Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kneecap - New Footage *Read OP for Mod Warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,376 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The vast majority of people I speak to are horrified about the Genocide. No need for me to take a poll either then.

Great to see you back PJ and with 2 lines. I'm impressed.

Mod - warned for trolling

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,175 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Do you constantly pontificate to them about it?

Hardly a decent sample if you are scalding the ears of them 24/7.

Most can actually. They can acknowledge it without becoming rabidly consumed by it and having their entire identity defined by endlessly bleating about it.

Most people can have multiple interests and focus on a variety of things at a time.

Silence allows Genocide to continue PJ.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2025/mar/19/imagine-silent-terrible-evil-committed-gaza-inaction-censorship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,740 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Your take and consuming of this is not really normal. It's just not. Maybe it's a deep-rooted dislike of Israel that is mostly pushing this OTT concern for "genocide." It's almost like you're happy that Israel are being made out by many to be so bad. If you were Palestinian I could absolutely understand it, but I assume you are Irish, born, bred, generational, like myself.

Is that the best you can do?? At least it's not the old antisemitic trope for a change. And it is definitely Genocide so i'll continue to call it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Being Irish or not has nothing to being empathetic and against the mass murder of civilians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,215 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Almost thought I'm after clicking on the wrong thread..

http://Hamas strike on Israel - mod warning in OP updated 19/10/23

nobody argued that. But some want to label others mean, dangerous, callous based off them not being near as “outraged” as they supposedly are.

How can someone not be outraged about the children of Gaza being obliterated ffs? Sitting on the fence is compliance imo.

What are you talking about? What do you want people here to do to satisfy you that they're shocked or outraged? Can people not be shocked, but not overly ramming it down others' throats? Is this some sort of empathy competition for the conflict in Gaza for you?

Your take is that if you are not 100 percent Israel blaming/bashing then you're compliant….

Well poster could stop backing those committing the crimes for a start.

Yes but becoming entirely consumed by it isn't healthy. But its generally the same folk that were in hysterics over Ukraine, something newer just needs to pop up and become cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

In a thread related to Gaza or Ukraine of course posters are going to post on it. If people are against what is happening in both countries they can post as much as they want about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,624 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

Show me the comment where I said there'd be a border poll within 5 years. That's a complete falsehood and I hope you take it back but I realise that's unlikely.

So you deliberately put false information in your posts. Fits in with those seeking to denigrate Kneecap for speaking the truth about ethnic cleansing and genocide.

Agreed. The British and Irish (who will have a say via regular discussions with the NI Secretary of State) won't want a poll until a decisive win for reunification is clear. 51/52% isn't good enough and I agree with that.

Excluding the 'don't knows' the current pro-reunification vote is 41% and rising at 4% per annum. I reckon there'll be a vote in the early to mid-2030s, not least because polls are also saying the the Unionist population are in favour of a vote, their rationale being a vote against reunification is likely and that'd delay another vote for another decade or more.

Anyway, no more posting from me on this as you've rightly pointed out, it's relevant to Kneecap but less so to their current travails.

I'd argue differently. The experience of colonisation has framed our thinking to be more empathetic to those suffering the same.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

A border poll will be a vote for the establishment of a new Irish state, not reunification. What actually comes out of that remains to be seen and given take we have direct deomcarcy in Ireland, that makes it all the more difficult. I expect it will take decades to come up with an acceptable proposal and even then it will probably be a disappointment for most of SF persuasion. And may well be rejected and what happens then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,215 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Did you come up with some believable explanation why those speakers of the truth were calling up for two terrorists groups to rise, having a flag of one, calling for killing MP's and at the very same time being truly interested in Gazans situation yet? I couldn't find it in that mess being posted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,917 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The irony.

In a thread about Kneecap's support for a terrorist organisation, you have been going around whatabouting Israel at every opportunity.

I will keep my posts to Kneecap and their horrific support for terrorist organisations and their exhortations to kill democratically elected politicians and hopefully you will do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,917 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

https://024943a0-ce9e-4fe5-85a2-d9f4d3bc845d.usrfiles.com/ugd/024943_2ff8b79e9ace4ecf8b0af35157d49a46.pdf

In this August 2021 poll, support for a united Ireland is showing at 42%. Surely a 1% drop in support over the last four years means that a border poll is moving further away rather than nearer?

That means support could be below 25% by the end of the century.

So German reunification was for the establishment of a new German state. Who knew?

The planning is already happening both here and in the UK. Many obstacles of course (HSE/NHS, pensions, flags, etc) but none insurmountable and the most significant will be resolved in advance or quite speedily after. Westminster will be only too happy to bid adieu.

One quote by one member at one gig two years ago re H & H. They've stated that they, as a collective do not support either organisation. Couldn't be clearer.

One quote by one member calling for the killing of Tory MPs two years ago. As a collective they apologised and said they didn't believe that. Could not be clearer.

They didn't have a Hezbollah flag, it was thrown on stage.

Has anyone acted on any calls to violence in those two years? Nope.

Alas the Israeli government hasn't acted on any calls for peace and continues the genocide. How many dead Palestinian children would be enough? How much mooe blood is required? You are criticising the ongoing genocide I assume.

Well don't I have some rather fabulous news for you. The poll you posted above (Lucid Talk) released their most recent tracker poll on 3 March 2025. Once 'don't knows' were removed the figure for reunification was 46%. Thus going up by 1% per annum so give it another 8/9 years for a healthy majority. Would that be an acceptable date for ditching the border?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,168 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Couldn't be clearer??

WHERE exactly have Kneecap been clear they said that that they didn't support Hezbollah/Hamas and said their comments were "taken out of context". Then go on political rants mixed in with their "clarity", and have yet to explain HOW their comments were taken out of context!

If the lads wanted vindication wouldn't you think that they would release the full videos and provide context. Simple. I am sure they have reams of footage. But have not done so. You have to ask why?

I think the truth is Kneecap are products of their environment and are cliches waiting to happen. And are not half as smart as they pretend to be. Their message is all over the place. Maybe it is because they are excitable eejits, or because they can't square what they said in any language. So they don't address the video properly?

These are the same crowd who naively thought in the "Uncharted" series with Army Ranger Ray Goggins -

1. The Irish Army do f**k all
    2. Seriously thought that Goggins would have "turned a blind eye" for the Republican "struggle" while in the Irish Army.

To me they come across as naive, cocky lads. Who in reality don't know much beyond the sneering undercurrent of bigotry in their own small bubble in Belfast, and NI. And are looking for a "cause" as they missed out on the troubles. And play up to that edge. I can see how their support base lap it up. All the usual cliches.

Fair play to them for learning the Irish language and so on, and more importantly - regularly speaking it. But they have a lot of copping on. and growing up to do. Even at this stage.

They are no longer young kids. It seems like two of them have no hope of maturing. "Mogali Bap" (Naoise Ó Caireallain) is about 30, and "DJ Provai" is about 35, and "Mo Cara" (Liam Óg Ó hAnnaidh) is about 24.

So they are either playing stupid for effect, or else they are very immature etc.

It is baffling how you think you can claim that Kneecap have been very clear. When in their statements on X they have been anything but clear. As each statement seems to either contradict the next, look for excuses or obfuscates from the question at issue. With political soapboxing.

In case you need a reminder the daughter of Murdered MP David Amess was insulted by Kneecap's apology and called it out as "gaslighting" -

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/daughter-of-murdered-mp-katie-amess-says-kneecaps-response-in-kill-your-mp-row-was-gaslighting/a2081129299.html

"Ms Amess told PA that the Kneecap statement suggested the trio had been “badly advised” because it was “deflection and excuses and gaslighting”.

She said: “It was absurd, that’s not an apology. It’s deflection, it is not taking accountability, it’s making excuses.

“They don’t understand what they’re talking about, they obviously aren’t educated enough in what they’re speaking about to think that they can use those excuses and everybody will be like, ‘oh, never mind, let’s move on to something else’.”

But I think at this stage you are well aware of the game Kneecap are playing. While you pretend that they are "perfectly clear", you know well that they have not been. As when you view all their statements on social media in CONTEXT and in full. They are a mish mash of contradictions, obfuscation, and confusion.

That is the truth of it. But the likes of you enjoy the game that Kneecap are playing. The obfuscation is par for the course for you. And it appears you not only condone it, but admire it.

Whether the UK government find against Kneecap in the terror charge is another matter. But given their levels of insincerity, immaturity, and pretence of contriteness. They at the very least deserve the hassle that they have got themselves in. As it is of their own making.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

They've clarified their lack oof support for Hamas and Hezbollah in their press statement, posted several times here.

You surely realise that in the Ray Goggins programme they were taking the piss, in a nice way. And he absolutely loved them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,566 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

So he’d be chanting up hitler and up the nazis if someone threw a swastika flag on stage or the KKK?