is that the end of the world with a maths code one? And then two blonde haired blue eyed kids are the new adam and eve? It was so bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

bluewolf wrote: »
    Is that the end of the world with a maths code one? And then two blonde haired blue eyed kids are the new adam and eve? It was so bad
    Ah spoilers! :pac:

I didn't watch it to the end BW, I don't think anyone can.

An Aryan kid ending wouldn't surprise me in the least though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

That was "Knowing" (or not knowing any better even :().

I didn't watch it to the end BW, I don't think anyone can.

An Aryan kid ending wouldn't surprise me in the least though. :)

"Left behind", even more cringe than the scene in "Face/Off" where Nicholas, off his face on drugs proclaims:
    "I want to take his face... off!"

Had to spoiler that, don't want to ruin the plot :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Corvo wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, this a hundred times.

Remember one time, when I was younger I was watching Swordfish with my Dad. And then the scene where Hugh Jackman comes on where he is getting a blowjob whilst trying to hack a system under a time limit.

I always remember him slowly turning his head and going "You shouldn't be watching this you know" and I just said "I know Dad"

We never spoken of it since.

Bah! You should experience the mortification when a sex scene comes on when you are watching a film with your teenaged kids. I always get a sudden urge to go out to fill the coal bucket.
    Tricky making that look natural in the Summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

LorMal wrote: »
    Bah! You should experience the mortification when a sex scene comes on when you are watching a film with your teenaged kids. I always get a sudden urge to go out to fill the coal bucket.

Good plan. Better off leaving them to fap in peace :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

TV rather than film; Skyler White singing 'Happy Birthday' Marilyn Munroeily to Ted Beneke in 'Breaking Bad'. :o:(:o:(:o:(

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Any sex scene with parents in the room.

Or parents-in-law. Or potential paramours because it highlights what you both want to be doing but aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

maudgonner wrote: »

Beat me to it! This scene is a cringe-fest. She may as well be autocueing. The "isitrainingihadntnoticed" all as one word. Gas.

In fairness, he was miles better than Russel Crowe in Les Miserable -- and Crowe claims to be an actual singer and is the headliner of his own band.

Yeah, but Crowe is a gobshíte who probably thinks he's great at everything and everyone is afraid to disagree with him. :pac:

The opening narrative of 'Love Actually':

"When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge - they were all messages of love."

Such soppy, emotive shíte. With the exception of 'Bridget Jones's Diary' which is great (but the source material is the genius, not Curtis's adapting of it for screen), any film Richard Curtis has had a hand in needs to be given a wide berth. See also the 'Notting Hill' example in this thread. Shudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Liam Neeson in Taken where he's having the craic with the lads. He's having a BBQ and a few beers with his mates and it's just painfully cringe worthy to watch!

Sleepy wrote: »
    The entirety of the Sex and the City movies. Consumerist Porn that a regrettable number of women seem to see as a lifestyle guide.

I'd say the amount of women actually taken in by it is fairly minimal, and if it wasn't those films, it would be something else.

The films are awful but the TV show is great and I loathe and kind of resent the narrative than anyone who was into the show is a materialistic numpty. There were some, yes, but it was a perfect storm of the show and films coinciding with the worst of the Celtic Tiger excesses.

The rest of us judge the show on its merits and recognise that we were just watching deeply flawed characters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭Elemonator

The Room, all 99 minutes of it.

It's so bad, it's good.

Olishi4 wrote: »
    The one where the guy is outside the girls house just standing there raising a boombox over his head and playing a song for her

No way, man, no way. That is class.

'Say Anything' is a strange, enjoyable film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Maireadio wrote: »
    No way, man, no way. That is class.

'Say Anything' is a strange, enjoyable film.

Oh no I think that scene is really cringeworthy. I don't mind a grand romantic gesture but if someone did that, I'd be thinking "wtf is he doing now?" Actually I'd probably be thinking, he'd been watching too many 80s romantic comedy dramas. :)

In fairness I haven't seen the whole movie, I just know that scene.

Olishi4 wrote: »
    Oh no I think that scene is really cringeworthy. I don't mind a grand romantic gesture but if someone did that, I'd be thinking "wtf is he doing now?" Actually I'd probably be thinking, he'd been watching too many 80s romantic comedy dramas. :)

In fairness I haven't seen the whole movie, I just know that scene.

Very jarring seeing Frasier's dad in the film, for some reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Not sure is this actual shít or just embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 GipsyMoth

Oh Wow he's here, Daniel is here wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Elemonator wrote: »
    The Room, all 99 minutes of it.

It's so bad, it's good.

Those who watch the room, don't talk about the room. That's the first rule of the room club... Oh hi mark.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

This actually makes me cringe and hold my breath lol.

So whats yours?

This is the only film I've ever walked out of the cinema from .. absolute bilge..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭radia

maudgonner wrote: »
    Suas11 wrote: »
    Came here to post that. Worst line in movie history.
    You're sucked to your tits. Of course you're going to notice whether it's still raining or not.
    Beat me to it! This scene is a cringe-fest. She may as well be autocueing. The "isitrainingihadntnoticed" all as one word. Gas.
    But what about this version? :) Beats the original by a mile!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

ERG89 wrote: »

Not sure is this actual shít or just embarrassing

It's just sh'it, and the scene with the Monkeys !! , were Lucas and Spielberg smoking crack writing that script ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Maireadio wrote: »
    I'd say the amount of women actually taken in by it is fairly minimal, and if it wasn't those films, it would be something else.

The films are awful but the TV show is great and I loathe and kind of resent the narrative than anyone who was into the show is a materialistic numpty. There were some, yes, but it was a perfect storm of the show and films coinciding with the worst of the Celtic Tiger excesses.

The rest of us judge the show on its merits and recognise that we were just watching deeply flawed characters.
    Then our experience of Irish women is rather different. I know dozens of women who wanted to be just like the characters in the show. I think you're certainly right that there was a correlation between the series running here during the Celtic Tiger though.

I think "deeply flawed characters" is giving the writing far too much credit. It's akin to trying to find substance in Entourage; which, when you think about it, is the male version of Sex and the City where instead of the main characters constantly seeking shoes, labels and rich men, they're after cool cars, drugs and beautiful women.

Mrs Sleepy used to be a fan and many of my female flatmates over the years would have been into it so I've seen most of the series and in all of it I only ever laughed once. To be fair, that one scene was a brilliant bit of comedy but the show sadly never repeated the standard:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

I watched one episode of Sex and the City. I didn't get it at all. Never saw the movies.

Most of my female friends and colleagues would have been the same; and I've quite a few of those.

Sleepy wrote: »
    I think "deeply flawed characters" is giving the writing far too much credit. It's akin to trying to find substance in Entourage; which, when you think about it, is the male version of Sex and the City where instead of the main characters constantly seeking shoes, labels and rich men, they're after cool cars, drugs and beautiful women.

Mrs Sleepy used to be a fan and many of my female flatmates over the years would have been into it so I've seen most of the series and in all of it I only ever laughed once. To be fair, that one scene was a brilliant bit of comedy but the show sadly never repeated the standard:

I completely disagree that the show nevered reached the standard of the above-clip. It's a great scene but is only one of many.

Now fair enough if you didn't find the show funny, what's funny is subjective and nobody is wrong in what doesn't make them laugh. But the show isn't just about making people laugh so if you are only judging it by that criteria then that's unfair, IMO.

The show is packed with oodles and oodles of clever references and witty writing that requires you to use your brain. The last two seasons are my least favourite as this is when the show began to get a bit over the top but there was still quality in there.

The characters are absolutely deeply flawed. They are frequently shown in a less-than-flattering light and behave in less-than-exemplary ways. It's what makes them interesting to me.

And watching a talented actress like Cynthia Nixon make a prickly, defensive character into a relatable, funny, sympathetic person was a joy to behold. SJP was also great for the first half of the show until her acting became a bit over-the-top. And the fact you've summed up all the characters looking for rich men and clothes shows you haven't paid that much attention, as Miranda is a character who wasn't like that at all! Her main love in the show was much less well off than her and dumped her because he couldn't match her lifestyle.

Your view of the show is a popular one, of course, but I believe it's a lazy one for guys though you seem to have seen a fair bit of it so I guess that's different. My fella held that view but had never really watched it. I have the boxset so would have it on sometimes. He was amazed how witty he found it. It was much better than he expected it to be. And he is not somebody to say he likes something when he doesn't.

SATC is just a show that people glibly have a go at without actually having much knowledge of it. I'm someone who never criticises a show I've never or barely seen. I wish more people would do the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Corvo wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, this a hundred times.

Remember one time, when I was younger I was watching Swordfish with my Dad. And then the scene where Hugh Jackman comes on where he is getting a blowjob whilst trying to hack a system under a time limit.

I always remember him slowly turning his head and going "You shouldn't be watching this you know" and I just said "I know Dad"

We never spoken of it since.

No matter who I'm watching a film with, even if I'm watching it bollocky nekkid in bed with my OH, I still have this kind of Pavlovian response thing to sex scenes to just start yammering on about the curtains or a phonecall I had earlier or something whenever the scene starts, because that's how they were dealt with in my family :D

Film Character: "You wanna come upstairs for a cup of coffee"

electro~mammy: "ACTUALLY I MIGHT HAVE COFFEE TOO, HOW ABOUT SOME COFFEE AND BISCUITS? DID YOU PUT YOUR PE CLOTHES IN THE LAUNDRY OH LOOK AT THE STATE OF THE SKIRTING BOARDS MUST CLEAN THOSE"

No matter who I'm watching a film with, even if I'm watching it bollocky nekkid in bed with my OH, I still have this kind of Pavlovian response thing to sex scenes to just start yammering on about the curtains or a phonecall I had earlier or something whenever the scene starts, because that's how they were dealt with in my family :D

Film Character: "You wanna come upstairs for a cup of coffee"

electro~mammy: "ACTUALLY I MIGHT HAVE COFFEE TOO, HOW ABOUT SOME COFFEE AND BISCUITS? DID YOU PUT YOUR PE CLOTHES IN THE LAUNDRY OH LOOK AT THE STATE OF THE SKIRTING BOARDS MUST CLEAN THOSE"

My parents would start chanting 'INTERCOURSE!, INTERCOURSE, INTERCOURSE' really loudly, until every last one of us would get up and leave the room in disgust. You got to admit, intercourse sounds a lot filthier than just plain sex for some reason.

Parents. Either think they're 'with it' or else they've misplaced 'it' all together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

My parents would start chanting 'INTERCOURSE!, INTERCOURSE, INTERCOURSE' really loudly, until every last one of us would get up and leave the room in disgust. You got to admit, intercourse sounds a lot filthier than just plain sex for some reason.

Parents. Either think they're 'with it' or else they've misplaced 'it' all together.

When my brother was about 14, he, my sister and I were watching some programme about a bakery. All the people working in the bakery were very pretty women, coz you know, it's TV. Anyways there was a bit where they'd done all the baking and the camera panned over all the mixing bowls and stuff and my brother went "Ooooh, I wonder who gets to lick them all out?" and then immediately went bright red and left the room :D