Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Here are a few pics that might raise a couple of hairs on the back of ye olde Ravers necks......i remember & consumed the best part of them, I especially remember the green shamrocks "or we were calling them clovers at the time".....we got them in the OLYMPIC one night early in 1993 & the bloke we got them off must have sold them to half the Rave cause they didnt come up for ages & you could see most people gettin pissed off the fact there was no buzz by 12 midnight......yer man who sold them was a big rough lookin Bastard :mad:who i would say would have given anyone a go if they put it up to him & i was told he was a ballier head....he didnt move from where he was sittin all night.....by about half 12 they did come up & F**K me the whole OLYMPIC was tripping like we on mushrooms or microdots & lasted well into the next day......after the Rave we jumped a nite link up to kilnamanagh with a youngfella we knew from Tymon & got skins in a garage on the greenhills road...we were just standing outside the forecourt when a CAR pulled up with a few heads from around the area there we knew & one of my mates jumped in for a spin.....the driver who i wont mention by name flew off towards the shopping centre in kilnamanagh.....now there is a ring road around kilnamanagh & we started walking the greenhills road towards the community centre on the other side of the ring road when we got pulled by the garda & searched for a good 10mins (tripping off our nuts):D & eventially let go (we had skyed everything off side before the garda pulled us)...its amazing how alert you can still be at 5 am when its a matter of going down the station or not;)....anyway the garda went off we got our SH*T & made our way into Tymon park where we met our mate who told us they had flipped the car just before the community centre:eek:.....if we hadnt have been pulled they would have all been nicked......this story could go for on ages beleive me the stuff that happened.....things like one of my mates dancing on the roof of his oul dears car at 3 o clock the next day with the tunes pumping out of the gaff to the neighbours delight (still tripping off the clovers).....many more storys about many more nights but for now we will leave it at that:D
    Info.jpg

Info (1).jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

keenc wrote: »
    Yea it is the b side to this http://www.discogs.com/release/118473
    top man keenc :) quality tune that is :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

derra wrote: »
    top man keenc :) quality tune that is :cool:

did'nt realise that was the first track.i could have told ya that 1.thought it was something else.don't have the mix on the pc so did'nt double check it.no time now off to the gravyard fot the night shift.:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

:)Anyone got these 3 tunes as MP3's:)

Westwon - Control (D-Code Remixes)

Q-Sound - Good Night

Part E
    - Give me your love (Piano Mix)

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Here are a few pics that might raise a couple of hairs on the back of ye olde Ravers necks......i remember & consumed the best part of them, I especially remember the green shamrocks "or we were calling them clovers at the time".....we got them in the OLYMPIC one night early in 1993 & the bloke we got them off must have sold them to half the Rave cause they didnt come up for ages & you could see most people gettin pissed off the fact there was no buzz by 12 midnight......yer man who sold them was a big rough lookin Bastard :mad:who i would say would have given anyone a go if they put it up to him & i was told he was a ballier head....he didnt move from where he was sittin all night.....by about half 12 they did come up & F**K me the whole OLYMPIC was tripping like we on mushrooms or microdots & lasted well into the next day......after the Rave we jumped a nite link up to kilnamanagh with a youngfella we knew from Tymon & got skins in a garage on the greenhills road...we were just standing outside the forecourt when a CAR pulled up with a few heads from around the area there we knew & one of my mates jumped in for a spin.....the driver who i wont mention by name flew off towards the shopping centre in kilnamanagh.....now there is a ring road around kilnamanagh & we started walking the greenhills road towards the community centre on the other side of the ring road when we got pulled by the garda & searched for a good 10mins (tripping off our nuts):D & eventially let go (we had skyed everything off side before the garda pulled us)...its amazing how alert you can still be at 5 am when its a matter of going down the station or not;)....anyway the garda went off we got our SH*T & made our way into Tymon park where we met our mate who told us they had flipped the car just before the community centre:eek:.....if we hadnt have been pulled they would have all been nicked......this story could go for on ages beleive me the stuff that happened.....things like one of my mates dancing on the roof of his oul dears car at 3 o clock the next day with the tunes pumping out of the gaff to the neighbours delight (still tripping off the clovers).....many more storys about many more nights but for now we will leave it at that:D

:eek:No way I am from Kilnamanagh myself. The fellas with the CAR would be my mates. I could have even being there that night. Cars and ravin where very popular around our way back then:D. I would not be surprised if we crossed paths at some point. That ring road youre talkin about, I was in a crash on that road in a "borrowed" Subaru Legacy:(. There were some lunatics from Kilnamangh, most of which I am still in contact with most are doing well.:)
    While some people went back to parties after the early days of The Olympic we went home to Kilnamanagh to have a session with the lads who had started ravin yet and who would on occasion great us with a cars hand braking at Dunnes. Fu*king mad crazy times. If I posted half the stuff we got up to I would be banned from Boards.ie. I could nearly start a seperate tread about it.
    I am not just saying this but I was in the Olympic that night when the whole place was on Shamrocks:D:pac::D, it was a St. Paddys weekend. I still stands out as one of my best nights out ever although I remember them as being white:confused:. I remember going back in the week after that and we were all talkin on the bus about last week and the few that were not there were freaked thay missed out. When we got in we got these Lionhearts, possibly the worst yokes I ever done or it was possibly just an anti-climax from the week before?
    Do u recognice there initials from Kilnamanagh EC SC(Brothers, mad cnuts) SM AB KT JMcG PA loads more.
    Do u remember Paddy M from Tymon who used to flash his red Nissan Micra at the corner of Westmorland Street and O'Connell bridge after the Olympic.
    AAAHHHH pre Garda cop on days. ha ha ha ha

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    :eek:No way I am from Kilnamanagh myself. The fellas with the CAR would be my mates. I could have even being there that night. Cars and ravin where very popular around our way back then:D. I would not be surprised if we crossed paths at some point. That ring road youre talkin about, I was in a crash on that road in a "borrowed" Subaru Legacy:(. There were some lunatics from Kilnamangh, most of which I am still in contact with most are doing well.:)
    While some people went back to parties after the early days of The Olympic we went home to Kilnamanagh to have a session with the lads who had started ravin yet and who would on occasion great us with a cars hand braking at Dunnes. Fu*king mad crazy times. If I posted half the stuff we got up to I would be banned from Boards.ie. I could nearly start a seperate tread about it.
    I am not just saying this but I was in the Olympic that night when the whole place was on Shamrocks:D:pac::D, it was a St. Paddys weekend. I still stands out as one of my best nights out ever although I remember them as being white:confused:. I remember going back in the week after that and we were all talkin on the bus about last week and the few that were not there were freaked thay missed out. When we got in we got these Lionhearts, possibly the worst yokes I ever done or it was possibly just an anti-climax from the week before?
    Do u recognice there initials from Kilnamanagh EC SC(Brothers, mad cnuts) SM AB KT JMcG PA loads more.
    Do u remember Paddy M from Tymon who used to flash his red Nissan Micra at the corner of Westmorland Street and O'Connell bridge after the Olympic.
    AAAHHHH pre Garda cop on days. ha ha ha ha

I do recognise the initial EC & SC R.I.P....my mate has a babog with there sister L......unfortunatley things went the wrong way with them.........things went the wrong way on new years eve 93-94 between your mates & mine also unfortunatley & took a long time for the wounds to heal but 'Ce la vie' history is history......had a few pints with EC at the christening when the babog was christened.....still know JMcG she goes out with a bloke that works with my mate & went in to Altern8 gig in the belvedere with them......she was supposed to come into the ASYLUM gig with us on 03/05/08 but the garda ruined that......do you remember the bloke from orwell she went out with Ra**o, still see him these days....he hasnt come down yet:D

Well well small world m/8.
    That infamous 'Night' I was in the VB'S house on new years eve 93-94.
    I actually left the house just after your mate got into a bit of bother. One of my mates KT took him down to his house which was only one road away and helped him a bit and put him in his bed to sleep it off, well he woke and went home, soon to return and we will leave it at that m/8.
    The thing is I was actually supposed to go into The Asylum that night with Micko H and SB and for some reason I didn't go in. I used to buzz with them in The Olympic and The Asylum. I can still remember their first time in The Olympic because I can remember talking to them that night, sound blokes. My long term memory is scary but short term is:(
    The initials JMcG is was talking about is a bloke, trying to think of a girls name with them initials, it will come to me. Give me a hint.
    EC he was a feckin mad thing. I could write a book on him alone;) Was only talking to him on the phone the other day.
    Does the name Whitehouse mean anything to you?
    Micko H lives in Killinarden now. Met him only a couple of times since the old days only one of those was only a few months ago on a building site.
    Never know might bump into you at one of the Old Skool nights out.
    Peace.
    SEANYBOY1

Miselegruaig.jpg

Well well small world m/8.
    That infamous 'Night' I was in the VB'S house on new years eve 93-94.
    I actually left the house just after your mate got into a bit of bother. One of my mates KT took him down to his house which was only one road away and helped him a bit and put him in his bed to sleep it off, well he woke and went home, soon to return and we will leave it at that m/8.
    The thing is I was actually supposed to go into The Asylum that night with Micko H and SB and for some reason I didn't go in. I used to buzz with them in The Olympic and The Asylum. I can still remember their first time in The Olympic because I can remember talking to them that night, sound blokes. My long term memory is scary but short term is:(
    The initials JMcG is was talking about is a bloke, trying to think of a girls name with them initials, it will come to me. Give me a hint.
    EC he was a feckin mad thing. I could write a book on him alone;) Was only talking to him on the phone the other day.
    Does the name Whitehouse mean anything to you?
    Micko H lives in Killinarden now. Met him only a couple of times since the old days only one of those was only a few months ago on a building site.
    Never know might bump into you at one of the Old Skool nights out.
    Peace.
    SEANYBOY1

Miselegruaig.jpg

Ye i was in VB,S gaff after the OLYMPIC that night....what a waste.....some hard lessons were learnt that night....anyway that bird i was on about is Janet she used to go into the ASYLUM with a mate of hers called Natalie from tymon & she has a sister called Lisa.....sure i would know most of the names you mentioned but its all a long time ago now.

Peace man,

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

Does anyone remember the slippy stairs in the Olympic Ballroom,
    You would nearly break your neck going up or coming down them,
    they use to have the fog machine going 24/7, it made the stairs mad slippy,
    Doesnt help when your mad out of your face on yolks,

And does anybody remember the f**king mad light show,
    They used to have the lazers reflect of little mirrors placed all around
    the walls so the lazers reflected all around the dance floor?
    F**king Brilliant it was....................

OLYMPICBALLROOM.jpg

Ye i was in VB,S gaff after the OLYMPIC that night....what a waste.....some hard lessons were learnt that night....anyway that bird i was on about is Janet she used to go into the ASYLUM with a mate of hers called Natalie from tymon & she has a sister called Lisa.....sure i would know most of the names you mentioned but its all a long time ago now.

Peace man,

Sorry meant to say R.I.P. for ur mate. All of us went thru a bad time after that night. Pity because I think there was a lot of respect for each others crew back in the day.
    Yeah I do know them girls names but its a long time since I seen them.
    It's scary to think all that was 15 years ago:eek::eek::eek:

Laters,
    SEANYBOY1

Sorry meant to say R.I.P. for ur mate. All of us went thru a bad time after that night. Pity because I think there was a lot of respect for each others crew back in the day.
    Yeah I do know them girls names but its a long time since I seen them.
    It's scary to think all that was 15 years ago:eek::eek::eek:

Laters,
    SEANYBOY1

Thanks for that man,:rolleyes:
    You only get one crack at this life & fightin is not what i wanna do with it:D
    Check out the ticket attached, i would hazard a guess you were at this gig as you could most likley hit it with a stone from yer gaff if you put your back into it.....this was the first one in 1994 & had some s**t hot DJ from glasgow at it & the really old skool band " Shades of Rhythm " & was F**kin brilliant:pac:....the 1995 gig that Mr. Spring, Nicolai & Mark Kavanagh played at was alright but a bit commercialised:(......i remember the 94 gig the garda standing back & letting everyone do there thing (no hassle):D but not so at the 95 gig.....anyone got these basketball arena gigs by chance on MP3???
    silk.jpg

ba95.jpg

Thanks for that man,:rolleyes:
    You only get one crack at this life & fightin is not what i wanna do with it:D
    Check out the ticket attached as sig. i would hazard a guess you were at this gig as you could most likley hit it with a stone from yer gaff if you put your back into it.....this was the first one in 1994 & had some s**t hot DJ from glasgow at it & the really old skool band " Shades of Rhythm " & was F**kin brilliant:pac:....the 1995 gig that Mr. Spring, Nicolai & Mark Kavanagh played at was alright but a bit commercialised:(......i remember the 94 gig the garda standing back & letting everyone do there thing (no hassle):D but not so at the 95 gig.....anyone got these basketball arena gigs by chance on MP3???

Yeah ur right and I was at that Shades of Rhythm gig alright. Theres a story attached to that night, as there usually is. There was a car that night which was taking off us on the Tymon road on the way over if memory serves me correct.
    Me and the girl, who I am still with, got ripped off on the way in:mad:, the other lads were already in there and were already sorted. So I was inside with not 1 penny, freaked. Plan B kicked in. We had a punnet of Strawberries as colateral. So what do u do but start munchin:).
    Got talkin to some luved up mad thing and told him I got ripped. I swear about half an hour later him and his bird tracked me down and handed me a load of cash. The lunatic done a lap of the place 'Tapping up Odds' for me.
    Then he came back again with more, I think I told him thats enough you mad thing. You would'nt get that vibe these days I can tell you, you'd be blanked and told to f*ck off.
    Yeah the place was full of Garda and DS. The same ones who would harass us regularly, we just laughed at them and walked on bye. They must have been told to observe and keep a low profile but we knew them all, Tom McManus and Gerry something or other, or Tom and Jerry as we called them
    Then I met some blokes fome Lucan I used to hang with in The Olympic and thay gave me free Disco Biscuits:D which was great cause I had to come of that strawberry buzz fast if you know what I mean:eek:
    Was in the toilet going up against the wall looked to my left and there was Heavy from The Asylum. I asked when would it be open again, he just looked at me and we had a laugh as if a pity but we know thats not happenin. I used to talk to him in the Asylum cause a fella from Kilnamanagh used to DJ there, Wayne Clifford he was an excellent DJ and could easily hold his own with Warren and DJ Rob aka Pressure, thats a statement. He used to get me in for free:D Actually gonna upload some tapes he done from me from way back then when I get my finger out. Check out Wayne the DJ at the end, thats him!
    Then me and the girl went back with them to a party in Clondalkin in a gaf they were renting. There was loads from Lucan I hadn't seen in ages. Me and the girl were walkin around pickin yokes off the ground like Hanstle and Grettle. The gaf was littered with them, mad.
    We were buzzin off the live pressure tape that night dancin around the gaf like mad things.
    Yokes were eatin, snrted, smoked. Came back to planet me days later.

AsylumFlyer.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Dacoop

Yeah ur right and I was at that Shades of Rhythm gig alright. Theres a story attached to that night, as there usually is. There was a car that night which was taking off us on the Tymon road on the way over if memory serves me correct.
    Me and the girl, who I am still with, got ripped off on the way in:mad:, the other lads were already in there and were already sorted. So I was inside with not 1 penny, freaked. Plan B kicked in. We had a punnet of Strawberries as colateral. So what do u do but start munchin:).
    Got talkin to some luved up mad thing and told him I got ripped. I swear about half an hour later him and his bird tracked me down and handed me a load of cash. The lunatic done a lap of the place 'Tapping up Odds' for me.
    Then he came back again with more, I think I told him thats enough you mad thing. You would'nt get that vibe these days I can tell you, you'd be blanked and told to f*ck off.
    Yeah the place was full of Garda and DS. The same ones who would harass us regularly, we just laughed at them and walked on bye. They must have been told to observe and keep a low profile but we knew them all, Tom McManus and Gerry something or other, or Tom and Jerry as we called them
    Then I met some blokes fome Lucan I used to hang with in The Olympic and thay gave me free Disco Biscuits:D which was great cause I had to come of that strawberry buzz fast if you know what I mean:eek:
    Was in the toilet going up against the wall looked to my left and there was Heavy from The Asylum. I asked when would it be open again, he just looked at me and we had a laugh as if a pity but we know thats not happenin. I used to talk to him in the Asylum cause a fella from Kilnamanagh used to DJ there, Wayne Clifford he was an excellent DJ and could easily hold his own with Warren and DJ Rob aka Pressure, thats a statement. He used to get me in for free:D Actually gonna upload some tapes he done from me from way back then when I get my finger out. Check out Wayne the DJ at the end, thats him!
    Then me and the girl went back with them to a party in Clondalkin in a gaf they were renting. There was loads from Lucan I hadn't seen in ages. Me and the girl were walkin around pickin yokes off the ground like Hanstle and Grettle. The gaf was littered with them, mad.
    We were buzzin off the live pressure tape that night dancin around the gaf like mad things.
    Yokes were eatin, snrted, smoked. Came back to planet me days later.

AsylumFlyer.jpg

Great story thanks for sharin it with us. I love hearing people stories about the old days. so many to tell and so many crazy ones too ! I remember Wayne Clifford he was a top top act. does he still dj ??

a fella from Kilnamanagh used to DJ there, Wayne Clifford he was an excellent DJ and could easily hold his own with Warren and DJ Rob aka Pressure, thats a statement. He used to get me in for free:D Actually gonna upload some tapes he done from me from way back then when I get my finger out. Check out Wayne the DJ at the end, thats him!

Ye cliffy i remember him....was a metal head just before the Rave's kicked off & then he was converted forever.....same with a couple of heads down my way "Dave mooney" "anto hoey" "Mark mcgrath" & another bloke from orwell "jay kenna" they were all in metal bands when we were in school in 1990 & then were converted......The first bloke i mentioned "Dave mooney" started a gig on O'Connell street beside McGraths called the Thirteenth floor which was open till 5 :Das it had a wine bar license.....great tunes played at this every week......the last bloke i mentioned"jay kenna" played at the purple onion on Dame street a few years later which was an all nighter that ran for a few months till the garda shut it down:mad:......Dave & Mark i mentioned also all played at Homelands & creamfield....lookin forward to them tapes of cliffy he was a class DJ alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

I think that place beside mc graths was called the attic at one stage???? and i remember my sister was at a 21st in the purple onion around may 1996 and it was raided, they found loads of stuff well for a 21st anyway and i dont think it re-opened, a girl withthe initials of SB, ring any bells????

Luke G wrote: »
    I think that place beside mc graths was called the attic at one stage???? and i remember my sister was at a 21st in the purple onion around may 1996 and it was raided, they found loads of stuff well for a 21st anyway and i dont think it re-opened, a girl withthe initials of SB, ring any bells????

Doesnt ring any bells man but hey i seriously couldnt tell you what year it was when i was dropping into the purple onion & making my way through the snack bar past the quiche counter & down the stairs into a load of dry ice with sounds pumping & stacks of trays of cans for individual re-sale at little or no profit......man the place used to be in some S**T state the next morning at 6-7am when it was being closed:p......sure it couldnt have been any bigger than the second floor of the ASYLUM & was split into two rooms.......i would say the place banged of H*SH & gargle when the morning patrons came in for their croissant & coffee:D

Can anyone name their top fav asylum tunes. I'm trying to download a load of them but I can't remember the names ect !! too much yokes over the years !!! If anyone could that would be great and I'd also love to know what people think and how you all rate certain tunes :)

Dacoop wrote: »
    Can anyone name their top fav asylum tunes. I'm trying to download a load of them but I can't remember the names ect !! too much yokes over the years !!! If anyone could that would be great and I'd also love to know what people think and how you all rate certain tunes :)

jasus man there's too many.:pac::pac::pac:

a few off the top of my head.

Phasis - Mind illusions

Extract - The Story

DJ Tom and Norman - Tales of Mystery

Komakino - Beyond Your Dreams (Microbots Remix)

L.S.G. - FRAGILE ('12')

HUMATE - SPACTRIBE

Illuminatus - Mystique 23 FRANKFURT

INTRANCE Feat D-SIGN - Te Quierro

JAM AND SPOON - FOLLOW ME

UNION JACK - TWO FULL MOONS & A TROUT (CASPER POUND REMIX)

SEQUENTIAL - SEQUENTIAL (DUNNE MIX)

i'm sure the asylum was the first place i heard these first.:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

these are some of my top favs.

Doesnt ring any bells man but hey i seriously couldnt tell you what year it was when i was dropping into the purple onion & making my way through the snack bar past the quiche counter & down the stairs into a load of dry ice with sounds pumping & stacks of trays of cans for individual re-sale at little or no profit......man the place used to be in some S**T state the next morning at 6-7am when it was being closed:p......sure it couldnt have been any bigger than the second floor of the ASYLUM & was split into two rooms.......i would say the place banged of H*SH & gargle when the morning patrons came in for their croissant & coffee:D

If you call him Cliffy you must have known him.
    I remeber the first time I went to the Olympic, it would be around November 92 and he was just standing on the dance floor you know up at the front corner at the side of the fellas toilet. Long hair and all and so whacked out of it he didn't respond when I was trying to talk to him. He gave up the Olympic and the whole scene not long after that. He finished as I started.
    When I would be going thru the mid week blues I would knock around to his gaf. We would smoke some blow and he would be mixing in his bedroom as if he was in a club, fu*kin deadly.The walls would be vibratin and his ma and da would be downstairs and wouldnt even tell him to turn it down, mad.
    This was before he was in the Asylum. Then he told me that he was DJ'n at a 21st and Heavy was there by coincidence and was so impressed that he offered him a slot.
    When he was there he looked like a kid compared to the rest of the DJs.
    He was never looked after properly though, he was givin lumps of blow and trips, remember one night in particular he was trippin of his nut on the decks, oh yeah and the privelage of DJ'n at Dublins best club. Got me in for free though.
    You want to see the ammount of vinyl he had. His best mate that he used to go to the Olympic with Barney, a muppet from Kilnamanagh got into serious debt with drugs. And Cliffy sold a big chunk of his rare vinyl to help him out.
    As far as I know and I stand corrected, the swine barely thanked him,then he fecked of to england only to return very recently with an english accent!
    He made me some rapid tapes. Cannot find all of them but one of the best ones was lent to a fella I was doing a FAS couse with from 'Greenhills' I think.
    Howie was his name I think and he had blonde hair. Swine told me it got robbed at a party. 1st song on it was The Ultimate Seduction. Still annoys me:mad:, hate losing music.
    Anyway have not talked to him in some time now. If he is still mixin he would probably be doing it on the down low. He was never pretentious. Must try to contact him.
    Yeah on a final note he was a mad rocker. A lot of rockers 'Got' the whole Asylum buzz. The deep, dark, aggressive in your face, raw fell to the whole thing, oh yeah and the Bass. That was the great thing about back then, New Romantic evolved into the scene and was takin in by the likes of rockers and Hip Hop fans (me, remember the Electro collections) and it evolved into the likes of The Olympic with its anthems and luved up type rave buzz to the Underground dark Trancey Asylum. My mates brother and his mates are Goths and they are mad into doing Yokes. There were people I used to buzz with in the Olympic that when I brought them down to The Asylum they just didn't get it.
    Their loss cause at that stage I just could'nt listen to 'I got the Key - Urban Cookie Collection'. And the muppet brigade started to invade The Olympic anyway. The secret was out and our private parties in Olympic/Asylum were under threat as it was becoming a victim of its own success and was gettin mainstream, basically running its course.
    Anyone agree?

Need to get some Positive Education regarding converting tapes to mp3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

:)Anyone got these 3 tunes as MP3's:)

Westwon - Control (D-Code Remixes)

Q-Sound - Good Night

Part E
    - Give me your love (Piano Mix)

Q-Sound

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2z9YUl64_xw

Brings back fond memories of the Ormond Multimedia Centre:)

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

aceberg wrote: »

these are some of my top favs.

Do you happen to have this on an oul mp3 per chance? One I've been wanting to hear!

Cannot find all of them but one of the best ones was lent to a fella I was doing a FAS couse with from 'Greenhills' I think.
    Howie was his name I think and he had blonde hair. Swine told me it got robbed at a party. 1st song on it was The Ultimate Seduction. Still annoys me:mad:, hate losing music.

Ye mate of mine that i mentioned JAY KENNA has a load of my tapes....lost loads over the years & had them stolen un returned but i got most & more back of this site & NI OLDSKOOL.....i will have to get in touch with my old mate JAY he has loads of recordings of gigs he did in the Purple onion, Eamonn Dorans, Campden hotel & more & all bangin tunes:pac:
    There were people I used to buzz with in the Olympic that when I brought them down to The Asylum they just didn't get it.
    Their loss cause at that stage I just could'nt listen to 'I got the Key - Urban Cookie Collection'. And the muppet brigade started to invade The Olympic anyway. The secret was out and our private parties in Olympic/Asylum were under threat as it was becoming a victim of its own success and was gettin mainstream, basically running its course.
    Anyone agree?

I used to buzz with a mate from around the corner from me in the OLYMPIC & when we brought him down to the ASYLUM he really just didnt get the buzz we got....he started going to sides cause of like you said the way the OLYMPIC was going but wouldnt go to the ASYLUM only a few odd times......the feeling you got when a tune like TWO FULL MOONS & A TROUT broke in the middle & built back up slowly to a mind blowing Kick off must have had the whole building hopping if you looked at it from the outside.....other favorites of mine were Narcotic influence, Poltergeist, Fever called loved, Cowgirl, Sign of ages, Alchemy, Harakari, Young braves, Hypersleep, Cosmonautica, Violet rain,Brainchild-Symmetry, Marmion-shoenberg, Skiddly wah, Firedance, Jim clarke-NOOM 4, The first voyage, Steam-Voodoo records, Damatak,Its not over yet & loads more:D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Does anybody remember this track from the Asylum? Always remember it being played a lot when I was going there.

http://www.discogs.com/release/240474

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Does anybody remember this track from the Asylum? Always remember it being played a lot when I was going there.

Think i Have it on a CD called "Terrordrome":mad: from germany 1993 but never remember it played in there if its the same tune im thinkin of.....most likley i would guess it being played on the top floor?? is that where you heard it cause i remember a couple of nights on the top floor a lot of Dark Gabba style stuff being played up there......got a great buzz off it to when it was played & i dont mostly like any Gabba stuff:D

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Do you happen to have this on an oul mp3 per chance? One I've been wanting to hear!

SEQUENTIAL - PROPHET (ORG)

http://www.mediafire.com/?m9yc1wazm91

http://www.mediafire.com/?m2wlbmdzimj

http://www.discogs.com/release/142790

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Think i Have it on a CD called "Terrordrome":mad: from germany 1993 but never remember it played in there if its the same tune im thinkin of.....most likley i would guess it being played on the top floor?? is that where you heard it cause i remember a couple of nights on the top floor a lot of Dark Gabba style stuff being played up there......got a great buzz off it to when it was played & i dont mostly like any Gabba stuff:D
    No it was definitely played on the main floor, place used to go nuts for it too.
    Has a guy saying "In nomine Patris, et Filii, et Spiritus Sancti" throughout it.

The discogs description is quite misleading saying that it's Hard Trance. I wouldn't have called it that myself. It's dark but not particularly Trancey, althought the definition of genres changes so much it's hard to keep track sometimes. It's in the vein of tracks like "Hablando" and other stuff like that.

I have it at home, I'll upload it when I get a chance.

aceberg wrote: »

Class tracks man, thanks for that :P

Does anyone remember the slippy stairs in the Olympic Ballroom,
    You would nearly break your neck going up or coming down them,
    they use to have the fog machine going 24/7, it made the stairs mad slippy,
    Doesnt help when your mad out of your face on yolks,

And does anybody remember the f**king mad light show,
    They used to have the lazers reflect of little mirrors placed all around
    the walls so the lazers reflected all around the dance floor?
    F**king Brilliant it was....................

OLYMPICBALLROOM.jpg

Thats only the second Flyer I ever seen for The Olympic. The first was one the size of a bus stop poster on some nutballs bedroom wall. A load of us used to go to this house after The Olympic in Palmerstown. Going to do a proper post on the Olympic another time but yeah I do remember the lazers, still haven't seen a set up half as good as it.
    See the bottom of the Flyer 'Security Check Will Be In Operation', check the date on the flyer, that was when you got your pills about 1 meter from the front door beside the bouncers who would take a cut. Suppose they had to print that.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭daragh_k

Yes this is well known track I heard it in the Asylum many times. Has a Latin vocal as u say.. It was on house pressure 2 I think!!! Ive played it out a few times but it dosent seem to go down as well as it did all those years ago... Still one of my favourite tunes... The other side is a cracker aswell!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

cracking tune , always mixing that here on the vdj :) got a good few tunes recently by Atahualpa , ultimo imperio is a great tune as well..
    other favourites be..

mo tune- infinite climax
    lionrock- as dawn approaches
    mukka- neebro
    house pimps-zulu nation
    steve baltes-stand ready
    ramirez-orgasmico
    astronuts-voyager
    fabio locati & maurizio bracigni- xtc vol 2
    mukka-burachacca
    sensation-beautiful morning
    ceasefire-hardbag