Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does nobody say anything?

• 29-11-2004 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭

I was on the bus the other day and was walking down the aisle to get off when I realised I had dropped one of my gloves. As I looked back down the aisle I could see it there just by the seat I had vacated. Now the bus was pretty full and they must have seen me drop it so ........ Why does no one say anything!!!

I was on the bus this morning and a girl who was getting off had dropped her gloves I didn't see her drop them but saw them on the floor and saw her moving down the aisle so I said to the chap behind me "Did she just drop those?" He ignored me so I picked them up and went down to give them to her. Cue some people on the bus looking at me as if I had just beamed down from Mars!

Why don't people just say to you when you have dropped something. In the cold weather you have hats, gloves and scarves to deal with and things do get dropped without you noticing.

So why don't people say anything - maybe its just another pointer that society is becoming more "head down and keep walking it does not involve me so I won`t concern myself with it"

I think it is really sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

flikflak wrote:
    So why don't people say anything - maybe its just another pointer that society is becoming more "head down and keep walking it does not involve me so I won`t concern myself with it"

I think it is really sad.

Hear hear. Ppl are so self absorbed one one level and so scared of attracting attention to themselves on another that we are all in danger of becoming
    boxed into our own little corner.

Mike.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Maybe they just didn't give a toss.

On the other hand, are you unkempt, unwashed or physically repulsive, by the way? If so, that may explain a lot. Try wrapping a scarf all around your face instead of the hockey mask. Try repairing the hole in your pis$bag and bringing your left shoulder forward, just a smidgen, thereby lessening the visual impact of the hump. And do clip those toenails if you persist with your sandal wearing. I for one wouldn't pick up your glove remotely, with a military bomb defusal robot.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

It is really sad. "the act of kindness no matter how small, never goes unnoticed". Fair play to you, I guess if you just keep doin' it, and others like you, then maybe more people will catch on. Sure it's only good manners really. But in this day and age good manners are a blessing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Muineach

let me guess whas the girl that dropped the gloves that you ran after good lookin ? just curious :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

She could be a girl, not that girls can't think other girls a good lookin. But that's besides the point.

Agh, I'm all flustered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

another thing that really pissses me off is people never say please or thank you any more grrr *angry*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Guilty of doing this myself sometimes, find myself thinking "sure somebody else'll do it", and of course they rarely do. Felt fierce guilty one day driving through Douglas when I saw a jogger literally collapse in the rear view mirror of my car*. I should have stopped and got out, but I waited a few seconds, by which time someone else got there. I probably would've dithered when I got there anyway, but those few seconds could be the difference between life and death, and I could have been masterful in the moment. Never know now.

I reported a bin fire on North Main Street a couple weeks ago though, so I feel a small bit better about myself now. :)
    woosaysdan wrote:
    another thing that really pissses me off is people never say please or thank you any more grrr *angry*
    'Specially when you hold the door for them. I always say "you're welcome" anyway, some of them get wonderfully embarassed. Most pretend not to notice though. Ignorant so and so's.

adam

*How he got in the rear view mirror of my car I'll never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭flikflak

Jesjes wrote:
    She could be a girl, not that girls can't think other girls a good lookin. But that's besides the point.

Agh, I'm all flustered.

I am and I didnt actually pay any attention to what she looked like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

dahamsta wrote:
    Specially when you hold the door for them. I always say "you're welcome" anyway, some of them get wonderfully embarassed. Most pretend not to notice though. Ignorant so and so's.

adam
    i work in a pub and every night only one or two people say thanks or please its really annoying

'Specially when you hold the door for them. I always say "you're welcome" anyway, some of them get wonderfully embarassed. Most pretend not to notice though. Ignorant so and so's.

Yeah that`s great - really emphasising your own pleases and thank you`s when someone else says nothing like at the checkouts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

People on buses dont give up their seats any more to the elderly and disabled. Last thursday some very ignorant man was sitting in one of the seats for old people and the disabled. The bus was fairly full and A woman got on the bus, who looked more at home in a grave she went to ask him could she sit where he was and he simply ignored her. The man in his 40's at least. and a young boy on his way home from school who was no more than 12 years old offered her a seat. Unbelievable

And another incident........

A friend of my parents has recently become blind and was getting on the bus and he was feeling for a seat and could not find one. No one said to him "here you are there is a seat here". They all kept quiet. In the end he had to ask if there was a seat free anywhere.

Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

flikflak, you dropped something...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

To the barman...I actually consciously make a point of saying "2 pints of x Please" and always say thank you both when i get my pints and when i get my change.
    I mean, i find it less of an effort to be polite than not to be. Sometimes its more awkward not to be polite than to just say thanks. I wish I knew what the big deal was. A little manners does go a long way. Working in a call centre definately taught me that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Some people are just raised without manners so they don't know any different. Just feel sorry for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,741 ✭✭✭Bacchus

This is why I don't like Dublin. No-one there ever seems to care about the other people around them. At least that's the impression I get whenever I go there.
    I much rather Galway and Cork. Only the other day I was walking down Patrick's St. and my hat accident fell out of my pocket. Some woman noticed this and called me back, returning it to me. This isn't to say that Cork and Galway don't have their fair share of gob****es who don't give a damn about anyone else, but I find the two towns to be much friendlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭sanncoo

I mean, i find it less of an effort to be polite than not to be

I agree Shiverin! It's not like it costs anything to be nice or polite!

I hate rude people...they bump into you and look at you like you've just committed mass murder! I can't understand it!

I bumped into someone last week and I said sorry! You think I had 2 heads the way the girl looked at me!

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

"another thing that really pissses me off is people never say please or thank you any more grrr *angry*"

i hate when someone agressively gives out for to you for not saying thank you or something thereby doling out more bad vibes then you did by not saying thankyou

i agree with the original posters sentiments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I closed this thread in Rugby - similar discussion, you guys might be interested. (Follow-ups on this thread, not on the Rugby board).

Al - who appreciates manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭maccydoodies

A few weeks ago i was cycling and €50 flew out of a fellow cyclists pocket unbeknown to her. I had to break my bollo c k s to catch up but i eventually got to her and she was so grateful. But it was in the middle of a very very busy crossroads. I wasnt stopping to get it. the point im trying to make is that i felt as if id done my good deed for the week. i told everybody in work. Most of them asked the same question. "did she get it back" the answer "i dont know".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I was on the No5 in Cork today heading to UCC. I'm on crutches at the moment, so I took one of the elderly/disabled seats to give my leg more room. When the bus left, all the other elderly /disabled seats were occupied by people wo were neither elderly or disabled. I really felt like standing up and telling them to cop themselves on. There were seats available at the back of the bus, but no, theny were too lazy to leave the elderly seats free. One girl was obviously a camogie player as she had her gear with her, the others were all students from what I could see. Lazy gobs*ites.

Oh and another thing, since i'm ranting.. Why do people stand at the front of the bus instead of moving back to see if there's seats or just to make room at the front. Again, lazy gobs*ites. Do they not realise that if they move back, there will be more room on the bus and more people might be able to get home a little earlier

Bacchus wrote:
    I much rather Galway and Cork.
    A friend of mine from down here lived in Dublin for years and told me that one of the reasons he preferred it up there is that the people are much more approachable. I didn't believe him, but when I actually paid attention I did notice that in some circumstances people are more inclined to talk to you, such as in a bar or when you're having a tinkle. That being said, people seem to be more inclined to nod or say "how are ya" in the street down here.
    dudara wrote:
    When the bus left, all the other elderly /disabled seats were occupied by people wo were neither elderly or disabled. I really felt like standing up and telling them to cop themselves on.
    Were there elderly or disabled people trying to sit in them? The signs do say "Please give up this seat if an elderly or disabled person..."

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

dudara wrote:
    Oh and another thing, since i'm ranting.. Why do people stand at the front of the bus instead of moving back to see if there's seats or just to make room at the front. Again, lazy gobs*ites. Do they not realise that if they move back, there will be more room on the bus and more people might be able to get home a little earlier

Do they know how badly they'll be injured in a crash?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

woosaysdan wrote:

when they don't even aknowledge the fact that you've held the door open for them i just shout out..

''yeah you're fúcking welcom bitch''... it makes me feel better..

one day i was in easons on o' connell st.... on the ground floor where all the magazines are... it was REALLY busy and everyone was just standing there and i decide that i want to leave...

so there i am trying to walk through everyone and not one of them thought it would be nice to clear some sort of path...

So in the end i got irritated and just said(LOUDLY) ''For **** sake!! :mad:'' and literally pushed through everybody!!

I have a habit of doing this which is why i don't like crowded places... another reason why i try and keep out of town :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

on the subject of manners I have brought up my two girls always to say please and thankyou and respect their elders and today It showed. My dad came up to visit and for a treat brought us to a local pub for dinner. The chef on duty called me over and told me my girls were so polite and pleasant that most kids dont know how to say please and thankyou or to talk to an elder person she said it was such a rarity nowadays to see polite kids. So me is chuffed :D

i hate kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

On a similar note, I was shopping with my youngest sister one day, when she wanted to buy a chocolate bar ( she was about 5/6 at the time). So we went to the counter and I said to her "Give your money to the lady behind the counter". The shoplady was so pleased at being called a lady that my sister got the bar for free.

A little politeness and a smile goes a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

coming more or less like the "get it off your chest" thread.

However...

I agree completely with the original poster. Many houses have burnt to the ground because everyone thought that someone else had called the fire brigade.

As for Please and Thank You. Dont get me started, but I agree, saying your welcome anyway makes up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

dudara wrote:
    On a similar note, I was shopping with my youngest sister one day, when she wanted to buy a chocolate bar ( she was about 5/6 at the time). So we went to the counter and I said to her "Give your money to the lady behind the counter". The shoplady was so pleased at being called a lady that my sister got the bar for free.

A little politeness and a smile goes a long way.

when i used to work in a shop it pissed me off no end when wannabe-posh mammies said to their little Johnny/Siofra/Fiachra/Cáca Millis "give your money to the boy behind the counter". at which point i'd leave the till, go outside the counter and pretend to be busy, while yer wan waits with her little kid and his ****ing milky way.

working in a shop is a surefire way to find the most ignorant and downright nasty people inthe country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭boo4842

I sometimes don't move to the back of the bus, because the ignorant busdrivers won't simply let you off unless you are right beside them, yelling at them to let you off. The bell won't cut it.

We were coming home from the airport, after spending 3 weeks in Europe and enjoying its fine transportation service. We had a couple bags, so we moved to the back of the bus. We rang the bell when our stop came, bus driver kept going. Rang it again, kept going past the next stop, we were yelling that we wanted off the bus, and finally some english lads had to tell the driver to let us off the bus. We ended up having to walk an extara 4 stops with backpacks.

The height of Irish ignorance is most obvious to me if you look at your average burger king/ mcDonalds. Every table has trays of food on them. I'd say about 90% of Irish people for some unexplained reason, think they are too good to clear their own table. They just leave it on the table, rather than put it in the bin themselves. And this is pretty much soley an Irish phenomena. I remember seeing a show where an American comic, came here and worked in abrekebabra for a month and couldn't get over it. He start asking people why they don't clean up after themselves, and got responses like "Its not our feckin' job".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Move to London and you'll soon see that Dublin is an incredibly polite city in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭eggshapedfred

Do they not realise that if they move back, there will be more room on the bus and more people might be able to get home a little earlier

or people going into a shop. do they not realise the benefit if they let people coming out of the shop before barging straight in?
    We rang the bell when our stop came, bus driver kept going.
    if fairness, you should see your stop is coming up, gather your belongings, ring the bell and move to the front of the bus, all before the stop flys by. the reason drivers don't pull in everytime someone rings a bell is cos sometimes people abuse the system and just ring it all the time. if you were standing next to the driver, having rung the bell, ready to get off, he would have pulled in at your stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭meepmeep

boo4842 wrote:
    The height of Irish ignorance is most obvious to me if you look at your average burger king/ mcDonalds. Every table has trays of food on them. I'd say about 90% of Irish people for some unexplained reason, think they are too good to clear their own table.

Yeah I agree with that. I got some looks off this family in Burger King the other day when I was cleaning up the table I had been eating at. They were waiting for it because the place was packed, but in fairness they could have waited patiently for another 30 seconds.......

Also, there was a guy who threw (actually threw!) his burger at one of the workers because there was lettuce in it. Now I was behind him in the queue and he didn't say he didn't want lettuce, so what was his problem. There was no need for that at all. :mad:

It was only a matter of time before McDonalds came up. Watch the thread descend into anarchy now, it's like Godwin's Law for Boards. (I usually clean my table myself, but tbh I dislike people that whine about it more than the people that don't clear their tables. Neah, neah, neah. Like, what-ever.)

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

DOC wrote:
    Move to London and you'll soon see that Dublin is an incredibly polite city in comparison.

I've seen some terrible abuse directed at Asians & Africans about town. It’s sick really. Sometimes if I'm standing in a queue the person behind the counter serves me first, rather than the non-white Irish person who is clearly ahead of me, and I have to remind them of this. The only person I'd ever consider skipping is someone in a man u jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I few years back I lost my wallet in Limerick City with my drivers licence student card, everything. Three days later it came through the post with nothing missing. Which was nice.

that must have been a GOOD day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

yeah my sister lost her bag in a club in Cork.. phone wallet credit cards etc etc inside it..

some sound person found it and handed it in intact!!! there are still nice people in the world :D

and I'd just like to add.. that if you do lose something in a club.. always ask if it has been handed in.. cos I worked in a club and the amount of phones, watches, wallets and id's that were handed in and never reclaimed was ridiculous!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I was in a bar the other day and the guy in front of me, after getting his drink, just turned off and walked away without a thank you. The clearly exasparated barman actually called after him with a "hey!" He told me afterwards that he was sick of ignorant bastards never being polite.

OTOH, civility isn't truly dead in Dublin. Today people immediately offered an old man a seat on the DART and I've often seen people calling after someone who left something behind. I like to think it's just we notice the ignorant tossers more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I left my wallet on a Dublin Bus last weekend, My mum rang us Dublin Bus and got it back for me quite quickly and with nothing missing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

woosaysdan wrote:
    i work in a pub and every night only one or two people say thanks or please its really annoying

Tell me about it! :rolleyes:

Allthough some of them are too pissed to slur out the words 'please' or 'thank you!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭Chalk

was in a supermarket the other day
    woman ahead of me in the que was ignorant as fvck
    demanding everything be done
    wouldnt pay for bags
    forgot something in the shop
    disappeared for 5 minutes
    girl couldnt re-open the till for the next customer cos of the way the tills work
    waited
    then she came back
    no apologies
    no thanks for waitrng etc
    eventually she finished and left
    as i walked out behind her i noticed she had parked in two , yes two, disabled spaces
    some people
    posh auld ones in there big jeeps :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Chalk wrote:
    was in a supermarket the other day
    woman ahead of me in the que was ignorant as fvck
    demanding everything be done
    wouldnt pay for bags
    forgot something in the shop
    disappeared for 5 minutes
    girl couldnt re-open the till for the next customer cos of the way the tills work
    waited
    then she came back
    no apologies
    no thanks for waitrng etc
    eventually she finished and left
    as i walked out behind her i noticed she had parked in two , yes two, disabled spaces
    some people
    posh auld ones in there big jeeps :/

Are you saying we should rid the world of ignorant posh auld ones?

I'm game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Only Human wrote:
    The man in his 40's at least. and a young boy on his way home from school who was no more than 12 years old offered her a seat. Unbelievable

Still, nice to see someone's been teaching their kid a few manners.
    I've seen some terrible abuse directed at Asians & Africans about town. It’s sick really. Sometimes if I'm standing in a queue the person behind the counter serves me first, rather than the non-white Irish person who is clearly ahead of me, and I have to remind them of this.

Was queuing in a shop a while back, there was an African man being served ahead of me then his mate appears with more stuff and throws that in with the first guy's shopping. I thought it was a bit cheeky, but wasn'tin a hurry and didn't raise a stink. Anyway, I'd say we've all done it at some stage.

Guy behind me starts muttering...

Idiot: FFS, have they no queues in their country, why don't they f*ck off back home?
    Me: Was that for my benefit? Cos if it was you can shut right up if you think I'm gonna be your audience.
    Idiot: I'm not looking for an audience pal, just saying how ignorant they are
    Me: You'd know all about ignorance pal...

My real hate is when you hold a door open in a busy shop and about ten people all walk out without any of them taking the door off you. Yeah right, I'm your f*cking doorman...

Funnily enough I got strange looks in Stockholm when I held the door open for folks, nobody seems to do it up north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

My real hate is when you hold a door open in a busy shop and about ten people all walk out without any of them taking the door off you. Yeah right, I'm your f*cking doorman...

After the second person walks through just let the door go, you're worse for standing there.

ive worked in many a bar, the worst for rudeness being a 4star hotel in galway. The abuse the barstaff took off customers was unatural, the customers were mainly ordinary schmos from dublin on a 3 or 4 night break they'd seen in the Indo or times now im a dub myself and i know how dubs act in dublin but when they came to the west country they seemed to take on a feeling of grandeur about themselves and think they were better then the country folk.
    Of course it wasnt just the dubs, the "landed gentry" or slimline tonic crew as i like to call them used to antagonise the bar staff and try to get them to do something wrong so as they could complain.

The best method of dealing with these ppl is to smile, be extra nice and dont give them an inch, and when the ridiculous demands start just get the duty manager cause it aint in a barmans job description to entertain a$$holes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

one christmas i was leggin it out of credit union, where i was in beggin for an xmas loan, when i noticed a woman ahead of me pushing a roll of twenty pounds into her trousers.. she missed the flap on trousers and the roll of money fell to the ground.. i stared at it for few seconds then picked it up and ran after her.. i said 'excuse me, i think you dropped this'.. while i was waitin with my best honest smile for a pat on the head at least, the wagon snatched the money out of my hand with a grunt and walked off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭samo

the woman that did that on you giving her all that cash back is a thick wagon and what goes around comes around.

Lainey wrote:
    the wagon snatched the money out of my hand with a grunt and walked off..

after this.. how much did you regret not keeping the money?

She's a complete gobshíte anyway.. if i had a roll of money i wouldn't casua;;y stick it in my pocket.. i'd MAKE SURE it stayed in my pocket!!! i'd stick it up me hole if i could!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭irishbigfoot

Maybe I just ignore the ignorant people on the bus but anytime something has been dropped or forgotten somebody has said something.

Had to chase a fellow down the stairs on the bus once to give him his wallet back but he did say thanks. Also had to wake up a girl on the bus because I knew that her stop was coming up and if she missed it she would have a long walk---I did debate about that one since I didn't want to scare the bejaysus out of her---but she was really grateful.

As somebody here said- what goes around comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Chivalry is not dead, there are still some people who have learned good manners. Personally I believe in karma. I hate rudeness to the point where I've started speaking up in a polite but assertive way - there's no point in letting people away with continuous bad manners, it only reinforces their belief that it's acceptable behaviour.

As to the original question - group psychology is an interesting topic, read up on some of the basics. There have been a few tv shows demonstrating pop-psychology recently, particularly this subject.