Season 6 Episode 8 "No One" - "Book readers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭SK1979

Agree with most of the sentiment here. Stupid time wasting story lines.

My only hope is that jaime rides to the rescue next week to fight alongside jon??

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,305 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

joe123 wrote: »
    I wonder is there any chance Edmure actually helped the Blackfish escape which would follow the books. Probably not....its the hope that kills us.
    No indication of that in the episode, he walked up to the battlements, issued the surrender order then issued the clap him in irons order. If he wanted him to escape he would have delayed the surrender order....Blackfish knew he would surrender....once in the castle he should have gone straight to his uncle...he didnt, Blackfish knew what was about to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

I dunno the wildfire was only known by Jaime and he spent ages dismantling the dangerous trap. So either he didn't or theres tunnels underneath the sept they will refill with wildfire. I also remember the pyromancers saying they don't make it in bulk often as it only lasts so long before combusting through the jars and how they had to close off their tunnels because wildfire went off and is still burning in them.

I may start reading less theories though as it just leads to disapointment and then people complain the writers didn't follow them. Fair enough on R and L = J but people have to realise this was filmed and edited way before the episodes and theories and half the theories where wishful thinking that probably won't happen anyway. Syrio, Stannis and Blackfish are dead - not coming back- especially as you can only have so many resurrections and only some characters are actually important enough to deserve one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭juneg

Arya storyline wasn't pointless. She is now a trained assassin. That's bound to come in handy over the next season?

The Blackfish is also dead, This is because we are moving towards the end game and he is simply surplus to requirements.

What do ye think the storyline connecting Jon and Dany will be?

• Administrators Posts: 56,308 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Wonder if we are going to see any more Bran this season. Or Tower of Joy.

juneg wrote: »
    Arya storyline wasn't pointless. She is now a trained assassin. That's bound to come in handy over the next season?
    Exactly. People say its a wasted 2 seasons, but its been training for Arya the killer. She might be able to help Jon the Commander who has lost his confidence and Sansa the very angry bride. (although we have to see how Jon turns out this time next week)
    The Blackfish is also dead, This is because we are moving towards the end game and he is simply surplus to requirements.
    Indeed, the editing of non-end game charactor has begun.
    I'm a fan of "The Dragon has 3 heads" theory from the pre TV days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭Riddle101

So pretty much another episode where nothing really happened. Also it looks like Cleganebowl might not happen now if there's not going to be a trial by combat. I guess it makes sense since Sandor is in the Riverrlands and I don't see how he can get to King's Landing and just turn up out of the blue like nothing. If he's with the BWB he'll be heading in the opposite direction.

So i'm guessing if the BWB are heading north, then they must be going towards The Wall to fight the White Walkers which means they'll probably pass by Winterfell too. Maybe we'll get a Sansa/The Hound reunion, and The Hound/Brienne reunion too.

Was disappointed how they handled Brynden Tully. He could have easily jumped on the boat with Brienne and Pod, and went to help his grand niece. What happened to family, duty, honor? He would have been great help to Jon Snow, and helped him take back Winterfell.

I agree with everyone else in regards to Arya. The whole thing really stunk how they handled it. I could have accepted it a bit easier if Arya had more time to heal up, but it was only a day or so after the whole incident and she wasn't 100%, yet the chase scene kind've takes you out of it a bit. Also the Waif came off pretty weak as well. We didn't even get to see a proper death scene or anything. After all that build up, all we get is the screen goes to black and Arya turns up and the House of Black and White.

Also we didn't get any full disclosure as to why the Waif doesn't like Arya. I said this for the last two episodes, but I was hoping that this time around it might have been revealed.

I agree about Tyrion's scenes just been filler. But I can accept that because they were building up to Deanery's return. I don't think Varys knew about the attack as people have speculated. I can't see any reason why Varys would hide it from Tyrion since he supports the Targaryens and that would sort of undermine Darnery's rule.

Still no sign of Samwell Tarly either. I mean that's another thing I would like some disclosure on. What happened after he left Horn Hill? Did he go to the Citadel to study to be a Maester? Is he on his way back to Castle Black? Is he on the run? How did his father take it when he discovered that his sword went missing and probably stolen? It's been two episodes since Samwell took the sword and there's no follow up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

awec wrote: »
    Wonder if we are going to see any more Bran this season. Or Tower of Joy.

Apparently the lad that played young Ned will make another appearance Hopefully it's true..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

rawn wrote: »
    It will happen. It's the only thing they can do with the Mountain character, especially if Cersai is on her way out (one way or another).
    If Cersei tries to be clever and use wildfire to blow up the sept, it will backfire somehow, sh!t will go down, maybe she even causes the death of Tommen and the Mountain spirits her away from KingsLanding. Somewhere along the way the Hound kills the Mountain and Jamie kills Cersei.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Anyone else feel that they've been ramping up the "off screen" deaths?.... I 150% believed that Stannis was left alive by Brienne last season, purely because off screen deaths were not a "given" imo at that point.... But now we've had the Blackfish and the Waif in this episode alone. It's almost to prove a point that a character "can" die off screen.... Just so you know. Ya know?

Events in Bravos involving Arya this week completely broke my immersion in the story. In a show where I'll happily watch a thousand year old man-tree groom a teenage boy, where I won't bat an eye as skeletons pop up from the ground and elf-children shoot fireballs at them from the palms of their hands, where I cheer on a girl who owns three dragons and burns down a hut to murder 20 warriors but emerges from the flames unburnt herself - It was Arya's miraculous recovery from her gutting last week and subsequent impression of Trinity in the Matrix which made me finally go "Ahhh here..." while watching this show with material that didn't feature the Sand Snakes.

The damage was done to Arya last week, yes, but it was also done to this story-line back then in my opinion. We've been watching Arya grow very slowly but surely in Bravos over the last two seasons. Most of that progression appeared to go out the window though when she went walking around Downtown Bravos like a tourist taking in the sights one last time in the daylight, while the Faceless Men had a contract out on her life. Her behaviour pre-stabbing was so off, so unArya-like that countless fans refused to believe it was her. "Arya is the Waif...Jacqen is the Waif....Arya is Jacqen testing the Waif", there are numerous theories of that substance over on the various ASOIAF sub-reddits. I read a few, and not one of them convinced me it was something worth doing beyond the initial shock factor, and something that wouldn't make any sense and the 'why?' was lacking in such theories. Pure shock, nothing more. Even at that though, I might have found it a little easier on the eye and the brain than what actually happened in this episode after Arya got stabbed to shít last week.

The dragons, the magic, the White Walkers, I can buy all of that because as well as me choosing to watch a fantasy show, the show remains largely consistent in the parameters it sets when dealing with these supernatural elements. The show has never portrayed its human characters as super-human though. Yes there are certain exceptions to this - Jon, Beric, The Mountain - but Arya never belonged in that bracket and we've never been shown that she is anything but human and mortal. A potential hero, yes, but not a superhero.

In the show universe so far, we have seen King Robert Baratheon succumb to the wounds he sustained after being gored by a bore. He got bad stomach injuries and a terrible infection funny enough which lead to his death, despite having the best medical treatment available and not jumping into a Bravosi shít-canal post-goring. We've seen The Hound get his ass handed to him, sustaining a few almost-fatal injuries in the process. The description of him by Ian McShane's Septon last week describes a man at death's door when they found him. We saw Ned Stark get sliced on the back of the leg by one of Jaime Lannisters guards and Ned was on the sidelines with that for a while. My point here is that our heroes, anti-heroes, and villains on this show are human, mortal and susceptible to the same biological dangers as us in the real world.

Arya got shanked last week. The show went out of its way to show us the damage that the Waif was inflicting on Arya. Not only did she slash her, but she stabbed her at least twice deep in the stomach. On the second time while the knife was buried to the hilt, she twisted it around. That's a death sentence right there. Then the wounds are exposed to putrid canal water. I get that the show wanted to be brutal and shocking, but they can't have it both ways without something seeming amiss. They can't have our heroine take such heavy hits and then a day or two later be doing parkour around the city in epic fashion after a good night's rest and some milk of the poppy.

At the beginning of the chase, Arya should have passed out from the pain right there after jumping from the balcony of the actress' house. Shortly after that, she slides under a cart along graveled steps on her front at speed. Her guts should have been left in a skid mark right there. Then she jumps down off a high ledge onto more steps, ruining a bunch of oranges and tipping the show's hat to the Godfather in the process, then proceeds to roll down these steps. It is now finally that she starts to show a bit of wear and tear, she should have been dead by this point though.

It's only a fictional TV show and I'm writing a novel here, but it was quite disappointing. I've never really noticed plot-armour in the show, definitely not as glaring as this. As I said above, the damage had been done in the previous episode - Arya's behaviour out in the open before she got stabbed betrayed what she had learned about the Faceless Men and what she had learned from them, i.e. betrayed the last two seasons worth of character progression. Then the show went for an 'Oz scene' with the brutal gutting on the bridge. I'd argue that had they have just had Arya sustain a few superficial wounds, this week's episode wouldn't have suffered nearly as much. They would have gotten the ambush and step backwards for the protagonist, and they would have gotten the epic street chase this week without a million fans asking "How in Seven Hells?".

I don't think Arya's time has been completely wasted in Bravos. Before she left Westeros, she had to leave. She wasn't capable of doing the things needed on her own in order to complete her list, and on her own she was going to get killed. Now though, she's leveled up a bit and her apprenticeship with the Faceless Men will stand to her. She can survive on her own now. It's just, it could have been much more and the conclusion of it was a mind-bender. Even Sexy Jesus looked confused as to what to do or say at the end, and not in a "Oh my Many-Faced God, you killed the Waif" sort of way.

I don't have a problem with Arya luring the Waif to a spot where she could take out Needle and take a swipe at her in the dark. I don't even have a problem with the street chases, whether a girl draws on Robert Patrick's T-1000 for inspiration a little too heavily or not. It's that the show did this while Arya was in the early stages of recovering from fatal wounds. Wounds they didn't even need to give her. The stage was already set, the stakes high. We already knew Arya had a tough challenge given that the Waif had been making bits of her in one on one combat so far this season. The show went for short-term shock value and a cliffhanger finish with last week's stabbing, and ruined the conclusion of Arya's story in Bravos in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,997 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Kinvara will push Dany north when she, finally, gets to Westeros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

If I have to see through another Tyrion\Missandei\Grey Worm banter scene, I will go nuts.

Wasting screen time on that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Mousewar

Say what you want about Joffrey, he never would have stood for this high sparrow nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

re: Arya, I agree 100%. Look at how she stalked Merryn Trant, infiltrated the brothel, and killed him. She did the same with the thin man and Lady Crane even though she didn't pull the trigger on those two (but she could have). She could go home now, infiltrate Winterfell or Kings Landing single handed, and kill anyone on her list and get away with it. When she left Westeros, she didn't know much more than to stick them with the pointy end. However, recently, I think she may have gained another perspective by watching the players on the stage, and she might not be as angry and vengeful as she was before, which is a step towards recovery from all the bad **** she witnessed.

Don't think Cersi cares about ALL the wyldfire, just that which is under the Sept but it'll end up igniting the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,830 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

stankratz wrote: »
    Arya got shanked last week. The show went out of its way to show us the damage that the Waif was inflicting on Arya. Not only did she slash her, but she stabbed her at least twice deep in the stomach. On the second time while the knife was buried to the hilt, she twisted it around. That's a death sentence right there. Then the wounds are exposed to putrid canal water. I get that the show wanted to be brutal and shocking, but they can't have it both ways without something seeming amiss. They can't have our heroine take such heavy hits and then a day or two later be doing parkour around the city in epic fashion after a good night's rest and some milk of the poppy.
    I know you put a lot into this post and you obviously feel strongly about it, but how do you know that it was only a day or two later that Arya and the Waif had their parkour chase? It could have been a week later or even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭joe123

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    If I have to see through another Tyrion\Missandei\Grey Worm banter scene, I will go nuts.

The day Grey Worm and Missandei get their comeuppance will be a great day. These two are the real villains of the show. The biggest crime is that its causing Tyrion to be part of the "comic" relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    If I have to see through another Tyrion\Missandei\Grey Worm banter scene, I will go nuts have to eat every ****ing chicken in this room.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,877 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

That's the first episode I've genuinely been disappointed in. stankratz summed up the problems with Arya's storyline perfectly - they ****ed up last week with having her act wildly out of character and having her receive what should have been fatal wounds. Arya is too clever to have left herself so open last week. She's always been too clever for that. She should have been sneaking around to find her passage home not strutting around doing Tyrion's "rich man" walk. If she'd recognised the old lady's face on the bridge and dived into the canal before being stabbed we'd have gotten the point: she's in mortal danger. That could have lead to the chase through the city and the waif being lured to the darkened room. As it was, it was just ****e script-writing for the sake of including a parkour chase.

Add Danaery's stupid "can't let the fact my city is under attack spoil my epic entrance" was pathetic. I know CGI is expensive but surely it would have been a good follow through from her posturing on Drogon's back last week (not to mention a much better entrance!) to have her scream through the bay astride Drogon as he burnt the Masters fleet to a crisp?

Aside from those two massive **** ups, most of the rest of the episode was fine. Edmure's actions were totally in character and it was some good character development for Jaime to end the siege bloodlessly though the Blackfish lived up to Jaimes assertion that he was as stubborn (and stupid) as Brienne who we know from a recent GRRM quote doesn't come from the brightest line (thick as a castle wall).

I know you put a lot into this post and you obviously feel strongly about it, but how do you know that it was only a day or two later that Arya and the Waif had their parkour chase? It could have been a week later or even more.
    Then they should have shown that. A 20 second montage of Arya being fed chicken soup and having her bandages changed? It's not like that would be an expensive scene to film...

Even a scene with Arya waking up and asking how long she was out only to be told she'd been kept sedated for a fortnight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Anyone else feel that they've been ramping up the "off screen" deaths?.... I 150% believed that Stannis was left alive by Brienne last season, purely because off screen deaths were not a "given" imo at that point.... But now we've had the Blackfish and the Waif in this episode alone. It's almost to prove a point that a character "can" die off screen.... Just so you know. Ya know?

Yep. Totally agree.

And I bet we will only see the aftermath of Drogon spitting fire at the pyramid, they wont be wasting cgi budget on it.

Im completely pi$$ed off with how long they abandon certain storylines for. We got a tease of the Tower of Joy - it looked amazing! And that was how many episodes ago? Theyre not going to resolve that for us til episode 10. Speaking of the Tower of Joy - what the blazes is going on with Bran these days, havent seen him in ages. And Sam - we get a bit of Horn Hill, he steals something that is gonna drive his father nuts - and no follow up! Dorne seems to have disappeared as well (thankfully in this case).

Yep, a lot of storylines have been abandoned for a while and it looks as if next week will be entirely dedicated to the battle for Winterfell so it'll be at least episode 10 (or even next season) before we see any more from Bran, Sam or the Sand Snakes.

That said, were I directing, I think I'd want to show the reveal about Jon being a true-born Targaryen in tandem with the "Battle of the Bastards", maybe they'll cut next weeks episode to give us an update on Bran, have him green-seeing (perhaps in an attempt to warn his father about the past he'd go back to the place where his father seemed to hear his words - does he get that the timeline is fixed yet? Even if he's been told that it is, I could see his character testing the limit of it...) reveal Jon's parentage and then cut to the battle at Winterfell?

I'm sure we'd have seen something of this in the preview if it was how they were going with things though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

stankratz wrote: »
    Stuff about Arya that's right

XenaWizards.jpg

:D:D

I'm just glad she is leaving Braavos behind and going home.

Im completely pi$$ed off with how long they abandon certain storylines for. We got a tease of the Tower of Joy - it looked amazing! And that was how many episodes ago? Theyre not going to resolve that for us til episode 10. Speaking of the Tower of Joy - what thewith Bran these days, havent seen him in ages. And Sam - we get a bit of Horn Hill, he steals something that is gonna drive his father nuts - and no follow up!.........
    You have READ the books, havent you?

There's a good reason that GRRM previously called ASOIAF "unfilmable".

Sleepy wrote: »
    I'm sure we'd have seen something of this in the preview if it was how they were going with things though...
    The actor playing young Ned is set to appear in episode 10 so I guess we dont get the Tower of Joy reveal until then.

Tenger wrote: »
    You have READ the books, havent you?

There's a good reason that GRRM previously called ASOIAF "unfilmable".

Oh come on, the show is so far from the books by now its a different story that just happens to share some characters who have a passing resemblance.

The actor playing young Ned is set to appear in episode 10 so I guess we dont get the Tower of Joy reveal until then.
    Makes sense. Dany states in last episode that she will ride Drogon but will need 2 more dragon riders ....cue cut away to Jons face (and Tyrion perhaps?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,830 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Oh come on, the show is so far from the books by now its a different story that just happens to share some characters who have a passing resemblance.
    I've heard this said a lot and my question is how far?

Jon Snow's story is ahead of the books, but bar a couple of small details is almost identical.
    Arya's story likewise.
    Sansa took a detour via Jeyne Poole, so that's different
    Bran, pretty much spot on with the books.
    Rickon has taken a detour.
    Danaerys is ahead of the books but up to then has pretty much stayed on plot.

I'm not bored enough to carry on, but the likes of Dorne and Young Griff etc. have been changed/omitted for reasons of speed which I can agree with. How bored would people actually be with the show if they had taken on the whole Dorne storyline and Tyrion's meandering journey through Essos?

I've heard this said a lot and my question is how far?

Jaime is a totally different character in the books. As is Euron. Stannis would never have burned Shireen. Daario is very different in the books too.

Theres been so much left out that its had a huge effect on some storylines. We now know that Mance was irrelevant, Mances baby was irrelevant, fAegon was irrelevant, Quentyn was irrelevant......