Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rappers are racist

• Registered Users Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

dlofnep and DJDC banned for a week for abuse. Read the charter.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,889 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

and WHAMMO!!!!! down goes the ban hammer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

dlofnep wrote:
    They are not trying to be racist, they are just giving an accoutn of they way they have been treated. If it so happens that it's been all white folk, then that's our problem for treating them unfairly and not theirs.

Hmm...
    dlofnep wrote:
    that's our problem for treating them unfairly

"Our" problem? :rolleyes:

Is anyone else here laughing at this absolutely ridiculous sheer hypocrisy coming from someone who is whinging about generalisation and stereotypes?

I don't know about anyone else here, but I've never met a rapper, at the most my experience of rap is getting stoned listening to the likes of Jurassic 5 before. Guess that gives them reason to be racist against me, right? What with it being "Our problem for treating them unfairly" and all, my actions in this matter are certainly inexcusable. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

DJDC wrote:
    Hi guys, I am not trying to start a racist debate or trying to cause trouble. I myself am not racist, cannot see the point, as we are all equal. But:
    Why is it, that in many rappers songs, i.e. Kanye West (I listened to recently) has constant attacks on 'white men'. Or all you hear is 'white girl'. I do not understand the point of why he (and other rappers) have put this in their song?
    heres an example,in the games 300 bars song:
    "take my advice,never wear air max to the gigs,unless u one of the bloods or the latin kings,cause if u left with the ayrans,ur ass will sting"
    Because lets face it, as a white male, if I released a song tommorow, saying black man this & that, I would be the first one to be called racist and probably arrested!

Any other views on this?
    Gotta agree with you there, its a double standard the white man is the one been oppressed, we can't play a race card when were insulted

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

DJDC wrote:
    "take my advice,never wear air max to the gigs,unless u one of the bloods or the latin kings,cause if u left with the ayrans,ur ass will sting"
    I presume you mean Aryan.

I don't see how that could be taken up to be racist. The only way you could possibly be offended by that is if you considered yourself to be a aryan.

It's a stupid made up race used by many racist movements over the years. I think it's use in those lyrics is perfectly acceptable as someone who thinks they are an aryan certainly isn't going to be treating ethnic minorities very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Hub

dlofnep wrote:
    If white people were a minority and you were arrested for no other reason than being white then sure, I don't see any problems with expressing yourself in a track. You're an ignorant tool - I'll give you that. You have no idea whatsoever what they can go through. When I was in Michigan, me and my two friends were walking down the street - Cops stopped and only pulled the black guy over. It's really bad there. Go over and actually see how it works before you splutter out your stupid sh.it.

In LA there is more ethnic people than caucasian

Plus your talking out of your arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Now here is a view that some say is unPC but has points if followed.
    Say if 90% of the crimes were commited by people from 4 different areas. Now if people knew you were from one of these areas would they not treat you differently? Are they right?
    If you were from these areas would you not end up being a bit irriatated as it may still only be 10% of the population in your area. Maybe aggressive and deffensive towards people if you thought they were prejudging you.
    Now as a cop say if there was an instant way of recognising the majority from these areas. You see somebody out of their area and in an area that seems out of place would you stop them and check them out?
    If you were stopped because of this would you be angry would you respect the cops? Would you trust them?
    As a cop if you were always mistrusted and treated aggresively by a type what way would you treat such people?

Now that is the situation in Dublin. A lot of the same social problems that exist in poor Amaerica are here. The difference is the skin colour has made the seperation easier to spot there, here it is general style. A lot of the real problems are to do with poverty, I am sure race is a part of it but most countries have a similar problem without race.

Gansta rappers are ultimately doing damage by making people think black americans are like this. They are also making people aspire to this negative goal.

The worst thing is stupid middle class Irish people emulating this style and way of talking. I liked Adam Ant but I never thought I was a dandy highwayman and acted like I would hold up a stage coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,182 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

The rap soundtrack is driven by two basic myths: the romance of the street and a weakness for cheap melodrama.
    The rappers sell the myth of the permanent victim of society. Petty criminals think this way. The kids buy it, too, including millions of white suburban kids who have never lived in poverty. Like Jay-Z, of course, the successful rappers move to New Jersey. Or anywhere except the 'hood.

The instinct for melodrama is more dangerous. Most rappers sing about the same things: sex, jewelry, cars and mansions. Drugs are there, too, in subtler ways.Pigheads tired of seeing the same crap rehashed over and over again

But casual violence — of language and action — is all over the music. The so-called "urban poetry" in the lyrics is crude and brutally racist. I lost track after counting 150 uses of the N-word in Jay-Z's "In My Lifetime" and remembered men and women who were killed or beaten to remove that word from the American vocabulary. Better men and women than anyone in the rap world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

racism is colour blind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

lets face it, outside of the entertainment industry black people mostly exist as 2nd class citizens. who can blame black artists for 'venting' through the only forum/domain which is truly open to them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

ferdi wrote:
    lets face it, outside of the entertainment industry black people mostly exist as 2nd class citizens. who can blame black artists for 'venting' through the only forum/domain which is truly open to them?

Bull**** (no offence.)

The only thing keeping black people "down" (or anyone for that matter) is themselves. I genuinely believe everyone can become whatever they want - it's just a case of being mentally strong and working hard.

How annoying it must be if you're a normal black guy, trying to get an education/a good life etc., and you see the rapper guys talking all this ****. I know it would drive me nuts.

I don't feel any need to express bull**** about English people killing Irish people a hundred years ago. I want to move onwards and upwords.

There are no excuses today for racist lyrics/blaming everyone else for your problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭chillywilly

DJDC wrote:
    Hi guys, I am not trying to start a racist debate or trying to cause trouble. I myself am not racist, cannot see the point, as we are all equal. But:
    Why is it, that in many rappers songs, i.e. Kanye West (I listened to recently) has constant attacks on 'white men'. Or all you hear is 'white girl'. I do not understand the point of why he (and other rappers) have put this in their song?
    heres an example,in the games 300 bars song:
    Because lets face it, as a white male, if I released a song tommorow, saying black man this & that, I would be the first one to be called racist and probably arrested!

Any other views on this?

i agree with you on some level. Example(excuse me if someone has already said this):

anyone else see kanye west on the johnathan ross show afew nights ago? I was a fan and i thought fair play when he made that remark about bush. But then i saw him on Ross's show and he was blatently abusing white people.

i havnt got persise quotes but his remarks were somethig like this:

"its like a white girl dancing......"

"ye its like a white man....."

"white people..."etc etc

now my point may not come across very well here but if anyone saw the show they would know what im talking about. Ive never seen anything like it and its the first time in my life i was absolutly furious with regards to race remarks.

can anyone back me up?

i still cant bellieve his attitude :mad:

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I think quite a lot of people would benefit from looking at this site:

http://www.blackpeopleloveus.com/

This site has been a real eye opener for some people as it highlights the subtle racism in modern society (through satire). I think people who use phrases like "we've treated black people badly" will realize just how racist saying something like that is.
    I'd hope anyone who realizes that they're even a little bit like the people "acting" on this site would react with thoughtful reflection, rather than anger.

dublindude wrote:
    Bull**** (no offence.)

The only thing keeping black people "down" (or anyone for that matter) is themselves. I genuinely believe everyone can become whatever they want - it's just a case of being mentally strong and working hard.

There are no excuses today for racist lyrics/blaming everyone else for your problems.

By saying no offense doesn't stop you being offensive.

Your view of working hard and you get through something just shows your ignorace on the problems with poverty. You didn't ever have to do it and don't know what it is like. Your view is a particular middle to upper class view "let them eat cake" is on your lips. If you are poor you don't get the same opportunities.

Did it every dawn on you that maybe other people should be helped out of poverty. I know you are no socialist anyway :D

I am not attacking you read my first post here any maybe you will see where I am coming from on the subject. You could have finished off the other thread but you obviously don't want to answer the questions put to you.

Did it every dawn on you that maybe other people should be helped out of poverty. I know you are no socialist anyway :D

Didn't I see you making another anti-middle class post again today? Hmmm.

I only think people should stop making excuses for their actions (or more accurately, inactions.) You on the other hand seem to strongly dislike middle-class people/will do anything to defend "the poor man".

We are all responsible for what we do, not our skin colour/"class"!

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Moved from AH.

Let's see what the rap forum people make of this...

dublindude wrote:
    Didn't I see you making another anti-middle class post again today? Hmmm.

I only think people should stop making excuses for their actions (or more accurately, inactions.) You on the other hand seem to strongly dislike middle-class people/will do anything to defend "the poor man".

We are all responsible for what we do, not our skin colour/"class"!

Where did I do that? And I never did make an anti middle class statement at any point. I did say that is a typical middle class view which isn't an anti anything other than the view which is common to a group.

I am middle class. What I do dislike is people who have discriminatory views and use their ignorance as a sheild. Read some books on social studies. So you know for absolute certain this is the very view that made you get bullied in your job. You most likely deserved such treatment.

I haven't claimed people are not responsible for their actions. I am aware that my opportunities were better than others and how tough choices have to be made. Your moral high ground on how you would be better in such environments is great accept you ignore even the possibility that a moral compass maybe based on your upbringing. You wouldn't have the same view if you were rasied in a different environment as your environment dictates your core values not genetics.

So you know for absolute certain this is the very view that made you get bullied in your job. You most likely deserved such treatment.

You are truely clueless, do you know that?

I have a feeling you mean well, but you have a very very bad way of expressing your views.

Maybe if you stopped being so personal and extreme with your views we might find some common ground to agree on?

And for your information, I have a very strong interest in social issues/helping people who are being **** on. I do NOT however blindly help people who are poor because they won't be anything about it.

Or are you just trying to play devils advocate? (wasting both our time)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Other than the ignorance displayed in the thread title, the relevance to Rap & Hip-Hop in this thread is almost non-existent.
    Away to Humanities this one goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Makaveli wrote:
    Other than the ignorance displayed in the thread title, the relevance to Rap & Hip-Hop in this thread is almost non-existent.
    Away to Humanities this one goes.
    haha... the only place left now is the Thunderdome....

dublindude wrote:
    You are truely clueless, do you know that?

I have a feeling you mean well, but you have a very very bad way of expressing your views.

Maybe if you stopped being so personal and extreme with your views we might find some common ground to agree on?

And for your information, I have a very strong interest in social issues/helping people who are being **** on. I do NOT however blindly help people who are poor because they won't be anything about it.

Or are you just trying to play devils advocate? (wasting both our time)

I don't agree with you and your views are hipocritical IMHO. You claim to not to care about class and then ignore real social pressures. You think pressure to succed is close to pressure to live in poverty. Your view that people can get ahead by sure determination iis vacant of awareness. To only help those YOU see worthy of help nagates the real problem. Part of being in poverty means the attitude you dislike so much. If you really cared and understood you could over look such issues. It has to be on your terms and views which is class bias.
    Read what I posted here first, I think it illistrates the reasons for part of the problem.
    I don't claim to not have my own issues but I don't go around criticising attitudes and saying my class knows better. Or that I am not bias while saying something so bias.
    The only way for their to be common ground is for you to acknowledge what you said was bias or that you didn't mean it in that way. You then need to stop repeating a view that blames people for being annoyed with how they are treated.
    You don't like my tone fine, I don't care. I dislike what you are saying and the view you are expressing. You expect a reasonable response after I tried repeatedly to explain my view instead you attack my tone and ignore points. My view isn't extreme what is extreme about trying to look at why peolpe might be aggresive and learn from that. The view that your background forms your moral compass? That you aren't genetically inclined to be nice and work hard? Your view that with hard work and strong will you will succeed over anything is extreme but you won't admitt it. Just because you don't like my tone doesn't make what I am saying wrong. Maybe my tone would be different if you listened to what I said and not how I said it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Why on earth does anything have to be based on colour or class? The only thing that really make us different is culture- and even at that it can be treated as a learning experience. If people are unhappy with themselves they will pick on others for the defect they dispise- for example someone who is bothered by someone else being fat has food/body issues,its all discrimination born from fear. And it's self-perping- a vicious circle. Hate breeds hate. Nobody deserves special treament just because they are

fat/thin
    black/white/brown/yellow
    westernised/easternised
    rich/poor
    male/female

We are all people, and thats all that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Pfft! Get up the yard with ya! Boards would die on its arse if we all thought like that! ;)

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

I know, enlightenment in this day and age, sure whats the world coming to.

A person can't make a joke without the PC squad squaking and laying an egg or twelve. Who makes these rules eh?

Why on earth does anything have to be based on colour or class?

You don't think classes in ireland have what could be called culture?

You can't treat people equally without acknowledging differences. How you treat somebody who has lived in an hostile environment says a lot about you.

A person can't make a joke without the PC squad squaking and laying an egg or twelve.

Agree 100%.

IMHO the PC squad are the racists/predjudiced (spelling?) people. They are the ones making a scene out of colour or "class" when no one else gives a ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

Everybody knows that blacks, asians, indians etc can say what they want about the White man. It's perfectly ok to do so. The media does it all the time and people subconsiously buy into it. There was an article last year that was about the "ugly Irish". Could you imagine if it was about the ugly nigerians?

These (c)rap "artists" are so talentless it's unreal how they're in the charts all the time, or is it because they butcher old songs and pass them off as their own :rolleyes: They promote sex, drugs, violence and the media helps them do this by passing off their culture as being "cool". Most Irish people will see it for what it is but there are always the simpletons who are (c)rap fans.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

KnowItAll wrote:
    Everybody knows that blacks, asians, indians etc can say what they want about the White man. It's perfectly ok to do so. The media does it all the time and people subconsiously buy into it. There was an article last year that was about the "ugly Irish". Could you imagine if it was about the ugly nigerians?

These (c)rap "artists" are so talentless it's unreal how they're in the charts all the time, or is it because they butcher old songs and pass them off as their own :rolleyes: They promote sex, drugs, violence and the media helps them do this by passing off their culture as being "cool". Most Irish people will see it for what it is but there are always the simpletons who are (c)rap fans.

I'm bored of your crap. Fuck off.

dublindude wrote:
    Agree 100%.

IMHO the PC squad are the racists/predjudiced (spelling?) people. They are the ones making a scene out of colour or "class" when no one else gives a ****.
    Do you think before you say anything?
    You actually have said your class knows better? And think bigoted jokes are fine. You complain about offense because you don't give an asterisk yet dislike when people react to your background or class ;)
    I don't think you are a Nazi but you don't seem to be aware of what you are saying. If you think differently to what you are saying you should clarify.
    I remember watching TV in the 70s and every UK show made jokes about the dumb Irish. I saw signs saying no black, no irish , no dogs. I was called Mick and Paddy, my irish name was said incorrectly to offend. You metioned bullying before racist jokes are bullying on a grand scale.

Knowitall
    You are right tio the extent that the majority are allowed to be criticised by the minority. The reason being that within the majority you have people who are critical of the status qua. They support the attack on the establishment. You are allowed be critical of the group you are in like Chris Rocks classic attack on "nigers" and an Irish journalist saying "Ugly Irish".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭tim3115

Agree with KnowItAll 100% there.
    They promote sex, drugs, violence and the media helps them do this by passing off their culture as being "cool".

Exactly, they promote this way of living, even show samples of it in their video's, yet it still gets air time. They're an embarassment, and the people who look up (It's unbelievable, I know) to them are worse.

Then you walk around Dublin and see some youths copying this style. Useless people - they can leave the country and bring that crap with them. Brings the country down, a shameful affair.

Check out some other lyrics by Ice Cube and the like, complete tripe.

*waits for massive gang war where both sides disappear*

I'm bored of your crap. **** off.

Haha, classic response there. Come back with something useful, will you?

Oh and for the Anti-British songs here...it's a different situation altogether. Irish/Brits are the same race.