Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you had the choice, would you leave Ireland?

• 24-09-2002 9:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭

I had the option open to me, and I took it. Would you?

If so...Why, and where would you go?

And if you already have, where did you go?

Would you leave the damn Country 168 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    72% 122 votes
    Already have!
    27% 46 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

whats the choice?
    anyone can leave if they want to... at any minute.

however if the opportunity came up where i was guaranteed a good-paying job in another country i'd go...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

Not necessarily. A lot of us are under 18 and don't have as many open options to do so until the whole education thing is out of the way...like myself. But I was lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

Originally posted by Kali
    anyone can leave if they want to... at any minute.

Thats what you think...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

If I had the opportunity to move to certain countries, like say somewhere in Scandinavia or the U.S., I'd drop this sh!tty country as soon as possible.

Don't think I'd be too tempted to move to Spain or anywhere hot though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

would i leave? yes. why? because of the shower of ****s running it. they don't give a **** about the people they represent and the sooner i'm gone the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Ive had the chance on many occasions. I like Ireland, its better than a lot of you think. The grass is ALWAYS greener etc etc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Yeah, but only for a while - I'd definitely be back after a couple of years. Trying to get a tefl position in China at the mo' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

gone to the mainland.
    and funnily enough, every time i go back to ireland the only thing i miss are my friends and family.
    the standard of living is appalling in ireland, and its only when you leave do you realise just how bad it is.
    the whole political issue us a shambles. ive never seen so much corruptiona dn incompetance in my life. but sure, thats ok, coz shure, arent we only oirish anyway.
    the nice thing about surrey is that there are no shiney tracksuit wearing knackers here. no matter what part of ireland you go to there are knackers. dirty, foul, smelly knackers. am i racist against them?
    am i a snob? you bet your ass i am.
    ireland is filthy.
    it is dirty.
    the weather is always crap.
    the insurance...doint start me.
    the price of everything is just stupid.
    the service industry is rubbish. its like banging your head in a car door over and over and over again.
    plastic bag tax (!)

no, its easier for me to name the good things about ireland, the bad things are too long a list.
    will i go back. for visits absolutely. its nice to see the reasons why i left, but its nicer to see my friends and family.
    will i go back to live, not in this 10 years.
    maybe when luas is built and dublin finally has a decent transport system.
    or
    if the house market crashes and i can buy a house cheaply. then i will buy 3, charge horrendous rent to students and screw people the way i was screwed fo so many years.
    am i bitter?
    no. lessons learnt and all that. im just glad i had the chance to leave, and that i took it. and that it worked out :)
    if it hadnt, id be back in ireland saying bad things about england.

im glad i left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

A couple of years ago I did move to London for awhile cos work wasn't looking good here. It didn't look great in London either when I got there. Eventually the company where I was working closed down their offices, and shortly after I returned to Ireland. Which was the best move I've ever made!

If I had the choice now, I probably would move. New York would be the place for me, but there's other factors keeping me here right now. So I'll have to see

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

gone to the mainland.

did you stick that in to see who would react??? nasty man!!

I agree with a lot of wwm said.

I will most likely move to France some time in the future, within the next 5 years or so...
    the standard of living is sooo much better there.
    one example of a long list:
    I bought a one bedroom appartment here in Dublin 3 years ago for 80,000
    my sister built (to her specs) a 4 bedroom/two bathroom house with hugh celler in the west of France for 90,000 - am I disgusted? yes....

as wwm said, the only thing I will miss is my family and friends and perhaps the very lively night life we have here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Yes, I'd go if I could.

Why? To expand my horizons. To see more of the world while I'm here.

Where? The United States of America. Definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Definitely.

The US, The Carribean or Australia/New Zealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Once I'm fully edumacated, I'm out of this rip off garbage-statelet.

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    gone to the mainland.

did you stick that in to see who would react??? nasty man!!

actually, its a running joke between myself, 2sheds, venom, majd, amp, shinji, mills, and anyone else im good friends with :)

but mostly its all castor troys fault.

lets ban him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Im outta here as soon as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Ive left already. To tell the truth most places are fundamentally the same, a change of scenery can be nice, but you always have to bring yourself - nine time out of ten someone who wants to leave a country has a personal issue more than an issue with the actual country. It would be stupid to leave the country simply on the basis that you want to leave, youll usually find that wherever you move to is no better, even if they have stricter litter laws etc.

To summarise, all places are the same.

Except I just d/led a 100 meg file in 90 seconds here :)

A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    gone to the mainland.

You moved to France?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

well... going to Canada & America next year for a couple of weeks and I'll be doing some jobsearching while I'm over.. If I got something over there I'd leave Ireland no bother...

grand I might only stay away a couple of years but its the experience that counts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I came here from elsewhere and I hav'nt left and doubt I ever will.

Lacking ambition? Me?

Over there always looks better cos its further away, remember here looks good to someone over there...

Part of me hopes that whinger Paul who wrote that article in the Irish Times which I suspect prompted this thread, discovers
    Austrailia is expensive, parochial, backward, violent and dirty
    too.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

No I wouldnt leave but it can be a ****ty place.Our political system may be a joke and is more like those that existed in europe before the war but sure at leats we dont have anything as bad as Britains President Blair,all hail to me as I am infallible :rolleyes: Hes a wanker altogether.
    Im OK with the weather-I dont even watch the weather I take it as it comes:)
    Whitewashman-Whats wrong with tracksuits?Would you like if all of Ireland was dressed like them gimps from Dublin 4 you see in O Connel street dressed in their ancient tweed coats looking like Oscar Wild or something even though their only about 20?Those people are complete tits!Long live the tracker generation:)
    Anyway I cant leave-I like my bed too much.:)
    And besides Irish girls are FINE-way too good to abandon in search of inferiour european muff.Give me Irish over yer French any day-Ive been to France and they are way overrated in looks.

Some of the east european ones are nice though:) But then again thats irrevelant since why would anyone be emigrating to eastern europe?

Originally posted by mike65

Part of me hopes that whinger Paul who wrote that article in the Irish Times which I suspect prompted this thread, discovers
    Austrailia is expensive, parochial, backward, violent and dirty
    too.

Mike.

I never knew of any article.:)

Over there always looks better cos its further away, remember here looks good to someone over there...

And I moved to Ireland 6 years ago. After about 2 years I was dying to come back to Wales. It's was only after 6 years that I got the chance to leave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Hmm... Ive been bouncing between Ireland and canada alot over the last 3 years. I'll be back in ireland in 2 or so weeks then back in canada around christmas...I cant really see myself being away from ireland for anything more than a year tbh

Originally posted by The Gopher

Whitewashman-Whats wrong with tracksuits?Would you like if all of Ireland was dressed like them gimps from Dublin 4 you see in O Connel street dressed in their ancient tweed coats looking like Oscar Wild or something even though their only about 20?

i never said there was anything wrong with tracksuits. i have a problem with the knackers that wear them as their sunday best.

and if by asking would i prefer people to be dressed like oscar wilde, it doesnt bother me what people wear, however, id rather dublin was full of D4 types than scumbags.

yes i do come from a more opulant part of the city, and i wont apologise for that, however, that has nothing to do with the fact that ireland is full of scumbags and knackers and i dont like them.
    its not a point thats up for debate, its just a simple fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Distressingly, I agree with most of what WWman says here :)

I wouldn't move to the USA mind, despite the fact that loads of folk on this thread seem to think it'd be great there. American people really, fundamentally annoy me (ignorant people do in general, and America has far more than its fair share of those) and I've really not liked what I've seen of the country. Horrible, leeching kind of nation, with no culture or depth of its own, just a recycled and cheapened version of other nations' achievements... Bleh. I'll stick to Europe cheers, and maybe the Far East at some later point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

damn right i would , this place is just medieval.
    the stupid closing time hours, the unfriendly service in most of your pubs and public services is just a joke.
    you guys dont even have affordable high speed internet.
    the rent prices are just one big scam, the price i pay here i would rent a small villa on the continent.
    having travelled trough most of europe i have seen the difference , and i cant say that any single country is 'THE' perfect country but damn some are trying hard to be that way.

I am a city man so your lovely forests and wide open fields are just lost on me and have no interrest whatsoever in these things.
    I like big cities and love multicultural ones. bangkok really did open my eyes because this is the first asian country i visit and to give you an example...public transport is number one here.
    every 2-3 minutes there is a bus passing by and every 15 seconds a cab. then furthermore you can choose between motorcycle taxis and tuk-tuk. whatever your budget is ..well you can travel around.
    people here are nice and had never the irish look of 'what the feck do you want?' I pay..they smile, i am very ok with that !

and your right , the grass is always greener somewhere else. doesnt mean that is a bad thing right? maybe it is ?! better somewhere else? being a foreigner myself i have the option to leave and i will eventually..damn career move ! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Yes the grass *is* greener on the other side, you could travel and travel and you'll get pissed off with where you live sooner or later.

And if you hate this country so much, why don't you leave then? You class yourself as a 'foreigner', surely you don't owe this country anything in terms of debts or contracts, you can leave whenever you want. Personally i'm moving up north next year, where believe it or not I think it's safer, and has a much better infrastructure than this place :/

Originally posted by eth0_
    Yes the grass *is* greener on the other side, you could travel and travel and you'll get pissed off with where you live sooner or later.

And if you hate this country so much, why don't you leave then? You class yourself as a 'foreigner', surely you don't owe this country anything in terms of debts or contracts, you can leave whenever you want.

the pot....
    Personally i'm moving up north next year, where believe it or not I think it's safer, and has a much better infrastructure than this place :/

and the kettle....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

'And if you hate this country so much, why don't you leave then? You class yourself as a 'foreigner', surely you don't owe this country anything in terms of debts or contracts, you can leave whenever you want.'

once again that proves my point, you dont listen as soon as somebody even has some critism you tell them to feck off.
    but never do you (not all of you) listen and try to understand that there might be a word of truth in this?
    do i have to own a country anything if i want to stay longer and work on my career? Eth , i think you just have this closed into your mind that being a patriot means , to tell everyone to feck off...believe me ..it's not.
    i think if you really want to be an patriot , you might listen and understand that things can go better. that other countries might have solutions on problems you have and acknowledge this.
    not just say, 'foreigner, get out if you dont like it'

"being a foreigner myself" you said. I wasn't being derogatory to you Wook. I think you're taking me up wrong here, I was pointing out that you're lucky in that you've not lived here all your life and haven't built up debts or have relationships that will tie you to this country, and i'd love to be in that position myself!

And i'm not patriotic at ALL and you know it ;) I'm not even IRISH ffs :)

Originally posted by The Gopher
    Our political system may be a joke and is more like those that existed in europe before the war but sure at leats we dont have anything as bad as Britains President Blair,all hail to me as I am infallible :rolleyes: Hes a wanker altogether.

Tony Blair's president??

And anyway. Notice how most Irish Politicians are Fat and/or bald? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

<J1 Tosser>

I just came back from three months living in New York City (Brooklyn to be precise). To be honest I would seriously consider moving there to live when I am finished my degree.

It is sunny and warm every day of the summer, and it snows in the winter. Every day we could just walk across the road to the park and have a game of soccer or frisbee with who ever is in the park.

Where we lived was right beside the projects (council housing) and never once did I feel threatened walking but a crowd of scumbags (although there were scumbags, they keep to themselves).

Everyone is happy in the city. I came home and found Dublin grey and dull and cold, and the peoples attitudes are so self-centered here.

</J1 Tosser>

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

Originally posted by Shinji
    Distressingly, I agree with most of what WWman says here :)

I wouldn't move to the USA mind, despite the fact that loads of folk on this thread seem to think it'd be great there. American people really, fundamentally annoy me (ignorant people do in general, and America has far more than its fair share of those) and I've really not liked what I've seen of the country. Horrible, leeching kind of nation, with no culture or depth of its own, just a recycled and cheapened version of other nations' achievements... Bleh. I'll stick to Europe cheers, and maybe the Far East at some later point.

I absolutley agree with what Shinji has stated here, mind you, I just moved to Ireland from America. Many of my reasons, are listed above. Yes, I know the grass is always greener and such, but really...it is :) I love it here and hope I get to stay, having found a job and all. If not I would try to live elsewhere in europe, 25 yrs in America is quite more than enough thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

gone to the mainland.
    and funnily enough, every time i go back to ireland the only thing i miss are my friends and family.
    the standard of living is appalling in ireland, and its only when you leave do you realise just how bad it is.
    the whole political issue us a shambles. ive never seen so much corruptiona dn incompetance in my life. but sure, thats ok, coz shure, arent we only oirish anyway.
    the nice thing about surrey is that there are no shiney tracksuit wearing knackers here. no matter what part of ireland you go to there are knackers. dirty, foul, smelly knackers. am i racist against them?
    am i a snob? you bet your ass i am.
    ireland is filthy.
    it is dirty.
    the service industry is rubbish. its like banging your head in a car door over and over and over again.
    plastic bag tax (!)

no, its easier for me to name the good things about ireland, the bad things are too long a list.
    will i go back. for visits absolutely. its nice to see the reasons why i left, but its nicer to see my friends and family.
    will i go back to live, not in this 10 years.
    maybe when luas is built and dublin finally has a decent transport system.
    or
    if the house market crashes and i can buy a house cheaply. then i will buy 3, charge horrendous rent to students and screw people the way i was screwed fo so many years.
    am i bitter?
    no. lessons learnt and all that. im just glad i had the chance to leave, and that i took it. and that it worked out

im glad i left.

I am glad you left too.

Stop Giving out so much. thats all we do in Ireland Give out. Boo Who I am a winger from Ireland Look at all the refugees coming into my country and all the ****ing travellers they mess up my area so much and the politicans are so so corrupt and the TV is **** and we pay so much for everything and we don't have broadband and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and BOO FEICIN WHO.

Get up of your lazy asses and do something or shut up and put up.

Originally posted by Elmo

I am glad you left too.

and im glad you managed to read my post and take it all in correctly...

Stop Giving out so much. thats all we do in Ireland Give out. Boo Who I am a winger from Ireland

i was asked for an opinion and i told why i left ireland.
    and then you turn around and say that all irish are moaners.
    bit hypocritical after telling me youre glad i left.
    so, that rules out anything you have to say doesnt it.

Look at all the refugees coming into my country

didnt notice me say anything about forigners. hold on i will go back and check.
    nope, definately didnt say anything about refugees.
    now youre just making things up.
    so, that rules out anything you say doesnt it, again....

and all the ****ing travellers they mess up my area so much

i dont think i mentioned the travelling community. you may have mixed up knackers, but i assure you thats what i mean.
    and the politicans are so so corrupt and the TV is **** and we pay so much for everything and we don't have broadband and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and and BOO FEICIN WHO.

now, do you actually have a point here?
    you see you have just mentined lots of things that píss of a lot of people in ireland.
    so whats your point. please make one because youre wasting people upload time here.
    i guess you still dont have anything interesting to say.

Get up of your lazy asses and do something or shut up and put up.

i did.
    i left.
    what more would you like me to do?

and next time you have a go at me for giving an opinion when specifically asked, make a decent point, question my opinions, or just shut the fúck up.
    ok?

now, why dont you tell us your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

As i don't care much for "Whiner " and as you in your introduction seem like a "Whiner " as i got about as far as

And thought not again another f**kin Whiner .

My point is everyone in Ireland Gives out all the time always. "If its not one thing its another" - I hate that statement.

What I was trying to say, WhiteWashMan, was that most Irish people complain alot but never do anything about it. Oh wait some go to the "Mainland". By that i assume you mean Britain (and at that you mean England) and not Europe.

Whiner
    ireland is filthy.
    it is dirty.

Whiner

Whiner
    its nice to see the reasons why i left,

MY GOD MAN THE FACT THAT YOU MADE ME READ YOUR CRAP YOUR F**KIN CRAP IT IS JUST SO S*IT F**KIN S*IT S*IT S*IT.

I am sick of this (and if i have to use this french f**king phrase again i will go insane if i am not aready insane about what you have just mentioned) "Laize a faire" attitude of the irish. The best think that we can all do is to leave this god for saken island (Oh my god now i agree with you).

The only good thing about your post is that you can actually admit you are a "Whiner ".
    i did.
    i left.
    what more would you like me to do?.

Do what you think is right get up of your ass and do something don't complain, don't just leave because things don't work out and if things get better don't come
    back to live, not in this 10 years.

Because your just a paddy that will never be happy and you never did anything to improve Ireland because you where on the "Mainland".

Also I agree with the 15 cent tax on bags it reduces waste. I don't find many people giving out about it if they did it wouldn't be there. Its like Fags and drink they should be that price because they are bad for you.

Now That the best Whining i can do but i am sure you can do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

You're just digging deeper Elmo.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

What I was trying to say, WhiteWashMan, was that most Irish people complain alot but never do anything about it.

Do what you think is right get up of your ass and do something don't complain, don't just leave because things don't work out

Because your just a paddy that will never be happy and you never did anything to improve Ireland

Yeah WWM!!! You just up and left the country instead of staying here and sorting out all the problems. The least you could have done before you left was:

*Kill all the knackers
    *Ban all tracksuits
    *Sack the entire Government
    *Sweep and fix all the roads in Ireland
    *Forced all the insurance companies to lower their prices
    *Forced all shop keepers and pub owners to lower their prices (and ban all travellers)
    *Reduce taxation to a European average
    *Give broadband to the entire country for 20 Euro a month
    *Teach Irish people how to drive properly before allowing them on the road

You B@stard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Personally i'm moving up north next year, where believe it or not I think it's safer, and has a much better infrastructure than this place :/
    Etho, im from the north and I can quite assure you its no better, albiet you get decent internet (£25/month for 512k cable in belfast) in most places, cable is being installed in fermanagh (where im from) pretty soon, i should have it by christmas. Belfast is probably worse than dublin, theres a petrol/pipe bomb attack on someones home almost every week (you hear new ones every day on the local news), the politics is a load of sh*t, but i dont pay any heed to it. So dont think its much better except the pricing, house's are a rip off aswell in most places.
    But i aint goin nowhere, i like the my little peaceful (ghost :p) town, and since im not a very sociable guy i really dont give much of a damn what happens in the town as long as my mates dont go diein on me :)

Originally posted by Pugsley

Etho, im from the north and I can quite assure you its no better, albiet you get decent internet (£25/month for 512k cable in belfast) in most places, cable is being installed in fermanagh (where im from) pretty soon, i should have it by christmas. Belfast is probably worse than dublin

I'm from Belfast myself, moved to the republic about 8 years ago, and while Belfast was a hole when I lived there, it now has a lot more redeeming factors than Dublin, from my point of view...

But then as I said...the grass is always greener and all that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

OMG YES,
    3 reasons
    1.Corrupt and ****tey political system
    2. No broadband or promising infastructure, even tourism is about to suffer, and thats been the family business for 2 generations
    3.The People, Im sorry, I may be irish myself but alot of Irish ppl are Lazy,dirty,have the ability to be cruel, and will only do something if their freedom is threatened. The Sterotype of Ireland being friendly is dwindling, Look at how we looked upon Assylum seekers, ffs, us Irish have been emigrating for years. yes the system is faulty (Having a child over here means u can bring in both families) but the actual assylum seekers themselves who may be fleeing War or Poverty or just looking for oportunities deserve more and we owe it to them.

I can seem myself being flamed for this but its my opinien, I've been in a position where I've been able to see the difference between Irish and other nationals.
    This country appears to be a one Citied one, where the country revolves around Dublin due to its population, how are the other cities meant to develop?
    I could go on for ages. Majourity of what i say my parents discussed at the table.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

I spent the summer in America. Loved it for what it was, but in the end i couldn't *wait* to get home. I never thought I enjoyed being here so much, untill i left :)

As i don't care much for "Whiner " and as you in your introduction seem like a "Whiner " as i got about as far as

ah, so you didnt even bother to read what i said.
    and then you comment.
    seems a bit stupid to me.

And thought not again another f**kin Whiner .

you must have a lot of whiners in your part of the world.

My point is everyone in Ireland Gives out all the time always. "If its not one thing its another" - I hate that statement.

so, you have a point do you.
    well, let it out why dont you.
    why dont oyu tell us all about it. tell us why, give us examples, make us understand.
    dont just sit there and say 'youre wrong' and then hurl abuse.
    what age are you, 12?

What I was trying to say, WhiteWashMan, was that most Irish people complain alot but never do anything about it. Oh wait some go to the "Mainland". By that i assume you mean Britain (and at that you mean England) and not Europe.

do you know everyone in ireland do you?
    how do you know what they do and dont do?
    assume as you wish, i thought that saying i lived in surrey gave it away myself, but there you go, unless theres a surrey in sa, the south of france?

MY GOD MAN THE FACT THAT YOU MADE ME READ YOUR CRAP YOUR F**KIN CRAP IT IS JUST SO S*IT F**KIN S*IT S*IT S*IT.

i didnt make you do anything.

the fact that ive annoyed you by posting a reply to your rubbish actually has cheered me up.
    I am sick of this (and if i have to use this french f**king phrase again i will go insane if i am not aready insane about what you have just mentioned) "Laize a faire" attitude of the irish. The best think that we can all do is to leave this god for saken island (Oh my god now i agree with you).

gosh, arent you just full of hypocracy today!
    if youre going to argue with me, at least keep your argument balanced and stop making yourself look a like a silly billy eh?
    oh, and if youre sick of the irish attitude, what are YOU doing to improve it?
    you ask me why i didnt help to fix whats wrong, well, now im asking why you dont fix the attitude of people.
    give me a full document on what the problem is, why you think we have it, how it developed, and wht you propose to do about it.
    go on smart arsé, you seem to have all the answers, why dont you provide us with some.
    or are you actually going to pipe down and be quiet like you know you should.
    The only good thing about your post is that you can actually admit you are a "Whiner ".

easily pleased arent you?

by the way, can you quote where i said that?

Do what you think is right get up of your ass and do something don't complain, don't just leave because things don't work out and if things get better don't come

let see.
    i think weve covered this havent we.
    i was asked for an opinion, i gave it. i gave a list of reasons to back up why i left.

by the way, with your unsolicited advice there, what if i believe the right thing to do is to leave becuase things dont work out?

perhaps some more of your valuable advice on how to live our lives is needed?.*

Because your just a paddy that will never be happy and you never did anything to improve Ireland because you where on the "Mainland".

why do you think im irish?

and how do you know what my achievements in ireland are?

and why dont you tell us what youve done to make ireland a better place, and id like you to start with my list, becuase these are the issues that are important to me.
    please give examples and details and perhaps contactable proof of these things.
    i await your reply on this one

Also I agree with the 15 cent tax on bags it reduces waste. I don't find many people giving out about it if they did it wouldn't be there. Its like Fags and drink they should be that price because they are bad for you. .

caution: do not consume any plastic bags an hour before swimming....

Now That the best Whining i can do but i am sure you can do better.

no, youre still a moany little twat.
    all ive done is put down an opinion and back it up and tell you where i think you are wrong.

now, you can write back, i hope you do.
    but can you ask someone to read it first before you post it so that we can get some sort of descent discussion going instead of this diatribe of rubbish and hypocracy and small-mindedness that you are spouting.

havea nice day sweetie.

Why on earth is WWM calling the UK the 'mainland'?

Sounds like some sort of **** stirring tactic to me... :)

Why on earth is WWM calling the UK the 'mainland'?

Sounds like some sort of **** stirring tactic to me... :)

obviously another person who cant or wont read what is written.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 ohgratuitous

i've gone to england from northern ireland. and i really didn't want to at the time (brain drain etc) but it was proving impossible to follow my career at home and it was too good an opportunity to pass. looking back it's the best thing i ever did. i miss it uber amounts, but like someone else said, it's a family thing, not the place so much...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

There is a difference between corruption and ineptitude- unfortunately here in Ireland we have both in large supply.
    Ceding control of our finances to Brussels was one of the best things we ever did, as we are incapable of taking care of them ourselves.
    I've worked abroad for literally years, in different countries on the continent. In no other country have I encountered such a collection of begrudgers, moaners, and mindless do-gooders.
    Yet I love my country.
    Strange isn't it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Mistakill

once im finshed third level education im moving to a scandinavian country like Norway or sweden.

One: because the internet line over is supposedly fast and cheap (thats what ive been told)

Two: Because Sweden is a sort of left-wing country the social welfare is sort of high. higher than Irleand anyways (not that im going to become a doler).

Three: Irleand trully is a Sh|t hole. Its the dirtiest country in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 ohgratuitous

three: irleand trully is a sh|t hole. its the dirtiest country in europe.

sometimes my irish friends and i over here (england) discuss if we somehow romanticise ireland because we no longer live there because we have happy memories from growing up and being educated there. but when i see the criticism it comes in for in this thread, i wonder even more so. is it really that bad? i can only speak for the north because i’ve only ever lived there (although naturally, i was in the south often) but i really believe that, despite everything that’s gone done up there, it’s a truly beautiful part of the world.

anyone with me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by ohgratuitous

sometimes my irish friends and i over here (england) discuss if we somehow romanticise ireland because we no longer live there because we have happy memories from growing up and being educated there. but when i see the criticism it comes in for in this thread, i wonder even more so. is it really that bad? i can only speak for the north because i’ve only ever lived there (although naturally, i was in the south often) but i really believe that, despite everything that’s gone done up there, it’s a truly beautiful part of the world.

anyone with me?

Yeah I'm with ye. Everybody else on the thread is a moany wánker :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

No matter how much you complain about Ireland being the dirtiest country in Europe, you have to admit it has improved in leaps and bounds in the last year or two.
    Sure, O'Connell Street probably looks like Dunsink at 11PM on a Friday night, but by hook or by crook its spotless by 6.30AM the following morning. We have a hell of a lot to do, but we are gettting there, albeit slowly......