Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freemasons: Evil secret society or misunderstood nice guys...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

I know of two people kicked out in the last 6 years for just those reasons BDD. One was an accountant swindling the books and before the case even went to court, he was turfed out, and the second was a young man with a public order offence - again, probably something minor in society, but you are not allowed to be a member if you break the laws of your state - no matter what your rank.

Jesus if you're all that concerned, join. You can go to a few meetings and walk out if you don't like it. Otherwise, STFU.

So people should become priests and join Fianna Fail before they can say anything about them? Also, people who criticise the Masons would not be allowed to join and people who do join might be at such a low level they don't know about or control what is going on.

Should people have to join the BNP before they can criticise Nazism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

Perhaps you would suply one?
    Its here
    Knock yourself out, some of the stuff there is right down your ally.

So people should become priests and join Fianna Fail before they can say anything about them?
    They shouldn't base their arguments around the actions of a very small section of a huge group of people.
    Also, people who criticise the Masons would not be allowed to join and people who do join might be at such a low level they don't know about or control what is going on.
    That is the case for nearly everything in life. Go for a job interview and criticize your interviewer and his company and its employees, call them all criminals and conspiratorial minded people and see how you get on.
    Should people have to join the BNP before they can criticise Nazism?
    Sorry, as you pedantically stated earlier this thread is about Masons.

Does anyone else find this thread and the narrow mindedness which is visible here incredibly irritating? Talk about a brick wall!

Absolam wrote: »
    As for Kenneth Noye; he was a criminal, who associated with criminals, and corrupt police officers.

In his lodge.
    He is reported to have joined Hammersmith Lodge which had corrupt members including police officers, although every report I have seen looks like a copy of the same original, and none of them provide a source for the information.

So you are saying you can not believe he was the Master of Hammersmith Lodge?

Your point on churches has been answered, but as you say, if a church admitted a criminal to the priesthood people would have something to say about it. Actually, if anyone admitted a criminal to a non criminal organisation, someone would have something to say about it. That's the way it goes with criminals.

Is defying the law a crime?Should senior police officers have defied official disapproval and established a new Masonic lodge despite widespread public fears about the influence of the secret society on the criminal justice system?

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200607/cmhansrd/cm070521/text/70521w0009.htm#07052114000085

r. Tony Wright: To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department which police forces keep a register of declarations of freemasonry membership; and whether such declarations are required by (a) police officers, (b) prison officers, (c) probation officers and (d) other staff on appointment. [133307]

Mr. McNulty: Voluntary arrangements for the declaration of freemasonry membership were established for the police service in 1999. There is no statutory basis for the registers which are held internally by forces. We do not monitor centrally which forces continue to administer such registers. All recruits to the prison service are required, after the selection decision and before appointment is confirmed, to declare whether they belong to the freemasons. There is no national policy requiring probation officers to declare freemasonry membership.

http://www.parliament.the-stationery-office.co.uk/pa/cm199293/cmhansrd/1992-07-01/Debate-1.html

In particular, those people include police officers up to and including the rank of chief constable. With the possible exception of the legal profession, there can be few professions in which freemasons are as well represented as they are in the police. That has been widely remarked on, and it is hard to think of anything more damaging to public confidence in the police. I know that it is deeply resented by police officers who are not freemasons.

Why don't you ask chris Mullen oif you want to know? Don't masons tell other masons who were members or is it a secret?
    Well, no not really. You're not entitled to information about any private (not secret) organisation; the profit figures for Dunnes Stores, the membership list of Stillorgan Ladies Club, the research undertaken by Elan, all these things are private, but do not indicate a secret society, only people whose business is their own.

If elan or a Ladies club or Dunnes stores are paying for a politicians campaign or having meetings for him or for a judge or policeman I am entitled to know.
    Nope I'm saying those Masons don't rescind their oaths, they only add to them.

What oaths do they add? Dont tell me ... they are secret?
    I don't; it's your quote.
    I am a Mason, as you would see if you had read the thread.
    Why do you want to know what 'level' I am?

Why won't yo give an honest answer? why are you avoiding saying what level you are? Is there an oath a gainst it? Why is it a secret? IOf you were a policeman a civil servant or a judge ( which many masons seem to be) then you would have to give your rank.
    And how does it matter how many 'levels' there are?

Typeical "state secret mentalist" . If i go went the county council years ago and asked how many public toilets someone wouldf say -"why do you want to know" . Why I wan't to know isn't an issue. You are the Mason claiming it isn't secretive but nby not answering simple questions you prove the opposite!
    I note you're repeating your question without replying to my point... have I hit the mark then?

What? your point about Why do I wan't to know? don't be stupid!
    The topic is masonry not my claims about anything. Masons claim it isnt secret but now it appears their levels are secret! Even to other mason below them!
    Because you're asking for information about someone elses personal business; surely you don't think you're entitled to an answer just because you ask?

I can't force you to answer no. But your refusal to answer proves the point of secrecy!
    I could, and perhaps might have if asked nicely, since for me it's not a secret. But as it's exercising you.. why do you want to know, and why should I tell you? Give me a good reason, and I'll give you an answer.

I don't believe you.
    the issue has been shown is not why i am asking so don't trey to change it to an attack on me.
    I already gave you two reasons in any case
    1. It may provides evidence you are not secret.
    2. I may prove that you are ignorant of higher levels.

Seriously? That childish? You ask questions you can see the answers to in order to 'test' whether you will receive an honest answer? And you think this will determine whether the respondant is a member of an open or a secret society? Really, are you serious?

THe masons here are theones claiming that the foundation oaths are hoinesty and openess in their dealings not me!

Also it gives the impression that the fiorst level oaths are the most important. are they? do later oaths overrule them?

Nope I'm saying those Masons don't rescind their oaths, they only add to them.

Add more important oaths or less important ones?
    I could, and perhaps might have if asked nicely, since for me it's not a secret.

How was I offensive in any way? I only asked directly what level you were and how many levels there are. Is it a secret to reveal that? how many members in the Uk and Ireland and how many worldwide?
    Fair enough, we won't credit you with the wit, just the context, so the question remains.

The book isn't the source your fellow mason is. The with is mine. he ( or you) mentioned "not worth getting out of bed to put on my trousers" in the mssage to which I was replying.

How was I offensive in any way? I only asked directly what level you were and how many levels there are. Is it a secret to reveal that? how many members in the Uk and Ireland and how many worldwide?

He doesn't have to tell you anything, just like you don't have to tell him what religion you are or were you live... you get the idea. I'm sure its not a secret but you don't have some sort of obligation to know if/why he is a mason, or what level he is.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

ISAW wrote: »
    So people should become priests and join Fianna Fail before they can say anything about them?

That's a very flawed, and silly argument. Fianna Fail and the Priesthood aren't accused by morons of being in control of the Earths resources and directing how humanity develops, and is held back in that development.

There may well be a secret society doing those things, but it is not the Masonic Order. The closest thing I've ever seen that explains the Masonic Order, is the episode of the Simpsons - The Stonecutters. Seriously.
    Also, people who criticise the Masons would not be allowed to join and people who do join might be at such a low level they don't know about or control what is going on.

Two flaws with this argument too. The first is that if you criticise the Masons and ask to join, you would be engaged in debate about your criticisms. If your fears were allayed, you would be welcome with open arms, if not, you'd be refused admission based on your own dislike of the organisation.

This concept of levels is also completley unfounded. There are varying degrees in Freemasonry, but all the degrees are is more chapters in the story of the order, and of it's grand master Hiram Abiff. Each degree conferred upon you is like having a story telling session. It's pretty damned interesting stuff. But there's no controlling the world going on, and when someone joins, they're entitled to ask any questions they want. There is no 'such a low level they don't know about or control what is going on' nonsense. Even the most recent initiate can stand up in open lodge and make himself heard if he wants to. All brethren are equal. In fact, the entire concept of Masonry is that all mankind is equal, masons or not.

If you need any further evidence that if there is a secret society controlling the world that it's not Masonry, there are two subjects which are forbidden to discuss at any point. Religion, and Politics. Couple that, with the oaths to obey the laws of the country you reside in, and that you are to be honest with all men, and it's quite a cool organisation to be part of, despite having to put up with the loonies who think we're out to control the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,913 ✭✭✭Absolam

In his lodge. So you are saying you can not believe he was the Master of Hammersmith Lodge?
    Before, whilst, and after he was in a Lodge. I haven't seen any evidence that he was a Master of a Lodge, or even in a Lodge. He surely could have been, but I've seen no evidence.

Is defying the law a crime?Should senior police officers have defied official disapproval and established a new Masonic lodge despite widespread public fears about the influence of the secret society on the criminal justice system?

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200607/cmhansrd/cm070521/text/70521w0009.htm#07052114000085

http://www.parliament.the-stationery-office.co.uk/pa/cm199293/cmhansrd/1992-07-01/Debate-1.html
    Why don't you ask chris Mullen oif you want to know? Don't masons tell other masons who were members or is it a secret?
    ?
    There is no law requiring police officers in the UK to declare their membership in Freemasonry, or forbidding them from establishing a lodge. And the bill you link was never passed into law, the only question I would therefore put to Chris Mullin is why does he now think he couldn't get support from his own party to curtail civil liberties in the UK.
    If elan or a Ladies club or Dunnes stores are paying for a politicians campaign or having meetings for him or for a judge or policeman I am entitled to know.
    You certainly have a right to know (from the politician) who is financing his campaign, but for the record no Masonic organisation in Ireland has ever financed or supported a political candidate, as we do not involve ourselves in politics. You have no right to know if a person, organisation, or company has a meeting with a judge or policeman.
    What oaths do they add? Dont tell me ... they are secret?
    Indeed.
    Why won't yo give an honest answer? why are you avoiding saying what level you are? Is there an oath a gainst it? Why is it a secret? IOf you were a policeman a civil servant or a judge ( which many masons seem to be) then you would have to give your rank.
    I gave you an honest answer, just not the one you wanted. And a policeman, civil servant, or judge, as members of the civil power, would be required to give their 'rank' only in the course of carrying out their duties, not in general conversation. A member of a private organisation is not under any such obligation.
    Typeical "state secret mentalist" . If i go went the county council years ago and asked how many public toilets someone wouldf say -"why do you want to know" . Why I wan't to know isn't an issue. You are the Mason claiming it isn't secretive but nby not answering simple questions you prove the opposite!
    I suppose if you were a county counciller they would have to tell you, even if they sniggered whilst they did it. But since I don't have to tell you, why you want to know can be an issue if that's what interests me.
    What? your point about Why do I wan't to know? don't be stupid!
    The topic is masonry not my claims about anything. Masons claim it isnt secret but now it appears their levels are secret! Even to other mason below them!
    For the record then; the number of degrees is not a secret either from Masons or anyone else. But we don't have to tell anyone.
    I can't force you to answer no. But your refusal to answer proves the point of secrecy!
    No, it proves you need to provide a compelling argument.

I don't believe you.
    the issue has been shown is not why i am asking so don't trey to change it to an attack on me.
    Oh dear. Well, it's not an attack on you, simply an effort to understand your motivation.
    1. How?
    2. How?
    THe masons here are theones claiming that the foundation oaths are hoinesty and openess in their dealings not me!
    Also it gives the impression that the fiorst level oaths are the most important. are they? do later oaths overrule them?
    All oaths are important; they're oaths. But swearing a new oath does not mean you can foreswear a previous one so one can't overrule another.

I didn't say you were offensive, I said I might have told you if you'd asked nicely. No it's not a secret. And a 0.27 second search on google will tell you that "Under the United Grand Lodge of England, there are 330,000 Freemasons, meeting in 8,644 Lodges. There are separate Grand Lodges for Ireland (which covers North and South) and Scotland, with a combined membership of 150,000. Worldwide, there are probably 5 million members."

Its here
    Knock yourself out, some of the stuff there is right down your ally.

Dint find anything flaky by mysterious there as promised.

Or porn references as suggested.
    They shouldn't base their arguments around the actions of a very small section of a huge group of people.

So you are quite happy to admit that when it comes to child abuse because less than one per cent of clergy did it who in turm are maybe one percent of Roman catholics that ther is no argument about criticising the Catholic Church over child sex offenders?
    That is the case for nearly everything in life. Go for a job interview and criticize your interviewer and his company and its employees, call them all criminals and conspiratorial minded people and see how you get on.

So the masons wont accept seekers after truth who are ctitical thinkers and will point out any corruption or manipulation in the masons?
    Sorry, as you pedantically stated earlier this thread is about Masons.

You seem not to understand analogy I asked : Should people have to join the BNP before they can criticise Nazism? I asked it because you suggested peopel who haven't joined Masons have not right to criticise it.

Does anyone else find this thread and the narrow mindedness which is visible here incredibly irritating? Talk about a brick wall!

Does anyone find the secrecy and reluctance to answer questions is visible from Masons?

Before, whilst, and after he was in a Lodge. I haven't seen any evidence that he was a Master of a Lodge, or even in a Lodge. He surely could have been, but I've seen no evidence.

You have seen no evidence. You dont believe he was a member of hammersmith lodge? Are you on the level? surely you can go and look at a old manual from the stated year which lists all lodge officers? You have a bank robber and a mass murderer in a lodge and you never bothered to check it out or ask anyone in the masons?
    There is no law requiring police officers in the UK to declare their membership in Freemasonry, or forbidding them from establishing a lodge. And the bill you link was never passed into law, the only question I would therefore put to Chris Mullin is why does he now think he couldn't get support from his own party to curtail civil liberties in the UK.

the rules of the masons are not the law of the land either but Masons follow them.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/police-want-judges-and-mps-to-reveal-masonic-links-too-1316095.html
    The pressure on police officers has increased with a new demand from the Police Complaints Authority that police officers be compelled to disclose Masonic membership in a register open to public scrutiny.

You certainly have a right to know (from the politician) who is financing his campaign, but for the record no Masonic organisation in Ireland has ever financed or supported a political candidate, as we do not involve ourselves in politics. You have no right to know if a person, organisation, or company has a meeting with a judge or policeman.

Or to know if a politician had a meetng or correspondence with a policeman? Tryng to influence the police isn't worth knowing about? Funny how a minister just resigned over it then isn't it? No more worth knowing about than a murderer in a Lodge?
    Indeed.

Indeed meaning the lodge has secrets.
    I gave you an honest answer,

No you didnt. You avoided answering about what level you are.
    Because it is a secret.
    just not the one you wanted.
    Oh so you are a mind reader too? I didn't expect you would answer even though you stated if you were asked nicely you would have done so. I have not been anything but nice to you. i I have up to this point made any personal attacks or insults then please care to list them?
    And a policeman, civil servant, or judge, as members of the civil power, would be required to give their 'rank' only in the course of carrying out their duties,

REQUIRED TO! You are not required to. You are being asked to be honest and forthright. If in a conversation a policeman said to me in a public place "im in the police" and i said "really what is your job" I would expect him to say where he works and whether he is over other people there e.g. I am over a fraud squad.
    not in general conversation. A member of a private organisation is not under any such obligation.

I didnt suggest you were obliged to tell me anything. I suggested that the openness honesty and forthrightness oath seems to be in the closet and the secrecy thing seems to be out.
    I suppose if you were a county counciller they would have to tell you, even if they sniggered whilst they did it. But since I don't have to tell you, why you want to know can be an issue if that's what interests me.

No you don't have to tell me but the masons here claimed it is all above borad and on the level. :)
    For the record then; the number of degrees is not a secret either from Masons or anyone else. But we don't have to tell anyone.

I know. You also haven't which is even more informative.
    Back to the state secret civil service mentality. If peopel dont know wher the toiulet is it isn't my job to tell them. Not a very outgoing organisation are you? couldn't yu be charitable and tell me ?
    No, it proves you need to provide a compelling argument.

Your own words seem to demonstrate you wont say unless you were compelled to do so by someone like Frederick of Prussia.
    Oh dear. Well, it's not an attack on you, simply an effort to understand your motivation.
    1. How?
    2. How?

Already answered in the message.

All oaths are important; they're oaths. But swearing a new oath does not mean you can foreswear a previous one so one can't overrule another.

any potential loyalties Masons might have, based on their vows to support fellow Masons, should be transparent to the public
    I didn't say you were offensive, I said I might have told you if you'd asked nicely.

Would you have? I don't believe you would and stating "might" is just obfuscation.

No it's not a secret. And a 0.27 second search on google will tell you that "Under the United Grand Lodge of England, there are 330,000 Freemasons, meeting in 8,644 Lodges. There are separate Grand Lodges for Ireland (which covers North and South) and Scotland, with a combined membership of 150,000. Worldwide, there are probably 5 million members."

Well given I could get it from Google you are obviously right about it not being a secret. But you have admitted other things ARE secret.

But you have admitted other things ARE secret.

The only secrets in Masonry are how masons recognise each other. In other words, the funny handshakes, or little emblems on their lapels, or whatever. And what's ironic, is that Google will throw most of these up anyway, so they're not brilliant secrets.

I know it's hard to trust what your mistrustful of, but I promise you faithfully, there's nothing untoward going on. It's like scouts, for grownups. I know you've also said that Masons here don't answer your questions, so please make a list, and I'll personally do my best to answer them for you.

So the masons wont accept seekers after truth who are ctitical thinkers and will point out any corruption or manipulation in the masons?
    No, the Masons won't accept a member whose stated purpose is to attack the Masons. It's a fairly well accepted principle in most organisations; we shouldn't take a snake to our our bosom lest it bite us.
    You seem not to understand analogy I asked : Should people have to join the BNP before they can criticise Nazism? I asked it because you suggested peopel who haven't joined Masons have not right to criticise it.
    Your point is deliberately misleading. The BNP are not the Nazi Party. A more apt analogy would be; should people have to join the Nazi Party if they wish to discover its' motivations and disclose them to the world. The answer is yes, otherwise they are simply engaging in hearsay. If you're asking can people be critical of an organisation, the answer is yes of course. But the less you know about it, the less likely it is that your criticism is accurate, or even truthful. To know the most about Freemasonry, you must be a Freemason.
    Does anyone find the secrecy and reluctance to answer questions is visible from Masons?
    Leaving aside your own personal little obsessions, this thread is now 30 pages, and a lot of it is comprised of Freemasons answering questions quite openly...
    You have seen no evidence. You dont believe he was a member of hammersmith lodge? Are you on the level? surely you can go and look at a old manual from the stated year which lists all lodge officers? You have a bank robber and a mass murderer in a lodge and you never bothered to check it out or ask anyone in the masons?
    That is right; as I've said I've seen no evidence. And surely you don't think I'm going to go to the UK, find the Lodge, ask them for access to their records, and check the list of officers in the 1970s in order to prove a conspiracy theorists claim? If you want to present the claim, then present the evidence. But nice try at moving away from the fact that he was a criminal before and after he was believed to be a freemason.
    the rules of the masons are not the law of the land either but Masons follow them.
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/police-want-judges-and-mps-to-reveal-masonic-links-too-1316095.html
    The pressure on police officers has increased with a new demand from the Police Complaints Authority that police officers be compelled to disclose Masonic membership in a register open to public scrutiny.
    That's true; are you trying to claim that if someone chooses to follow one set of rules they must follow all sets of rules? I suspect most Christians will object to Hindu dietary laws, and scientists will have major issues with 7th day adventist rules, and will we drive on the right or left side of the road? There's rules for both...
    Oh by the way, that 'new demand' was in 1996. There must have been huge support for it, just like with Chris Mullin.

Or to know if a politician had a meetng or correspondence with a policeman? Tryng to influence the police isn't worth knowing about? Funny how a minister just resigned over it then isn't it? No more worth knowing about than a murderer in a Lodge?
    Funny how having conclusively lost your argument you try to associate it with a different subject in order to give it the appearance of validity. How does a public servant exerting undue influence over another public servant relate in any way to your overwhelming desire to be told how many 'levels' there are in Freemasory?
    Indeed meaning the lodge has secrets.
    I've never said lodges have no secrets. Don't you have any secrets? I think most people have secrets. Probably most organisations. Certainly most companies. Definately most churches. I don't think having secrets per se is a very big issue is it?
    No you didnt. You avoided answering about what level you are.
    Because it is a secret..
    Oh so you are a mind reader too? I didn't expect you would answer even though you stated if you were asked nicely you would have done so. I have not been anything but nice to you. i I have up to this point made any personal attacks or insults then please care to list them?
    I answered honestly, knowing your question was intended to lead. And as I said, my 'level' in Fremasonry is not secret, you've simply given me no reason to tell you what it is. Still.

REQUIRED TO! You are not required to. You are being asked to be honest and forthright. If in a conversation a policeman said to me in a public place "im in the police" and i said "really what is your job" I would expect him to say where he works and whether he is over other people there e.g. I am over a fraud squad.
    I'm being asked by you to be honest and forthright, to you, about something you're interested in. What reason do I have for satisfying your curiousity? You might expect a policeman in conversation to tell you what part of the police he worked in, and even what 'level' he is, but even as a public servant he would be under no obligation to tell you, and in my experience of Irish Gardaí, he'd certainly ask you 'why do you want to know?'. You wouldn't have to tell him, of course, and he wouldn't have to answer you. And let's be honest, he probably wouldn't.
    I didnt suggest you were obliged to tell me anything. I suggested that the openness honesty and forthrightness oath seems to be in the closet and the secrecy thing seems to be out.
    I don't recall anyone saying there was an openness honesty and forthrightness oath. And even if there was (there isn't) I can openly, honestly, and forthrightly say ' I am a Freemason. I know what degree I have attained, and what other degrees there are. I am not obliged to keep that information secret. I'm not telling ISAW unless he gives me a good reason'.
    You may be thinking of what PaintDoctor said;
    2. I will be upright (honest) in my dealings with all men.
    I'm being entirely honest with you ISAW; your hamfisted attacks on Freemasonry do not make me want to tell you all about the fraternity that I enjoy being a member of.

No you don't have to tell me but the masons here claimed it is all above borad and on the level. :)
    Indeed, but none of them said we'd tell you everything you wanted to know just because you asked.

I know. You also haven't which is even more informative.
    Back to the state secret civil service mentality. If peopel dont know wher the toiulet is it isn't my job to tell them. Not a very outgoing organisation are you? couldn't yu be charitable and tell me ?
    So if we don't tell you you're free to make up whatever you want? That's not informing you, it's just freeing you to fantasise. I'd say we are a moderately outgoing organisation. As for charity, well, can you satisfy me that you are worth bestowing charity upon?
    Your own words seem to demonstrate you wont say unless you were compelled to do so by someone like Frederick of Prussia.
    That would be difficult since he's been dead for over 200 years. So I'll make it easy; a compelling argument will be an elegant sufficiency.
    N.B. For those readers of the thread wondering how Frederick the Great came into the discussion, ISAW is demonstrating his mastery of Wikipedia where you can 'discover' the King of Prussia was a Freemason.
    Already answered in the message.
    No, I asked you how your questions could provide the evidence you suggest, but to go further, since your questions are predicated on the responses you anticipate, aren't your questions only an attempted trap to 'prove' that, whatever the response, there must be something further that 'proves' the respondant doesn't have all the facts?
    any potential loyalties Masons might have, based on their vows to support fellow Masons, should be transparent to the public
    Why?
    Would you have? I don't believe you would and stating "might" is just obfuscation.
    OK I would and will if I feel the the question is put in such a way as to make me want to answer it.
    Well given I could get it from Google you are obviously right about it not being a secret. But you have admitted other things ARE secret.
    Yes, other things are secret. But it wouldn't be in the least bit interesting to you if they weren't would it? So we provide a service for people like you, who would otherwise be unleashed to interrogate councils about public toilets and policemen about their levels. It's charitable, in a way...

He doesn't have to tell you anything, just like you don't have to tell him what religion you are or were you live... you get the idea. I'm sure its not a secret but you don't have some sort of obligation to know if/why he is a mason, or what level he is.

I'm not the one coming here saying the orthodox church is not a secret society or whatever. i am qyite happy to explain that the Church has laity, deacons Priests and Bishops. The GAA is quite happy to tewl you the names of any club committee or county Board. fianna Fáil are happy to tell you the name of the local cumann secretary or the Nationsal executive. Yes we all know Priests hear confessions the GAA discuss Rule changes and fianna Fáil discuss what they think of local Greens or how they intend to publicise a certain campaign and all of this is private but the other stuff like wher you are a member how many levels in the hierarchy and how is at what level is NOT secret. In the Masons however it appears it IS SECRET!

That's a very flawed, and silly argument. Fianna Fail and the Priesthood aren't accused by morons of being in control of the Earths resources and directing how humanity develops, and is held back in that development.

are you saying I made these claims or are you calling me a moron?

If neither why do you claim MY analogy is flawed because of something you do not attribute to ME?
    There may well be a secret society doing those things, but it is not the Masonic Order. The closest thing I've ever seen that explains the Masonic Order, is the episode of the Simpsons - The Stonecutters. Seriously.

So they are just a big joke?

Two flaws with this argument too. The first is that if you criticise the Masons and ask to join, you would be engaged in debate about your criticisms. If your fears were allayed, you would be welcome with open arms, if not, you'd be refused admission based on your own dislike of the organisation.

So you welcomne critivcal thinkers who will expose any corruption, bad behaviour or illegalities they see by other masons?
    This concept of levels is also completley unfounded. There are varying degrees in Freemasonry, but all the degrees are is more chapters in the story of the order, and of it's grand master Hiram Abiff. Each degree conferred upon you is like having a story telling session. It's pretty damned interesting stuff. But there's no controlling the world going on, and when someone joins, they're entitled to ask any questions they want. There is no 'such a low level they don't know about or control what is going on' nonsense. Even the most recent initiate can stand up in open lodge and make himself heard if he wants to. All brethren are equal. In fact, the entire concept of Masonry is that all mankind is equal, masons or not.
    http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/09771a.htm#V
    The characteristic feature of the organization of speculative Masonry is the Grand Lodge system founded in 1717. Every regular Grand Lodge or Supreme Council in the Scottish, or Grand Orient in the mixed system, constitutes a supreme independent body with legislative, judicial, and executive powers. It is composed of the lodges or inferior bodies of its jurisdiction or of their representatives regularly assembled and the grand officers whom they elect. A duly constituted lodge exercises the same powers, but in a more restricted sphere. The indispensable officers of a lodge are the Worshipful Master [77] the Senior and Junior Warden, and the Tiler. The master and the wardens are usually aided by two deacons and two stewards for the ceremonial and convivial work and by a treasurer and a secretary. Many lodges have a Chaplain for religious ceremonies and addresses. The same officers in large numbers and with sounding titles (Most Worshipful Grand Master, Sovereign Grand Commander, etc.) exist in the Grand Lodges. As the expenses of the members are heavy, only wealthy persons can afford to join the fraternity. The number of candidates is further restricted by prescriptions regarding their moral, intellectual, social, and physical qualifications, and by a regulation which requires unanimity of votes in secret balloting for their admission. Thus, contrary to its pretended universality, Freemasonry appears to be a most exclusive society, the more so as it is a secret society, closed off from the profane world of common mortals. "Freemasonry", says the "Keystone" of Philadelphia [78]

By his oath the Master Mason is pledged to maintain and uphold the five points of fellowship in act as well as in words, i.e., to assist a Master Mason on every occasion according to his ability, and particularly when he makes the sign of distress. In Duncan, "American Ritual" (229), the Royal Arch-Mason evenswears:

I will assist a companion Royal Arch-Mason, when I see him engaged in any difficulty and will espouse his cause so as to extricate him from the same whether he be right or wrong.

"has no right to be popular. It is a secret society. It is for the few, not the many, for the select, not for the masses."
    If you need any further evidence that if there is a secret society controlling the world that it's not Masonry.

I diodnt suggest they do control the world but there is a history showing masonic interests in political control.
    , there are two subjects which are forbidden to discuss at any point. Religion, and Politics. Couple that, with the oaths to obey the laws of the country you reside in, and that you are to be honest with all men, and it's quite a cool organisation to be part of, despite having to put up with the loonies who think we're out to control the world.

(Rosen, "The Catholic Church and Secret Societies," p. 2). Raich gives a more elaborate description: "Secret societies are those organizations which completely conceal their rules, corporate activity, the names of their members, their signs, passwords and usages from outsiders or the 'profane.' As a rule, the members of these societies are bound to the strictest secrecy concerning all the business of the association by oath or promise or word of honour, and often under the threat of severe punishment in case of its violation. If such secret society has higher and lower degrees, the members of the higher degree must be equally careful to conceal their secrets from their brethren of a lower degree. Incertain secret societies, the members are not allowed to know even the names of their highest officers. Secret societies were founded to promote certain ideal aims, to be obtained not by violent but by moral measures. By this, they are distinguished from conspiracies and secret plots which are formed to attain a particular object throughviolent means. Secret societies may be religious, scientific, political or social" (Kirchenlex., V, p. 519)

No, the Masons won't accept a member whose stated purpose is to attack the Masons. It's a fairly well accepted principle in most organisations; we shouldn't take a snake to our our bosom lest it bite us.

to expose any lies or deceit or crime. surely that is a worthy cause.
    Your point is deliberately misleading.

No it isn't . I was not trying to mislead anyone. That is a lie. so much for "honesty" levels of masons. I am not trying to purposefully mislead anyone here and if you claim I am then prove it or withdraw the accusation!
    The BNP are not the Nazi Party. A more apt analogy would be; should people have to join the Nazi Party if they wish to discover its' motivations and disclose them to the world. The answer is yes,

the answer is no! It was you who mentioned the snake metaphor. One should not have to join the Nazi party in order to expose their principles.
    otherwise they are simply engaging in hearsay.

How many people do you know hoe were members of the Nazi party? If you don't know any how do you know the WWII Holocaust Happened? If you accept it happened is the evidence for it only from members of the Nazi party?

If you're asking can people be critical of an organisation, the answer is yes of course. But the less you know about it, the less likely it is that your criticism is accurate, or even truthful. To know the most about Freemasonry, you must be a Freemason.

Which is only reenforcing the secret nature of Masonry!"
    Leaving aside your own personal little obsessions, this thread is now 30 pages, and a lot of it is comprised of Freemasons answering questions quite openly...

Handwaving argument and sweeping statement. What was revealed by Masons in this thread which people could not learn anyway elsewhere?
    That is right; as I've said I've seen no evidence. And surely you don't think I'm going to go to the UK, find the Lodge, ask them for access to their records, and check the list of officers in the 1970s in order to prove a conspiracy theorists claim?

dont you have manual listing all the officers in all the lodges?
    Don't you have a library in Dublin with copies of the older manuals?
    If you want to present the claim, then present the evidence. But nice try at moving away from the fact that he was a criminal before and after he was believed to be a freemason.

It seems this is the sequence
    He was a criminal before entering the lodge. He enter and was supported by members who knew he was a criminal, members with police connections who protected him.
    That's true; are you trying to claim that if someone chooses to follow one set of rules they must follow all sets of rules?

No I'm suggesting Masons follow a set of rules which are SECRET. Secret oaths.
    Secret words.
    Do you want me to list them and you can deny if all and say you never heard these words?
    Oh by the way, that 'new demand' was in 1996. There must have been huge support for it, just like with Chris Mullin.

Having introduced an "old rule
    " banning some members of the pubnlic service from being masons and subsequently lifting it.
    Funny how having conclusively lost your argument you try to associate it with a different subject in order to give it the appearance of validity. How does a public servant exerting undue influence over another public servant relate in any way to your overwhelming desire to be told how many 'levels' there are in Freemasory?

There is a hiostoric record of links between public servants and Masons. If you list the Judges who were masons I would suggest NONE are from lower orders.
    I've never said lodges have no secrets. Don't you have any secrets? I think most people have secrets. Probably most organisations. Certainly most companies. Definately most churches. I don't think having secrets per se is a very big issue is it?

Secret oaths! Rules to be kept
    In order to preserve peace and harmony no private piques or quarrels must be brought within the door of the Lodge, far less any quarrels about Religion or Nations or State Policy, we being only, as Masons, of theCatholick Religion , above mentioned, we are also of all Nations, Tongues, Kindreds and Languages and are resolved against all Politicks [printed in the original in Gothic letters] as what never yet conduced to the welfare of the Lodge nor ever will. This charge has been always strictly enjoin'd and observ'd; but especially ever since the Reformation in Britain or the dissent and secession of these Nations from the communion of Rome.
    I answered honestly, knowing your question was intended to lead.

You had no idea where the question was going. And I already gave you reasons as to why I might ask it (which are not required for you to give an honest and full answer).
    You come her saying Masonry is open honest and not a secret society but when I ask you "how many degrees" or "what degree are you" you reply mind your own business. It is people like you who came here saying Masons are open and honest.
    And as I said, my 'level' in Fremasonry is not secret, you've simply given me no reason to tell you what it is. Still.

so noe it is "Im quite happy to tell yo all about Masonry" but when asked abot how naydegree or what degree you are you refuse to answer.
    I'm being asked by you to be honest and forthright, to you, about something you're interested in. What reason do I have for satisfying your curiousity? You might expect a policeman in conversation to tell you what part of the police he worked in, and even what 'level' he is, but even as a public servant he would be under no obligation to tell you, and in my experience of Irish Gardaí, he'd certainly ask you 'why do you want to know?'.

He might if I just walked up to him and asked. But if he came into a public forum saying "Im a Garda. the Gardai are not there to threaten you. We all have a job to do and I think the Gardai have a bad image. You should not feel in any way threatened by them. feel free to ask me questions about the Gardai and Ill do my best to answer them in an open and honest way.

Now I am not going to ask such a Garda "can you tell me the owner of the following car registration numner and where he lives" But suppose i asked him "what rank are you and for what branch of the police force do you work?" I would not expect him to say "mind your own business" or "Why do you want to know" I would expect him to tell me.
    You wouldn't have to tell him, of course, and he wouldn't have to answer you. And let's be honest, he probably wouldn't.

He would be doing a bad PR job for the police if he announced the p[olice are freindly guys and not a secret society if when asked his rank and branch said "mind your own business"
    I don't recall anyone saying there was an openness honesty and forthrightness oath. And even if there was (there isn't) I can openly, honestly, and forthrightly say ' I am a Freemason. I know what degree I have attained, and what other degrees there are. I am not obliged to keep that information secret. I'm not telling ISAW unless he gives me a good reason'.

I gave you TWO but suit yourself. I didn't expect you would say it.
    Indeed, but none of them said we'd tell you everything you wanted to know just because you asked.

I never said you should tell me everything I wanted to know but knowing your degree and how many degrees there are in your rite I would expect. Maybe you have to be given a sign before you tell me ? ;)
    So if we don't tell you you're free to make up whatever you want? That's not informing you, it's just freeing you to fantasise. I'd say we are a moderately outgoing organisation. As for charity, well, can you satisfy me that you are worth bestowing charity upon?

above all people were equal even non masons. Now you are judging who deserves what!
    That would be difficult since he's been dead for over 200 years. So I'll make it easy; a compelling argument will be an elegant sufficiency.
    N.B. For those readers of the thread wondering how Frederick the Great came into the discussion, ISAW is demonstrating his mastery of Wikipedia where you can 'discover' the King of Prussia was a Freemason.

Not exactly! I didn't get it from Wikipedia but from the same place as , DEMOLAY-HIRAM ABIFF, MICHA, MACHA, BEALIM, and ADONAI
    I could have begun at the other end and mentioned BOAZ, JACHIN and SHIBBOLETH, MAIIA BONE, MACHABE-N, MACHBINNA and TUBAL CAIN

Need i list all the words in between.? There is a longish list.

For anyone interested in a list of degrees:
    http://www.100megsfree2.com/jjscherr/scherr/Freemasonrydegrees.htm
    No, I asked you how your questions could provide the evidence you suggest, but to go further, since your questions are predicated on the responses you anticipate,

They aren't. Apparently though you can't know about degrees through which you have not progressed since you havent progressed through them. and i can't know them either if I have not unless I have access to such information from someone who has progressed through them.
    aren't your questions only an attempted trap to 'prove' that, whatever the response, there must be something further that 'proves' the respondant doesn't have all the facts?

No, but I freely admit that is something I want to explore. If for example you are a lower
    degree than a criminal or group of them in the masons then you would not be knowledgeable of their connections. If you are not at least a lodge Master you can't reveal what that position might have to do with facilitating the criminal Noye referred to.
    Why?

Why what? Why am I asking or whay am i trying to trap you? Who is asking leading questions now?
    OK I would and will if I feel the the question is put in such a way as to make me want to answer it.

Suit yourself. I already answered the first half about numbers of degrees. If you don't want to admit what degree you are then keep that secret to yourself.
    Yes, other things are secret. But it wouldn't be in the least bit interesting to you if they weren't would it? So we provide a service for people like you, who would otherwise be unleashed to interrogate councils about public toilets and policemen about their levels. It's charitable, in a way...

If the Masons werent secret I might be interested in observing all their curious rites in public. funny how half of the population of the world will never see them isn't it? Boys will be boys i guess.

Both the sources you're quoting above are specifically written to attack Freemasonry; neither pretends to be an unbiased perspective. Both contain numerous errors in fact, either due to simple ignorance, through being written by non Masons, or for other reasons.

That aside, what point are you making? Everyone has agreed there are plenty of conspiracy theorists who find Masonry an attractive target. I've agreed that many churches have issues with Freemasonry, and set out why I believe that is. My point is backed up in the link you presented;
    •The peculiar, "unsectarian" (in truth, anti-Catholic and anti-Christian) naturalistic character of Freemasonry, by which theoretically and practically it undermines the Catholic and Christian faith, first in its members and through them in the rest of society, creating religious indifferentism and contempt for orthodoxy and ecclesiastical authority.

To address your point from Raich on Secret Societies, the rules of freemasonry (Laws and Constitutions) are available to anyone in Ireland, as is the calendar, showing when the lodges meet, and listing their officers. Some lodges maintain websites, giving details of officers, events, and meetings. So not quite adhering to the definition you've offered for a 'secret society' I'm afraid.

Both the sources you're quoting above are specifically written to attack Freemasonry; neither pretends to be an unbiased perspective.

so what? i supplied a definition: Secret societies are those organizations which completely conceal their rules, corporate activity, the names of their members, their signs, passwords and usages from outsiders or the 'profane.' As a rule, the members of these societies are bound to the strictest secrecy concerning all the business of the association by oath or promise or word of honour, and often under the threat of severe punishment in case of its violation. If such secret society has higher and lower degrees, the members of the higher degree must be equally careful to conceal their secrets from their brethren of a lower degree.

elsewhere I have quoted seventh Day advantists on the application of Biblical dietary law. that does not mean I believe their position. I used their references to support my point.
    Both contain numerous errors in fact, either due to simple ignorance, through being written by non Masons, or for other reasons.

Which errors did I quote?
    That aside, what point are you making? Everyone has agreed there are plenty of conspiracy theorists who find Masonry an attractive target. I've agreed that many churches have issues with Freemasonry, and set out why I believe that is. My point is backed up in the link you presented;

So?

You : Freemasonry is a non threatening orginisation which is not a secret soceity.
    Me: Here is a definition which says about people at different levels holding secrets
    Are the Masons no tlike that?
    You: You would not know if you wer enot a Mason.You are just agreeing with uninformed conspiracy theorists.
    Me: Well then since you are a Mason why don't you tell me?
    You: I don't have to and you can't make me.
    Me: so much for non threathening and not being secretive.
    To address your point from Raich on Secret Societies, the rules of freemasonry (Laws and Constitutions) are available to anyone in Ireland, as is the calendar, showing when the lodges meet, and listing their officers.

Where are they available? Where can I get a listing of Lodge officers in Hammersmith when a criminal was master of the Lodge which you say you have no knowledge of?
    Some lodges maintain websites, giving details of officers, events, and meetings. So not quite adhering to the definition you've offered for a 'secret society' I'm afraid.

actually what the definition said was they some officers or signs or words are secret.

Yes you supplied a definition for Secret Societies, and I demonstrated how that definition does not apply itself to Freemasonry.

Specifically in your quote from the Catholic Encyclopedia the listing of required officers is incorrect, listing officers which are not required and/or do not exist in Irish Freemasonry. The neccessity to be wealthy is also incorrect, I know plenty of Freemasons who are not well off, and a few who are unemployed. The oath attributed to a Royal Arch Mason is simply not true, to my certain knowledge a Royal Arch Mason does not swear to "assist a companion Royal Arch-Mason, when I see him engaged in any difficulty and will espouse his cause so as to extricate him from the same whether he be right or wrong."
    Here is a definition which says about people at different levels holding secrets Are the Masons no tlike that?
    As above; I've demonstrated how the definition you supplied doesn't apply to Freemasonry.
    so much for non threathening and not being secretive
    So people who don't do what you want threaten you?

The Laws & Constitutions, and Calendar, are available for purchase from any Masonic Hall in the country, by any member of the public. Or you could stop into Trinity College, where I'm sure you'll find every copy ever published. You could actually write to the lodge in Hammersmith and ask them for a list of their officers. They might give it to you if you ask nicely.

Actually the definition you gave was
    Secret societies are those organizations which completely conceal their rules, corporate activity, the names of their members, their signs, passwords and usages from outsiders or the 'profane.' As a rule, the members of these societies are bound to the strictest secrecy concerning all the business of the association by oath or promise or word of honour, and often under the threat of severe punishment in case of its violation. If such secret society has higher and lower degrees, the members of the higher degree must be equally careful to conceal their secrets from their brethren of a lower degree. Incertain secret societies, the members are not allowed to know even the names of their highest officers. Secret societies were founded to promote certain ideal aims, to be obtained not by violent but by moral measures. By this, they are distinguished from conspiracies and secret plots which are formed to attain a particular object throughviolent means. Secret societies may be religious, scientific, political or social
    You can review it in post #434 if you've forgotten. Since Freemasonry does not completely conceal its' rules, corporate activity, or the names of its' members, Freemasonry does not conform to your definition.
    to expose any lies or deceit or crime. surely that is a worthy cause.
    Can you provide any example of an organisation which has accepted as a member a person whose stated intend is to attack the organisation because the person believes they will expose lies or deceit or crime? If a stranger came up to you and asked to be adopted into your family because he believed you were engaged in lies deceit and crime, and he intended to demonstrate this in your family, would you adopt him?
    Your point is deliberately misleading.
    No it isn't . I was not trying to mislead anyone. That is a lie. so much for "honesty" levels of masons. I am not trying to purposefully mislead anyone here and if you claim I am then prove it or withdraw the accusation!
    Indeed it is; you are trying to play on a sense of outrage that a Minister should pressure a Garda, and associate that outrage with the fact that no one has told you how may 'levels' there are in Freemasonry, or what 'level' they are, as if the two are connected when they patently are not. That is misleading.
    The BNP are not the Nazi Party. A more apt analogy would be; should people have to join the Nazi Party if they wish to discover its' motivations and disclose them to the world. The answer is yes, otherwise they are simply engaging in hearsay.
    the answer is no! It was you who mentioned the snake metaphor. One should not have to join the Nazi party in order to expose their principles.
    The BNP are still not the Nazi Party. And I didn't say one should have to join the Nazi party in order to expose their principles, I said yes, people have to join the Nazi Party if they wish to discover its' motivations and disclose them to the world. It's in the bit you quoted. If you want to expose their principles, you're still going to have to obtain an unimpeachable source for their principles; the BNP aren't really good enough are they?
    otherwise they are simply engaging in hearsay.
    How many people do you know hoe were members of the Nazi party? If you don't know any how do you know the WWII Holocaust Happened? If you accept it happened is the evidence for it only from members of the Nazi party?
    Again as you've lost your argument you try to shift and associate with another emotive and unrelated topic. How can you possibly associate the Holocaust with your desire to criticize Freemasonry? Your original post was;
    So people should become priests and join Fianna Fail before they can say anything about them? Also, people who criticise the Masons would not be allowed to join and people who do join might be at such a low level they don't know about or control what is going on. Should people have to join the BNP before they can criticise Nazism?
    Really, how do you get from there to denying the Holocaust?
    If you're asking can people be critical of an organisation, the answer is yes of course. But the less you know about it, the less likely it is that your criticism is accurate, or even truthful. To know the most about Freemasonry, you must be a Freemason.
    Which is only reenforcing the secret nature of Masonry!"
    Well, no, it reinforces the principle that a theory most be backed by evidence. To know the most about physics, you must be a physicist. But that doesn't mean physicists have a secret nature.
    Handwaving argument and sweeping statement. What was revealed by Masons in this thread which people could not learn anyway elsewhere?
    'Handwaving argument and sweeping statement' is a reference to what exactly? And why would anything be revealed by Masons in this thread which people could not learn anyway elsewhere? This is not a 'satisfy you local conspiracy theorists curiosity' thread. It's 'Freemasons: Evil secret society or misunderstood nice guys... ', and most of the Freemasons on the thread will be leaning towards the latter.
    That is right; as I've said I've seen no evidence. And surely you don't think I'm going to go to the UK, find the Lodge, ask them for access to their records, and check the list of officers in the 1970s in order to prove a conspiracy theorists claim?
    dont you have manual listing all the officers in all the lodges? Don't you have a library in Dublin with copies of the older manuals?
    I'm afraid not, maybe we're not quite the world dominating organisers you think. But, for the sake of it, if I did have a personal copy of a list of all the officers of all the lodges that have ever existed in the world, I still don't think I'd feel compelled to obtain for a conspiracy theorist the evidence he wants to back up his hypothesis. Although, if it was easy to read, I might just have a peek to satisfy my own curiousity.
    If you want to present the claim, then present the evidence. But nice try at moving away from the fact that he was a criminal before and after he was believed to be a freemason.
    It seems this is the sequence He was a criminal before entering the lodge. He enter and was supported by members who knew he was a criminal, members with police connections who protected him.
    That is not presenting evidence, that is repeating a hypothesis.
    That's true; are you trying to claim that if someone chooses to follow one set of rules they must follow all sets of rules?
    No I'm suggesting Masons follow a set of rules which are SECRET. Secret oaths. Secret words. Do you want me to list them and you can deny if all and say you never heard these words?
    That's not what you said, you said
    the rules of the masons are not the law of the land either but Masons follow them
    , it's in post #430. I think you know you were caught out so you're tring to change the direction. Well, if Masons follow a set of rules which are SECRET. Secret oaths. Secret words. How can you list them? Either they're secret or not; if you can list them they're not secret because you know them, if you can't list them how do you know they exist at all?
    Having introduced an "old rule" banning some members of the pubnlic service from being masons and subsequently lifting it.
    Are you saying that at any time there was a law banning members of the public service from being Freemasons? Have you evidence?
    There is a hiostoric record of links between public servants and Masons. If you list the Judges who were masons I would suggest NONE are from lower orders.
    I'll allow that public servants across the world are welcome to join Freemasonry, and some do. If you found a list of the Judiciary who were Masons, I would be certain that all of them that actually were Masons were 1st degree Masons, and that some probably took further degrees, so by necessity they ALL are 'from lower orders'. How does that, or a public servant exerting undue influence over another public servant, relate in any way to your overwhelming desire to be told how many 'levels' there are in Freemasory?
    Secret oaths! Rules to be kept
    Quote:
    In order to preserve peace and harmony no private piques or quarrels must be brought within the door of the Lodge, far less any quarrels about Religion or Nations or State Policy, we being only, as Masons, of theCatholick Religion , above mentioned, we are also of all Nations, Tongues, Kindreds and Languages and are resolved against all Politicks [printed in the original in Gothic letters] as what never yet conduced to the welfare of the Lodge nor ever will. This charge has been always strictly enjoin'd and observ'd; but especially ever since the Reformation in Britain or the dissent and secession of these Nations from the communion of Rome.
    Well, as far as I know the oaths aren't secret, and there are rules to be kept. And to forestall your excitement, whilst the oaths aren't secret, I didn't say I'd tell you what they are. Just that I can if I want. And your quotation is sort of similar to a rule in Freemasonry previously alluded to which precludes the discussion of religion or politics. The sharp eyed will note that the quote couldn't come from a Masonic Lodge as Freemasonry is open to many religions, not just Catholicism, or even Christianity.
    I answered honestly, knowing your question was intended to lead.
    You had no idea where the question was going. And I already gave you reasons as to why I might ask it (which are not required for you to give an honest and full answer).
    You come her saying Masonry is open honest and not a secret society but when I ask you "how many degrees" or "what degree are you" you reply mind your own business. It is people like you who came here saying Masons are open and honest.
    Oh I think I did. And your reasons were half baked and ill conceived, nowhere near good enough for me to give an answer. I never said 'Masonry is open honest and not a secret society'. I will say Masonry is not a secret society, it's members are probably more honest on average than the membership of most other societies, and some of us are inclined to be open about subjects which we wish to share with others. And I haven't said 'Mind your own business', I've said I'll tell you if you can provide me with a compelling argument.
    And as I said, my 'level' in Fremasonry is not secret, you've simply given me no reason to tell you what it is. Still.
    so noe it is "Im quite happy to tell yo all about Masonry" but when asked abot how naydegree or what degree you are you refuse to answer.
    I never said "Im quite happy to tell yo all about Masonry" but I'm happy to discuss Freemasonry with you. And I refuse to answer because you haven't provided me with a compelling argument. Or even a vaugley interesting one.
    I'm being asked by you to be honest and forthright, to you, about something you're interested in. What reason do I have for satisfying your curiousity? You might expect a policeman in conversation to tell you what part of the police he worked in, and even what 'level' he is, but even as a public servant he would be under no obligation to tell you, and in my experience of Irish Gardaí, he'd certainly ask you 'why do you want to know?'.
    He might if I just walked up to him and asked. But if he came into a public forum saying "Im a Garda. the Gardai are not there to threaten you. We all have a job to do and I think the Gardai have a bad image. You should not feel in any way threatened by them. feel free to ask me questions about the Gardai and Ill do my best to answer them in an open and honest way.
    Now I am not going to ask such a Garda "can you tell me the owner of the following car registration numner and where he lives" But suppose i asked him "what rank are you and for what branch of the police force do you work?" I would not expect him to say "mind your own business" or "Why do you want to know" I would expect him to tell me.
    He might, though I sincerely doubt it. And nobody posted on this forum "Im a Mason. the Masons are not there to threaten you. We all have a job to do and I think the Masons have a bad image. You should not feel in any way threatened by them. feel free to ask me questions about the Masons and Ill do my best to answer them in an open and honest way." I checked.
    You wouldn't have to tell him, of course, and he wouldn't have to answer you. And let's be honest, he probably wouldn't.
    He would be doing a bad PR job for the police if he announced the p[olice are freindly guys and not a secret society if when asked his rank and branch said "mind your own business"
    Indeed, but if he asked why you wanted to know, and you got all shifty and kept changing your arguments, and alluded to the possibility that you believed the police force were the Nazi Party, or possibly the BNP, and that you intended to infiltrate them and expose their principles, lies, deceits, and crimes, he just might say mind your own business. He might even say, why don't you come with me and we'll have a chat somewhere quiet with other friendly police guys. But that's the police for you. Friendly.
    You know you didn't; I asked you to expand and you couldn't.
    I never said you should tell me everything I wanted to know but knowing your degree and how many degrees there are in your rite I would expect. Maybe you have to be given a sign before you tell me ?
    You may expect it, but you shan't receive it until you give me a sign as you say. And the sign shall be a compelling argument.
    above all people were equal even non masons. Now you are judging who deserves what!
    You're saying being equal is the same as being deserving? A rich man and a poor man may be morally equal. But a poor man may be deserving of financial charity, a rich man may not.

Not exactly! I didn't get it from Wikipedia but from the same place as , DEMOLAY-HIRAM ABIFF, MICHA, MACHA, BEALIM, and ADONAI
    I could have begun at the other end and mentioned BOAZ, JACHIN and SHIBBOLETH, MAIIA BONE, MACHABE-N, MACHBINNA and TUBAL CAIN
    Need i list all the words in between.? There is a longish list.
    For anyone interested in a list of degrees:
    http://www.100megsfree2.com/jjscherr...nrydegrees.htm
    Quote:
    Well done on discovering the internet, it hasn't been around for that long. Interesting Degree list too, so I guess you've answered your own question of how many 'levels' there are? Unfortunately 'Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, Valley of Toledo' is not Irish Freemasonry but it's still interesting. Anyway... were you making a point here?
    No, I asked you how your questions could provide the evidence you suggest, but to go further, since your questions are predicated on the responses you anticipate,
    They aren't. Apparently though you can't know about degrees through which you have not progressed since you havent progressed through them. and i can't know them either if I have not unless I have access to such information from someone who has progressed through them.
    So, your questions can't provide the evidence you suggest.
    aren't your questions only an attempted trap to 'prove' that, whatever the response, there must be something further that 'proves' the respondant doesn't have all the facts?
    No, but I freely admit that is something I want to explore. If for example you are a lower degree than a criminal or group of them in the masons then you would not be knowledgeable of their connections. If you are not at least a lodge Master you can't reveal what that position might have to do with facilitating the criminal Noye referred to.
    That's not exploring, it's fantasising. But if you were a lower degree than a criminal or group of them in the masons why would you would not be knowledgeable of their connections? They're not kept in boxes, people meet each other. And even a lodge Master couldn't reveal what that position might have to do with facilitating the criminal Noye referred to, if he wasn't the lodge master who facilitated Noye. And since that lodge master may not have existed, as you still haven't presented the evidence, it's pretty hard to say he knew anything at all!
    Why?
    Why what? Why am I asking or whay am i trying to trap you? Who is asking leading questions now?
    You have to read the bit before my response:
    . So, why should any potential loyalties Masons might have, based on their vows to support fellow Masons, be transparent to the public?
    Suit yourself. I already answered the first half about numbers of degrees. If you don't want to admit what degree you are then keep that secret to yourself.
    Will do so. I personally didn't think it was relevant anyway.
    If the Masons werent secret I might be interested in observing all their curious rites in public. funny how half of the population of the world will never see them isn't it? Boys will be boys i guess.
    Considerably more than half I should think. And more due to logistics than humour. Boys will of course always be boys, I hope.

The only secrets in Masonry are how masons recognise each other. In other words, the funny handshakes, or little emblems on their lapels, or whatever. And what's ironic, is that Google will throw most of these up anyway, so they're not brilliant secrets.

I know it's hard to trust what your mistrustful of, but I promise you faithfully, there's nothing untoward going on. It's like scouts, for grownups. I know you've also said that Masons here don't answer your questions, so please make a list, and I'll personally do my best to answer them for you.

this is the fairest open answer I have got yet. i believe you are being frank and forthright.
    Why should masons have secret ways of recognising each other?
    What is the purpose in it?
    do masons protect of favour other masons over other people ?
    do they make oaths regarding such commitments?

Why should masons have secret ways of recognising each other?

It harks back to the origins of Masonry. Originally when a stone worker wanted to go to work on, say a new Cathedral, there were 2 methods of testing his work. The first was to give him a block of stone and see what he could make from it. This cost time, and money - especially if he screwed up. By forming a guild, and having passwords given to Masons of paticular skill, they could arrive to the site, give the password, and immediately they would be recognised as either an apprentice, fellow craft, or master mason. Because they worked so hard to get to those levels, and they had their reputations at stake, the passwords and gestures were always kept secret in case some dodgy apprentice wanted to get a master masons wages.

We still use them today, but purely out of tradition. And men like to do funny handshakes. Seriously.
    What is the purpose in it?

If there was a purpose, it's long since eroded. Ireland isn't huge, and when you go to Meetings, it's always the same faces over and over again. You'll get the odd visitor from some other Lodge who's in town shopping with the wife and wants to kill an hour to save his sanity, but the odds are that he'll know someone you know, and the handshakes/passwords are just again a silly formality for the sake of doing a handshake again because he's already known as a Mason. In other countries, it's the same.
    do masons protect of favour other masons over other people ?

Maybe a long time ago in the past (Circa 250/350 years) but not in a derrogatory sense. By helping, lets say my plumbing goes in the morning, I could spend all day pouring through the golden pages, or I could call my friend who's a mason and a plumber. It's not that I'll get it any cheaper, but I know him and trust him - he joined the order to be surrounded by honest people, and so did I.

If people do use the order for any ill gains, they get booted out pretty damn quickly. The rest of us find that pretty disgusting.
    do they make oaths regarding such commitments?

Not really. There are some ridiculous oaths which go back YEARS and seem silly. That you'll protect the chastity of your friends daughters, but again, try an enforce that in this day and age - it'd look suspect with old men following around teenage girls to nightclubs :) Some oaths are there to be taken seriously - like being honest, like obeying the laws of the country you're in, like not telling the passwords and handshakes (But purely out of the traditional sense as detailed above).

But I promise you there isn't even the opportunity to discuss global takeovers of governments and corporations, the poisioning of waters, etc. We're all too busy playing dress up!

Yes you supplied a definition for Secret Societies, and I demonstrated how that definition does not apply itself to Freemasonry.

the definition I supplied:
    Secret societies are those organizations which completely conceal their rules, corporate activity, the names of their members, their signs, passwords and usages from outsiders or the 'profane.' As a rule, the members of these societies are bound to the strictest secrecy concerning all the business of the association by oath or promise or word of honour, and often under the threat of severe punishment in case of its violation. If such secret society has higher and lower degrees, the members of the higher degree must be equally careful to conceal their secrets from their brethren of a lower degree.

And you say that does not apply to Freemasons

The names of your officers are available only to those with the manual. There is no public register. The names of all members isn't available at all and the Masons have challenged any attempts to make it a requirements under law.

How much do masons have in bank accounts and what is it spent on?
    - Not available
    Secret masonic signs and passwords - not available.
    Oaths and promises - apart form entry degree - not available
    Higher degrees of masons have secrets that lower degrees don't know and are kept from them.

so how is my definition shown to be untrue again?
    The neccessity to be wealthy is also incorrect, I know plenty of Freemasons who are not well off, and a few who are unemployed.

How many masons in total are there . How many do you know who are not wealthy who are master or above?
    The oath attributed to a Royal Arch Mason is simply not true, to my certain knowledge a Royal Arch Mason does not swear to "assist a companion Royal Arch-Mason, when I see him engaged in any difficulty and will espouse his cause so as to extricate him from the same whether he be right or wrong."

Ok I accept that you are being honest about this to your knowledge and I withdraw the assertion. the ceremony has however been criticised by christian groups. Also, there are several examples form history I am sure which show masonic involvement in intrigue andf the original ceremony might have been altered. But as it it secret will we ever know. Well I guess i could find out but Masons want to be secretive about it.

I seem to have found a copy of the ceremony on the net. Should i post it and you can confirm it and I will admit it doesn't have the above oath. there are other criticisms of it however. But then I don't expect a Mason to reveal that this is the actual ceremony. which sort of proves my point.
    As above; I've demonstrated how the definition you supplied doesn't apply to Freemasonry.

Really? Care answer the above questions regarding the definition then?
    And care to anwer if I post the source material to the actual Right you wil lconform that

"I furthermore promise and swear, that I will employ a Companion Royal Arch Mason in preference to any other person of equal qualifications,

I furthermore promise and swear, that I will assist a Companion Royal Arch Mason when I see him engaged in any difficulty, and will espouse his cause so far as to extricate him from the same, whether he be right or wrong."

Isn't part of that ceremony?

Tell you what ill post the whole ceremony page by page if you want and yo can tell me which parts are inserted? How about that?
    So people who don't do what you want threaten you?
    [/quot]

what I mentioned was : about " non threathening and not being secretive" You have snipped out secretive and all other things considered, going by that oath anyone who favours a mason over another person is a threat when it comes to getting a job if one ius not a mason.
    The Laws & Constitutions, and Calendar, are available for purchase from any Masonic Hall in the country, by any member of the public. Or you could stop into Trinity College, where I'm sure you'll find every copy ever published.

Thanks for that Ill do it. HAve you a reference and in what library in Trinity will i find it? and hove you a reference in Early Printed Books in the Berkeley?
    You could actually write to the lodge in Hammersmith and ask them for a list of their officers. They might give it to you if you ask nicely.

i doubt they would as i have doubted you would. and I was not nasty to you when I asked.
    Actually the definition you gave was You can review it in post #434 if you've forgotten. Since Freemasonry does not completely conceal its' rules, corporate activity, or the names of its' members, Freemasonry does not conform to your definition.

"not completely" isnt enough! If you have rules EVERY rule should be known. You should not have secret rules regualtions if you are an open organisation. Ill accept you can keep the names of members as should every organisation bt onny because of internet nutters stalkers and mainly mass mail and junk mailers and marketers and NOT because of secrecy.
    Can you provide any example of an organisation which has accepted as a member a person whose stated intend is to attack the organisation because the person believes they will expose lies or deceit or crime?

Yes. Groucho Marx and any club! :) But I wasn't suggesting people who are biased. I was suggesting people who have open minds who will vow to expose any lies deceit or self serving they witness.
    If a stranger came up to you and asked to be adopted into your family because he believed you were engaged in lies deceit and crime, and he intended to demonstrate this in your family, would you adopt him?

If my "family" was an open religion like Christianity and the person was honest and open i think they would have to or they are not living up to their own standards!
    Indeed it is; you are trying to play on a sense of outrage that a Minister should pressure a Garda, and associate that outrage with the fact that no one has told you how may 'levels' there are in Freemasonry, or what 'level' they are, as if the two are connected when they patently are not. That is misleading.

Here is wher the point first came up:
    you stated:
    no Masonic organisation in Ireland has ever financed or supported a political candidate, as we do not involve ourselves in politics. You have no right to know if a person, organisation, or company has a meeting with a judge or policeman.

I took that up and suggested that influencing the police was something that people do have a right to know and something which apparently masons have a history of. the example of given Noye and Hammersmith lodge is only one. But even if they didn't influence the police it would not look good for example if all the senior members of anything were associated with any club, even if it was golf, soccer, gentlemens' club, cricket etc. It suggests collusion.

Here is where I drew the example of the possibility of masons influencing the police being parallel to a minister influencing the police :
    [quote http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64668208&postcount=430]

I was not trying to Mislead anything and you are a liar if you say so!
    The BNP are still not the Nazi Party.

some might argue that but so what?
    And I didn't say one should have to join the Nazi party in order to expose their principles, I said yes, people have to join the Nazi Party if they wish to discover its' motivations and disclose them to the world.

And the difference is? In once case they have to join in the other they have to join!
    In one case they "expose the principles of the Nazi party" but in the other they " disclose the motivations of the Nazi party." Who wa it made accusations of misleading now?
    It's in the bit you quoted. If you want to expose their principles, you're still going to have to obtain an unimpeachable source for their principles; the BNP aren't really good enough are they?

theys just like saying "if ther is a criminal in the masons and he is exposed he is on his own" and then following up with "but hes isn't a Mason anymore we chucked him out"
    Only AFTER he was publically exposed when masons knew about him beforehand.

Also very high ranking masons apparently HAVE left MASONRY AND RARE CRITICAL OF IT.
    Again as you've lost your argument you try to shift and associate with another emotive and unrelated topic.
    Actually. i drew an analogy You raised the point about influencing the police not I!
    You have no right to know if a person, organisation, or company has a meeting with a judge or policeman.

You have no right to judge me or anyone. Who made you judge and jury? I am as I am. Let objective standards measure my argument and not your opinion.
    How can you possibly associate the Holocaust with your desire to criticize Freemasonry?

You suggested one should be in the BNP or the Nazi Party to be "unimpeachable" with respect to providing evidence of the "secret" Nazi plan to kill people in death camps.

But one would not have to join the Nazis to expose such a plan. Similarly one should not have to join the Masons to become conversant with any masonic "secrets" or "secret plans"
    to expose them.
    Well, no, it reinforces the principle that a theory most be backed by evidence. To know the most about physics, you must be a physicist. But that doesn't mean physicists have a secret nature.

Some certainly did! Newton was very secretive , a heretic, and maybe even a Mason :)
    Well given Masonry only begins about 1717 he probably wasn't one then Ill give you that!
    Ill accept a senior Mason who leaves or a Senior Scientologists who quits is a better source on "experience" but you don't have to join Scientology to criticise their "secrets" either.

'Handwaving argument and sweeping statement' is a reference to what exactly?

To the exact quote preceding it!
    this thread is now 30 pages, and a lot of it is comprised of Freemasons answering questions quite openly...

That is a sweeping statement. the thread in Christianity on Creationism is over 1,000 pages and 20,000 messages. Many creationists are being honest there. But the fact the thread is long and they say creationists answered fully the question proving the world is only six thousand years old and all other queries as well is a sweeping statement and a handwaving argument!
    And why would anything be revealed by Masons in this thread which people could not learn anyway elsewhere? This is not a 'satisfy you local conspiracy theorists curiosity' thread. It's 'Freemasons: Evil secret society or misunderstood nice guys... ', and most of the Freemasons on the thread will be leaning towards the latter.

i.e. some won't be leaning that way? :)

I have no problem with whatever silly ceremionies you want to keep secert. Quite the opposite in fact which is why I didnt post them up to now. If you want to have secret words and signs then that I suppose is acceptable to a point. I have in the past been critical of other things like scientology say. Members in Scientology pay to progress. If masons paid to get higher degrees then I would think that is a problem. By "pay" I also mean "give a donation". If signs were used to identify allegience in public or if masons "took over" or even influenced certain other orginasations lijke the police government banks etc. I would have a problem with that.

A similar structure the Orange Order with the same "secret ceremonies" had huge influence in Irish politics and business.
    I'm afraid not, maybe we're not quite the world dominating organisers you think. But, for the sake of it, if I did have a personal copy of a list of all the officers of all the lodges that have ever existed in the world, I still don't think I'd feel compelled to obtain for a conspiracy theorist the evidence he wants to back up his hypothesis. Although, if it was easy to read, I might just have a peek to satisfy my own curiousity.

Ill admit i havent seen the primary material myself.
    All i want is a source doccument on Hammersmith at the time referred to. If you give me a reference as to where to find it in which Trinity Library (The Berkeley I guess) Ill go and locate it and you will have to trust me when I tell you the list. I was referring to the Masons own library. It seems to me Masons in spite of the ritual are not wholly conversant with their owen history and how to find source material on it. I am surprised at that.
    That is not presenting evidence, that is repeating a hypothesis.
    It seems this is the sequence He was a criminal before entering the lodge. He enter and was supported by members who knew he was a criminal, members with police connections who protected him.
    I gave the evidence earlier:
    Cameron being a small-time drug dealer who owed Noye money. However, it suited the purposes of both the prosecution and the defence not to mention this during the trial.
    in this book: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brewer%27s_Rogues,_Villains_and_Eccentrics
    and here: http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4161/is_20001008/ai_n14520163/
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2000/nov/12/ukcrime.tonythompson
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/this-britain/noyes-tangled-web-of-corruption-721292.html
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/kent/7283183.stm
    http://www.bernardomahoney.com/rrmurders/articles/noyee.shtml

It doesn't give a good appearance to promote such a person. Sinn Féin have has similar problems and you wouldn't want the Masons compared to the IRA would you?
    That's not what you said, you said , it's in post #430. I think you know you were caught out so you're tring to change the direction.

And I submit you think wrong! WHAT are you accusing me of lying about or tyroing to mislead. Care to quote it?
    Well, if Masons follow a set of rules which are SECRET. Secret oaths. Secret words. How can you list them? Either they're secret or not; if you can list them they're not secret because you know them, if you can't list them how do you know they exist at all?

Wrong! if i go to a magician and ask him "how did you make the lady disappear" He ight say "can you keep a secret" and When I answer yes he might say "so can i" :) unless i am another magiucian int he magic circle that is. But ALL stage magicians will admit it is just a trick. no paranormal force is involved. Now if a number of magicials in the magic circle (lists of which are readily available ) owned properties and bank accounts and were also on the boards of state companies and banks and were judges and senior police officers i would have a problem with the magic circle.
    Are you saying that at any time there was a law banning members of the public service from being Freemasons? Have you evidence?

Yes as far as I know.
    http://www.freemasons-freemasonry.com/prescott15.html
    This act, `An act for the more effectual suppression of societies established for seditious and treasonable purposes; and for the better preventing treasonable and seditious practices',[iv] to give its full name, was, almost by accident, to form the mainstay of the relationship between freemasonry and the state in Britain for nearly two hundred years, until its repeal by the Criminal Justice Act of 1967.

It also defined as an unlawful combination and confederacy `every society, the members whereof shall...be required or admitted to take any oath or engagement...' Societies were required to admit members `by open declaration at a public meeting of such society'. Every society was required to keep a book containing the names of all its officers, committees and members, which was to be open to inspection by the entire membership. Membership or support of any society which breached these regulations would be a criminal offence. Magistrates acting on the word of a single informer could impose summary fines on offenders; where offenders were indicted by jury and tried in a higher court, the punishment was transportation.

Ironically introduced to keep the Irish from rebelling :)

I had thought they were forced the past to declare membership if they were judges and that is was later overturned. Here is my source
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk/politics/57381.stm

But I cant find the reference to it coming into law so I withdraw it. I know the baathists in Iraq banned them but that isn't saying much except they viewed Masons as a threat. well they also viewed both Al Qaeda and democracy as a threat.
    I'll allow that public servants across the world are welcome to join Freemasonry, and some do. If you found a list of the Judiciary who were Masons, I would be certain that all of them that actually were Masons were 1st degree Masons, and that some probably took further degrees, so by necessity they ALL are 'from lower orders'.

I am very surprised at that idea that judges are only first degree. . Obviously you are not in the public service. But ill accept your opinion form your own experience until I find conflicting evidence.

You are telling me the following person was no more than first degree mason?:

Peter Julian Millett, Baron Millett was born on 23 June 1932.1
    Peter Julian Millett, Baron Millett was invested as a Privy Counsellor (P.C.) in 1994. He held the office of Lord Justice of Appeal between 1994 and 1998.1 He held the office of Lord of Appeal in Ordinary in 1998.1 He was created Baron Millett, of St. Marylebone in the City of Westminster [U.K. Law Lord] on 1 October 1998.

How does that, or a public servant exerting undue influence over another public servant, relate in any way to your overwhelming desire to be told how many 'levels' there are in Freemasory?

I know you will say this guy is a conspiracy theorist but
    http://www.chick.com/catalog/books/0193.asp

Do you deny the claims he makes regarding the following oaths p. 93-
    in the third degree ritual, the candidate swears:

I will keep a worthy brother Master Mason's secrets inviolable, when communicated to or received by me as such, murder and treason excepted

In the Royal Arch degree of the York Rite, even that small qualification is summarily removed. The candidate swears that:

I will keep all the secrets of a Companion Royal Arch Mason (when communicated to me as such, or I knowing them to be such), without exceptions.

At this degree, The candidate also swears that:

I will not speak evil of a Companion Royal Arch Mason, behind his back nor before his face, but will appraise him of all approaching danger, if in my power.

Finally, in the Royal Arch Degree, the candidate promises to:

...employ a Companion Royal Arch Mason in preference to any other person of equal qualifications.

Well, as far as I know the oaths aren't secret, and there are rules to be kept. And to forestall your excitement, whilst the oaths aren't secret, I didn't say I'd tell you what they are. Just that I can if I want. And your quotation is sort of similar to a rule in Freemasonry previously alluded to which precludes the discussion of religion or politics. The sharp eyed will note that the quote couldn't come from a Masonic Lodge as Freemasonry is open to many religions, not just Catholicism, or even Christianity.
    [/quote]

and the knowledgable will note that there are Islamic and other lodges as well as christian ones.

There are even womans lodges. http://www.easternstar.org/

by the way how many black men in your lodge? are you aware of any in other lodges which have white men?

Oh I think I did. And your reasons were half baked and ill conceived, nowhere near good enough for me to give an answer.

Sure you could say that to any given reason! How about you give me a list of what you consider as a valid reason and we will see if I can find someone to satisfy it? I suspect you will not supply such a list as it may either show up the secrecy or only be applicable to people who want to be masons.
    I never said 'Masonry is open honest and not a secret society'. I will say Masonry is not a secret society, it's members are probably more honest on average than the membership of most other societies, and some of us are inclined to be open about subjects which we wish to share with others.

Please care to share with me your metric or "average honesty"?
    I'm not asking you be honest. Im asking you be honest about Masonry!
    Nor am i asking you to reveal harmless secrets. I am asking you to reval things considered suspicious such as oaths to protect members.
    And I haven't said 'Mind your own business', I've said I'll tell you if you can provide me with a compelling argument.

Having already done so I am asking you what you consider a good reason. And saying a "compelling argument" means you are FORCED i.e. compelled to do so. I shall not so instruct you or judge you. It is for you to decide. On your own head be it.
    I never said "Im quite happy to tell yo all about Masonry" but I'm happy to discuss Freemasonry with you.
    And I refuse to answer because you haven't provided me with a compelling argument. Or even a vaugley interesting one.

this is why freedom of information was invented. People would go into an institution and they might wan't information on how many public toilets in the area. the official woudl ask "why do you want to know" . Usually if you said "my mother had a bladder problem but likes to walk a lot and needs to know where the nearest one is" they might give it to you but idf you said "I am a journalist doing an article on how the council invests its money" they might not . They protected the institution whether ot not the higher ups were corrupt. Under freedom of information it doesnt matter what they think they HAVE TO give you the information.
    He might, though I sincerely doubt it. And nobody posted on this forum "Im a Mason. the Masons are not there to threaten you. We all have a job to do and I think the Masons have a bad image. You should not feel in any way threatened by them. feel free to ask me questions about the Masons and Ill do my best to answer them in an open and honest way." I checked.

It is called paraphrasing. what they said amounted to the same thing. It was not a verbatum quote.
    Indeed, but if he asked why you wanted to know, and you got all shifty and kept changing your arguments,

I just pointed out the institutional mindset. Incidentally I am not out to destroy the masons but I don't like authoritarianism. If you think not answering "why do you want to know" is "shify" then I can't help you there. I have already pointed out that when I did give reasons the rely is "not a sufficient reason" anywhay but I don't have to give them anyway! Nor do yo uhaveto answer but there is the MAIN DIFFERENCE
    I am not claiming that I am all open above borar and my organisation is no threath to anyone. YOU ARE the group claiming that. I dont have to prove anything . YOU DO.
    ASking me a reason behind why I ask you is just shifting the burden of evidence.

and alluded to the possibility that you believed the police force were the Nazi Party, or possibly the BNP, and that you intended to infiltrate them and expose their principles, lies, deceits, and crimes, he just might say mind your own business. He might even say, why don't you come with me and we'll have a chat somewhere quiet with other friendly police guys. But that's the police for you. Friendly.

I dont intend to infiltrate anyone! That is my point! Nobody has to inflitrate the Masons BNP Nazis Catholic clergy Fianna Fáil or anyone else to ask questions about them and expose what they see as something wrong with them!
    You know you didn't; [give reason for asking] I asked you to expand and you couldn't.

Liar!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64641309&postcount=411
    What about the later jhugher levels of masonry about which you have no knowledge?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64658442&postcount=424

THERE ARE TWO REASONS for starters. You are a liar if you claim I didn't give them!
    By the way I also stated I didn't have to give any!

You may expect it, but you shan't receive it until you give me a sign as you say. And the sign shall be a compelling argument.

I'm not sure I know exactly what you are getting at here. What if I was a poor orphan?
    Or a poor widow? might you have some charity for me then?
    You're saying being equal is the same as being deserving?

Only of rights? Inalienable rights are not earned.
    A rich man and a poor man may be morally equal. But a poor man may be deserving of financial charity, a rich man may not.
    Well done on discovering the internet, it hasn't been around for that long. Interesting Degree list too, so I guess you've answered your own question of how many 'levels' there are? Unfortunately 'Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, Valley of Toledo' is not Irish Freemasonry but it's still interesting. Anyway... were you making a point here?

Actually ive since come across this.
    http://www.cumbwestmasons.co.uk/main/orders.shtml

Pity you couldn't have supplied similar when I asked.
    I have also come across the argument of 3 or 4 degrees and the idea that a 33rd degree
    gives the wrong impression. to be honest I find the subject interesting.
    So, your questions can't provide the evidence you suggest.

Which ones?
    That's not exploring, it's fantasising. But if you were a lower degree than a criminal or group of them in the masons why would you would not be knowledgeable of their connections? They're not kept in boxes, people meet each other. And even a lodge Master couldn't reveal what that position might have to do with facilitating the criminal Noye referred to, if he wasn't the lodge master who facilitated Noye. And since that lodge master may not have existed, as you still haven't presented the evidence, it's pretty hard to say he knew anything at all!

One point is that Noye was a lodge master.
    You have to read the bit before my response:. So, why should any potential loyalties Masons might have, based on their vows to support fellow Masons, be transparent to the public?

What if they conflict with the public interest?

Considerably more than half I should think. And more due to logistics than humour. Boys will of course always be boys, I hope.

I was refering to demographics. half being female. Hence the boys comment.

That has to be one of the longest posts ever. Il read when I get a chance..

It harks back to the origins of Masonry. Originally when a stone worker wanted to go to work on, say a new Cathedral, there were 2 methods of testing his work. The first was to give him a block of stone and see what he could make from it. This cost time, and money - especially if he screwed up. By forming a guild, and having passwords given to Masons of paticular skill, they could arrive to the site, give the password, and immediately they would be recognised as either an apprentice, fellow craft, or master mason. Because they worked so hard to get to those levels, and they had their reputations at stake, the passwords and gestures were always kept secret in case some dodgy apprentice wanted to get a master masons wages.

We still use them today, but purely out of tradition. And men like to do funny handshakes. Seriously.

Ok. seems reasonable. But it is suggesting a restricted practice if it favours people for certain jobs.
    If there was a purpose, it's long since eroded. Ireland isn't huge, and when you go to Meetings, it's always the same faces over and over again. You'll get the odd visitor from some other Lodge who's in town shopping with the wife and wants to kill an hour to save his sanity, but the odds are that he'll know someone you know, and the handshakes/passwords are just again a silly formality for the sake of doing a handshake again because he's already known as a Mason. In other countries, it's the same.

Thats what happens when tradition becomes ritual. the meaning is lost.
    Some people however seem to crave ritual.
    Maybe a long time ago in the past (Circa 250/350 years) but not in a derrogatory sense. By helping, lets say my plumbing goes in the morning, I could spend all day pouring through the golden pages, or I could call my friend who's a mason and a plumber. It's not that I'll get it any cheaper, but I know him and trust him - he joined the order to be surrounded by honest people, and so did I.

Again that is fine for you. But what if it is the plumbing contract for the whole of FAS?
    If people do use the order for any ill gains, they get booted out pretty damn quickly. The rest of us find that pretty disgusting.

As did the rest of Sinn Féin? Or the rest of the Board of Anglo Irish Bank?
    Not really. There are some ridiculous oaths which go back YEARS and seem silly. That you'll protect the chastity of your friends daughters, but again, try an enforce that in this day and age - it'd look suspect with old men following around teenage girls to nightclubs :) Some oaths are there to be taken seriously - like being honest, like obeying the laws of the country you're in, like not telling the passwords and handshakes (But purely out of the traditional sense as detailed above).

Why preserve outdated oaths? And if there were oaths to "protect a brother" in the past then at some point the masoins were corrupt or conspiring. But to be fair that is judging the past on present standards. The United Irishmen were a conspiracy or the IRB or GAA by that standard.
    But I promise you there isn't even the opportunity to discuss global takeovers of governments and corporations, the poisioning of waters, etc. We're all too busy playing dress up!

the conspiracy theorists would say the higher ups control the policy and use the lower orders as footsoldiers. Look at the Orange Order comparison for example to see where it can go. who actually owns your buildings? Is it the Order higher up or could you all sell it
    locally and divide the money between you? if the order owns property it has wealth and power.

ISAW your posts are increasingly argumentative rather than discussive, so rather than try to respond to each point individually, I'll do my best to make a summary.
    You can find the names of some officers here on a public website:

and especially for your interest you'll find the names of most of the 'highest ranking', according to your thinking, freemasons on there, so double bonus for you. That alone, as an example, shows your definition doesn't apply to Freemasonry; we do not completely conceal the names of our members. Anyone who is a Freemason can choose to tell whoever he wants. To address your later point, if something doesn't completely comply with a definition then it is not what is being defined, it's just partially like what is defined.

I've known a number of lodge masters who were not wealthy, and quite a few who were pensioners. Masonry values its members for their moral worth, not their fiscal assets. In fact it is a rule that all members meet on a level without reference to outside rank or worth.

Having taken the oath of a Royal Arch Mason, I know what's in it. None of the quotes you've provided are in it. I'm sure there are plenty of versions of the ceremony on the net; the point is that Masons in fact do not ever swear to protect other Masons from the consequences of wrongdoing.

Trinity College library keeps a copy of every book ever published in Ireland, but I'm afraid you'll have to ask a librarian for a reference. Whilst you're down there, a quick search of their website shows they have 'Masonic degrees' by W. Bro. A Holmes-Dallimore. It's about English freemasonry, but I'm sure you'll find it interesting.

I'm not sure why you think every rule of the Freemasons should be known except to the people who need to follow them, but to put your mind at rest, every rule that applies to all Masonic lodges in Ireland is included in the Laws and Constitutions which is published and available to anyone, as I said.

You've compared Freemasonry to 'an open religion like Christianity'. I feel I have to say very clearly; Freemasonry is not a religion. We admit members from many religions and firmly believe in religious tolerance.

To try to wrap your point about influencing; no Masonic organisation in Ireland has ever attempted to 'influence' the police. There are as you point out plenty of stories of people who were involved in criminality or politic manouvering or dodgy dealings with the police, and who were freemasons. I'll say there are considerably more of these events which do not involve freemasons, but nobody is going to write a report saying ' a person who was not a freemason bribed a police officer'. Either way, such activity is not condoned, nor concealed, by Freemasonry as an organisation, and where members are found to have acted in such a fashion they are expelled. If it was believed that an entire Lodge (or the senior members of the lodge) were found to have behaved so disgracefully, the lodges warrant would be recalled and the lodge disbanded.

When I said you have no right to know if a person, organisation, or company has a meeting with a judge or policeman, I wasn't judging you. I was pointing out that there exists no right/entitlement to this information for a member of the general public.

To try to wrap your point about Nazis; I'm saying you can't truly know the inner workings of something unless you're part of it. Otherwise the claim to knowledge is just a claim to an opinion.

As far as Hammersmith lodge goes I really think you're arguing purely for the sake of it. You can't honestly expect members of a lodge in Ireland to keep records of a lodge in another country, or to even want to. My own lodge is very conversant with its' own history, and some members are interested in the general history of Freemasonry as a whole. In fact there are some lodges dedicated to historical research, and I'm sure their members are very good at digging up old source material. But I doubt there are more than one or two Masons in the whole of Ireland who are even interested in passing, in the history of a lodge in Hammersmith.

You've pointed out the Unlawful Societies Act of 1799, which was enacted to curtail Jacobite rebellions, as banning members of the public service from being Freemasons. In fact the Act did form the mainstay of the relationship between freemasonry and the state in Britain for nearly two hundred years, because Freemasonry was specifically excluded from the Act by its own clause. It was noted that the secretary of each lodge each year gave the meeting place, names and occupations of every lodge member to the clerk to the local justices, which I think wasn't very secretive at all! I don't know if the practice continues since the Act was repealled, but I wouldn't be surprised as many lodges would probably consider it traditional.

Yes, Freemasonry was banned in Iraq and most Muslim states. Also by the Nazis.

Your reference to Baron Millett; if he joined the Freemasons he was a first degree mason. Some people take more degrees, some don't. It has nothing to do with what you do in the outside world, you don't 'get' degrees for being a Lord, or rich, or famous, or anything else.

The quote from the conspiracy theorist is about York Rite masonry. I'm not a York Rite mason, but I doubt the oaths are accurate as they seem unmasonic to me, by which I mean they seem morally improper.

There are no Islamic or Christian Masonic Lodges; Muslims and Christians may join any Lodge safe in the knowledge that nothing in Freemasonry attempts to infringe on their worship.

As discussed earlier in the thread there are lodges of women styled on freemasonry in the order of the eastern star; these are not masonic, but 'masonic-styled'.

There a few 'black' men in my Lodge, and I'm not aware of any Lodge that only has members of only one colour/racial background. What a strange question!

Because masonry is intended to inculcate and encourage moral behaviour, I would hope that means the 'average' Mason is more honest than an 'average' person. That would be the idea, I think.

I get the impression you think that 'freedom of information' is a right for everyone to know whatever they want. It really isn't. The Freedom of Information Act means certain institutions/individuals must provide certain information to certain institutions/individuals under certain circumstances. The Freemasons aren't mentioned at all. The information and discussion we're offering here is entirely voluntary, because we want to talk to people about something we enjoy. We don't have to prove anything, we're here because we enjoy it. So feel free to keep asking questions!

ISAW your posts are increasingly argumentative rather than discussive, so rather than try to respond to each point individually, I'll do my best to make a summary.

If I am accused of cheating lying or purposefully trying to mislead yu may expect that to happen.
    I don't lie or try to mislead anyone!
    You can find the names of some officers here on a public website:
    [URL]="http://www.irish-freemasons.org/" [/URL]

Some not ALL. especially not Hammersmith at the time a criminal was alleged to be the Lodge Master.
    But thank you for the link.
    and especially for your interest you'll find the names of most of the 'highest ranking', according to your thinking, freemasons on there, so double bonus for you. That alone, as an example, shows your definition doesn't apply to Freemasonry;

No it doesn't. It shows SOME of the highest degree masons are listed. About 20 to 30 which tend to repeat. Maybe there are on 50 masons in Ireland. Put it this way there are about 75 Fianna Fail TDs and 40 FG ones. You can get a list of them. You can get a list of councillors and it says what party they are in. You can ask what they discuss at branch meetings and they will tell you the actual details are secret but they discuss economics, and the news of the day and organising campaigns or publicity. They will show you an agenda of any meeting but maybe not the actual minutes of it.
    we do not completely conceal the names of our members. Anyone who is a Freemason can choose to tell whoever he wants.

Same for a political party but the people in then seem far less secretive.
    To address your later point, if something doesn't completely comply with a definition then it is not what is being defined, it's just partially like what is defined.

there are tests for alcohol or drug problems and religious cults.
    They are usually of the form "which of the following applies to you" followed by say ten character or behaviour traits or group behaviour. At the end it migh say "if you ticked yes for more then two of these you have a problem."

You don't have to tick all the boxes of cult properties to be in a cult!
    I've known a number of lodge masters who were not wealthy, and quite a few who were pensioners.

wealth is a relative term. If the pensioners didn't own their own house or live in one free of charge then Ill accept they weren't wealthy. Many pensioners who campaigned outside the Dáil on pensions were millionaires.
    Masonry values its members for their moral worth, not their fiscal assets. In fact it is a rule that all members meet on a level without reference to outside rank or worth.

Political parties and universities are the same. But if you have five million to invest a chair or to wipe out a party debt it seems you might get more favorable access. And this is in non secret polite society.
    Having taken the oath of a Royal Arch Mason, I know what's in it. None of the quotes you've provided are in it. I'm sure there are plenty of versions of the ceremony on the net; the point is that Masons in fact do not ever swear to protect other Masons from the consequences of wrongdoing.

I'll accept your word on that.
    Trinity College library keeps a copy of every book ever published in Ireland,

No actually it doesn't. It requests all publically available publications . Most publishers comply and are required to do so by law. Priovate publications of the sort you mention are not obligatory.
    but I'm afraid you'll have to ask a librarian for a reference. Whilst you're down there, a quick search of their website shows they have 'Masonic degrees' by W. Bro. A Holmes-Dallimore. It's about English freemasonry, but I'm sure you'll find it interesting.

thanks for that.
    I'm not sure why you think every rule of the Freemasons should be known except to the people who need to follow them, but to put your mind at rest, every rule that applies to all Masonic lodges in Ireland is included in the Laws and Constitutions which is published and available to anyone, as I said.

I might purchace a copy then.
    You've compared Freemasonry to 'an open religion like Christianity'. I feel I have to say very clearly; Freemasonry is not a religion. We admit members from many religions and firmly believe in religious tolerance.

What is a religion? Has dogma and rules? Is based on belief in God or gods?
    To try to wrap your point about influencing; no Masonic organisation in Ireland has ever attempted to 'influence' the police. There are as you point out plenty of stories of people who were involved in criminality or politic manouvering or dodgy dealings with the police, and who were freemasons. I'll say there are considerably more of these events which do not involve freemasons, but nobody is going to write a report saying ' a person who was not a freemason bribed a police officer'.

They frequently do. But there is a HUGE difference between a sole operator and an organised criminal conspiracy. the London Met was re organises TWICE in 100 years because of a conspiracy of members who happened also BOTH TIMES to be freemasons.
    Either way, such activity is not condoned, nor concealed, by Freemasonry as an organisation, and where members are found to have acted in such a fashion they are expelled. If it was believed that an entire Lodge (or the senior members of the lodge) were found to have behaved so disgracefully, the lodges warrant would be recalled and the lodge disbanded.

What happened in the case of the New Scotland Yard?

When I said you have no right to know if a person, organisation, or company has a meeting with a judge or policeman, I wasn't judging you. I was pointing out that there exists no right/entitlement to this information for a member of the general public.

i beg to differ. If the public interest is being thwarted the public have every right to know.
    To try to wrap your point about Nazis; I'm saying you can't truly know the inner workings of something unless you're part of it. Otherwise the claim to knowledge is just a claim to an opinion.

not having personal experience and not having knowledge are two different things. A male doctor with more knowledge about it may give a woman advice on pregnancy without ever
    having to experience it. It is not simply "an opinion" that the holocaust happened. In the absence of living victims we can still accept it as a historical fact.
    As far as Hammersmith lodge goes I really think you're arguing purely for the sake of it. You can't honestly expect members of a lodge in Ireland to keep records of a lodge in another country, or to even want to.

No but I CAN expect them to be interested in it and in the history of masonry and if things like this happened before to put in a system to prevent it. I can expect a Roman Catholic in a parish in Donegal to be interested in child abuse in Wexford in how it happened and how it can be prevented in future. THe level of "coverup" and responsibility are probably of more interest for the organisation than the sordid details of the abuse itself.
    My own lodge is very conversant with its' own history, and some members are interested in the general history of Freemasonry as a whole. In fact there are some lodges dedicated to historical research, and I'm sure their members are very good at digging up old source material. But I doubt there are more than one or two Masons in the whole of Ireland who are even interested in passing, in the history of a lodge in Hammersmith.
    As I stated I would think there are more than one or two people outside Wexford interested in the Ferns report on abuse not because they want to know who did what but because they want to know hoe the system allowed it to happen.
    You've pointed out the Unlawful Societies Act of 1799, which was enacted to curtail Jacobite rebellions, as banning members of the public service from being Freemasons. In fact the Act did form the mainstay of the relationship between freemasonry and the state in Britain for nearly two hundred years, because Freemasonry was specifically excluded from the Act by its own clause. It was noted that the secretary of each lodge each year gave the meeting place, names and occupations of every lodge member to the clerk to the local justices, which I think wasn't very secretive at all! I don't know if the practice continues since the Act was repealled, but I wouldn't be surprised as many lodges would probably consider it traditional.

when Robert Emmet was arrested a guy came over from London appointed by the crown to investigate and linked up all the College Staff from servants to the Provost in the Dining Hall for interrogation. There were something like five Republican cells in Trinity and they couldn't understand how these had thrived in the Protestant Ascendency. When he got to the Bursar and asked him about "secret society meetings" and the Bursar said he was aware they were going on at the time. When asked why he did nothing about this at the time the Bursar replied "I thought they were Lodges"
    Your reference to Baron Millett; if he joined the Freemasons he was a first degree mason. Some people take more degrees, some don't. It has nothing to do with what you do in the outside world, you don't 'get' degrees for being a Lord, or rich, or famous, or anything else.

I would be surprised if he was still a first degree mason. how about members of the royal family? they are all first degree are they? somehow I find that hard to believe.
    The quote from the conspiracy theorist is about York Rite masonry. I'm not a York Rite mason, but I doubt the oaths are accurate as they seem unmasonic to me, by which I mean they seem morally improper.

Fair enough - but you never thought of asking a York right Mason? Or looking it up?
    There are no Islamic or Christian Masonic Lodges; Muslims and Christians may join any Lodge safe in the knowledge that nothing in Freemasonry attempts to infringe on their worship.

I got the impression that there are Mormon and other Lodges and even Black lodges.
    Am I wrong?
    As discussed earlier in the thread there are lodges of women styled on freemasonry in the order of the eastern star; these are not masonic, but 'masonic-styled'.

What is the difference masonic and a masonic styled given the sole exception of having women?
    There a few 'black' men in my Lodge, and I'm not aware of any Lodge that only has members of only one colour/racial background. What a strange question!

There are those who claim the orange order and KKK have their roots in Masonry and the same symbolism is clearly there.

http://masonicinfo.com/racism.htm
    ome Grand Lodges in the Southern United States have clung tenaciously to their segregated ways thus exposing the racism charge further. We believe that this is a temporary situation and within the next few years will be resolved.
    Because masonry is intended to inculcate and encourage moral behaviour, I would hope that means the 'average' Mason is more honest than an 'average' person. That would be the idea, I think.

Sadly we have no way of testing if this is true.
    I get the impression you think that 'freedom of information' is a right for everyone to know whatever they want.

No I never claimed that! I believe anything in the public interest should be public knowledge and freely available. By "in the public interest" I do not mean what gutter press tabloids or even sordid details in which most people might be interested. I mean thinks like "out of the public pocket" or "affecting public policy". If for example you are homosexual that is your own business. If you happen to belong to a club of homosexuals and favour homosexuals for employment over others or are in a position to grant them public contracts then while you personal life is none of my business there may be an obvious problem with your personal associations.
    We don't have to prove anything, we're here because we enjoy it. So feel free to keep asking questions!

while i accept you don't have to prove anything the Masons own property on Ireland which gives them power even if they were all paupers (which I submit they aren't!). furthermore masonry is in decline in Ireland and Public Relations are important to masonry so to that extent you DO have to prove something.

It shows SOME of the highest degree masons are listed. About 20 to 30 which tend to repeat. Maybe there are on 50 masons in Ireland.

Of the most senior levels, there are only a handful of Masons. It's not a conspiracy. The only reason there's a handful is that to become so senior, you must be a mason for a long time. If you join in your mid 30's, early 40's as most men do, you won't live long enough to get there :)

I got the impression that there are Mormon and other Lodges and even Black lodges. Am I wrong?

Anyone can use the word Lodge. The orange order does it, but that doesn't mean they're freemasons. We certainly don't recognise them. Likewise with the female Eastern Star lodges, or if there is an exclusive 'black' lodge - we wouldn't recognise that either, as we believe in equality of ALL men, not just one race or creed.

There are those who claim the orange order and KKK have their roots in Masonry and the same symbolism is clearly there.

That's possibly the most insulting thing anyone has even written about Masonry. Jesus H Dapdancing Christ, cut it out.

furthermore masonry is in decline in Ireland and Public Relations are important to masonry so to that extent you DO have to prove something.

Masonry's actually on the up. There were a few new lodges opened in the last 10 years, there's a Past Master's Lodge opened in Cork which is having huge success, Tralee Lodge which meets in Kenmare (Confusing eh?) was reopened due to the popularity of Masonry in Kerry and having no Lodge down there. Nearly every Lodge in Cork has waiting candidates, and freshly joined members coming up through the ranks, the Lodge I was master of for the last years has 3 candidates waiting to join, and 2 members recently initiated.

In times of recession, people will join tennis clubs/language courses/Masonry/car clubs, anything so they can still have a social life without an extensive expense dangling around their necks.

Some not ALL. especially not Hammersmith at the time a criminal was alleged to be the Lodge Master.
    It shows SOME of the highest degree masons are listed.
    Same for a political party but the people in then seem far less secretive.
    They will show you an agenda of any meeting but maybe not the actual minutes of it.
    Freemasonry is not a political party; we don't get involved in politics, we're not looking for anyones vote and we're not looking for anyones money. So we don't feel the need to 'display our wares' as such, since we're a private organisation.
    there are tests for alcohol or drug problems and religious cults.
    They are usually of the form "which of the following applies to you" followed by say ten character or behaviour traits or group behaviour. At the end it migh say "if you ticked yes for more then two of these you have a problem."
    You don't have to tick all the boxes of cult properties to be in a cult!
    No doubt, but to be defined by a definition you have to conform to it.
    wealth is a relative term. If the pensioners didn't own their own house or live in one free of charge then Ill accept they weren't wealthy. Many pensioners who campaigned outside the Dáil on pensions were millionaires.
    Political parties and universities are the same. But if you have five million to invest a chair or to wipe out a party debt it seems you might get more favorable access. And this is in non secret polite society.
    Then to be even clearer for you; the majority of Masons would not be judged to be wealthy except relative to a homeless person. Relative to the average person in Ireland, the average Mason is average in income and assets. No one assesses or inquires about your income or assets when you join the Masons.
    No actually it doesn't. It requests all publically available publications . Most publishers comply and are required to do so by law. Priovate publications of the sort you mention are not obligatory.
    Nonetheless, they are provided to the library.
    What is a religion? Has dogma and rules? Is based on belief in God or gods?
    I'm sure you'll find a definition online, but as I Mason I'm not interested in defining religions, I just let people get on with their own.
    But there is a HUGE difference between a sole operator and an organised criminal conspiracy.
    Yes, and criminal activity is not condoned, nor concealed, by Freemasonry as an organisation.
    i beg to differ. If the public interest is being thwarted the public have every right to know.
    I can see that's what you believe, the point I have been trying to make is that that there exists no right/entitlement in law to this information for a member of the general public.
    not having personal experience and not having knowledge are two different things. A male doctor with more knowledge about it may give a woman advice on pregnancy without ever having to experience it. It is not simply "an opinion" that the holocaust happened. In the absence of living victims we can still accept it as a historical fact..
    The Masonic order had no involvement in the Holocaust. Satisfied?
    No but I CAN expect them to be interested in it and in the history of masonry and if things like this happened before to put in a system to prevent it.
    OK, you can expect it. But most people aren't really interested in fulfilling your expectations for you, and that includes most masons, who have no idea who you are.
    I would be surprised if he was still a first degree mason. how about members of the royal family? they are all first degree are they? somehow I find that hard to believe.
    Hard to believe or not, every member starts at the start and progresses as they please.

Fair enough - but you never thought of asking a York right Mason? Or looking it up?
    Nope, it doesn't bother me what oaths they take. Someday perhaps when I'm old and interested in researching areas of Freemasonry I'll find out. Otherwise, it doesn't really matter does it?

I got the impression that there are Mormon and other Lodges and even Black lodges. Am I wrong?
    There is no religious or racial segregation in Freemasonry, so yes you're wrong.

What is the difference masonic and a masonic styled given the sole exception of having women?
    I did say it's covered earlier in this thread...

while i accept you don't have to prove anything the Masons own property on Ireland which gives them power even if they were all paupers (which I submit they aren't!). furthermore masonry is in decline in Ireland and Public Relations are important to masonry so to that extent you DO have to prove something.
    No... we don't. Freemasonry is doing just fine for members, and whilst it's good to be able to correct misconceptions and answer questions from people who are genuinely interested, I certainly don't feel the need to strip the order bare for public scrutiny.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

isent the orange [lodge] freemasons ? and hasent both the UK/and italy attempted to make freemasons register the fact, when applying for a job in police/law and local goverment ?

Getz, you've posted enough on this thread alone to know the answers to your questions already. But welcome back.

Freemasonry is not a political party; we don't get involved in politics, we're not looking for anyones vote and we're not looking for anyones money. So we don't feel the need to 'display our wares' as such, since we're a private organisation.

Well all im saying is there are others who claim that Irish Masonry courted publicity and found crisis:
    http://www.evangelicaltruth.com/IrishFreemasonry.htm

http://www.freemasonrywatch.org/kkk.html
    No doubt, but to be defined by a definition you have to conform to it.

The argument you raised was one has to agree with ALL of it.
    My counter argument was that one doesn't have to conform to ALL elements!
    Then to be even clearer for you; the majority of Masons would not be judged to be wealthy except relative to a homeless person. Relative to the average person in Ireland, the average Mason is average in income and assets. No one assesses or inquires about your income or assets when you join the Masons.

Fiar enough ,but but how about senior masons? If wealth doesn't correlate they should be about average and some be wealthy and some not so wealthy. The ones for example listed on the website. compared to the 40 or so senior GAA or senior churchmen (their PERSONAL wealth) or say 40 random TD's just to compare people at similar levels. Of the 40 or so of them how many of them live in a house worth less than 300k for example? i would think you would have difficulty in finding more then one or two if even that. Less than 400k, less than 500? I would recon that at least 35 of the 40 would have houses worth in the million or more range.
    Nonetheless, they are provided to the library.

that is good to know. Thanks.. would you have a title and author /publisher reference?
    I'm sure you'll find a definition online, but as I Mason I'm not interested in defining religions, I just let people get on with their own.

But you have to define what religion is if you don't allow people in who are religious.
    Yes, and criminal activity is not condoned, nor concealed, by Freemasonry as an organisation.

But if it happens elsewhere in another Lodge you have no interest in it? Even if it happens because of lack of standards or lack of policy?
    I can see that's what you believe, the point I have been trying to make is that that there exists no right/entitlement in law to this information for a member of the general public.

Yes there does! If public money is spent or associated with a private boidy the court would have the right to pierce the corporate veil or politicians to ask for an enquiry into it. if it is not using public money and causing no public (or severe personal ) harm then they would not have a right.
    The Masonic order had no involvement in the Holocaust. Satisfied?

That isn't the point! the point is that you don't need to be a mason to have knowledge of them or criticise them no more than you need to be a nazi to say the holocaust was planned by nazis. You maintained that personal experience was necessary for criticism. I don't have to have personal experience of abortion to say it is wrong. I agree it may inform my position but I don't have to actually go through one to have a valid informed opinion. so the idea that people outside of masonry have an invalid point of view is unsupported.
    OK, you can expect it. But most people aren't really interested in fulfilling your expectations for you, and that includes most masons, who have no idea who you are.

Whether or not masons know I am that I am is beside the point. the point is if such things can exists elsewher in masonry or existed in the history of masonry and weren't dealt with and then occurred AGAIN then it is only expected that people outside masonry would find it odd that you are neither interested in dealing with corruption in masonry or learning from the past. If thinks are going all right in your Lodge you are not interested in how they go elsewhere. people would find this strange.

Nope, it doesn't bother me what oaths they take. Someday perhaps when I'm old and interested in researching areas of Freemasonry I'll find out. Otherwise, it doesn't really matter does it?

Maybe not to you but I think I just pointed out how people in Donegal might be interested in how church leaders in Ferns allowed things to go on without reacting to them. Or how the Spanish changed the original Italian inquisition into a blood fest. they would be interested in how for example Masons corrupted the London detective force and when rooted out managed to do it again causing a second reform in the 1970s.
    There is no religious or racial segregation in Freemasonry, so yes you're wrong.

Im sorry if yo think I suggested there was . What I suggested was that racist and other groups have similar roots:
    I did say it's covered earlier in this thread...

so you disavow yourself from "masonic styled" groups and yu refer only to the free masons.
    Whaty about Prince Hall Freemasonry which draws its origin from Irish freemasonry?
    On March 6, 1775, an African American named Prince Hall was made a Master Mason in Irish Constitution Military Lodge No. 441, along with fourteen other African Americans. You recognise all these lodges do you?

The grand lodges in the US don't!
    http://bessel.org/masrec/phamap.htm
    Don't you find it interesting the States that "blackballed" them?
    No... we don't. Freemasonry is doing just fine for members, and whilst it's good to be able to correct misconceptions and answer questions from people who are genuinely interested, I certainly don't feel the need to strip the order bare for public scrutiny.

I'm not suggesting that you sell everything. I'm suggesting there is power and influence in it.

Of the most senior levels, there are only a handful of Masons. It's not a conspiracy. The only reason there's a handful is that to become so senior, you must be a mason for a long time. If you join in your mid 30's, early 40's as most men do, you won't live long enough to get there :)

Reasonable answer.
    Anyone can use the word Lodge. The orange order does it, but that doesn't mean they're freemasons. We certainly don't recognise them. Likewise with the female Eastern Star lodges, or if there is an exclusive 'black' lodge - we wouldn't recognise that either, as we believe in equality of ALL men, not just one race or creed.

Note the "blackball" states
    http://bessel.org/masrec/phamap.htm

That's possibly the most insulting thing anyone has even written about Masonry. Jesus H Dapdancing Christ, cut it out.

What is insulting that the KKK and Masons have a common origin?
    It was founded in Polaski, Tennessee, in 1866 by 6 Confederate officers. One of them, and the first Imperial Wizard of the KKK, was a former Confederate general and Freemason, Nathan Bedford Forrest.

... Albert Pike held the office of Chief Justice of the KKK while he was simultaneously Sovereign Grand Commander of the Scottish Rite of Masonry, in the Southern Jurisdiction...

http://vulcanlodge.co.cc/?p=366
    The long and short of this convoluted tale comes squarely to rest on the odious claim that a “non-white man” can not be a Freemason.

It also explains the "public interest/good" or "out of the Public purse"argument I have made
    In the mean time, a civil filing by the Worshipful Master turned Plaintiff suggests that the Grand Lodge is in violation of its Non-Profit Status

Masonry's actually on the up. There were a few new lodges opened in the last 10 years, there's a Past Master's Lodge opened in Cork which is having huge success, Tralee Lodge which meets in Kenmare (Confusing eh?) was reopened due to the popularity of Masonry in Kerry and having no Lodge down there. Nearly every Lodge in Cork has waiting candidates, and freshly joined members coming up through the ranks, the Lodge I was master of for the last years has 3 candidates waiting to join, and 2 members recently initiated.

In times of recession, people will join tennis clubs/language courses/Masonry/car clubs, anything so they can still have a social life without an extensive expense dangling around their necks.

Sorry I'm basing my comment on this:
    http://www.evangelicaltruth.com/IrishFreemasonry.htm