Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Showering is wasteful and often unnecessary

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I worked with a stinker in an office environment a few years ago. Sound as a pound but there was a bit of a pong off him alright. Quite noticeable at times. Didn't bother me much but it did bother someone else i'd say because he was pulled on it. There was a 'chat' with management I believe.

I guess it was more than one person who complained. Talk about an awkward conversation …

😨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Ozmodya

I did a course once where there was a young man who had every disgusting smell imaginable emitting from him (down to ear wax) and stinking, stained clothes. Also he was obese which hardly helped. It was appalling - he needed a right bollocking tbh. You'd actually gag. The room was badly ventilated too. Although I saw him getting a lift from his mother once - maybe she was afraid of him.

There is no way he didn't smell himself though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

Yes, but on the other hand, someone who hasn’t been taught or is not aware of their smelliness might just be surprised, not feeling shame. Who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,797 ✭✭✭BrianD3

It is telling that not one poster has landed a decent punch on me or any of the other basin washers in this thread. "You smell" seems to be about as much as many can come up with.

No wonder the Smell Industry is worth billions. On any given TV ad break, there will be products being marketed. Air fresheners for toilets, deodorant, ads that talk about "noseblind" or "boomerang smells".

If someone needs to spray deodorant down their trousers as in a current ad, they are either not washing enough or are washing enough and have become obsessed with needing to smell of some artificial "fragrance". Which entails handing over their money to corporations.

Anyhow, if a man smells and doesn't even wipe his arse but is a Chad Thundercock, it won't matter. Loads of posts on reddit from women complaining about how their bfs and husbands don't wash or wipe yet they still love him. These lads can leave sh*tty tracks on women's bed sheets and still be boning left, right and centre. I'm more of a Chadlite myself and my arse is always clean but some of the best success I've had with women was when I was unshaven and wearing dirty, sweaty T-shirts with holes in them. Which may be explained by this:

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2007/02/070207172019.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

I am in Canada, and the last time I smelled someone who stank was in a kebab takeout a couple years ago.

There was this one guy who was serving who reeked of weeks old sweat, a lanky 6 1/2 ft fellow who had me spin and GTFO. I remember working with a guy who had just emigrated from Paris 20 years ago, who smelled as bad as that other guy, but mixed with cologne on top of the grime. Ouch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,272 ✭✭✭amacca

Surely you have better things to do in life than waste time composing paragraphs trying to convince yourself you are correct

You do you, if you like the inconvenience of washing yourself out of a handbasin then grand but for most with a functioning shower it's much less labour intensive and much more convenient...

I'm not sure why I'm even replying tbh, it's such an odd discussion....if you are achieving cleanliness and hygiene basin washing...Great.. I doubt you are going to convince many with a functioning shower to convert or see it your way or start diy-ing solar water heaters ... that's generally either an enthusiast or or s necessity thing

Your knowledge, skills concerning personal hygiene and water conservation will no doubt come into to sharp focus as civilization starts to collapse and you can share your expertise with the thirsty waterless dirty profligate wastrels with their arid showers that survive by pure chance and perhaps put in place an education initiative that the abomination of showering will never again rear its liquidy showerhead in the society you found and shepherd in the ruins on this world!

I on the other hand seem to have a lot of time on my hands on a Thursday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,651 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Reading on Reddit that women love lads who don’t wipe their arse, is the definition of confirmation bias 😂

That being said, the current tv advertisements you’re referring to are admittedly a long way short of the Old Spice ad -

Although now I’m reminded of it, because I did block it out of my mind, the part where yer man sprays his hole and worse, yer one sniffing after him, that may be where lads on Reddit are getting their ideas 🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,797 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I forgot about that Lynx ad, this was the one I was thinking of. People scratching their holes, spraying their feet and balls etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Ozmodya

I think "You're just smelly" is a dumb response too @BrianD3 - plenty of hot water, soap and a scrubbing implement is all you need. One person pretended that that's not true, and then resorted to tedious trolling when I asked why.

I'm a showering person but I love taking a bath when staying in a hotel. Not all hotel en-suites have baths. Obviously a bath cleans you (I need to be able to rinse off the bath products with the shower head before I get out though).

But a shower is just a practical, convenient appliance, and not a status symbol unless you've e.g. a really flash power shower and wet room (and your intention is to be a show-off with it).

Post edited by Ozmodya on