Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the worst area in dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭berliner

spurious wrote: »
    Have you lived in all these areas?
    A couple of them yes.What difference does that make anyway.It's my judgement.everyone can make up their own minds.Just ask yourself where would you like your kids to grow up and what schools would you like them to go to and what values do you want them to have.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,121 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The difference would be that someone who lived in an area might have a more valid opinion on it than someone who saw it on the news or got a bus there once.
    As has been said before, this is a pointless thread. I'm surprised it's still unlocked.

spurious wrote: »
    The difference would be that someone who lived in an area might have a more valid opinion on it than someone who saw it on the news or got a bus there once.
    As has been said before, this is a pointless thread. I'm surprised it's still unlocked.
    "Pointless thread"...use your logic and 85% of threads would be locked.For crying out loud most of them are pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 Ian38HR

Does it explain why there is so many properties for sale (the most in Dublin) in FINGLAS because not too many wants to buy there? Why is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Ian38HR wrote: »
    Does it explain why there is so many properties for sale (the most in Dublin) in FINGLAS because not too many wants to buy there? Why is that?

Too expensive?...Is it worth forking out 300k for a house in Finglas, stating the bleein' obvious :D

Every area has problems selling property including D4, we're in a housing crash after all! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

What a stupid thread. Eh, Ballymun, why not!?! :rolleyes:

Predhead wrote: »
    What a stupid thread. Eh, Ballymun, why not!?! :rolleyes:
    If it's stupid then why bother contributing? Never understand why people say things like that and then add their two cents worth to something they consider stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 PeeDiddyPaddy

Any area that the tracksuit brigade run feral is held to ransom by these pleasant civilians and apart from the obvious areas that covers pretty much all of Dublin and Limerick and new to the anti social list Cork by the sounds of tings!

if you're looking for a good place to raise your family,advoid council areas and you'll be grand. Finglas,Ballyfermot,coolock...fill in the rest yourself.

berliner wrote: »
    if you're looking for a good place to raise your family,advoid council areas and you'll be grand. Finglas,Ballyfermot,coolock...fill in the rest yourself.

Glasnevin, Chapelizod, Clontarf :D

The whole city is part of a few council areas, so we avoid Dublin altogether? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

gurramok wrote: »
    Glasnevin, Chapelizod, Clontarf :D

The whole city is part of a few council areas, so we avoid Dublin altogether? :D

I wouldn't bother arguing with him to be honest...I've given up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Collie D wrote: »
    I wouldn't bother arguing with him to be honest...I've given up

I wish there was an active Moderator here to lock this train wreck of a thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭DJDC

Personally I'd use the same rule no matter what major city I was living in whether its LA, london or dublin. If more than 50% of the area is made of projects/council houses/local authority housing I'm not interested.

I dont know the exact timescales involved but western govts tried a social experiment in the mid 20th century of removing the city poor from crumbling tenemants and placing them in new estates in suburbs away from the centre.

In Dublin, these estates were concentrated in:
    Driminagh, Crumlin, Tallaght, Finglas, Ballymun, Coolock, Shanganagh, Blanchardstown, Clondalkin (I'm sure theres more).

Many of these places are suffering the social consquences of destroying tight knit city communties and placing them in the middle of nowhere just likes what's happened in places like Hackney and the Bronx. Although the Irish estates have so far escaped the racial tensions in these areas.

Call me a snob but many people will agree with me on avoiding 50%+ project areas.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Mairt wrote: »
    I wish there was an active Moderator here to lock this train wreck of a thread.

I am watching.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Coolocks pretty quiet,far from the worst area!

• Registered Users Posts: 9 freeme

was in rathvilly estate in finglas yesterday and nearly got killed for real by 30 or so kids and adults. horses running loose and. they started shouting abuse at first and then blocked the road out. a resident came out and said if you dont leave now you will die here. as i tried to pass them they blocked the road and i had to drive tru them. this only aggravated them and they chase me beating on the van windows and pulling on the door handles. i rang the guards and they said to come into the station and stay overnight! i drove like a rocket and was really uneasy as i thought they might have followed me by car. couldnt see behind me as mirrors were smashed. took me a good two days to recover though. I feel that no area should be a no go area, but even the guards refused to go in there. when i googled rathvilly later i was shocked to see the list of murders and murderers that had come from there. how do you tackle something like this?

Nah, Rathvilly estate is a lovely area, nearly 300k asking price for a house says they only want professional couples to live therel :D

Anyway joking over, what triggered the event freeme?

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Peleus

it really pisses me off when people talk like this. people in these areas are really sound. unlike the d4 heads who love themselves WAY too much.

p.s someone reported me by saying "southsiders are stuck up there own arses". i will probably be reported again but whoever does report me is one sad prick. we will see

That is so stupid.
    it really pisses me off when people talk like this. people in these areas are really sound.
    ...unlike the d4 heads who love themselves WAY too much...
    ...someone reported me by saying "southsiders are stuck up there own arses".

If it pisses you off when people insult other areas, whytf are you doing it. you're such a hypocrit.

and why do people always have to bring up Dublin 4. Most of the people that live there are over 50 and just polite people, and as for the young people, most of them are only stuck up because people keep calling them snobs and D4 heads! there are alot more 'D4 heads' in Castleknock, Clontarf, Malahide, Foxrock, Howth, Sutton or Dun Laoighre than there are in Dublin 4. So whoever came up with that name is an idiot. it doesnt even make any sense.

seamus wrote: »
    You'll find that this is the main reason why people want to live in the likes of D4 and Foxrock. It's not about the prestige (though it is for a few people), it's because the areas are quiet, well-kept, well-serviced, close to the city (without being *in* the city) and overall are more relaxed and pleasant places to live than Tallaght or Finglas.

true, i've lived in Sandymount all my life, i've only heard of about two assualts, couple of break ins and one attempted robbery on Tesco :D. and probably none of these were done by people from the area. It's quiet, it's calm and relaxed. You do get the odd snob driving around in flash cars paid for by their parents, but to be honest, i prefer that to the groups of scum hanging around abusing, robbing, assualting, and acting hard.

uk reg didnt help. no other reason at ALL

Peleus wrote: »
    true, i've lived in Sandymount all my life, i've only heard of about two assualts, couple of break ins and one attempted robbery on Tesco :D. and probably none of these were done by people from the area. It's quiet, it's calm and relaxed. You do get the odd snob driving around in flash cars paid for by their parents, but to be honest, i prefer that to the groups of scum hanging around abusing, robbing, assualting, and acting hard.

Sandymount ain't all angels either :D.

Remember that murder last year that happened close to Landsdowne Tennis club?(http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0806/spellman.html)

Also the alleged perpetrator of another killing is from Tritonville Rd in sandymount is before the courts on that matter. (http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0421/younga.html?rss)

They ain't all posh folk with D4 accents in Sandymount, alot of working class salt of the earth dubs live down that way (i know a few personally).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

freeme wrote: »
    was in rathvilly estate in finglas yesterday .....took me a good two days to recover though.

You're either talking crap or have a time machine. You were there 'yesterday' and posted first thing 'today' that it took you a good two days to recover ?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

freeme wrote: »
    was in rathvilly estate in finglas yesterday and nearly got killed for real by 30 or so kids and adults. horses running loose and. they started shouting abuse at first and then blocked the road out. a resident came out and said if you dont leave now you will die here. as i tried to pass them they blocked the road and i had to drive tru them. this only aggravated them and they chase me beating on the van windows and pulling on the door handles. i rang the guards and they said to come into the station and stay overnight! i drove like a rocket and was really uneasy as i thought they might have followed me by car. couldnt see behind me as mirrors were smashed. took me a good two days to recover though. I feel that no area should be a no go area, but even the guards refused to go in there. when i googled rathvilly later i was shocked to see the list of murders and murderers that had come from there. how do you tackle something like this?

I know someone who lived across the road from Rathvilly, and I lived with them for a year or so, about 5 years ago. I got zero hassle there, going to the shops or jogging. I also walked around at night - again, zero hassle.

Assuming you're not a tin roofer, I would say it's a once off.

gurramok wrote: »
    Sandymount ain't all angels either :D.

Remember that murder last year that happened close to Landsdowne Tennis club?(http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0806/spellman.html)

Also the alleged perpetrator of another killing is from Tritonville Rd in sandymount is before the courts on that matter. (http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0421/younga.html?rss)

They ain't all posh folk with D4 accents in Sandymount, alot of working class salt of the earth dubs live down that way (i know a few personally).

your right, but I live on the merrion side of sandymount (near the other tesco) not in the village. I'm rarely in the sandmount village, but you are right, there are not to many posh people down there. I wouldnt call it dangerours tho.

I was talking about the Sydney Parade Ave/ Merrion road part. I think its called merrion but everyone calls it sandymount, where nothing ever happens.

PS: i used to know mark green, the guy from tritonville road. Strange guy, but alrite.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,417 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Castlenock. Stultifyingly boring. Mondeoman haven of Surreyite wannabes and socceremoms in suvs. It's creepily like Stepford.

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

humberklog wrote: »
    Castlenock. Stultifyingly boring. Mondeoman haven of Surreyite wannabes and socceremoms in suvs. It's creepily like Stepford.
    wow,what a description,brilliant.

yes i have a time machine, doesnt everybody?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

irishbird wrote: »
    i grew up in a council estate and i am not ashamed of it. my parents and i lived in a one bed, rat infested flat until i was four. some people seem to forget what it was like living in ireland in the 70's - 80's - there was absolutely no money or jobs in the country.

My parents no longer live in a council house, they have built a house in an area which would be considered expensive but if anyone asks me where i grew up, i give the council estate name, i am not ashamed of my roots

born in 1982, grew up in mounttown, dun laoghaire, quick snapshop of events that shaped my childhood, Gardai getting a screw driver through the face, numerous gardai cars getting set alight, taxi men, delivery drivers, firemen refusing to enter unless with a gardai escort. A woman held from the balcony of a 4th floor flat while her junkie daughter pleaded with the other junkies not to drop her.

In saying that I wasn't sheltered I seen a lot of **** go on but mammy kept me on a tight leash and let me know when I went beyond on the line. Also a few of the lads around the area were in primary school and many years later one of them saved me from probably getting killed (or at least a massive kicking). Thankfully they've knocked the blocks of flats down now and it is nowhere near as bad as it used to be.
    Now I live in Tallaght which isnt as bad as i feared!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,008 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

humberklog wrote: »

I object to that. We are not a mondeoman haven at all. We're a Mercman haven.....;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,417 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

deswalsh wrote: »
    I object to that. We are not a mondeoman haven at all. We're a Mercman haven.....;)
    And within your objection there in lies the proof of my pudding. It isn't the name/make nor model of car it's the mentality behind the wheel.
    Yours was a classic castlenock response. Routed deeply in the psychology of the "making obvious my notions of superior class pretentions through material goods". I rest rest my case m'lord the defendant is holding the smoking gun.
    Castlenock....Guilty as charged!
    We sentence you to a life time of mowing your lawn, petty murmerings (just loud enough that your neighbours can hear you over your saccatour clipping the rose bush) about the price of private education and only feeling truely manly during the summer months when bar-b-q seasonkicks in and you can wear your 'I'm the chef' apron.
    Take'm down.